• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 20 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: COLCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Hungarian
  5. Italian
  6. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are very welcome to our property, unfortunately these are the only pets that are allowed within Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Promenade Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Tiptree Jam & Tea Rooms
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Colchester Football Club
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
Colchester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces550
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for guests and visitors.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 14.95 14.95  GBP
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:194
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:194
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes near the coastal town of Maldon, Essex is the first Crowne Plaza Resort in the UK. Central London is easily accessible from London Stansted Airport with direct motorway and train links. Set in 320 acres of unspoiled Essex countryside, it offers some of the finest sports facilities in the south east of England, including two magnificent 18-hole golf courses. Relax in our Spa and enjoy superb food at out restaurant Brasserie 1. All our bars and restaurant
View More
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes near the coastal town of Maldon, Essex is the first Crowne Plaza Resort in the UK. Central London is easily accessible from London Stansted Airport with direct motorway and train links. Set in 320 acres of unspoiled Essex countryside, it offers some of the finest sports facilities in the south east of England, including two magnificent 18-hole golf courses. Relax in our Spa and enjoy superb food at out restaurant Brasserie 1. All our bars and restaurant are open to the public and you can enjoy the traditional British and European cuisine in Brasserie 1; Bar Lacu offers a relaxed and enjoyable ambience throughout the day. A wide choice of beverages from deluxe coffees to lavish champagne is available, as well as light snacks. 18 purpose built, modern meeting rooms offer Wi-Fi and over 3500sqm of exhibition space suitable for 4000 delegates. For Sat Navs please use postcode CM9 8HX.
View Less
Features
The resort is idyllically set in 320 acres of Essex countryside however located just 15 minutes from the A12. With 194 refurbished rooms and conference rooms of all sizes including our Arena which can hold up to 4000 delegates. The extensive facilities we have to offer are endless including indoor swimming pool, outdoor tennis courts, covered driving ranges and a UEFA certified football pitch.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 82 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay here if you want to sleep This is a noisy, raucous wedding venue so if you want to sleep stay somewhere else. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Use this hotel whenever in Ipswich as convenient for our requirements and usually competitive on price. Exec rooms spacious and well equipped but mattress gave impression of being a water bed but beds are difficult/impossible to get right for everybody. very happy to stay again but shame Hilton don't invest some money in renewing outside woodwork as windowsills are rotten. I notice this every visit and as former hoteliers we believe first impression counts for a lot. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room, friendly helpful staff A clean comfortable hotel in an easy to access location providing good value for money. One minus point was the state of the paintwork on the exterior, which is in need of some 'refreshment', or maybe UPV replacement windows. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Staff very friendly and eager to assist. Location easy to find with plenty of parking, in easy reach of all main roads and nearby business park. comfortable room, good food although breakfast period could be extended a little. will certainly use the hotel again when back in the area. 08 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue very happy with service I was very satisfied with overall experience. Venue was very good, staff excellent. I attended family Wedding and it was a very good event. I would certainly recommend Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thank you 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Effiecient and troble free stay The whole stay was handled well from arrival to check out. I'll stay here the next time I need to be in Suffolk. 25 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed dated room Mattress was not comfortable. Room was very dated and didn't feel very clean. Restaurant was a joke with overpriced food taking up to an hour to arrive. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I was very pleased with the level of service and comfort at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only thing missing was a relaxing outdoor area apart from the few seats at the front of the hotel. 24 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service The staff is very helpful. Good hotel to base yourself in if you have a car or plan on taking a lot of cabs. We were told the hotel is near the bus line but it is not THAT near. It was clean, the staff were very friendly. I suggest you select the breakfast included rate. There is nothing in walking distance for your meals. I have read some poor reviews regarding the servers. We also had that experience but I think it is just expectations. Go to the bar and place your food order vs wondering why no one has come to take your order. 19 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly check in staff, but tired rooms Staff were really friendly, but my IHG number had not been applied to the booking. Room is very tired, TV was complex to use and window was broken would not shut which meant the room was very noisey overnight (local music venue) and also not secure as ground floor. To be fair, we didn't report it as it was late, and would have been effort to change rooms etc. But I would say this was no 'executive room' compared to others in the IHG group I've stayed in Room was very clean, as was bathroom. Great location, would stay again for that reason. 19 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location, near good shops and coast. Very enjoyable stay. This time in s suite but have in the past stayed in standard rooms which have been good. 17 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. 04 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK 3 star Hotel The room was OK and I was able to sleep well. The batroom was not clean and the towels worn but over all not a bad night for the cost of the room. The service in the Bar/Restaurant was very poor. Need people who know what they are doing and are organised and customer focused. Too many mistakes, same meal delivered twice, long waits for drinks, inaccurate Bills etc... Bar/meal service is letting the rest of the hotel down. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Nice clean hotel, friendly, helpful staff, great use of leisure club and excellent breakfast. 31 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect weekend. Ransomes Europark doesn't sound like the ideal romantic get away but we took the chance and had a lovely chilled weekend. The food in the restaurant was so nice we decided to go there the second night too. We ordered our food but within minutes the waiter returned to say the chef was refusing to serve the meat as it was fatty. Can't fault him! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff were great. All of them friendly and professional. We would certainly come back. 28 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by good bed There were rats running arround in the parking lot while we were having dinner in the conservatory 24 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable hotel but dated Hotel had a good location with easy access to the A14 and ample parking. When checking in staff were pleasent and helpful. The reception area looks very dated, and definitly not contempary or fitting in with such an establishment. Was dissappointed that there was no air conditining in the rooms, as for this level of hotel expected such facility (especially in an exec room), as my room was very warm and couldn't open the window much. Most HI Express hotels even have air con these days! Access to David Lloyd gym was very welcome and it had excellent facilities. 14 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, shame about breakfast I have stayed here a few times. My room was great - clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast here is hit and miss, some days there is a hot buffet others it is cooked to order. Last week there was a hot buffet on Monday morning - great when you want ot get some breakfast quickly and get out to work, Wednesday was cooked to order..... I had fruit and apple juice - no hot drink offered no order for hot items taken, had I been paying myself I would have said something. A business hotel user wants to simply get breakfast and go, we don't have time for breakfast to be cooked to order 08 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Standard Holiday Inn - Friendly/Helpful staff The Holiday Inn Orwell is just like most other Holiday Inn hotels. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Internet is slow. The staff are friendly, responsive and helpful. The food choice is limited but evening specials brought some variety (lots of eateries nearby the hotel if you get bored of the menu). Use of David Lloyd gym next door or a fitness room in the hotel itself 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff, very welcoming from the moment I arrived in reception, the staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming, stayed 2 nights over the weekend, room was spotlessly clean, had family over for breakfast, and the restaurant staff were excellent. all in all, made a very good weekend stay well done 03 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a warm welcome I have stayed at this hotel a few times for business and although there were some minor faults (such as a bit noisy on occasion and the room taking a while to heat up) I will continue to go back as the staff are always very friendly, respectful and willing to sort out any problem. I would stay just for fun as it is such a nice atmosphere. with lots of areas to relax or even go to the gym. 15 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel v.friendly staff i have started to stay at this hotel one night a week on business. location great for travel 2 mins from dual carriage way. 2 mins drive to a great selcction of pubs and restaurants. Not eaten here at night, buffet breakfast average but i dont usually bother. Good nights sleep, clean rooms - could do with an update in places but fine. Staff really nice and very helpful. on my second stay they said welcome back. When i ordered an ironing board the second night reception said you had one bought last week to the room didnt you? next week we will have one in the room waiting - a nice touch i thought - even though the ironing board didnt come! Staying here two nights on a leisure break this week as my partner joining me so will may have a different opinion. 05 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Hotel The staff were pleasent but the hotel is tired and dated and clearly needs money spending on it to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the estate. Paiint peeling from window frames, shower needed fixing and radiator once one would not go off. Was not offered wake up call or newspaper on check in. On the plus side breakfast was cooked to order due to lack of customers and was good. 26 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, decor starting to look a little dated. Can't really complain about anything. Staff friendly & welcoming food OK, price reasonable, rooms clean & tidy just as you would expect from any of the Holiday Inns or IHG brand hotels. The thing I find with 99% of the Holiday Inns is they are all starting to look a little dated. Back in the 80's these hotels would be really posh now the general decor and rooms look old and could do with modernising, apart from the TV's which are very nice 32" flat screens. Will visit again soon & can recommend 21 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Holiday - Poor Design, Unusual Charges Stayed at the hotel 2 weeks in a row, the first week i had room service, they got the order wrong (asked for no cheese on burger) and didnt provide any cutlery for the desert. Second week, we noticed we were being charged a service charge for drinks at the bar ? (never seen this in a hotel in the uk before, i can understand a service charge for room service, but for drinks at the bar ?), receptionist was very rude to a colleague who pointed this out. The room design is very dated, in the bathrooms there is a metal toilet roll holder where your left knee would go when sitting down, incredibly stupid positioning. The wi-fi although free (gold members) its incredibly slow, tracked at about 0.3 Mb/sm ok for emails but useless for iplayer. Good sized car park is about the only positive i can think of. 10 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by no hot water Rooms ok but on getting up to leave no hot water for a shower, called reception and advised someone will take a look Hour later left the room and still no hot water, cold showers in January is hardly what i was expecting No apology, just a suggestion that if i waited a while it might get sorted out, Not really acceptable when having to get to work so paid and left. Wont be using that hotel again! 26 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Vending Machine.....STILL Broken There "should" be a functioning Vending Machine in this Hotel however I have stayed there several times now and the "out of order" notice remains on the machine which houses a single lonely packet of sweets on view to tempt the Guest -- wonder if it will ever get repaired? 19 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value, large rooms This hotel provides exceptional value for business/leisure guests in the Ipswich area. The general decor in the rooms is somewhat dated. However, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. My welcome to the hotel was both warm and professional. I had previously stayed at this hotel and found myself disappointed with the overall customer experience and I'm pleased to report that issues I had raised appear to have been resolved. Thanks to the General Manager, Jason, for responding to my previous feedback in a positive and meaningful way. I will certainly choose this hotel for future visits to Ipswich and would recommend it to others. 09 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Stayed here before and up to the usual standards. Breakfast was fantastic and the whole package for the 2 nights were great value for money. 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dreadful breakfast Although we came down for breakfast pretty late in the time allocated we were still in the time scale. Paid £9.95 per head for breakfast which was dried up and nasty and to be honest very little of it, ... my son refused to eat it and had cereal instead, very expensive cereal I have every paid! Tip get down early for breakfast! 31 December 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Enjoy the view of the many lakes surrounding the resort
Enjoy the view of the many lakes surrounding the resort
Select to close.
Enjoy the view of the many lakes surrounding the resort Enjoy the views surrounding the resort Hotel Exterior Reception View from hotel over the English countryside View of Hotel at night Exterior Feature Arrive at the atrium and enjoy the relaxing ambience Arrive at the atrium and enjoy the relaxing ambience Colchester Zoo The view from the Lakes course is stunning
Select to close.
Free Internet
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 20 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading