Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 645 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

645reviews

  • 5 Stars
    305
  • 4 Stars
    173
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    43

Nice location ,very clean hotel

By

27 July 2016

hotel nice staff were ok,asked for advice on a nice local gastro pub to go to was sent a dive ,staff should have a greater local knowledge as guests wont always want to eat in hotel,also the guy that served me on front desk was more interested in having a leer up at my wife than talking to me when checking in,making her feel uncomfortable and basically near enough blanking me as i was trying engage him to check in ,very unprofessional apart from that a good stay

Read More
Read Less

Great Stay at the Lakes

By

25 July 2016

Great bed
Great Food
Great Bar
Great Value
Great Stay... i will be back

Posted byHotelStaff
28 July 2016
May I first of all thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes as your hotel destination on this occasion. It is fantastic to not only receive your five star award but know that everything about your stay was "great", so thank you again and hopefully, based on your experience, we can look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great Business hotel

By

22 July 2016

Just a one night stay on business.Very attentive staff and clean modern rooms makes it ideal for business trips.I will be back in the near future.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 July 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am pleased to know that your visit was an enjoyable one. Thank you for commenting on our team in such a positive way. Looking forward to welcomng you soon and thank you again. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive office
Read More
Read Less

Excellent base for discovering County Essex

By

20 July 2016

platinumelite

The hotel was an excellent choice for discovering all that County Essex has to offer. One need not be a golfer to enjoy this property. The staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. The nearby towns are charming and "quaint," which is what foreigners enjoy about Great Britain. A Crowne Plaza property that we will definitely return to.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 July 2016
I am pleased to read your lovely feedback and delighted that you found Five Lakes to be the perfect location for you on this occasion. Thank you for mentioning our team in such a complimentary way for their welcoming and helpful attitude. It is true, the hotel is perfectly positioned for those guests who wish to explore the Essex countryside. Thank you again for your charming posting and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive office
Read More
Read Less

Spa Break

By

19 July 2016

My sister and I came for a 'spa break' and I hope you will agree the whole point of coming to a spa or spa hotel is to unwind and totally relax. We found this very difficult as everywhere we walked in our ropes we were among normal dressed guest who would have no choice but to look at us like we hadn't bothered to get dressed. This was the definitely apparent when we sat down for breakfast - We were the only two guests walking around in robes, we felt so out of place we actually got dressed and came back down. We went for a swim and noticed there are no towels close to the actual pool. We were informed by another frustrated guest that the towels were kept at the country club reception desk - this meant that yet again we had to walk all the way through a busy bar with people eating and drinking (in normal clothes) Also as this is a golfing hotel the bar was mainly men - the only time we would decide to walk through a bar full of strangers in out bath robes would be in a nightmare! This made us feel very uncomfortable yet again. I must say our room itself was nice but I do feel the hotel could do with some TLC The bins in the spa area were filthy, store cupboards left open and vey messy, reception staff looked scruffy.
I feel this hotel could benefit from a separate spa are (somewhere to sit eat and drink) and also putting towels closer to the swimming pool (I do not understand why this isn't the case already)To be a top rate hotel the service and the surrounding should be too. I will not be recommending this hotel in the near future. :(

Posted byHotelStaff
21 July 2016
Thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I can confirm that we certainly do not discourage our spa guests wearing robes around the hotel, as we know how comfortable they feel and I can assure you, it is quite normal at Five Lakes although dependent on which day our guests visit, there are often many ladies in this attire throughout the hotel in restaurants and bar during the day time. It is a personal choice and of course I appreciate that this made you feel uncomfortable. I have taken on board your comments regarding the inconvenience of obtaining towels and the cleanliness and tidiness of the spa area. I have already mentioned these issues to our Spa Manager and Leisure Club Manager who will take action. Thank you for your constructive comment and this is something we may review in the future. Thank you for the time and trouble that you have taken in writing to us, as it is only by guests appraising us of such issues that we are able to constantly review and refine our services and products. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and if that occasion arises, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

two night stay for Graduation

By

19 July 2016

club

A great hotel, just wished I took more advantage of facilities

Posted byHotelStaff
21 July 2016
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and also for your generous four star award . Hopefully, we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay!

By

18 July 2016

platinumelite

Once again an excellent stay at a crown plaza hotel.

Well equipped hotel with friendly staff willing to assist wherever possible.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 July 2016
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. I am happy to read that you have visited the hotel previously and again have had a wonderful experience – we appreciate very much your continuing loyalty. It is kind of you to comment positively on the hotel itself and pleasing to know that you find our team to be welcoming and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel chaotic breakfast

By

14 July 2016

club

Overall the hotel was great. Room was fine as were the function facilities and service. Weak spot was breakfast with long queues leading to cold food, and with no supervision apparent to manage the situation. Breakfast staff were working hard but from a guest perspective it was frustrating.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 July 2016
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and I am pleased that your accommodation, the facilities and service were positives for you. However, I am sorry that due to guests arriving at breakfast at a similar time to yourself, this impacted on the breakfast service and for that please accept our apologies and as you have alluded to; our staff were doing their utmost to manage this situation. I do hope that despite this issue, you will find an occasion to return to Five Lakes in thefuture. With kind regards
Read More
Read Less

Great rooms, food lacking

By

12 July 2016

club

This hotel had wonderful service, views and buildings. Staff were attentive, the faciltiies were generally clean (with the exception of changing rooms at the pool). The actual room was lovely overlooking the golf course and had amazingly comfy beds. It was generally clean although the bathroom needed updating badly. Itw as also excellent value for money. The main downside would be the food. I have celiac disease and the otpions for me were limited although staff were keen to help and I found my food tasted nice although nothing special. I was however travelling with a friend who said theirs was bland and in future they'd probably eat out!

Posted byHotelStaff
15 July 2016
Thank you for writing such a lovely review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes recently. I am pleased that overall your stay was an enjoyable one and the hotel itself made an impression upon you and our helpful, friendly staff were attentive. I have taken on board your comments regarding the cleanliness of the changing rooms and passed to our Leisure Manager. Similarly, I have already mentioned your comment regarding your dietary requirements, so that our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager can review. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

lovely stay at 5 Lakes

By

07 July 2016

club

everything was amazing at the hotel, the only downside was that the bathroom had a lot of black mould on the sealant areas.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 July 2016
Thank you for awarding the hotel five stars - this is most appreciated and I am delighted that everything was amazing for you - praise indeed. However, I have noted your comment regarding the bathroom and have already alerted our team to take immediate action. Thank you for pointing this out. Meanwhile, I do hope that based on this experience, we can look forward to welcming you back in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Stay..

By

04 July 2016

What a great setting and what a great hotel. Only disappointing feature was the menu in the restaurant, which largley failed to deliver and foos was a little tastless , however overall a very enjoyable stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 July 2016
It is most kind of you to take time out to post your thoughts on this medium following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes. And; your fanastic award of five stars is gratefully acknowledged - thank you so much. I am delighted that you found the hotel grounds and the hotel itself to be impressive. However, it is disappointing that you were not impressed with your dining experience in the restaurant and I shall share your comments with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Meanwhile, you rated your stay to be an enjoyable one and this is pleasing to read. Hoping to welcome you back in the future With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and a great room

By

24 June 2016

club

The comfortable beds are brilliant, soft as you sit on the bed but once in bed it holds us lovely.

The breakfast was very good.

Posted byHotelStaff
28 June 2016
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes as your preferred destination on this occasion as we do realise you have a choice. I am glad that you found the bed in your accommodation to be so comfortable, this always helps for a relaxing night's sleep. There is always such a choice at breakfast and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed it. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kind regards Gayleen Burkhardt Executive Office
Read More
Read Less