• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 426 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and great staff Would definitely stay here again if the price is right June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location. My recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express on Wabash Avenue was a very pleasant experience. I was particularly impressed with the staff and their willingness to accommodate me from changing money, recommending restaurants, using their freezer, and even finding a way for me to have refrigeration for my medication (a shout out to Princess for making this possible). I also loved the hotel's location. Trader Joe's across the street, the original Uno's a block away, PF Chang, shopping, Chicago History Museum, Navy Pier--all the sights and sounds that makes a native Chicagoan happy to be home. The room itself was very comfortable and yes, it is small, but considering the location, this is just a minor blip on the whole picture. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but convenient location and comfy I was very impressed bu the food choices for their free continental breakfast... including omelet, sausage, oatmeal and juice. The room itself was very small.. you walk in and there's the bed two feet away... however, the bed was comfortable and we slept well.. aside from the group of drunk party goers returning to the hotel at 1am and banging on my door, I slept well. It was very quiet, but if anyone were to talk loudly in the hallway, it would be very easy to hear. This place is right by the Magnificent Mile.. it's a really great location. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Chicago hotel We stayed here to be close to downtown Chicago and it worked out perfect. Everything was in walking distance as we had not rented a car and the suggestions made by the concierge, doorman etc. were all excellent. We had a wonderful visit to Chicago and this hotel couldn't have been any better. Recommend it highly. June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness lacking My room was not adequately cleaned, which includes the fact that the toilet was not thoroughly cleaned. Although this hotel is in a good location for walking, the lack of cleanliness was not acceptable, and I know that other hotels are better serviced in the downtown area for a decent price. Not worth the stay. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by May on Chicago This hotel has always been a good plase to stay if making bussiness at the McKormick Center. At only 10 usd from thair in taxi and at walk distance of all the Magnificent Mile this is perfect for Bussiness and families. The actual room rates have gone out of proportion, you can get better for less in the same area. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, and great location. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not feel unsafe in the hotel and the parking, check-in, and checkout were all very simple and user-friendly. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations as well. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I was charged more and have not received my money back I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms. I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. I called the bank today, and no money has been refunded. I called the hotel, and they said no changes have been done (so no money refunded) and the manager is not available. WHAT A JOKE! May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny Room My son and I were visiting Chicago and planned a 2 night stay at your hotel. The staff was extremely friendly which was such a nice welcome after a 13 hour car drive from Long Island. When we got to our room it was so small I was so happy we put all of our belongings into one bag for the stay, I don't know where we would have put a second piece of luggage! The carpet in the room and the bench where I set down the bag was filthy!! I think the streets of the city were cleaner! The beds were clean and comfortable but the gymnastics that one had to perform taking footware off at bedside so as to not touch the dirty carpet was crazy! The bathroom while clean did not have a counter to rest any of our toiletries...made it quite interesting trying to dry ones hair with the sink being the only place to rest the dryer. The location as other reviews have said was perfect. Someone just needs to pay more attention to room makeovers! May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed, very small room with VG bed. The good points: The staff is first-rate; friendly, helpful, understanding. Breakfast is excellent: a good variety of hot and cold options. The room is attractive and the bed very comfortable. The bad: The room was tiny--the smallest we have ever been in, and we have been stuck with a couple "closets" in the past, all outside North America. It was so small there was no room for a desk and chair, so we had to sit in bed to use our laptops. The bath is large enough--if they would put a couple shelves on the wall next to the sink. The biggest problem was noisy guests. Two nights in a row we were awakened 2-3 times well after midnight by people boisterously exiting the elevator, going to their room, then moving to another room--and back again. Moral: ask for a room as far from the elevator as possible. It won't eliminate the problem but it will help. In the end, the manager gave us a credit on the room for lost sleep and we were grateful for her understanding and willingness to make amends. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice This hotel is well located for a visit to Chicago. We parked our car in the parking garage next door and walked everywhere. Parking is expensive, $44.00 per night for self parking. $49.00 for valet. But, this is Chicago and there is no cheap parking. The hotel was very nice, and our room was nice, but very, very small. The room would be suitable for a single person, but for a couple, it was extremely crowded. Breakfast was very good and seating was adequate. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have no complaints, except for the room being too small. We would gladly stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Chicago. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but Too Small a Room Before staying here our considerable experience with Holiday Inn Express was all at Interstate Hwy Holiday Inn Expresses. Nice big rooms with room to relax (uphostered chair and footrest for example). We were shocked when we saw how small the room was at this location - more like a European Hotel than American. Maybe all hotel rooms in a big city like Chicago are this small, but I doubt it. You could barely move around, and unless you wanted to nap, there was certainly no way to relax in the room between sightseeing and dinner. To save space there was a beside table and proper lighting on only one side of the bed. Too bad if your companion wanted to read or set anything next to the bed. The bathroom was also very small with a toilet that was just the right size for a 7 yr old, but was a pain for an adult. The sink competed with the toilet for the "small" prize. On the plus side, we loved the location which was perfect fpr us. We would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, want a great location, and don't plan on spending much time in the room. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and room The location is perfect, the room was great and clean. I would definitely recommend and go back. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Pick I stay here almost weekly for work and the staff here is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean, though I try to avoid the smallest size of their rooms as they are a bit tight and some don't have a desk. Wifi is fast. The only thing I wish the hotel would change is to switch from using Styrofoam during breakfast. I think paper plates/bowls/etc would do the trick and be a bit more environmentally friendly. Thanks! May 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, convenient location and enduring style You'll notice this no ordinary Holiday Inn, even though it has the usual conveniences. The staff are exceptional, which helps guests past the quirks of an older property. With private bathrooms in each room and a high rise design, this was a very luxurious hotel when it opened in 1927 as Hotel Cass. Our expectations of luxury have changed, but this hotel delivers a comfortable stay today. Rooms are small for families, but adventurous couples will enjoy the charming personality of this hotel. Road warriors like me will appreciate that this place has a soul and connection to its neighborhood that makes for a memorable stay. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeping and staff Housekeeper Lorraine was very helpful. Front door staff and bell staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks for a pleasant stay! May 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small but comfortable and convenient We were four hours late via Amtrak. When our taxi arrived at the hotel, the bellman was right there and helped with our bags. Check-in was quick and we were soon in our room. The room was small but very clean. There was a window, but it looked into a solid concrete wall. and there was no light. I had a problem with a stuck zipper on my luggage and they had a service person help with that quickly and efficiently. The restroom was clean and supplied. The bed was extremely comfortable and the TV, Wi-Fi and coffee maker worked, Also the climate control worked as we like it so we had a good night sleep. The breakfast met our expectations which is why I always choose this chain. Unlike most Holiday Inns there was no swimming pool so I didn't get my morning workout. They had a fitness room, but as I am handicapped, I can't use the kind of equipment. Overall it was not the best HIE we've stayed in, but the basic needs were well met. I would stay here again. May 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst hotel and service - EVER!!! Arrived very late due to weather issues at Midway Airport.. When checking in at 3am I was told that the custodian would have to let me into my room due to key programming issues and they would slide my key card under my door once programmed. Never heard of this ever! After arriving at 3am in the morning I was put on the 14th floor where I was woken up at 7am due to construction going on rooms around my room, I called front desk and spoke to a gentleman who said they were not to start that early and he would handle it. Well...it continued. 9am...knocking on my door for maid service...note...I was just there for that night for a conference in Chicago (maid service should have a list of rooms of people checking out same day) I informed them I was checking out at noon that day - 10am, knock on my door - maid service - surprise!!! REALLY...after this I spoke with my wife and she travels 3 weeks out of the month and she made a call to the front desk and spoke with Jackie (Manager) who was very rude to say the least...and have left a call for the GM - Todd and no call back as of yet! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!! May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were bullies when told what needed to be done Staff told how to handle billing, told no problem then when problems were confronted they appeared surprised. Asked for cleaning the room before check out, should check which guests are about to leave avoiding to ask for room serviced to the ones who are about to leave within hours May 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small, but comfortable rooms. The location is great. The hotel is well maintained and clean. Rooms are small with no comfortable seating. However, the beds are very comfortable and can easilty watch the large screen TV. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is great. The staff here is great. Everytime I've checked in they great you warmly, and are always willing to ask questions whether they be about directions or restaurants. Keep up the good work, I'll be back. The hotel's location to Mag mile and restaurants on Rush is great! May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown location I had a meeting at city hall so I chose this location for easy travel to/fro. Some of the staff were very helpful, but when I checked in, it was quite late and the front desk was less than helpful... May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderf staff The front desk staff was absolutely wonderful. One particular front desk member called the guests by their first name...it made everything very welcoming when you were coming in and out and the staff would say "Welcome Back!" Or "See you Later". And the valet was awesome. Great guys! Rooms were a little on the small side...but the front desk assured us that even though the rooms were small, they would offer great service and they did :) April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Alright but not too nice location wise is nice place in downtown Chicago but the room are too small to stretch. April 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Hotel Disaster! The hotel front staff - those working behind the desk, were undoubtedly the worst I have ever dealt with. Even when I called IHG Customer Service to try and rectify my issue, the customer service representative, after putting me on hold to speak directly with the hotel, came back on line and expressed her disbelief at their rudeness, and inflexibility. The rooms are TINY, If you are traveling alone, the room could be adequate, providing you don't have much luggage. In the first room they ave me, the room was so small that I had to keep my suitcase in the bed with me so that I could walk around the bed. When I was moved to a second room - because the shower in the first room had 'no' water running from the faucet, the room was slightly larger - but not by much. I was there on business, and needed to stay connected via the internet. The internet worked, however it was so unsecure that my company's server denied it access. I inquired with the hotel's IT guy, but there was nothing to be done. As a result, I was forced to spend much of my time in the Starbucks across the street, using their wi-fi. Also, even though I requested a non-smoking room - which mine was adapted to, the entire floor was smoking - and was permeated with smoke, which - due to the hotel ventilation system, was circulated throughout my room - making its way in under the large gap under the door. The desk chair was broken, and leaned severely to the side, making it quite uncomfortable to sit on. And since I couldn't use the internet either, I was able to convert the tiny desk to a stand that I could put my suitcase on - thereby enabling me to walk around the bed. The closet was barely wide enough for my five shirts, and two sport jackets. However, there was, what appeared to me a file-cabinet-sized thing built into the closet, which caused my hanging shirts, and jackets, to fold up at the bottom. The pillows were well-worn, and had no pillow cases - until the last night of my four-night stay, when they were replaced by new pillows, with pillow cases. The bright side of my stay was the housekeeping staff, and bell hop staff. They were outgoing, pleasant, genuinely polite and helpful! April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Value for money in a very central location of Chicago April 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location ! however ... Being just steps from the Mile and within walking distance to good food and shopping was a plus, however, I'm not a big fan of retrofitting old buildings and this building is why. The refrigerator cabinet, writing desk and HVAC unit were shoehorned in. Add a king sized bed and the room was cramped. There was very little space for clothing storage (the three drawer file cabinet in the closet just didn't work for the two of us) and there was only enough room for ONE bedside nightstand! The seating was a joke, one office chair and two cushions on a box next to the wall. The staff was courteous, professional and very helpful and the complimentary breakfast and FREE wifi were plusses. Great place to sleep but you have to go out to relax. April 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rude and unaccommodating Front Desk Manager I was disappointed to find out the the rooms that I requested and confirmed prior to arrival were not available at check-in. The desk clerk was extremely rude and not only did she not apologize, she also downplayed the importance of my request and stated that "this is Chicago" so basically don't expect your needs to be met. I was extremely disappointed. If I ever go back to Chicago, I will not go to this hotel. Very disappointed in hotel. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Great location and decent price for chicago. Close to everything needed. Awesome stagff April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago 3 night stay (City Pass) Pros: very friendly staff breakfast was very normal for a Holiday Inn Express very average hotel amenities location is excellent for north of the Chicago River area nice flat screen TV in room w/several options for the TV Cons: wireless internet is very slow/didn't work sometimes in the room room didn't fit 2 adults and 3 young children very well (small old style room) I would stay in this hotel again. April 8, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading