• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered service dogs with proper documentation are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
NeMours (DuPont Mansion)
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Brandywine Zoo
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Winterthur Museum
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Philadelphia Professional Sports Complex
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:277
  • Car Parking Available
  • Large, well-lit parking lot. Motorcoaches Welcome! Right off the Interstate!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:191
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:70
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:108
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:189
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:DE0027
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza – Wilmington North located in the heart of the Brandywine Valley. We are conveniently located off I-95 with easy access to Philadelphia International Airport just 10 minutes north and downtown Wilmington, DE - 8 miles south. Enjoy a blissful night’s sleep with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program in all of our over-sized guest rooms and suites. We are the ideal hotel for the business and leisure traveler. The Crowne Plaza - Wilmington North is only minutes from
View More
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza – Wilmington North located in the heart of the Brandywine Valley. We are conveniently located off I-95 with easy access to Philadelphia International Airport just 10 minutes north and downtown Wilmington, DE - 8 miles south. Enjoy a blissful night’s sleep with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program in all of our over-sized guest rooms and suites. We are the ideal hotel for the business and leisure traveler. The Crowne Plaza - Wilmington North is only minutes from Wilmington, DE area corporations including DuPont, AstraZeneca, Accenture, Evraz, AIG, BlackRock, Zurich, IBM and many others. While staying in the Crowne Plaza hotel in the picturesque Brandywine Valley, visit Longwood Gardens, Harrah’s Chester Casino and Racetrack, Winterthur Museum, and Brandywine River Museum – all a short distance away. Easy access to Philadelphia Sports Complex, including Citizens Bank Park, Wells Fargo Center and Lincoln Financial Field. The Crowne Plaza - Wilmington North features 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. The Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for weddings, social events or business meetings for up to 700 guests. The Crowne Plaza hotel has two executive floors with private lounge, complimentary high speed wireless internet, 24-hour fitness center, business center and outdoor pool. We look forward to welcoming you.
View Less
Features
The Crowne Plaza - Wilmington North provides luxurious amenities for both the corporate and leisure traveler. Enjoy a restful night's sleep in our inviting guest rooms

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stormy weather I stay at this location a lot. I was headed to another city when a snow storm hit and got very bad very quick. I knew I would not make the other location due to weather. I called the desk (not reservations) and the wonderful young lady who knew me by name said no problem get here safely, I have a room for you. It took me over a hour to drive 7 miles but I made it. All of the people(staff members) at this location have always treated me very well. One time I has an issue with my room charge and the manager herself handled it and I have never had anothe issue. To me when I am in the Philadelphia area it is like going home when I stay at this Holiday Inn Express. January 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I have come to expect from an express Bed was good. Walls are thin, shuttle drivers are rude to the point of not even making eye contact with you. I have stayed a few times and its not just one of their drivers. Stay on the top floor or stay awake all night listening to your upstairs neighbor. This hotel should be your last option. I am a platnum member and travel 150 + days a year. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Gettaway We stayed at this location for a wedding in Center City Philadelphia. We chose this location primarily because of free parking and of course the continental breakfast. Although there was maintenance being performed on the elevator, the stay was great. We were only there for two nights, but I can't think of a complaint. The hotel staff were cordial and very knowledgeable. They provided a full breakfast. The rooms were clean as well. No complaints. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stuck in Philly My wife and I got stuck in Philly due to storms cancelling flights. After fighting the airline we decided to just stay at this HI Express located just a short distance from the Airport. Shuttle dropped us off and the staff quickly got us a room. We enjoyed a night a JD McDuffies right down the street and had a wonderful room to sleep in. The breakfast could use some TLC but for the most part it was a nice room and stay December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you When I go to a new place I always try to stay at Holiday Inn Express, but it is also with some apprehension over what I will find. This facility was super! I would stay again without any trepidation and I recommend it to anyone who wants a convenient place at good value. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints! I had to travel for my job and my original reservation was cancelled (not by me) at a different hotel. This hotel was very happy to book me in. It was a bit farther out, but the service,the staff, and the breakfast were well worth it. The desk clerk asked my floor preference, and was happy to arrange a cab for my early morning trip to work. The second night of my stay, they recommended a great little place that had delivery for dinner, since the weather had turned cold & windy. December 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired Holiday Inn Express location Airport shuttle was very friendly and accommodating & the complimentary breakfast was done quite well. After that, the front desk staff was quite abrupt, they had nothing prepared even though I had made my reservation 10 days prior to arrival using the IHG website and my Priority Club Number. The room was very tired which surprised me because the room rate was quite high for a Holiday Inn Express.The Hotel is I believe quite old and in future I would spend a little more and find a place with a little more ambience and comfort. November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst of the Holiday Inns? Likely one of the worst stays at Holiday Inns and I am staying in Holiday Inn at least once a month! November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service could have been better Everything was great. I just felt when I would ask the front desk a question she was very short and rude on two different occasions. That was only one person not sure how the rest of the staff would have reacted. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot water needs work. The rest of the stay was great The water in the shower and bathroom sink took about 15 minutes to get hot. It was warm and then went cold and then it would get hot. Again this took about 15minutes. I did stay on the 4th floor. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient to the wedding venue (next door) had a wedding at the Deck next door and was great being able to walk over. We had been stuck in traffic and called ahead for a quick check in and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I enjoyed my stay. Nice comfortable king size bed and the breakfast was delicious. Only thing they did not put new tubs in when they upgraded the tile and the one in my room was damaged but did not interfere with my stay. I would stay again. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service lacking Checking in was easy, but checking out was not so good. My business requires that I receive a zero balance receipt for reimbursement purposes. Most hotels are now sliding this type of receipt under the door, but occasionally I still have to ask. So, just as I do everywhere I travel for business, I called down to the front desk so that this would be ready so that I could grab some juice and get to the airport. The clerk at the front desk was talking with the van driver and had not begun the process of printing the receipt. No one else was in line, either. So, I parked my luggage and walked over to the breakfast area for some juice, but that was unavailable because the owner had not yet arrived with the key to unlock the machine or the milk refrigerator. So, I went back to the front desk and the clerk still didn't have the receipt printed. He even seemed to have an attitude at this point. No, I won't be back to this one. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wopnderful!!! This was a fantastic place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, everything was clean and nice and the view of the Delaware River at sunset was fantastic. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disrepair I was taken back by the peeling finish in the bath tub. I was uncomfortable using the shower because the paint finish was peeling so bad.... September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff my wife and I spent a night at this hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel and room were very clean. We took advantage ofthe shuttle to the airport;again staff were very helpful and courteous. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean I checked in about 11:00 pm and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was very comfortable and clean. I slept like a log. Breakfast was wonderful with so many choices and everything was so fresh. I love Holiday Inn Express and try to stay where ever I am traveling. Thank you September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great place to stay I have stayed at lot of Holiday Inn Express's and put this at bottom of the list. This must be a rehab of something else, that should have been knocked down. Its like being in a tent on the roof top when the planes come in and take off. September 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not within the Holiday Inn standards! We booked this Hotel thinking we couldn't be wrong selecting Holiday Inn Express as we always had very good experiences before but this time was the exemption. We were very disappointed! The rooms old dated and not very clean. Not enough towels for the party in the room. The front desk was not very friendly. At the time we arrived to the Hotel the front desk clerk made us wait for about 3 mins or so while she was taking a cigarette break even though she saw us coming in. She didn't apologize at all. She confirmed the room reservation and handed me off the room keys without any further instructions on where the room was located. Actually the room number was not very clearly written and I had to ask her what the number was and where was it located. We did NOT like the experience and won't recommend this hotel unless you really want to stay very close to the airport which was the only positive benefit. Thanks! September 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel But the internet is VERY slow! Other than that it is a great place, very convenient, and VERY close to the airport. September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Overall stay was a disappointment, the hotel is old looking, breakfast was terrible, just a bad experience September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable rooms I needed a quick place to stay after flying into the PHL area and they had a vacancy. A cheap one at that. Their service was superb and quick. Answered all my questions. As for the room, it was clean, spacious. Towels and linens were clean and ample. Really, the only negative I would say is that the A/C unit blew in a manner that separated the curtains removing the sense of privacy, but other than that, I could not really complain. They had numerous cable channels (some worked, some did not, but I did not really care). The hotel is next to a fairly popular night club, so entering the hotel was a little bit noisy, but once inside, I could rarely tell. In fact, I was on the side facing the night club and housing around it and only rarely, did I hear some loud noises. I recommend this place. Close to the airport. Close to the highway. Priced well. Clean. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT PLACE FOR A STAY!!! I will always stay at this hotel when travelling to Philly. I do not care to even look or compare to other hotels no matter the cost. I received excellent service and comfort for my money spent with Holiday Inn. The shuttle bus drivers are very courteous and helpful with directions and recommendations on places to eat and visit. The area this hotel is located in has a beautiful view of the Delaware River and very quiet. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location & Friendly Employees My wife & 2 children recently stayed at this hotel for one night as we were flying out the next morning to catch a cruise leaving out of Miami. The front desk clerk was very friendly as was the van driver drivers who took us to & from the airport. Our room was very clean and the breakfast in the morning was very good. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very helpful staff I accidentally broke a bottle in the bathroom...the staff could not have been more helpful and concerned for our safety August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was great - Rodney is the man!!! Had sever travel related issues and Rodney was able to take care of me. Great service!!! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by popo Great location. Away from everything..next door to a restaurant August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Service The shuttle drivers went above and beyond to make sure I reached the places I needed to go. I was working at some hangars by the airport and they dropped off and picked me up at all hours of the day without missing a beat. One night when i got off of work at 2am, all the restaurants were closed. So the driver graciously took me to a convenient store so i could get food. Really Nice people... would recommend based solely on friendliness and shuttle service, although room rate was just a little expensive. August 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would Not Come Back My wife and I made advance reservations to stay at this hotel for one night at the beginning and end of a vacation in which we flew in and out of Philadelphia from the west coast. Both of our stays were extremely disappointing and probably the worst Holiday Inn experience that we have ever had to endure. The entire facility was dark and tired appearing and was not clean. The door to our room did not fully close and latch without a lot of extra effort. The walls were so thin that we could hear people in the next room speaking in their normal voices. There is a restaurant/bar/nightclub next door with live music is noisy and attracts a young crowd that likes to "hangout". Large groups of people gathered in the parking lot under our window and were talking loudly and laughing at 2am. On one occasion my wife used the stairs to get to our upstairs room and they appeared not to have been cleaned in quite some time. We ate at the restaurant immediately next door and found the service and food quality to be poor. When checking in we found, despite being a rewards member, that we were paying more for our room than almost all of the other guests checking in. The overall experience has caused us to choose to fly into Baltimore rather than Philadelphia in the future and reconsider our continued participation in the rewards program August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded We were recently stranded in the Philadelphia airport when we happened upon the accommodations kiosk. Where do I begin in thanking Tarnia(?) and Bob. She quickly eased our stress and sent a shuttle to pick us up. Upon pickup at 9 at night, Bob offered to take us to get something to eat, and provided many food delivery choices.. At arrival, she made more suggestions on good delivery food and actually gave us menus! She set up wake up call right then and shared her apologies for the airport issues! Only apology we received on our trip. Nothing but understanding and help were provided by the employees. The hotel was a safe place to land instead of staying in the airport. Thank you doesn't express our appreciation for the kindness shown!! August 3, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Crowne Plaza Wilmington North Crowne Plaza Wilmington North Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Wilmington North Hotel Exterior Dover International Speedway Caesar Rodney Mid-Atlantic Grand Prix Longwood Gardens Winterthur Museum and Country Estate Delaware Museum of Natural History Blue Rocks Stadium Concierge Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.