• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by small but nice room was a bit cramped but qwas told that on check in . got checked in at 10am since our roomwas ready get since got to the city then. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Cleanliness, Very Comfortable Bed, Great Breakfast and Service Overall, my wife and I were very pleased, due to what I noted in my review title above. All the same, we had a few minor quibbles. 1) the single bed, greatly comfortable as it was, was NOT the queen size bed we had promised to us in our reservation, and which we had confirmed earlier that very same day - it was only a double size bed. 2) the furnishings, clean and adequate as they were, seemed rather sparse. Luggage had to be placed on the floor and there was very little room for toiletries on the bathroom sink. I suppose this is what comes with an "Express." 3) the thermostat was a bit of a challenge. Any setting over 70 degrees would trigger the heater. Any setting at 70 or less would trigger the air conditioner. We finally settled on 70 as the most comfortable, definitely better than the 68 it was at upon arrival. 4) parking must be a problem in this part of Chicago. I don't know how it compares to other hotels in the area, but we had to pay a large extra parking fee for a public garage adjoined to the hotel. Upon arrival, it took a little convincing of the valet person that I was okay with parking my own car if he could simply direct me to the entrance of the public garage. Otherwise, staff was very courteous and eager to be helpful. Everything else about the bathroom was excellent, as well as everything else connected to the bedding. Small as the bed was, it was very clean and very comfortable. I ironed a few items of clothing, and the iron worked very well. Though I had to search for the blow-dryer, it was predictably located and found in the enclosure under the bathroom sink, seeing as there was no room for it to be located on or around the sink above. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for leisure traveler The location in the Magnificent Mile/River North area is excellent for leisure travelers--Convenient to Magnificent Mile and the Loop. Rooms are fairly small which is typical for the age of the building, but comfortable. Would be nice to have some counter space in the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare--very adequate but not outstanding. Wireless is free but constantly drops out, so you continually have to login. Certainly would recommend to others and would stay there again if opportunity arose. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cheerful, Smiling, Helpful employees Great customer service. Great location. Comfortable bed, clean rooms. Employees were very knowledgable about the area and gave great tips for sightseeing and places to sightsee and eat. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! The location of this hotel was perfect for our vacation in Chicago! Only a few blocks from just about everything. The rooms were not huge, but they served their purpose and the bed was very comfortable! June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Only if it is your last option The best part of this property is its location --- June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel- Small Room, Breakfast Bar needs help The Hotel was nice and in a good location. Staff was very friendly The room was small and not very noise insulated from hallway noise. The breakfast was good other than they were always out of juice and a few other items. I stayed 4 nights. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience of Stay at Hotel Staff was friendly and very helpful. Went out of there way to answer our questions and help us with planning our day.. Room was very small, but this was expected from reviewing comments on hotel website. No different than staying in older European city hotels. The location of hotel is perfect for visiting Chicago and taking advantage of tourist and entertainment sites and restaurants. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, fabulous value, good service We enjoyed our stay and loved the location. We were able to walk to nearly every attraction that interested us and there were plenty of food and shopping options nearby! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great locaiton The hotel is in a great location, the interior is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. everything lived up the the quality of Holiday Inn express and I would absolutely recommend staying here to friends and coworkers for business or leisure. This is a historic hotel, so the rooms are small. My room was behind the elevator so it was a little noisy, but I would still recommend staying here in the future. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great value, modern rooms I will certainly be staying at this hotel if/when I return to Chicago. Great value for the location and the quality of the rooms. Historical building with modern renovations and comfort - delighted by extra comforts in the efficient room. Breakfast bar was unimpressive, but acceptable, and parking is at the many corner garages, but everything else was great. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Cleanliness I've stayed here between 7-10 times in the past 5 years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The business center is always convenient, especially with an available printer and paper all free of charge. When I do go for the free breakfast, there are always excellent choices and plenty of coffee and other beverages to drink. I do like the fact that the menu includes some southern dishes like grits for all types of visitors. I did not a slightly bad experience in getting up in the mornings every day with minor backaches though. I am not quite sure if it was the age/conditions of the mattress or if I was just suffering from various arthritic and female problems that weekend I stayed there. However, I am still willing to give this hotel a few more chances before writing this hotel off for future stays. This hotel is so great for my budget and room comfort levels that I am always optimistic about staying and booking future visits there. The only other complaint/concern I have is that these rooms tend to be small. However, one can always feel cozy if they're traveling by themselves and only need one bed. Cannot testify to those rooms with 2 beds, but I have heard one guest many years back commenting about the size of the room she stayed in with some of her family members. Best of all, this hotel is right along various bus, subway, and L-train routes. Wherever I go, I only have to walk no more than 1-2 blocks to get back to the hotel. Therefore, I can also say that it's centrally located to go just about anyway in and around Chicago. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful time in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express® We had a wonderful time in Chicago and the Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The price was right, the staff was so friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in to the time we left. Thank you for a great place to stay. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My only concern is that parking is inconvenient. Everything else was excellent! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location on the magnificent mile! This hotel is in the perfect location to visit Chicago. After having your complimentary breakfast, it is about a 2 block walk to be in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It is also a quick walk to reach the elevated train system or the river to take a river taxi or boat tour! All in all my family had a great time staying at this hotel! June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and price Excellent location, very walkable to downtown attractions and convenience to public transportation, above average service and great price for downtown. Would stay there again without question. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express AWESOME time at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express These guys know how to make you fell right at home. Everything is within walking distance. The staff here are of the best that I have encountered. Front desk is so helpful along with the guys greeting you at the front door. Very recommended to others looking for a nice hotel downtown Chicago. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service, comfortable and wonderful location small room but quite comfortable. Bathroom tiny but serviceable. Terrific location. Staff extremely nice and helpful. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Pillows We loved the pillow selection. I want to buy the "soft" pillows! Fran was your best asset. Great personality and very knowledgeable and helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and great staff Would definitely stay here again if the price is right June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location. My recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express on Wabash Avenue was a very pleasant experience. I was particularly impressed with the staff and their willingness to accommodate me from changing money, recommending restaurants, using their freezer, and even finding a way for me to have refrigeration for my medication (a shout out to Princess for making this possible). I also loved the hotel's location. Trader Joe's across the street, the original Uno's a block away, PF Chang, shopping, Chicago History Museum, Navy Pier--all the sights and sounds that makes a native Chicagoan happy to be home. The room itself was very comfortable and yes, it is small, but considering the location, this is just a minor blip on the whole picture. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but convenient location and comfy I was very impressed bu the food choices for their free continental breakfast... including omelet, sausage, oatmeal and juice. The room itself was very small.. you walk in and there's the bed two feet away... however, the bed was comfortable and we slept well.. aside from the group of drunk party goers returning to the hotel at 1am and banging on my door, I slept well. It was very quiet, but if anyone were to talk loudly in the hallway, it would be very easy to hear. This place is right by the Magnificent Mile.. it's a really great location. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Chicago hotel We stayed here to be close to downtown Chicago and it worked out perfect. Everything was in walking distance as we had not rented a car and the suggestions made by the concierge, doorman etc. were all excellent. We had a wonderful visit to Chicago and this hotel couldn't have been any better. Recommend it highly. June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness lacking My room was not adequately cleaned, which includes the fact that the toilet was not thoroughly cleaned. Although this hotel is in a good location for walking, the lack of cleanliness was not acceptable, and I know that other hotels are better serviced in the downtown area for a decent price. Not worth the stay. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by May on Chicago This hotel has always been a good plase to stay if making bussiness at the McKormick Center. At only 10 usd from thair in taxi and at walk distance of all the Magnificent Mile this is perfect for Bussiness and families. The actual room rates have gone out of proportion, you can get better for less in the same area. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, and great location. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not feel unsafe in the hotel and the parking, check-in, and checkout were all very simple and user-friendly. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations as well. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I was charged more and have not received my money back I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms. I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. I called the bank today, and no money has been refunded. I called the hotel, and they said no changes have been done (so no money refunded) and the manager is not available. WHAT A JOKE! May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny Room My son and I were visiting Chicago and planned a 2 night stay at your hotel. The staff was extremely friendly which was such a nice welcome after a 13 hour car drive from Long Island. When we got to our room it was so small I was so happy we put all of our belongings into one bag for the stay, I don't know where we would have put a second piece of luggage! The carpet in the room and the bench where I set down the bag was filthy!! I think the streets of the city were cleaner! The beds were clean and comfortable but the gymnastics that one had to perform taking footware off at bedside so as to not touch the dirty carpet was crazy! The bathroom while clean did not have a counter to rest any of our toiletries...made it quite interesting trying to dry ones hair with the sink being the only place to rest the dryer. The location as other reviews have said was perfect. Someone just needs to pay more attention to room makeovers! May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed, very small room with VG bed. The good points: The staff is first-rate; friendly, helpful, understanding. Breakfast is excellent: a good variety of hot and cold options. The room is attractive and the bed very comfortable. The bad: The room was tiny--the smallest we have ever been in, and we have been stuck with a couple "closets" in the past, all outside North America. It was so small there was no room for a desk and chair, so we had to sit in bed to use our laptops. The bath is large enough--if they would put a couple shelves on the wall next to the sink. The biggest problem was noisy guests. Two nights in a row we were awakened 2-3 times well after midnight by people boisterously exiting the elevator, going to their room, then moving to another room--and back again. Moral: ask for a room as far from the elevator as possible. It won't eliminate the problem but it will help. In the end, the manager gave us a credit on the room for lost sleep and we were grateful for her understanding and willingness to make amends. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice This hotel is well located for a visit to Chicago. We parked our car in the parking garage next door and walked everywhere. Parking is expensive, $44.00 per night for self parking. $49.00 for valet. But, this is Chicago and there is no cheap parking. The hotel was very nice, and our room was nice, but very, very small. The room would be suitable for a single person, but for a couple, it was extremely crowded. Breakfast was very good and seating was adequate. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have no complaints, except for the room being too small. We would gladly stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Chicago. May 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Select to book our daily parking package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading