• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.
Announcements

SUITE SAVINGS!

Experience Downtown Chicago luxury!

Click our Hotel Packages tab and select the SUITE PACKAGE.
Pamper yourself without breaking the
View More

Announcements

SUITE SAVINGS!

Experience Downtown Chicago luxury!

Click our Hotel Packages tab and select the SUITE PACKAGE.
Pamper yourself without breaking the bank.

Package applies to reservations of two nights or more. Package includes complimentary wireless Internet.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 349 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good but way to noisy We had a room at the end of the hall. I am pretty sure the entire hotwl's plumbing system ran through the wall our bed was on. VERY loud water running for what seemed like EVERY hotel toilet flush or shower. Even at 5am...felt like every 30 mins. Other than disrupted sleep, the hotel was nice, good location & a decent included breakfast....wish it was available past 10am on the weekends. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding location & value Located a block off Michigan Ave's magnificent mile & surrounded by great resturants, this Hotel Cass/Holiday Inn Express is an outstanding value for cost. The attentive staff was particularly helpful in suggesting tours, transport, etc. & their personal service helped to give an ambience more like a boutique than an "express". The breakfast was also a bit better with a different omelet & breakfast meat each day & hot cinabuns, biscuits & gravy, fruit, as well as the usual cereals, breads, yogurt. The only down-side was the terrible cost of parking. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fair value We enjoyed our stay. The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We knew in advance that our room would be small so that was not a problem. But the lack of drawer space was a bit annoying as was the lack of a chair. We had to live out of our suitcases. We have had smaller cabins on a ship and still had room for a desk, a chair and several drawers. We think that Holiday Inn Express should hire an interior designer with experience in ship design to help the next time they do a refurb. We also found the temperature control to be a problem. While it was mostly ok we found that at times we were either freezing or boiling. Despite the shortcomings, the price was right and we would stay again. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Location Location This is an adorable boutique hotel. The location could not be better. 2 blocks off Michigan Ave and easy to get around. Close to great restaurants and shopping. The room was tiny! It didn't bother us because it was clean and had everything we needed for 2 nights in Chicago. The staff was very helpful and friendly. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Right where you want to be in Chicago. Easy walks or cabs. Very clean room. Windows that actually open were great. Value for adult weekends and business trips. October 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Meticulously clean with good location This property has two things going for it: the location and the fact that the housekeeping is meticulous. On the down side, the rooms are very small, and there is considerable street noise. Finally, the electronic room keys never seem to work, requiring repeated trips to the front desk to get them reactivated. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Comfortable Room The room was very nice. We really loved the decor of the beds. They looked like vintage wall pull out beds. Nice ! The only set back if any but my wife made a comment that when someone's toilet and also ours was flushed it was heard loudly. October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The air cionidtioning unit was loud I didn't get a good night sleep air condition very loud as it when on and off on and off on and off! October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small Rooms but great staff Very helpful staff. Clean rooms. Great location. Good food. The rooms are very small. October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good choice for Chicago Marathon This is a decent downtown hotel, and I always like staying at properties with a history. As others have noted, the rooms are tiny. I had hoped my platinum status might gain me an upgrade, but the only benefit it got me was a bottle of water in a bag from the front desk at check-in. My main comment is that there are other hotels that are a better choice for, and more supportive of, the Chicago Marathon. While we were told that breakfast would be set up at 5AM for runners, there was no attempt to do so and the front desk claimed no knowledge of any promises made by the hotel the day before. There wasn't even coffee! I walked to the race, hungry, gazing wistfully through the windows of other hotels that had set up breakfast early for their runners. As a contrast, the staff here seemed more interested in bemoaning the impact the race was going to have on their commute than welcoming the runners and supporting them. Even in downtown Chicago, for over $200/night you can do better - and I will next time. I have to say that this was a first - every other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed for at a race set up breakfast early for the runners. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location- small quarters Overall, I would stay here again! Was in town for the marathon, so prices were quite high. Rooms and hallways are very small, but location is worth it. Friendly staff! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charming We had walked by and seen this location in the past. Very quaint-looking so when I took my wife to the city for her birthday I opted to stay there. Very friendly staff, fabulous location. Being an old boutique hotel from the 20's the rooms a bit small as expected but wonderfully appointed. Corey (sp?) at the front desk was genial!! October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice in downtown Chicago- will be back! This hotel was great!!!! It was a stylish mix of the old and the new. The front desk wasted no time getting me my room key and and I was in my room in no time. The security was good. Room keys for front door and elevator after dark. The small room size was typical for a downtown hotel. The room very stylish, well appointed and there was a good use of space. There was lots of natural light in the room. The windowed bathroom was a good size and also had lots of natural light which is rare for a hotel bathroom. I appreciated the 24 hr coffee, tea, and ice water in the lobby. The business center was on the second floor and actually everything worked including the printers and there was lots of paper and pens so i did not have to run anyone down for anything. The gym and vending machines were also on the second floor. Everything there worked as well and was in good repair. The breakfast was served in the inviting great room which is just past the front desk. This area consisted of tables, wall to wall booths, couches, tray tables and chairs along with flat screen tv's. There was also an additional room for additional seating during the breakfast hours. Well done! I did not have to fight for a table/place to eat! Breakfast was a typical HI Express breakfast and there were not outages of anything so that was appreciated. I could not complain about anything! The only BAD part of my stay WAS ACTUALLY HAVING TO LEAVE!! Thanks so much. I will be back October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant stay I was pleased with the room, the bed, the service and the staff. I would stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a nice, centrally located part of Chicago. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location The location is great! We had a very good experience with the hotel engineer. As there was loud noise from outside which was really disturbing during night the engineer (John if I remember correctly) came to the room and decided to switch that fan off. Really nice. He also brought an additional bed to the room and provided extra blankets to make the (not so comfortable) rollaway bed much more comfortable. Thanks a lot John! October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and friendly people Enjoyed the comfy and cozy rooms. Everyone was very nice and helpful. breakfast bar is somewhat limited (didn't care for the 'eggs' or sausage patties). Overall, I would stay again! October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good Very good place to be. Well located. Real downtown. Very busy, but that is OK for Chcago. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. Cosy restaurant. Very attentive and helpfull staff at the check-in and the doormen. Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location great location for magnificent mile, comfortable hotel, but not the friendliest of staff October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Location Hotel location is stellar. Slept well, no noise issues. Room was very small, but modern and clean. Building is old, so the elevators are few and slow. Workout room is not good. Staff is great. It's so nice to have breakfast included. It does shut down promptly at the posted time. My daughter and I had an excellent experience. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value at great Location I would expect a hotel at this location to charge more or, at this price, be inadequate in regards to room size, staff service, etc but this is not the case here. Very good value and nice rooms, would stay again. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Desk service and bellmen excellent...Helpful. Good location and comfortable. Liked the fact we could open window! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Comfortable bed, liked accessibility to Michigan Ave , plus walking distance to many attractions. Would like to have a small frig. All in, good experience October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This is the old Cass Hotel which was getting a little run down and seedy. Holiday Inn has redecorated and the result is inviting. Room was small (2 double beds) but livable. Staff was very friendly and greeted us each time we returned to the hotel. You can't beat the price and location for Chicago. Only 2 short blocks from Michigan Ave. and the Magnificent Mile! Good breakfasts with lots of selections. Stayed here 4 nights and will definitely return. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite place to stay in Chicago This is the most quaint and cozy hotel. I love staying here and have on a number of occaisions. The rooms are cute and modern. The rooms remind me of dorm rooms, but if you don't need square footage it is the best place to stay for the price. It is withn walking distance of Michigan Ave and great resturants and fun. The breakfast is great and the staff are warm and friendly. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service Although the hotel room was very small it was clean, modern, and comfortable. There was a free breakfast every morning that was good. The best part of our stay was the friendly and helpful staff. they go out of their way to make you feel at home and help you with making arrangements for visits to local attractions. The locations is perfect because it is in walking distance to many of those attractions. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a really nice trip... We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - Magnificent Mile for 3 nights. Overall, our stay was excellent. Just a few of things we kept saying over and over again was: - the location is perfect!! - nice and close to all the "things to do" in Chicago - the staff were very friendly and helpful - continental breakfast was very good - lots of choices - the rooms: - are a little small, but they have made great use of the space there is - clean and modern - bed was very comfortable We really didn't have any "cons", but I want to give an honest review, so I should just include a couple very minor things: - I wish there a few more "healthy" options at the breakfast - maybe more of a variety of yogurt - the kind offered was very high in fructose corn syrup - but again, there were lots of other great choices (ie. eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.) - the air conditioning in the room was a little loud when it came on during the night Again, overall we had a great stay at this hotel. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Chicago. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Friendly Staff While the rooms are very small, we found that it accommodated our needs very well. The location was perfect. Walking distance to the subway, Hop On/Hop Off, and lots of great restaurants (Hugo's Frog Bar, Centro, Portillo's, Harry Carey's). Princess greeted us with a smile, and called our room after we were settled to confirm that everything was okay. We had one request, and it was immediately handled. While housekeepers seldom get mentioned, we feel that Bianca deserves special recognition. She did an excellent job of refreshing and refurbishing our room. We believe one of the primary reasons the front desk staff and concierge are so friendly and helpful is due to Jackie's leadership role in daily operations. We will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn Express when we return to Chicago. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cass Holiday Inn Rooms were very small, but up to date. The location was pretty good as well. September 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room size and attitude My company recently held a convention in Chicao and some of us where put up at this property. Location seemed great as it was close to restaurants and other activity in "downtown' area. I was quite disappointed in the size of the room as there was little or no space to do anything but sleep. As a business traveler I expected to be able to have space to do some work after a day on convention floor. I had an outside room and it was very noisey. My last night there my sleep was interupted by rowdy and drunk people outside my room. When I called down to complain, the desk clerk said that when they sent someone up there was no noise so therefore she could not make an adjustment to my room charge. She also stated that they were guest too, and sometimes people get drunk, loud and swear. She really did not seem too concerned that as what I called a good guest was unable to sleep due to the guest making noise. NEVER AGAIN September 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service However... I like the Holiday Inn Express brand primarily for consistency. Although the staff was wonderful, the property was a huge disappointment. Our room was tiny, with barely enough space to move around. There was no counter space in the bathroom and only one side table for the bed (not on my side). I won't recommend the hotel to friends because I think you can find a better property for much less (and I have in the past through travel websites). September 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.