• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel in renovation phase The staff at this hotel is very very nice and extremely helpful. Only 2 of the 3 elevators were working during our stay which made for lengthy elevator waits at times. Our room was a suite with a kitchen....but the stove did not work and there were no pots and pans to use if it had worked. There was also no microwave in the room. There was no room service (which I expect when I stay at a Crowne Plaza). In the lobby there are 4 desks for check-in but not a single chair or sofa on which to sit to wait or just visit with other guests. Hopefully when the renovation is finished all the bad things about this hotel will disappear. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved the Day I was a last minute add to a business conference and the required hotel was overbooked. I was able to get a room at Crowne Plaza. They greeted me warmly, helped me navigate the elevators with my bags, upgraded me to a king suite facing the lake. I got to wake up to beautiful sunrises over the city. The property was an easy 15 minute walk to the conference hotel, and took me by a couple of really great resturants to hit for my meals. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Nice room This location is great. I have stayed here for shopping on Michigan Avenue and also to visit the hospital. Friendly staff and nice rooms! June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel in transition Hotel room was comfortable and quiet and was maid service was excellent. Cable TV had intermittent transmission problems and internet was out one morning. Hotel seemed to only be running two of three elevators to the taller tower of rooms resulting in occasional delays. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but a bit pricey. Hotel is nice, clean and well located for Michigan Avenue shopping or downtown business travel. Bed is comfortable and room was very clean. Views from upper floors are very nice of downtown. Better located than many of the other hotels. Also well located for Northwestern Hospital or campus. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 noise Men washing windows at 9 am in the morning outside of our room on the 35 floor June 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Fumes in Room from renovations I was booked in a room on the 26th floor which was newly / in the process of being renovated. I say in the process as you could hear drills and hammers going as though they were still working on some rooms. I was up all night from the fumes of fresh paint and caulk. It was strong and very overwhelming. So much so I could barely breath. I called the front desk and was told the hotel was completely booked. I was also told the windows in the room were bolted down and therefore could not be opened to provide me with some fresh air. It was as though they didn't give two hoops in heck about my not being able to breath. I didn't get any sleep and left the next morning with an excruciating headache. When I checked out I was offered half off my room rate and free wifi. I felt as though this room should have been free. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of Potential, but Not There Yet The price was reasonable for the room type and location. This is the only hotel where the guest is completely on their own. You unpack your vehicle, you get a luggage cart, you push the cart to your room, you get it... unfortunately, we found a bug the size of a thumb on the carpet in the bedroom. We gave it to one of the front desk people and a discount was given off our room. This hotel feels like the lobby of an office building, no atmosphere or charm. We recommend the Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart. It is a bit off Michigan Ave, but a great hotel. June 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Service I stayed at this hotel on May 20-22. I find front desk service does not live up to the premium price paid for this hotel. Before I arrived, I faxed over all paper work for credit card pre-authorization attention to Chris, who I found out later is the manager there. Yet when I checked out, I realized they over charged me for my first night stay and the reason was because they did not receive pre-authorization payment for that night. I was told to call Anna, the accountant myself to sort out the matter on my own. Why can't the staff do it themselves? Anyways, I was finally told that they think Anna refunded the over charge, but front desk people have no certain evidence that it was done. Again, I was told to check my visa statement and follow up. I still have not received the refund in my visa statement as of today. Long story short, the service wasn't there. This error was no fault of my own, and yet, it was treated as though the onus is on me to make sure the correction is made. May 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too noisy due to plumbers working on the two rooms next to ours Our stay was spoilt by Plumbers working on the two rooms nextdoor to ours. Working started very early and a constant banging/hammering could be heard in our room. So there was no chance to have a rest, one of the reasons for staying with you Your review won't allow me to add photos of the work being done in the room, no walls and bare pipes, I have tried many times, hence delay on sending this to you May 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dear oh dear... Upon checking in I was told that British Airways (through whom I booked this place) had not paid for my room and I would have to pay again! The clerk wasn't joking either, he seriously thought that I would do just that, hand over a credit card and pay again!! After a short conversation and me telling him to take a copy of my confirmation voucher, which included the hotels own confirmation number, and with me being Platinum with the IHG programme, that we were allowed to our room. The next 2 days saw repeated requests for room repayment shoved under our door, despite me giving the Front Desk Manager a direct 24hr number for BA in case of any problems. It was not until I rang BA from my mobile on an international number and THEY then rang the hotel, that the hotel finally admitted that they had got payment. The room we had was big and redecorated (not refurbished# and had a very efficient but hugely noisy old fashioned floor standing A/C unit. It was like standing at the side of a busy road when it cut in, often waking one from sleep. Not much else to say, the pool was shut despite the outside temp being in the 80's, the "English" pub next door - part of an Elephant and Castle chain in the city - served small portions of "English style" breakfast at London #think New York / Paris) prices, and that was it. Bland, dull and unsophisticated for the price paid. There is no Club Floor / Club Lounge facility. Staff who we met were pleasant people, the front of house staff were simply not trained for their basic jobs and neither it seemed, were the revenue guys. Bottom line.......sorry, there are much much better places to stay than this in Chicago for a similar budget. I have crossed Crowne Plaza USA off my brand list if this is representative of the treatment you get despite being platinum on IHG rewards. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I was very pleasantly surprised with your hotel's entire experience. Our rooms were newly renovated and smelled of new carpet and fresh paint. Beds were very comfortable and quiet. Roomy bathrooms. Really liked having a safe and refrigerator in the room. Great location. May 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor A/C operation The first night the A/c did not operate properly, the front desk was informed in the morning and it was still not working properly when we returned 8 hours later. Maintenance was called again and the unit was reset. It functioned for about 30 minutes, then quit working for the rest of the night. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, comfortable, stay Staff was very welcoming and professional. Facilities were in good condition and clean. My room was right next to elevators, but never heard any noise. I'd stay here again. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay inCentral Chicago Centrally located - was easy to access points of interest, transport etc. Appreciated being allocated a suite after travelling in the States for 5 weeks. Clean with friendly staff. Restaurant a good back up if you wish to eat in hotel. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Hotel has a great location. The front Office staff and housekeeping staff are extremely friendly and considerate. The physical appearance of the hotel is not what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza Hotel. The electrical wires in my room looked like a bowl of spaghetti. I stayed twice at the hotel in April (total of 8 nights) and one of the elevators was out of service both stays. No sign or info and wasted a lot of time waiting for the elevator. Why is there no room service even if you have a restaurant/bar in the hotel? May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The most comfortable bed and pillows!! I got the best nights sleep ever at this location. The king size bed was so comfortable and the pillows were even better. Not some cheap foam versions. These were quality pillows. friendly cleaning staff , great location and just all around a great place. I will stay here again in the future. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet Deal in Chicago Never having been to Chicago before we took our chances and booked this hotel. We only knew that we should be close to the Magnificent Mile and then we'd be in the heart of everything that Chicago has to offer. Well we were very delighted and surprised at just how great the location of this hotel is. One block off the Mile, towards the lake and within walking distance to hundreds of restaurants, the theatre, attractions and tours. Our room had just been renovated and was very tastefully done. Clean as a whistle. The beds were so comfortable and the linens so fresh and crisp. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a brand new look. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice lobby with a fireplace. The Elephant and Castle Restaurant downstairs was a great place to enjoy a nightcap once we arrived back home in the evening. We had dinner here on our last night and it was delicious - great pub food. I will spread the word about this place and all the positive things it has going for it. Nothing negative to say except for the price of parking. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Room Nice large room. It was a good value for the price, plus I believe it was newly remodeled. The only complaint I had was they were still remodeling rooms near ours so it was a little loud. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Watch for the limo ripoff. Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was generally satisfactory from room and dining standpoints. What left a negative feeling was the cost and irresponsibility of the limo service to the airport. The bellman said it was the same as a taxi ($38 + tip) but the driver demanded $55 when we arrived at O'Hare. The driver also seemed to think that freeway driving was a blood sport, tailgated and switched lanes to gain a few minutes. We were in no hurry. Our suggestion if going to O'Hare or anywhere else from the hotel is to get a regular taxi and ask for the fare, first. If you are shown a black Chevy Suburban say "No" and look for a Prius instead. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff really polite What we liked: the location, the staff, the room , everything was perfect. What we didn't like: they have nooooooooooo room service (we love it for breakefast) and there´s a daily charge if you want to use the internet, even if you're an IHG member. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value and Great Location We got a very good discount on the room. We picked this hotel because of the price and the loction, within 2 blocks of the Prentice Women's Hospital. We took advantage of the Hospital's discount with a parking garage across from the hospital and paid $25 per day rather than the $60 valet price at the hotel. We were able to walk to the hospital and restaurants, so the car was never out of the garage. The only negatives with the hotel were a leaky toilet, which was fixed immediately, and a sagging mattress which we put up with. April 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Night out in downtown Chicago Didn't like the stay at all. Informed that I'm getting a non-smoking room and also signed a form showing 'fine' for smoking in non-smoking room What i got is room in non-smoking area after a 'smoker' checked out!!. Front desk was helpful in quickly findign another room but the experience basically killed the vacation mood. Also new one was renovated one but not at all comfiy. Don't recommend to stay other than it's very convinient location. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel I requested a room on a high floor which I got, the room was clean, bed comfy and the hotel is located just off the magnificent mile so was close to the shops and the nightlife. I think the hotel is very good value. There was a bit a wait for the lifts in the morning as they are small and very busy! We were on the 35th floor and had to let a couple of lifts go as they were already full other than that the hotel met my needs perfectly and I really enjoyed my stay April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ROOM BEING A PLATINUM MEMBER AS WELL AS A AMBASSADOR MEMBER I HAVE HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF BEING UPGRADED TO THE PRESIDENTAL SUITE.WHAT A TREAT I BROUGHT MY WIFE WITH ME ON THIS TRIP AND WHAT A PLEASURE TO HAVE SUCH A WONDERFUL ROOM WITH A MILLION DOLLAR VIEW OF LAKE MICHIGAN AS WE ENJOYED 3 DIFFERT SUNRISES DURING OUR STAY SO IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GREAT ROOM AND A GREAT PROGRAM TO EARN FREE NIGHTS THIS MAKES IT ALL WORTH WHILE. GREAT STAFF THANK YOU FOR A GREATB STAY!!!! April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay.... prime location & great staff! Although we stayed on a busy weekend for the hotel (hockey frenzy) and it took about 5 minutes to catch an elevator from the 27th floor, but the staff remained friendly and helpful, nice room. Just minutes away from the Water Tower and just a block away from prime shopping on the Magnificent Mile!!! April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick, Easy and Nice This hotel has a wonderful location, just a block or so off Michigan Ave. When I checked in around 4, my room was not ready, but the staff was kind enough to upgrade my room. Nice hotel for business travel. The staff was helpful in guiding me with the "L" public transit system. April 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would be 4 stars if it weren't next to the hospital... Great location, other than being right next to the hospital. It is so loud with the ambulances--we were woken up MANY times throughout the night. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay Great location for Michigan Blvd shopping! Hotel needs some updating but all in all a great value for the cost. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Devil in the details First up, I've come to expect when staying at a mid-line hotel like a Holiday Inn or HIE, the sheets are changed occasionally during an extended night stay. However, for upper level brands like Crowne or Intercontinenal I feel the room should be FULLY serviced daily. Second, I realize HVAC is tough to master but the room literally swung hot and cold. When the heater was on, it sounded like a jet on take off roll. When I adjusted the temperature to avoid the blast furnace , it would get cold enough I'd need to wrap the blanket around me working at the desk. Now, for the latter, granted it was COLD outside and the rooms offer great amount of windows but had the thermostat worked properly, the comfort zone of the room would have been realistic. Most annoying, and it's petty to some is the hotel stopped doing room service from the on property "Elephant and Castle" restaurant in the lobby. So, I used Grub Hub, a popular delivery service on a few occasions. The hotel would not allow the delivery person to the room, despite having called me from the front desk and verifying that I had indeed ordered food, was waiting for it and my requesting they be sent up. I can understand for security purposes you can't have people wandering halls of the hotel #ironically however, you can simply walk in from the street straight to the elevators, so if the delivery guys hadn't checked in with the desk, they could have simply come up to the room# but here's a clue. If I wanted to get out of my sweats, put on shoes and go down to the lobby, I could have gone OUT to eat. The purpose of ordering food for the room is to avoid going out. Chicago has fabulous places to eat past the front doors of the hotel, so it should be plain that when I've ordered something to be delivered. As I said, petty but annoying enough to me. If the goal is security, send an escort with the guy. April 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Click to learn more about our summer savings when you  book early.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading