Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
81%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 585 reviews
81%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

585reviews

  • 5 Stars
    272
  • 4 Stars
    157
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    45
  • 1 Stars
    43

Very Country

By

23 January 2016

club

Once you find the Hotel it is well set in a very pleasant countryside environment. It is well positioned for the surrounding area, but is further than it looks on the map.

Posted byHotelStaff
25 January 2016
Thank you for your generous four stars following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. The hotel is located between the town of Colchester and the City of Chelmsford and ie easily accessed from teh A12. The hotel enjoys a country side setting and nearby there are some lovely villages i.e, Tiptree, Heybridge, Goldhanger, Tolleshunt D'arcy to name but a few.and of course not forgetting Maldon Town. I do hope you enjoyed your visit and perhaps now that you are familiar with the area, we can look forward to welcoming you back in future. With kind regards . Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Overall

By

21 January 2016

club

This was our second stay within 2 months. My observations are qualified by saying that neither my wife nor I used any of the Spa/fitness/pool facilities as we were focused on other reasons for our stay.

The hotel is undoubtedly well equipped and has all the amenities one would expect from a hotel of it's price and size.

The rooms are good quality (with the exception of those situated in "the Village" (a reference to our first stay). The beds are fantastically comfortable!!! A stocked room bar would be a welcome addition.

The restaurant is a little austere and functional (breakfast was consumed almost in darkness!! While the staff are certainly friendly and attentive, we did have difficulty making ourselves understood to one of the waiters, who appeared to have little in the way of English. The food was fairly standard fare, the menu not at all adventurous. Breakfast is the usual scramble when provided via a self service buffet style.

Finally,the check out time of 11 o'clock is too early, particularly on a Sunday when a more leisurely later time would be appropriate.

We will be back though!!

Posted byHotelStaff
25 January 2016
Thank you for critiquing your recent visit to Five Lakes; I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. It is most pleasing to read that you found your accommodation to be very comfortable. Should any guest wish to have a stocked fridge, a request can be made via Reception and guests will be charged for consumption. I take on board your comments regarding the lighting in the restaurant and this is something we may review. I am pleased to say that our overseas staff take English lessons which are held at the hotel and these lessons will benefit our team members going forward. Regarding a later check out – this is possible although is chargeable and is something that can be arranged before arrival or during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as this helps us understand the guest experience and in turn, we are able to improve both product and service. I note that you would return and this is fantastic news; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards. Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Company Reunion

By

18 January 2016

Very good comfortable rooms, excellent staff, good food, but do not like the lobby - too dark no atmosphere and terrible music. Great hotel for golf and other sports. A bit out in the sticks for other activities. Good facilities spa pool etc.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 January 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Five Lakes. We are pleased to know that overall your were pleased with your visit, having commented positively on our staff, restaurant and accommodation and not forgetting our country club facilities. I do hope that you will have an occasion to return in the future. With kind regards
Read More
Read Less

Great stay/ getaway.

By

14 January 2016

club

My husband booked a day/night stay at the plaza for a surprise birthday present, This included lunch, (which unfortunately we missed out on) dinner and breakfast, which you could not fault, the food was amazing.!!
the treatments in the spa, were wonderful, and the staff really friendly.
Our room was cosy, comfortable, and very clean , every-thing was spot on.
would defenetly recommend and stay again.

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

13 January 2016

club

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are very comfortable. We had a spa weekend and came away feeling refreshed. There is a lovely relaxation room with beds, sofas and loungers with low lighting and relaxing music which was a wonderful place to while away a couple of hours. We had a problem with the poolside area being very slippery but apart from that highly recommended.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 January 2016
Thank you for visiting Five Lakes for your recent stay, I appreciate that you have taken the time to post your feedback, detailing the challenges you encountered during your visit. however, I am delighted to read that overall your experience at the hotel was an enjoyable one and thank you for mentioning our helpful and accommodating staff members. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your well-appointed accommodation and said great things about our Relaxation room. I can assure you that we take guest’s health and safety very seriously indeed and consequently, we ensure that poolside is monitored for excess water and duly hoovered or brushed away; coupled with the use of specialised SlipTech products to stop people slipping. However, at very busy times the surrounds can become wet and slippery which is why this is noted on signage around the pool area advising guests to take care. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us as it is by understanding the guest journey that we can improve both product and service. I do hope that we may have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Thank you

By

12 January 2016

club

Thanks for making our stay a memorable one. It was my birthday and we had a great room, had fun playing table tennis and using the gym and swimming pool. Had a great breakfast and had lots of fun.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 January 2016
I am delighted to read that your recent visit to Five Lakes Hotel to celebrate your birthday was an enjoyable and memorable experience for you. Five Lakes boasts many onsite facilities and I am pleased that you were able to make full use of them during your stay and had so much fun. I do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the not too distant future. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

By

11 January 2016

Fantastic stay over a 4-day period. Staff very friendly and facilities maintained well. Went to the restaurant every night and wasn't disappointed with the quality and variety of food on offer. Also the bar next door is very relaxing with sports available to view.

Posted byHotelStaff
13 January 2016
Thank you for taking the time to comment so positively on your recent visit at Five Lakes. it is always fantastic to know when our guests are suitably impressed with not only the hotel's facilities, but also our courteous and accommodating team members. Our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager will be delighted to know that your dining experience was a delicious one for you throughout your stay. Thank you again and I do hope you will find an opportunity in the future to return to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Quite and Peaceful

By

06 January 2016

Chose this Hotel for relaxation and the peace and quite that it provides and we were not disappointed. My wife is talking about coming back again.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 January 2016
We appreciate very much indeed your award of five stars - this clearly indicates to us the level of your satisfaction - thank you so much. We are delighted to know that you found Five Lakes to be perfect for you as described. It is wonderful to read that you may return in the future. Thank you and with kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

mr

By

04 January 2016

very happy with the overall hotel we will be happy to go back

Posted byHotelStaff
07 January 2016
It is very pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes - so much so that you would return. This is praise indeed. Thank you. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Spa

By

03 January 2016

club

The spa is not unto standards, the therapists although friendly are not equipped to carry out the treatments,whether they were just being plain lazy but during the pedicure it only took 15 minutes, no hard skin removed, no foot soak, we were not informed about the relaxation room, during the wait the receptionist did not offer any refreshments, no towels or robes were in our room.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 January 2016
Thank you for visiting Five Lakes for your recent stay, it is appreciated that you have taken the time to post your feedback here. As already mentioned in our email to you of 4 January 2016, we are very sorry that we did not entirely meet your expectations. I can confirm that a mini-pedicure carried out in our designated Nail Bar consists of cuticle work, filing and polishing and would not include using a rasp or a foot soak. Complimentary tea and coffee is available in the Spa from 9.30am-5pm however, I am sorry that due to your treatments being at around 5pm; tea, coffee and the Relaxation room were no longer available. Obviously robes should have been available in your accommodation and if we were made aware of their absence, robes and towels would have been delivered to your room promptly and for this lapse, we are sorry. It is only by receiving constructive comments that we are able to understand the guest experience and this in turn allows us to improve both product and service. I do hope that despite the issues you have mentioned, you may have an opportunity to return in the future. Kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Very Poor Experience

By

02 January 2016

The hotel is of a good standard but is let down by poor customer service levels and poor attention to detail

My booking was incorrect even though I had contacted the hotel 3 times before arriving

They apologised but could do little to help

The Brassarie Resturant only had a set buffet menu, although it was confirmed when I previously contacted the hotel that the standard menu would also apply. Furthermore, at around 8.30pm the tables surrounding us were cleared and set for breakfast! Bearing in mind this is New Years Eve I felt was inappropriate!

All in all a very poor experience and one that ruined the New Years Eve celebrations

I would not recommend this hotel

The GM was not available during my stay and so far I have had no further contact from the hotel even though I have requested a call back

Posted byCustomerCare
15 January 2016
Dear RAB69, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite member and for sharing your experience on your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities and it is great to see that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness provided. However, we are very sorry to hear about your negative experience in the restaurant and that the service was not up to the standards you have been expecting. I hope you believe me when I say that this is not the norm for our hotel. I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your comments will be shared to the hotel management for appropriate action. We have send you an email to also reach you personally. Sincerely, Pascal N Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Customer Service

By

01 January 2016

Stayed for 2 nights before New Years Eve with my wife and 2 young sons in a great room. The service from most staff was outstanding. Boys loved the pool and table tennis. The buffet food was good both on the evening and morning each day in the brasserie. The bar/restaurant staff were very helpful and showed great professionalism especially when my son dropped his drink in the bar which required cleaning up. After leaving the hotel I realised I did not have my mobile phone. It was found in the room we used and handed in to reception who held it until I had time to return to collect it. The contents of the phone wallet, including cash and bank cards, were all there. I found out later that the offer of sending the phone on to me was made, exceptional customer service which I heard later on the answerphone. I have stayed at this hotel a few times before and will hopefully have the opportunity to stay again. Well done Five Lakes Resort. Have a great 2016.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 January 2016
Thank you so much for your posting a snapshot of your experience at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. It is clear to me from your feedback that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and thank you for specially mentioning our team members in the Bar/Restaurant, who will always do their level best to ensure all our guests feel welcome and have a enjoyable and memorable visit. On the matter of your personal items that were left behind, I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our customer service in ensuring you were reunited with your things swiftly; this is the very least we can do under such circumstances. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in 2016 and we all wish you and your family a happy and prosperous New Year. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less