Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 407 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get Away My wife and I just stayed two nights in the Crowne Plaza for long leasurely weekend and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect for getting around down town, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very nice and clean. We had a room with a view the Magnificant Mile toward the north, which was a nice touch. The English Pub in the lobby was great and the people there were very friendly as well. We will definitely come back and stay. Soon, I hope! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing views from the high floors There are many beds in Chicago. There are few though with a view matching the one from a corner suite on high floor in the Chicago Magnificent Mile. To wake up in the morning and see the sun rising over Michigan lake from your bed without even getting up - how many places can say that? Add to this the friendly and helpful staff and you get a place you want to come back to. From the seasoned front desk supervisor Krassimira to the receptionist-in-training Stephan - you get the help you need and the attention you deserve. Will definitely come back. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacking and Loud My husband and I frequently visit Chicago and stay at a different hotel each time. The rate at the Crowne Plaza is what attracted us to the hotel this time. The location is great. Just a block off Michigan Avenue. I will say the air conditioning unit in our room was extremely noisy. Every time it kicked on in the middle of the night it would wake us up. Also, upon arriving back at the hotel in the evening, I was sadly disappointed that they didn't have a gift shop at all or anything on site to get a bottle of water. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The "Heart of Chicago!" Our stay at the Crowne Plaza exceeded our expectations! The location was in the heart of everything that we had planned. The room was great and it even overlooked Geno's East Deep Dish Pizza! The hotel staff answered all of our questions and were most helpful. My wife really enjoyed the swimming pool on the roof! We ate in the Crown Plaza Restaurant and all the meals were great! My wife and I will return to Chicago and we will select the Crowne Plaza again! September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! Very comfortable room and the staff was great at meeting all my expectations. I was a little disappointed that the sky lounge was closed so unless I order room service I had to go out for breakfast. The accommodations were great, very spacious, clean, and modern. Room had a great view of the lake! September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Went to visit Chicago for the first time. Loved the location and the hotel. Staff was very pleasant, gym was nice and clean, overall great experience. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect night for our Anniversary Booked this with IHG points for our 10th anniversary. Stayed Friday night of Labor Day weekend. Front desk staff was attentive and courteous - had to ask for valet, as they were off doing other things, but they showed up before we were done with check-in. Not sure if valet is required - I believe you can self-park for the same price in garage connected to hotel. So, as many others have written, this is next door to Northwestern Memorial Hospital, so it's a near constant parade of screaming sirens. If you like or need quiet, I wouldn't recommend staying here. To minimize the impact, here's your tips: 1. Ask for a high floor - there's 40 floors, the lower you go, the louder the street noise. 2. Ask for a corner suite upgrade - you can't book with points, but we were upgraded (based on IHG level or availability, not sure) and the views were AMAZING. Room 3616 had views of all of downtown, Mag mile below, and the lake to the east. Not to mention, the room is very large and comfortable. 3. Read the sign - Don't touch anything in the mini-bar that you don't want to pay for - don't even open the door. There's sensors and if you move it, you bought it, even if you try to put it back. September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for the Location The location if the hotel was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful to me in finding my way through downtown. The room was ok. I could tell they had been renovated, but I pay attention to detail so the walls were a bit dirty, as well as the windows. The carpet looked a little old and overall the room was small and boutique like. It appeared the hotel had a different name prior to being the Crowne Plaza. It would have been nice to know this upfront. The value was good, especially to be smack dead in the middle of great shopping and restaurants. I like a little more luxury and bigger rooms, but I would recommend it. September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would love to visit post renovations Staff were excellent. Friendly, knowledgable and accessible. The converted train station was pretty cool. Due to renovations we could not experience all that this will have to offer. Only downside was there was no natural light (no windows to outside). September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great dissapointment We chose the Crown Plaza because we had a very positive experience with the one in Copenhagen. As soon as we arrived, we realized that this hotel was not in the same class. The carpet in our room had a large tear. Of the two queen beds, one was so soft (old?) that one rolled to the center in it. There was no water fountain in the entire hotel and no refrigerator in the room - only a minibar with a sign indicating that opening it would result in a charge and that refrigerators could be rented at a cost of $20. The in-room coffee maker was a very inexpensive model of poor quality. One had the impression that the management of the hotel were cutting corners despite the 5 star price of the room. The staff were warm and helpful but this did not make up for the poor quality of the accommodations. As a result of our experience, we will not choose a Crown Plaza hotel again. August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK stay not without issues I stayed here for one night and the service from the staff was good but the room had a few flaws. The refrigerator was behind the door to the room and almost blocked access to the entry way. The toilets didn't flush very well and took 2-3 flushes to clear a single tissue. The sink also didn't drain very well but at the point we found the toilet issues it wasn't worth the hassle to change rooms. Atleast in regards to the sink you would think the cleaning staff would have noticed that. The next time I am in the area I would definitely stay at a different hotel. Not terrible just seemed like some attention to detail was lacking. August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Book missing. I left and realized I did not pack my book that I had gotten as a gift. Then I realized I didn't see it before I left. It wasnt there. I last saw it on Friday, and we checked out Sun. Because I booked with two points nights, and one reward night, I felt that the cleaners may have mistaken that I was checking out Sat and not Sun. So, I called, asked for housekeeping, and told them my room number, that it was left on the table by the TV, and was a book about the FDNY on September 11th. I was already a few hours away, at a rest area, riding my motorcycle home. I was told I was going to get a call back by housekeeping. I never heard back. I am not saying my book was stolen, I just don't know where it went because it was so important to me (I am a firefighter from Boston) and was autographed by a very prominent firefighter/author. I was ashamed that I was already on the road, but didn't have the book. I checked the room for my belongings twice before leaving and since it wasn't where I left it, I just forgot about it, until it hit me like a ton of bricks when I was riding down the highway. So I pulled over, checked my little storage space, and not seeing it or having it, called the hotel. My concern was that my reservation was spilt in two, and as a Priority Club member, I could not book my three nights together. This was apparent when I tried to get into my room on my third night when my card didn't work. It only recognized the first two nights, not my reward night. So, I don't know if the cleaner thought I was supposed to be out of the room and removed the book. I was also very disappointed because I left a nice tip and then realized it was definitely gone a few hours later. If it was stolen and the manager was covering up for her people, I was still expecting a call stating it was not found, as I had given my phone number to contact me. I have never had an item go missing from a room, nor have I ever written a review. I have always praised Holiday Inn/Crown Plaza/IHG but am perplexed on how this book that was very special to me would just disappear or go missing and not get a return call. August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely heated pool on top floor with super views. Very comfortable bed. Nice room temperature. Everything was super, we got a double room with a sitting room off it. Location was great just off Mag mile. Only gripe the bar and restaurant were very old fashioned and smelled like a wet dish cloth, but there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants about. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Diamond This hotel is a diamond one block off the magnificient mile. They recognize IHG rewards members, room upgrade and a complimentary pack with water and energy bars; no executive level with snacks and drinks. Front desk was more than accomodating, provided exceptional service. Doorman gave recommendations on local restaurants and pointed out area of interest. In reading many reviews, i was hesitant as they tell that reward members are not recognized. When I arrived, I was given a welcome bag, a room upgrade and coupons for discounted breakfast and free drinks in the attached tavern. Drawbacks are the $60 a night parking, but parking is pretty pricey everywhere, and the rooftop pool. Small pool, but it is a rooftop pool. I would recommend giving it a go. Room was clean and property was well maintained. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool area is very small Overall, I would say that our stay was fine. We didn't have any issues with the room cleanliness. But we did have a couple of minor issues over all: We had eight women staying in two rooms, and two women staying in another room, and yet, the two women were given the larger room (which was odd). We ended up switching rooms. We also had a bit of problem checking in. I paid in full for the three rooms, but the entire payment went onto one room. So, when two women tried to check in, they attempted to bill them for their room. They waited for an hour until I got there with my paperwork in order to check them in. Also, the pool is very small. I think that there is a total of 10 lounge chairs. So, our entire group took up basically every chair that they had, and I felt bad that other people staying in the hotel were unable to relax at the pool. There were atleast 30-40 people out at the pool at the height of the afternoon. The location is great. It was clean and well maintained. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Location The staff was exceptional from check-in to check-out. Very informative and always happy to help. Smiles and greetings all around. Room was very clean and daily service did not miss a beat. This is a great location for a girls weekend. Food, shopping and drinks all in walking distance. PS: It would be great if IHG Club Members received a small discount on the mini bar. Even $1 off the bottles of liquor would have been great. We went out of our way and went to the bar next door. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing room! 2 friends and myself stayed at Crowne Plaza, expecting to share a king size bed. The lady upgraded our room, and we had a king size bed and a couch! She was amazing and so friendly! Would definitely stay there again! Loved Chicago! August 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Forgettable Experience Beginning with my arrival, this location failed to impress. Employee working front kiosk barely made eye contact and did not greet me with a smile. There were 3 or 4 visible employees and I suppose I chose the wrong one to approach. She gave me a standard welcome while looking down at either a computer screen or something on the desk more interesting than myself. When I gave my name it took a few moments for her to find me in the system and issue a room card. I had made the reservation two weeks in advance so it shouldn't have been a surprise that I was arriving. D minus for not being more welcoming. My room was on 14th floor and while fairly large, this room is in dire need of updated furniture. The bed was comfortable and the linens seemed clean but overall the room was a little dingy. The carpet and curtains both looked old and even with lots of windows the room felt too dark. The door to the outside balcony was locked. Would have been nice to take advantage of the view or step out for air. My stay was for 3 nights and I considered changing hotels after the first day. Location is great...attached restaurant basic and again, felt the staff there could have been more friendly. I travel constantly with my job and usually stay in hotels 10 to 15 nights per month. I've been treated worse but I have also been treated much better. I plan on choosing a different hotel on my next trip to Chicago. I hope this feedback helps. Thank you. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Perfect Amazing location. Reasonable price. They offer upgrate and the staff was great. Perfect hotel in the pefect location August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convient location and easy access to premiere shopping Had a great experience. Rooms were comfortable. Staff was very helpful in directing us to excellent restaurants and helping with city navigation. Location was easy to access CTA train system. Biggest help was staff was willing to hold luggage after check-out until ready to leave for airport. Only con was some staff members were difficult to understand because their English was heavily accented. I have a hearing loss and this made hearing and communication difficult. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Flexible and accomodating My friends and I stayed for two nights during the chaos that is Lollapalooza. They managed to not only merge two single-night reservation for us seamlessly, but since they couldn't fulfill our request for 2 queen beds (we booked king-size rooms so they were under no obligation to do so), they offered to upgrade us to a corner king suite with a fold-out couch for no up-charge. It's hard to argue with that kind of service when the staff's nerves were probably pretty frayed from madness I'd guess is second only to St. Pat's weekend. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The property is just off Michigan Avenue and in a great spot to walk to everything you'll want to do in that area. We did receive a very nice room but the condition was a little "tattered". Obviously an older property that had been remodeled and still utilized floor model heating and air conditioning units that were noisy. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time in Chicago First time in Chicago and this was an amazing location, walk to everything! Very reasonable price for location, room was very spacious. Only low point was desk staff were very slow compared to other hotels I've stayed at, took about 30 minutes at check in - this was with the check in person, not including the wait time in line. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it! Great location and service, and comfortable updated room. The staff was very efficient and helpful. Would definitely return. August 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was too small Room was very small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The view was terrific though. Staff were snobby and $60 to park each day. What a ripoff. The pub was great. The Resturant on the 40 th floor was never open for business. Very expensive 2 night stay. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was very comfortable. The staff was great everyone was very friendly even the cleaning staff smiled and spoke to us. Very impressed with everyone. We would be glad to stay again. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel The room rate was a good value at the Crowne Plaza, but the $60 per day fee for parking seems extreme. The staff were nice. The checkin counter/elevator/luggage storage area is cramped but clean. August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always great I have stayed here 4 different times and have found the room, staff and location excellent both for business and pleasure. Rooms are clean, well appointed and most important spacious. The only draw back is at times the sirens of the ambulances arriving at Northwestern Medical can be a bit loud even in the rooms. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location great location and decent price. hotel is really steps from mag mile and walking distance to many attractions in the area - the "L" is very accessble too. the hotel rooms themselves are somewhat "older" though nice. the elevators in the building are rather slow so plan accordingly. the staff was great with helping to arrange our transport back to the airport. would def stay again when in the chicago area. August 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was really hit or miss Three different individuals left a sour taste, however 3 Managers made up for it some, but it shouldn't have to be that way. Perhaps they need better training. The Good: The room was really nice. We had a corner suite with views of lake Michigan and part of Michigan ave. The location was also great. The managers (Julio (res. mgr), Brian (food manager I think) were both great. A few of the bellman were great with the kids during times we were waiting for cabs. The Bad: 1. We arrived at 9pm (which was 10pm back home) and the kids were both asleep. We asked if they could have the rollaway already in the room so we could just put the kids to bed. The person who we spoke to first said, "No. You have to be here in person and I have to have your credit card." It was absurd. So, then we asked to speak to a manager and that manager said they would take care of it. Checked in. Went up to the room and there was no rollaway. We had to call down and they said it was "on the way." It was there pretty quickly, but the first person we spoke acted as thought we asked the impossible. 2. We order breakfast for room service. We requested "Frosted Flakes" for one of the kids. When it showed up, that wasn't the cereal we were given. So, I called down and I was nice but the person said "We were out of Frosted Flakes so we just sent something else." Is that really the way to handle it? Well, the manager (Brian) agreed that they should have called up and offered alternatives don't just send a guess. We didn't want to wait another 40 minutes for a different meal so we dealt with it and Brian comped it. 3. Bags packed, heading up to the room with a cart to get the bags. A bellman walked by and took the cart from me and mumbled something about a full service hotel. He then said to call down when I was ready. I said, I am ready now. He asked what room and then walked away. I wasn't sure what the plan was. So, I went upstairs and after waiting a bit decided to just bring them all down myself. While waiting for the elevator guess who shows up. I told him, "Don't worry about it." The elevator closed saying it was going up. It then re-opened and said it was going down. He didn't make room for us to get in and he took the elevator down. We then waited for the next one. I guess he was upset with us for not wanting to wait for his rude attitude to eventually show up. August 5, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>