• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 624 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Windy City jewel Stayed for two nights. Easily accessible from the L train. Slightly difficult to find as it is perched onto of another building but well within easy walking distance of all the main sight seeing attractions. Check out the route through the mar to the l train from the hotel as it means you don't have to go down to street level. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was not attentive The hotel staff didn't seem to care - we were traveling with a baby and they made no effort to help us. Everyone from the front desk, the hotel bell hop, the guys standing around near the entrance - no one offered to help us with our bags, no one offered to help us with check in, no one offered to help us get a cab - we had to ask repeatedly for help. To make it worse, they put is right next to a room with a very loud wedding party. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It was nice The property was nice. The bathroom could use some work. The fixtures were loose and the shower head was not firmly affixed to the wall. The staff were nice and attentive. The location is great for accessing downtown Chicago. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, but missing some things The room overall was very nice and the beds were great. The rooms however did not come with a microwave or refrigerator, which was disappointing. The view was nice, except they are putting in a new building right in front so there are two large cranes blocking the view. I ate breakfast at at the hotel and it wasn't very good. The eggs were over cooked and hard to cut and the pancakes were so thick that they did not cook fully in the middle. The staff was very nice and easy to work with. I did however have a problem with checking out because I ended up getting charged 7 days more than I should have because they double charged. It was hard to I kept getting transferred to different people. Overall the experience was ok, but I don't think I will be staying there again. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too Loud Your hotel was chosen for me by my client. I had stayed there in the past and have avoided it since as it was tired and needed refurbishing. The hotel has made some upgrades however they didn't complete the rooms. The bathrooms are new however the closet hangers were so outdated they still had the thief prevention hook and hangers. the bedding seems average compared to Marriott's and Sheratons. Sheets not high thread count for the cost of the room. The food was excellent and the wait staff awesome. My room was next to elevator and ice machine. Very loud as there was a convention in house. I would stay again as for the convenience to MMPI however it is not worth the value of the room rate charged. Suggest completing upgrades. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Excellent Experience I attended for a conference and I was impressed by the facilities. I enjoyed every aspect of my stay! Great view of Chicago from the bar. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by As Expected This is the perfect winter hotel if you have business at the Merchandise Mart. You can get off the Brown Line, walk through the Mart and arrive at the hotel without ever going outside. Check-in was easy and uneventful. My room on the 18th floor had a lovely view of the roof and the Willis Tower. I guess if you're going to have a view, this wasn't the worst. I was impressed with the room. Clean and modern. Shower pressure could be a little better, but the water was hot. My biggest complaints: 1. During my stay, there were torrential rainstorms which caused the carpet by my window to become wet. 2. The air conditioner would cycle on and off several times within the hour. Don't know if this is common or I had a faulty system. 3. The walls are paper thin. My last night, my neighbors decided it would be a good idea to sing songs until 2 in the morning. Considering I was getting up at 3:30 AM for a flight, you could say I was a little upset. I guess its my fault for not contacting security. Still, the location is excellent, and I will be back, but most likely during the winter when I don't want to go outside. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and very close to my training. I was very pleased with my stay. The valet staff was very professional and friendly. I reception desk was always very positive and said hello every time I went past. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay The service here was excellent. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The rooms and common areas were nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel is located close to the train line so public transportation is a breeze. We enjoyed our stay immensely. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room...great staff Very nice room. Need to update amenities info as whirlpool no longer exists. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very nice location with great staff. Had a very nice breakfast. The bar is first class with the views and relaxing time while the service was very good. The room was very nice with another great view of the city. Also, the pool was very nice and clean, but very warm, could use a couple ceiling fans to move some air.. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views, nice location, brilliant concierge! Me and 2 friends were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the middle of Chicago for a weekends sightseeing. We literally booked this due to the price (most others were ridiculously expensive!) When we arrived the hotel exceeded our expectations! It was right on the river, within easy walking distance of the city's main tourist sights. The view from our room was great and the concierge couldn't have been more helpful! It was perfect for what we needed and far exceeded our expectations! June 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Manager of the Hotel The Front Desk manager had a very bad attitude. He ignored the status of Priority Membership and did not listen to the issues raised by the customer. I was very disappointed for my stay. Big mistake. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable setting older property but done nicely nice view of river from room June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice staff, eh room We stayed in Chicago because of a child's graduation. The location was convenient, the lobby was attractive, the staff very friendly but the room was quite outdated. It merited the 3 out of 5 rating that most had given. June 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location very nice hotel and great location; hotel has gone through nice update ... lobby and rooms look very nice June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated Disappointment I was really disappointed with this Holiday Inn property, particularly for the price I paid. I know it is competitively priced with other downtown Chicago properties, but it is not furnished accordingly. The furniture was mismatched, damaged and outdated, appearing to have been purchased used circa 1985. Bed was okay but not to the standards of other Holiday Inns and HI Expresses in which I have recently stayed. Thin linens and doll-size pillows. Toilet in the bathroom was cracked at the base and, annoyingly, the space for the toilet itself was extremely tight for a 200 lb. man. The toilet paper holder poked me in the side whenever I moved. Only one phone in the room was in working condition and, again, circa 1985. I could go on but that's the idea. Discovered I was placed next to the service elevator, so perhaps they just don't care about outer rooms. Would have requested a room change but I was only there for a short amount of time and for one night. Will not return to this difficult-to-access property. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza We came to Chicago to celebrate our 30th anniversary and were very pleased with the hotel room. It was spacious and had a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and after a long day, fell right to sleep. Another impressive item was the silence in the room. We did not hear other guests or outside traffic. The only complaint of the hotel was how plain it was. Looking over the balcony, the walls and hallways were plain with no décor at all. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and chose the buffet. We did not ask the price and were shocked at the $24.95 per person charge. The buffet was not impressive enough to warrant the price nor was the service. Avoid the hotel restaurant or order off the menu. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best of the Best, if you want less, stay with the rest! I had a great experience. My room had great views of the Downtown. Room was very modern design. Room Service was a real standout, Dee made ordering food a fun an memorable experience, not something you would expect. Great Location and Front Desk staff was friendly. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn but the one issue I had with my room personally was the wifi service. It was not good at all and even when connected (which my devices could barely do), I could hardly work on the wifi (from both my phone and my laptop). That made it tough when traveling for work and trying to get some work done in the room. That would be my only complaint with my stay, everything else was great - staff, service and the Cityscape bar were great. Comfort of the room otherwise was great also. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amenities Awesome location for going to evening show.. and view from the bar great. Fabulous little pizza Fennel sausage pesto pizza.. Great mixed Drinks. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view Staff was extremely pleasant and corner room with view was amazing. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great value for Chicago! The staff was very accommodating, we took Amtrak to Chicago and arrived by 11 am. The front desk had a room for us immediately. We were also given a late checkout for no additional charge and they stored our luggage until our train left in the evening. The pool was nice, the room was on the small side but it had a wonderful view of the city! Overall it was a great trip to Chicago with my husband and our 3 year old! The hotel's staff and customer service definitely meet our expectations with excellent service from all! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff Accommodated early check in. The standard room was a bit substandard as my view was a very large vent from the restaurant. Fortunately the desk was able to change my room and the room was very nice. Very friendly staff in both restaurants and food was good. Will stay here again when I bring my wife back for a special occasion Thanks June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bath Tub Never worked + food was burnt I stayed three nights and during my stay the bath plug never work. The worker that came to fix twice was rude. I did get a reduction at of $50 off my bill, which is lik4 $15 a night. Not good. I expected to enjoy a bath at the prices. The food in the restaurante was burnt. At this point I decided this hotel is not worth the money. Location is great. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars apart from the noise..... I first went to Holiday Inn Mart Plaza 4 years ago with my family as I wanted to try something else that the Crowne Plaza or Intercontinental and since then I am regularly returning to this property every time I come to Chicago. And until today I did not experience the noise that I have been experiencing being in room 1612! The hotel is great, the room is also great (corner room - many thanks for the nice upgrade...) and was refurbished I believe, all staff are gentle and courteous so everything is right here apart from the many noises that come through the windows and only seem to stop between 2 to 6 am. The fact that the room faces the iron bridge used by CTA's Green and Pink lines does not help at all although I have already been on this side of the building but closer to the other end and did not suffer from the noise then. Today's rating for Room and comfort and Ability to relax are impacted by the noise factor and would otherwise have been 5's. This is the first time that I have such an experience. Still I will return here at my next stop in Chicago as the place is well worth it. But I will put a note asking to be placed on this side if possible but at the other end of the block and if possible at a higher floor!! June 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dude, where's my car The valet lost the keys to my car. Took an hour to locate. The solution "take a cab"!! Are you kidding me? Good thing I was not on a tight schedule. Still, very, very bad. Since I'm an honored "Awards" member, I get goodies when I check in. Problem is, they give one lousy bottle of water and a packet of awful trail mix per room. Not per guest! Used to at least give one per guest. Now, you have to share one bottle of water between all of you. Somehow, I don't feel like an honored guest. The restaurant is poor quality and overpriced. There's no coffee shop. Oh well, at least it's inexpensive for downtown Chicago. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The location was good, but I was disappointed with the room quality for the price. I booked a room in a suite, corner room. If I had stayed in a Holiday Inn Express Suite I would have had a microwave and fridge. I had neither in this room. For the price I thought the room was a little small. However, it was Chicago so maybe my expectations were a little too high for the price of the room. I will say the conceirge was the best.....he provided us with great information and really made our stay enjoyable. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Style at Competitive Rates My wife and I stayed at the HI River North this past Memorial Day weekend for the second year in a row. It's conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chicago with some great views of The Mart, Loop, Wacker Drive, and Chicago River below. Our 20th floor room was quiet, immaculate, and freshly updated with a captivating skyline vista. And the Cityscape Bar on the (main) 15th floor is a must-see-do for guests and visitors alike. For price, convenience, cleanliness, and staff courtesy in downtown Chicago, this is hard to beat. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service My daughter and I were very impressed with the high level of customer service that was provided by every employee we came in contact with during our stay. Everyone seemed to possess a "can do" attitude which made for an exceptional stay. Clearly, the employees are happy where they work so kudos to the management! We would like to extend a very special thank you to Russell at the concierge desk. He did an exceptional job connecting with us, and helping us choose activities that were "right" for us. May 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading