Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In

It's easy to start earning points. Just travel, shop or dine out, and watch your points add up.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to a simply rewarding experience.

Explore the Benefits

Here's to our rewarding relationship. We have so much more to show you.

Explore the Benefits

Ready for some great rewards? Use your points for Reward Nights, brand name Items, travel and more.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to Spire Elite! A whole new level of benefits is yours to enjoy.

Explore the Benefits
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 758 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

758reviews

  • 5 Stars
    486
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    21

Comfortable room, good service

By

08 August 2015

The hotel was well located for my purposes and close to the tube. The staff were helpful and provided good service at check-in/out and at breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

07 August 2015

I look forward to business appointments that make it practical to stay at The City. In my personal opinion this property sets the benchmark for service and amenity (for non-intercontinental IHG hotels)
Check in was great, I arrived midday (to freshen up between appointments), however they readily checked me in early. They were friendly, informed and IHG recognition was excellent.
The room was to a good standard and well equipped,
Evening meal was at the Chinese Cricket Club, great service and quality of food - for info the Diciannove Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment.
Location is great and concierge ensure that taxis are always available - entrance is on a side street.
In summary I struggle to think it possible to have a bad experience, and I am certain that if you do then the hotel will try everything in their power to rectify..... you can stay with confidence

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel and Location

By

07 August 2015

platinumelite

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and happy hour at the club lounge was very good and the attendant there was super.
The location is conveniently close to a Tube station, even with luggage.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Birthday Treat

By

07 August 2015

club

Check in was easy, we arrived early but left our luggage with the concierge and this allowed us to go into London.
We arrived back in the afternoon and checked in, the room was a good size, very clean and the bathroom facilities were very good.
The first problem we had though was that we had a shower only then to find one of the house coats had blood on the collar, we phoned house keeping and within a few minutes there was a knock on the door...is was house keeping with a birthday cake which was a really nice touch.
Then house keeping rang to ask if the problem had been solved and when we told them no, once again within a few minutes we had a fresh house coat and within a few minutes of that we had house keeping knocking at the door asking to swap the coat...again!

The mattress dipped in the middle and we found it to be a little soft for our liking but I guess this is just down to personal taste.
Apart from the minor niggles the overall experience was a positive one and we would stay again in the future as location was very good and most of the staff were friendly. The club lounge on the whole was very good but the breakfast could be a little more extensive.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

07 August 2015

club

We've stayed at the Crowne Plaza the City London several times before and love the location! Train/ Tube stations, St Paul's, the Tate Modern, etc. are on your doorstep. The hotel interior is very modern and comfortable and the Chinese restaurant is first class. However our impression this time is that some maintenance is required in the bathrooms. The bath in our room needed to be resurfaced and paintwork also was looking a little tired!
These are minor things and we will certainly return to this hotel on our next trip.

Read More
Read Less

Always a pleasure

By

06 August 2015

I booked this hotel originally for convenience of location, however, when in London, whether it is for business or pleasure, I always make a point of staying here as the staff are very friendly and attentive. The rooms are more than adequate and the cleanliness is second to none. Thank you!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Outstanding

By

05 August 2015

Another exceptional stay in this lovely hotel. Stayed for 3 nights 2nd - 5th August. As Platinum member booked Club Room but was very surprised and indeed pleased to be upgraded to suite on arrival.

Suite had stunning views of St Pauls: Shard & Gherkin ...even better when lit up at night.

Despite being on a busy road and opposite Blackfriars Tube Station the room was very quiet.

Lots to do in the area and certainly well located even for central London (25-30 minute walk)

Hotel staff were, as usual, welcoming, helpful & attentive.

Strongly recommend.

Read More
Read Less

Great service from all staff complemented wonderful hotel

By

04 August 2015

platinumelite

From first to last minute the staff were attentive to the needs of my family and myself; lovely rooms, Club Rooms recommended and whole experience very enjoyable. Coming back again soon.

Read More
Read Less

Good Central Location, Great modern Hotel

By

03 August 2015

The location is a great central, hotel is very modern and new, large and comfortable rooms. Would definately recommend this hotel for someone visiting london - especially by public transportation. Public parkings are however far away from this location. While the breakfast restaurant has an excellent assortment of great food, I don't recommend to sit next to a window as freezing cold airconditioning hits you on the head. Some guests were eating with their jacket on. But these are really minor details, otherwise gave the hotel 5 stars all around.

Read More
Read Less

London-fab experience

By

02 August 2015

platinumelite

The Crown Plaza is an excellent hotel with world class rooms and service just steps from the Blackfriars tube stop which will get you to any point in London.....great experience and hotel

Read More
Read Less

Great stay in the City

By

01 August 2015

We needed to stay in the City for one night and the Crowne Plaza - The City fit the bill. Firstly, the location was perfect for us for transport and to see Tate Modern and St. Paul's. Secondly, we needed a family room for 4 (2 small boys) and they were really looked after. Finally, we needed value for money, and that it was delivered in spades. I was impressed by a lot of finishing touches, excellent breakfast and the exceptional staff. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we all slept really well.

The only thing that took some getting used to was that we had an interior facing room. However, for one night with all the extras, it was not an issue.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would consider staying at Crowne Plaza hotels thanks to this one night.

Read More
Read Less

Lovely Hotel as long as you don't want a drink after 11pm

By

31 July 2015

club

This is a very nice hotel, in a superb location, very nice clean rooms, very helpful staff. The only negative with this hotel is if you want a drink after 11pm.

Our party of 6 went to a Show on Saturday night. Upon returning to the Hotel after 11pm the late bar was hosting a private party and the bar in the lounge was closed. The only way to get a round of drinks was to use the room service but in the lounge, which took 45 minutes!

On Sunday night we went on a dinner cruise and returned to the Hotel to find that the late bar is closed on Sundays and as it was after 11pm the lounge bar was closed again too. Another 45 minute wait ensued before getting our drinks.

Obviously because we used the night service there was service charge added to the cost of the round too.

Upon checkout we did comment about this and were kindly refunded one round of drinks.

The staff here are lovely, but this service is not really good enough!

Read More
Read Less