• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALEXANDRIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Your pets are like famiy members and you want them to have the best care and attention. Although the hotel does not allow pets there are several pet care facilties nearby. Ask the Concierge. Only Service Animals for handicapped guests are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mt. Vernon
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Pentagon
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Gadsby's Tavern
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Historic Old Town Alexandria
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:350
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking area is on the lobby level to the north and south of the entrance. Nightly parking fee is $20.00. No parking is available for motorcoach. Motorcoach companies need to park behind the masonic temple and need to contact the Alexandria Convention and Visitors Association in order to purchase overnight bus parking.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 20.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:254
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:154
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:100
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:254
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0478

Welcome to our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and less than six miles to Washington DC. We are located near all major attractions and monuments.

Guests will enjoy spectacular views of the Potomac River and city from many rooms, a large fitness center, and the Sleep Advantage
View More

Welcome to our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and less than six miles to Washington DC. We are located near all major attractions and monuments.

Guests will enjoy spectacular views of the Potomac River and city from many rooms, a large fitness center, and the Sleep Advantage Program with comfortable beds. We're only a few minutes walk to the shops and historic homes on Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the historic area and River Cruises of the national monuments begin just minutes from our hotel.

We offer complimentary shuttles to DCA/Reagan Airport, Metro/Subway and King Street.

Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel near Washington, DC is ideal for business travelers as we are a few minutes from corporate offices like "Robbins-Gioia, Deloitte, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and wireless high speed Internet access.

For family and fine dining visit Chequers for an amazing buffet breakfast and visit the exciting Railstop Gastropub for lunch and dinner.

Close To Everything, a convenient stay awaits you at the Crowne Plaza.

View Less
Features
Our Old Town Alexandria hotel near Washington, DC offers Crowne Plaza's Sleep Advantage combined with our guaranteed wake-up calls. Alexandria has long been a popular destination for leisure and corporate groups, association & government travelers. Those in the know turn to us time & again for superior service & our convenient locations in the Old Town, just minutes from Washington D.C.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel, best service I went to this place for a schooling engagement, and had the best of time as a result of the hospitality of this facility's staff. Facility was neat and elegantly kept at all times. I left feeling refreshed every morning, and came back to a well soothing atmosphere. Staff members were amazing, especially their shuttle drivers. They made sure I was on time for all my appointments, and picked me up at the end of the day. I will greatly recommend this place to anyone who plans to visit DC/VA for any events. Thanks guys, and see you soon again! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pick Sought hotel for travel out of Washington-National Airport (Washington,D.C.) with closeness, cleanliness, parking and cost as factors. Priority Club, IHG now, member since early 1980's yet never stay at this location. My experience was excellent. Courteous and helpful front desk staff also arranged cab for next a.m., which was prompt. Room was well appointed, clean and well stocked with essentials. IHG "care package" at check-in was a nice touch. Used their "park n fly" to leave vehicle on property during travels. Very pleased and will use this hotel for subsequent DCA travels. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room Great staff in kitchen. Nice welcome and room. Bar food need to close at 11pm December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Find. Convenient Location We had a great stay while attending an event in DC. When we arrived, there was an issue with the original room. The staff was courteous and prompt in making the situation right. The kids LOVED the heated pool. Water temperature makes the pool experience so much more pleasant for the little ones. Definitely would stay again! December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT HOTEL I had originally planned to stay here for only one night but ended up staying an entire weekend while visiting relatives for Thanksgiving. Everything about this hotel was perfect such as location, service by the staff, quiet and comfort from my hotel room, etc. Strongly recommend staying here if you're in the area. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent visit We recently visited our daughter in Alexandria and stayed at this nearby hotel. We had an excellent stay. the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the price was very reasonable for this area. I had read comments about being so close to the highway that it was noisy. We did not find this to be a problem at all and liked the easy access to this hotel off of 495. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast package was great for the price and the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and welcoming. We plan to use this hotel in the future. Had an excellennt experience and would recommend to others. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodations and nice place for an event I made reservations due to an event being held there and it was a great place for a party! Very relaxing atmosphere and reasonable room rates for our group. Very pleasant dining experience and excellent food. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Clean, comfortable. Easy access from DC taking metro. The best is the shuttle to and from old town Alexandria. You decide when/where to be dropped off and when to be picked up till 11pm. $20 bucks cab ride to Mt. Vernon. Only con is that room was near highway and could hear the cars. Great value for the money. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Hotel In Alexandria We stayed at the Holiday In Alexandria because it was the official hotel for the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon. We didn't know what to expect but had an enjoyable, albeit, brief stay. We live close by in Maryland and don't stay in hotels in the are. However, the race had an early start. The rooms were clean and comfortable.We were especially appreciative of the staff and how helpful they were. Would definitely recommend. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything would have been perfect if... Everything would have been perfect if they had had a safe in the room. I flew in for a half marathon and really needed a safe for personal items. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to the Metro We were in town for the Marine Corps Marathon and loved the proximity to a Metro station We were able to drive to a nearby Whole Foods and stock up on some food. We took the Metro to nearby Old Town and used the trolley to see the King St/waterfront area. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home We would not even consider any other Hotel when we visit Northern Virginia/DC area. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by eisenhower Great locationfor the the metro was able to walk. Breakfast available but necessarily included. Up to two kids eat free from set menu with adult. Nice size pool. Shuttle to location within 3.5 miles from hotel. Staff friendly and accommodating. Shuttle me too local walmart to puck up some forgotten items and very attentive to the kids. Coffee in the lobby in the morning and hot chocolate and marshmellows at night. Free parking, October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is fantastic When in DC area always stay here - staff is helpful and so upbeat and the facility is good with bonus of being right by train station. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Chose this hotel for a Washington sightseeing trip but without having to pay city centre hotel prices. Within a 5 minute walk of the Metro it is perfectly located to get into Washington DC. The complimentary hotel shuttle bus will take guests anywhere within a 3 mile or so radius of the hotel, & also to & from Reagan National airport. The property is immaculately kept, the staff are professional yet friendly, & Management must know what they are doing to deliver such a high standard of service. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and staff I just stayed here, and let me tell you, I thought I was at a 5-star resort. The staff at this hotel are AMAZING!!! They treated us like royalty. I'm not kidding! I will be staying there again the next time I'm down there!! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we recommend this as a place close to the action but quiet too we liked it here and would recommend it to UK tourists / the metro is very close to walk too/ the shuttle (manny) was great to take us to old town alexandria / the hotel is a little hard to find if like us you are UK self drive seniors but not THAT much of a challenge / the pool was excellent for lengths but not open in AM when I really needed it. Staff generally were great as have most hotels in IHG on our months drive throughout Virginia etc etc. We were given restaurant vouchers for breakfast (I believe I paid for them in advance?) but some of the restauarnat staff got all pedantic when I wanted to take a very small breakfast up to the room for my wife (just a small bowl. , slice of toast and a coffee). They seemed to think that I should have had room service and thereby paid extra for it. This was the exception in "service standards" throughout our USA holiday and rather perturbed me. Especially as I was taking a small b'fast up to my wife on our 45th wedding anniversary! otherwise a great experience apart from that one incident. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful front desk clerks. Good location, close to Metro terminal. Front desk personal courteous and helpful specially Raghad and John. Others need more training. They don't know what is in the area,like general tourist info. A couple of negative points. On Sept. 22nd. the day we checked in, we went to old town Alexandria, we called the hotel for a shuttle to take us back to the hotel, we ware told it will take about 30 min. to pick us up.We waited 1hr. and 20min. We called the hotel twice the answer was that he is on his way, which was not true hr was at the Airport picking up guests. We did get 1 night comt.for our troubles The second night we arrived to the hotel at 7pm. the room was not made up yet. The bath rooms are very small it is hard to rich the shower handle due to the toilette being in the way. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay First and foremost, Milton (shuttle service) was fantastic. He acted in more of a concierge role than shuttle services and his suggestions/advice were phenomenal!!! Overall a very nice stay...front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, everyone was!!! It's a little confusing getting in and out of the hotel property but just follow Milton's advice and you'll be fine. Only complaint was the food. Mediocre at best and we did have a severely undercooked med-well hamburger (think it may have come out 5 degrees above raw) and child's grilled cheese that was literally dripping with grease. Looked like the entire sandwich was fried in oil. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great location to your meetings in Washington I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and I like its super friendly staff and great service. One great perk is that the hotel is at five minutes walking from a yellow and blue line subway station, that will bring you downtown Washington or Georgetown in minutes. All offices around Crystal City and Tyson's Corner are easy to reach by car. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel at a good location This hotel was very nice, with a clean, well appointed, comfortable room and friendly staff. The bathroom was small, but well maintained. The room had a coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, all of which I was pleased to be able to use. Also free high speed Wifi. The service in the restaurant was friendly but a bit slow, even though there were only two of us in the entire place. Food was tasty. The hotel is in a very good location near the Metro and with a nice selection of restaurants across the street. The hotel provides a shuttle to and from National Airport, but the Metro is probably faster during rush hours because of the street traffic. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I plan to return in the future. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay They need to do away with the restaurant!!! It is so messed up. We ordered 2 Denver omelets, the 1st one came with only vegetables, and the 2nd one came with only chesse. If you order cereal that is all you get, no milk, no bowl, and no spoon. And don't even think about room service because the will tell you to come down and get it! The people are very rude to you!!! And the pool needs to open earlier not at 3pm.it did not matter to them that we were IHG members! October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle horible Shuttle from airport was horrible. It took over 1.5 hours to get picked up from the airport. Front desk was less the honest about drivers location. They said he couldn't find us and the driver said he hadn't been to the airport during that entire time. We had to stop and pickup another couple in Old Town and they had been waiting over an hour also. They were senior citizens and very upset! Very disappointed with the front desk persons. I've been a Holiday Inn Priority Club holder for many years with at one time over 500,000 pts. Very disturbing! September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property Lobby is a bit dated, but I didn't sleep in it. Road access in and out onto Eisenhower road is a bit tricky if you have not stayed there since the road construction was completed. Even though I stayed across the hall from ice machine and vending, I could not hear them. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place, good location. This hotel is well located right off of the outer loop of DC. The room was nice and the dining area was well kept. While there was some confusion/delay over the separate reservations (full paid and reward nights), handling that, and an unknown charge during the rewards nights according to the website (a charge for the room itself). All in all it's a good deal. September 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience for a family We planned a family vacation to DC during the month of September. Holiday Inn was chosen due to its location to the Metro. The staff was wonderful in assisting us in using the best metro lines to and from different venues. They were able to answer all our questions. The room was clean and met our needs especially with two boys. Some reviews discussed the noise but we were right outside the vending machines and elevators and did not notice any noise. My one complaint would be the food and service at the restaurant. Breakfast was slow despite only ordering eggs and pancakes. It was difficult finding our waiter at times to get refills on drinks and even our check. Dinner was slow too but in all fairness they were short handed and a tour bus came in unexpectedly. Prices are steep but kids could eat free with a paying adult. Starbucks and other restaurants are within walking distance so that adds another option plus a shuttle will take you to Old Town if you are interested in other restaurants or a walk along the waterfront. This was very convenient. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would gladly book another stay there. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Would like to say the staff was awesome in helping us navigate the metro system, checking in and out, and answering questions. The room was clean and quiet despite being across from the ice machine and drink machine. I was disappointed in the restaurant. We ate breakfast there the first morning and it took an exceptionally long time to get our meal even though it was just eggs and pancakes. Dinner was the same but to be fair they were short handed and had an unexpected tour bus arrive. Breakfast the last day was more of the same. However if you do not want to dine in the restraunt, Starbucks, California Tortillas, and other restaurants are within walking distances. If you want to venture out, they do offer a shuttle to old town. The bar does offer a limited menu and very fast service. Huge plus for us with two boys was the hotel is within a block of the Eisenhower Metro. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Royal Treatment Last minute reservation made the same day and first time staying at this property. It was also the first time I have used my IHG Rewards Chase Visa card to make the reservation and pay for the room. I was immediately thanked for using the card and being an IHG Rewards member and then John noticed I was a new Platinum member and the Royal Treatment commenced. The room was fabulous and the location was very convenient for my business in Arlington, VA and especially for jumping on the I-495 Beltway very early the next morning to make a 6:00 am flight out of BWI the next morning. I'm sorry I couldn't stay longer. I will be back! September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3 nights in Alexandria We had a very comfortable stay. There was an issue with the room rates and how they varied from night to night, It was handled very professionally by the managers Marlin & Andrew. They were "down to earth" and caring....no stuffed shirt attitude at all. My son lives in the neighbor in a small house so I will definitely be back September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Military Parent I have been here twice and have loved each and ever time!!! I will be going back due to my son stays right around the corner. i recommand it and love the food there!!! September 13, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Stylish Lobby To Relax With Concierge & Business Center
Stylish Lobby To Relax With Concierge & Business Center
Select to close.
Stylish Lobby To Relax With Concierge & Business Center Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria - Luxury & Location Inviting Hotel Lobby With Comfortable Seating Christ Church......More Than 235 Years Old & Part of History View  of Historic Old Town from Hotel Toward Town Square Enjoy Potomac River or City Views From Most Rooms Amazing Shot From Wilson Bridge Toward DC With Hotel On Left Welcoming Lobby With Concierge & Business Center Crowne Is A Short Drive To the National Mall & Museums The Torpedo Factory Showcases Local Artists.....On Water!!!! Crowne Entrance With Valet & Self- Parking Capitol Building Is Close To Alexandria......See The Seat of Power Carlyle House.....Where History Comes Alive National Cherry Blossom Festival Is A Must See...Book Early View from Hotel Room Of Potomac River With US Captial Building
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.