• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish
  4. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts cats and dogs up to 25 pounds maximum with a nonrefundable 75 dollars deep cleaning fee. Pets can not be left unnattended in room at any time. Pets are not allowed in Public areas unless they are service dogs.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:351
  • Total number of suites:100
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:227
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:121
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:40
If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious
View More

If you are looking for a hotel that combines prestige and comfort with outstanding service, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is the hotel for you. Perfectly situated steps off the Magnificent Mile, The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel's guests appreciate being in the heart of downtown Chicago. Our hotel is a first class, 350-room property with 143 suites and an entire floor dedicated to the business traveler, featuring iMAC computers in each room.

Our spacious guest rooms make us the ideal downtown Chicago hotel for individuals and families alike. Many of our guests value our location, steps from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago and Lurie Children's Hospital. Our Corporate travelers, whether in town working with a local company such as Apple, IBM or Nike, or in town attending a Convention at McCormick Place or the Merchandise Mart, find convenience in the use of our highspeed internet and complimentary business center.

The Avenue Crowne Plaza Hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when you visit Chicago for pleasure. A short train ride to Wrigley Field, half a block from Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Place Mall, steps from acclaimed Chicago restaurants and nightlife, a short walk from Lake Michigan, The John Hancock Building and Navy Pier, you can truly experience it all when you start with TheAvenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

View Less
Features
There's a reason our Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Downtown hotel is the ultimate destination; from in-room spa therapies to a seasonal outdoor rooftop swimming pool to a premier location, the Avenue Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile is the Chicago choice for discerning travelers.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was very friendly and courteous. The suggestion they made for the lake and river cruise was great. The location was not quite as convenient to restaurants, shops and attractions as I had hoped. But I may have misread the map and not investigated carefully enough before booking. My husband's walking ability is somewhat limited, so it wasn't as convenient for him. The subway stop is nearby, but we generally used cabs to get around the city. There is some noise from the highway nearby. If you're not used to such noise, it might be annoying. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, good people One of the best overall staffs I have interacted with in an urban hotel. Very friendly and accomodating. They know the local area well and are able to help people navigate well in the city and use public transportation. The physical hotel needs some attention. The bathtub drains very slowly and the vent fan does not move air at all. It is clean and well cared for, but definately needs some remodeling. That said, it is worth the stay due to clean rooms and outstanding staff. Fitness center and business center is first rate. Pool a bit small, but very usable for a nightime cool-down. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tremendous service from the front desk Front desk offered to hold our bags when early check-in was not available. When we did check-in the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, which we appreciated. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Over age bed One of the bed was smashed. The office chair should be send to the recovery. There is only 1 chair in the room. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice hotel walking distance from Union Station and Metro link. We recently spent three nights in Chicago. The hotel seemed recently remodeled, the room was very small, but it was cozy. The mattress was too hard for my taste, but my husband liked it. The walls were also thin, we could hear the people next to use talking and their TV when it was quiet in our room. The breakfast was very good, $9 for the cold buffet, which had a lot to offer, I thought it was worth spending an extra few dollars for the whole thing. Kids eat free, which was great, my son enjoyed the pancakes and bacon every morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free use of Business Center, printing was even free. It was right across the street from the Metro Link, Union Station was only a few blocks away. Both were easy to walk to. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food Need to get Aurillios back!!!! The outfit that's currently providing food service is not up to my standards. Philly Cheese Steak I paid an arm and a leg for was horrible. And the employees I dealt with there need about a two semester course in Customer Service. Other than that, still a GREAT hotel. I've stayed there numerous times. Your front desk staff is always very professional and the house cleaning personnel I've come into contact with in the halls are extremely courteous. Yeah, I'll be back!!!!!! August 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Stay During Remodeling I understand that hotels need to keep up with the times, but my room was sold out from under me and I was placed in an under construction room! There were no curtains, people's bowls were in there from lunch and the safety lock was broken off the door!!! I couldn't get a new room because they were sold out. The next night, I was placed in a different room in which the toilet ran all night. It was an incredibly disappointing stay. The one positive was decent food in the restaurant. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location The location is great to the train. If u take Amtrak its about 4 blocks away. You can walk. The staff is very nice. They even Put my left over pizza in an oven to reheat later. Close to Greek Town. But the pizza place next door is gone and Replaced with India place. Close to the light rail. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average It is a good hotel, there is a litlle sound from cars because the hotel is near to a principal street. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat customers.....great stay!! Stayed here 2 years ago....great place. Walking distance to Union station, subway and bus. Rooms are clean - beds could be upgraded to queen rather than double and aren't too comfy. Staff is great - very helpful! Gave coupons for apps or dessert at local restaurants. Sunny's had a good breakfast buffet. Next time we head to Chicago, we will def be staying here!! August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Iffy. First off the staff was great, more than helpful and went well out of their way to make us feel welcome. Besides the breakfast that was about the only good thing about this place. We stayed in room 507 and it was disgusting. The carpet was wet, the baseboards were falling off, the electrical outlets were broken and pushed into the walls and the vent in the bathroom was ridiculously gross, this is just a small list of issues. They were in the middle of renovating but that is no excuse for why our room was terrible. The room was a good size though. If I have another option I will not be staying here again, I will go further out of town and suck up a longer drive. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm welcome We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival, from reception, and a map and local information. The room was comfortable and good sized for our family of 5. We had breakfast which was nice although we thought there could have been a simpler choice for the children, ours only wanted cereal and/toast. The pool was nice -smaller than it looked on the brochure - but aren't they all! We were the only people in there anyway. A small discrepancy on the bill was handled professionally on departure. Overall a good stay and would return here with no hesitation. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and friendly staff but... The reviews who stated that the staff was friendly, were right! We enjoyed the service and help in getting taxis. However, the hotel is a bit run down, and did not reflect the photos on the website. Also there was a painting crew on our floor painting the walls and doors. I was surprised we weren't warned ahead of time as well as that they would pick a weekend to have this work done. The suites were also on the smaller side. The roof top pool was great but if you are looking for an upscale hotel, I would search closer to downtown. We took the train to Chicago for a weekend, so that was also nice to be so close to the train station. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Guests Because this hotel met our needs, I'm giving it 5 stars. It may not be the fanciest hotel we've stayed at, but we were very satisfied. The staff were especially accommodating...whether it was to supply us with a few toiletries we had forgotten to bring or to give advice for public transportation and directions to attractions. They were quick to address any requests that we had. The location was also convenient for us since we arrived by Amtrak. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great find, helpful staff. We found this hotel to be a great find for the money. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It was clean and located near the train station, which was what we wanted. They even kept watch over our luggage after we checked out, so we could still enjoy Chicago before we left in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This Holiday Inn was an oasis in a desert of long exhausting days. The service at this Holiday Inn set a higher bar of expectation for guest services in the future. Everybody was courteous, professional, and pleasant. From the Front desk to the bellman, all made me feel like a special guest. The restaurant was not the best. But I learned the day after I checked in that the restaurant had closed and was reopening under a new owner after extensive renovations. If this is true, this Holiday Inn will be hard to book in the future. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dave from Grand Rapids Staff was excellent all the way around. Great location from train station. Comfortable room, bed, bathroom. Buffet breakfast was worth the price, especially if you are hungry as our thirteen year old son was. Would definitely stay there again. Neede taxis for our travels around the city, and the hotel got them quickly. Also held our luggage, at no cost, as we did things during the day until we caught our train back home. Very good place to stay. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but priced too high We stayed at this property for 3 nights. The staff was exceptional. The rooms are average for a Holiday Inn although they do appear to be doing renovations. The room numbers were written on tape on the doors and someone thought it was funny to move them around. We ordered food which was delivered to another room because someone had moved the numbers around! Normally I wouldn't fault the hotel, but the security officer was the one who walked the delivery person to the wrong room. With that said....the price is pretty high for the area and what you get. Parking and breakfast were not included. You'd be better off staying loser to tourist destinations. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Exceeds Expectations I cannot express how fabulous the evening staff is at this property. My grandson and I stayed the evening. From gentlemen cleaning the downstairs to the doorman to the ladies at registration - they took the time to know my grandson - and addressed him each time they saw him by name. WONDERFUL! July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay in Chicago Just want to let you know how much we enjoy our stays with you. This last time the staff and service was especially great. We had 2 of our girls and their families with us and really enjoyed the 3 days that we were with you. One more thing one of my daughters left bathing suits, and new Build-A-Bears, we called and you sent it to us in the mail. Thanks so much to management and staff. Angie Byall July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by July '13 review, one night stay Everything fine, no problems. Sink drained poorly, maintenance person fixed right away. Requested late checkout, ok for 2pm. Food good at restaurant down the hall from lobby. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, friendly, good location great place to stay, close to lots of attractions and sightseeing. We came on Amtrack, it was only four blocks away. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable staff I travel extensively, and can honestly say this is the hardest working, most accommodating staff of any hotel I've stayed at. They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, and make sure they know your name and remember your needs. Rooms are small but very comfortable, restaurant is great, and the roof top pool has a great view of Willis (nee Sears!) tower. Highly recommended. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, clean hotel My family and I stayed at this hotel on a 3 day trip to Chicago. We have a 2 year old, so we wanted a separate room off the sleeping area since he goes to bed around 7pm. The ONLY hotel we could find in downtown Chicago without paying $400 a night was this one. It ended up being a great hotel with clean rooms and awesome staff. Across river from Willis Tower and only 3 blocks off Michigan Ave area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs suites and doesn't want to pay a fortune! Even has a restaurant and a bar in the lobby. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Great value within Chicago- comfortable bed- great restaurant attached for breakfast!! July 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NO CLIENT ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE It wouldn't let me post my first review which was the brutle truth regarding this property so I will make this short. Will not stay at this location nor recommend it to the many family/friends that visit the chicago area on a regular basis. July 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, friendly staff After missing my train at Union Station I chose this Holiday Inn to rest overnight until the next train. Frankly, I chose it because it was the hotel closest to the station. Everything from the reservationist to the pleasant send-off the next morning at the front desk were without a flaw, complete with a taxi at the door. The room was clean and quiet and the staff I met in the hallways were friendly and accommodating. Had a wonderful meal in the Lounge, though I was surprised at the checkered oil cloth table cloths. I guess I expected something a step up. But the food and service were excellent! Thank you. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable place for relaxation The facilities are outstanding. It is has a good location. Transportation near the hotel is excellent. June 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, good food and pleasant atmosphere The rooms are nice and the food in Aurelio's Restaurant is surprisingly good. I love the pizza and the other menu items are consistently good. I stay four days a week most weeks as I'm working near the hotel. the pleasant atmosphere and the warm helpful people keep me coming back. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Family Hotel This is a great family hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The rooftop pool was a very nice treat. My kids loved the idea of taking the elevator to the penthouse. The restaurants staff was friendly and the food was good. The hotel parking is affordable but there is a public lot right next to the hotel for $20 per day. I highly recommend this hotel for folks travelling with kids. June 15, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Exterior of the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Lake Michigan, a short walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Enjoy the Chicago River, a 5 min walk from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Located on the corner of Huron and St. Clair, steps from Mag Mile Avenue Crowne Plaza Downtown Chicago Hotel Lobby Millennium Park one mile from the Avenue Crowne Plaza Chicago Avenue Crowne Plaza located off Michigan Avenue / Magnificent Mile Lobby Area Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading