• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANATA ANA
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:17
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A nonrefundable pet fee of 20 dollars per day will be assessed for dogs under 20 pounds.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  20.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
South Coast Plaza
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:250
  • Car Parking Available
  • There is a parking structure and parking lot available for all of our guest's use. Overnight parking incures a $10 parking fee per night.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:179
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:17
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0950
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County. We are an upscale boutique style hotel located in the heart of Costa Mesa surrounded by Fortune 500 Companies, extensive shopping, hundreds of restaurants, the Arts, Movie Theaters, Golf Courses and beautiful beaches. We are within walking distance to Hyundai, Deloitte, University of Phoenix, IBM, Bank of America and GE, and are located within 5 miles of Fed Ex, Wells Fargo, State Farm, University of California Irvine and Vanguard University. The
View More
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County. We are an upscale boutique style hotel located in the heart of Costa Mesa surrounded by Fortune 500 Companies, extensive shopping, hundreds of restaurants, the Arts, Movie Theaters, Golf Courses and beautiful beaches. We are within walking distance to Hyundai, Deloitte, University of Phoenix, IBM, Bank of America and GE, and are located within 5 miles of Fed Ex, Wells Fargo, State Farm, University of California Irvine and Vanguard University. The hotel is adjacent to South Coast Plaza Mall which offers over 500 shops including Macy's, Gucci, Berluti, Nordstrom, Jimmy Choo, Ann Taylor, Bloomingdales and Free People, and a wide variety of dining experiences including Wolfgang Puck Bistro, Capital Grille, Antonello Ristorante, Morton's and Charlie Palmer. The location of our hotel is convenient to the Arts, such as the Renee and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall, South Coast Reperatory and The Performing Arts Center. Golf Courses nearby include Newport Beach Golf Course, Strawberry Farm's, Oakcreek and Pelican Hill. Local beaches include Newport Beach, Huntington Beach, Corona Del Mar, Laguna Beach and Dana Point. Local Hospitals include Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian, Orange Coast Memorial Medical Center, Children's Hospital of Orange County, Saddleback Memorial and Mission Hospital.
View Less
Features
The Crowne Plaza in Costa Mesa is known for its gorgeous boutique decor. Its close proximity for many major attractions in the Southern California area; its peaceful, accommodating environment that makes every guest feel as though they are right at home.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel charged more than quote on website again Again, we were charged more than the website quote. Like last time this happened, we will probably just have to get over it, however now that I know this is a common practice of the website and hotels I will print out the quote when I make a reservation, since you seem unable to do anything about it. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay The staff were very nice people, didn't like the 1st floor but was a nice room very clean. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the breakfast, better than most. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay and great service. The room and location were wonderful. Customer service was excellent. I look forward to returning. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average About average in every respect. Rooms are dated. I found it nice and unique that they have a few designated parking spots for Platinum members, but yet they still charge for them. If they really wanted to recognize the Platinum members, how about waiving the standard parking fee. I parked in the street. Wifi was down on my reservation, I switched hotels because of this. Also very limited channel selection on their tiny TVs, no Comedy Central for example. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel with great location We have stayed at this hotel in the past and will again in the future. Unfortunately, a repair was being done to a nearby sewer line that allowed an unpleasant odor to come into the room from the outside. I 'm sure that this will be repaired and will not be a future problem. November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and clean We found the king sized bed very comfortable. The room was spotless. The only criticism that we would lodge is that there were two bottles of water on the desk. We assumed that they were for our drinking water convenience...we were wrong. The charge for the two plastic bottles of water was $7.00. We feel that a posted sign along with the placement of the bottles would eliminate a charge for which we were unaware. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and quiet room and very clean. :) The room was very clean and comfortable.The front desk employees answered all of my questions when I was trying to locate a pharmacy nearby. The location worked out perfect for us as we were attending a wedding across the street at the Horn Blower. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Getaway Great service and nice little getaway for the family. Thank you! November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderfully Accommodating Staff I stayed here for a quick business trip and must say my expectations were exceeded. The staff was so helpful and quickly accommodated my needs while staying here. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room We stayed here because my husband was having surgery at Hoag hospital early in the morning. Was within walking distance to restaurants for lunch & dinner. Very pleasant room. We left too early for the breakfast. Good value. I would stay here again. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good location. A clean and comfortable room. The hotel is on Pacific Coast Highway near Enterprise, Starbucks, and a number of good restaurant choices. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service Everyone was most helpful. Loved the breakfast. My only complaint is the stairs leading to the second floor even when I took the elevator. Hard to get my suitcase up those steps. Maybe change to a ramp???? Otherwise, all was great. Nice location to things. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Okay overall It was just okay. It's fine for a few days, but the walls are really thin and you can hear everything. Breakfast options were few and very sugary, it seemed very cheap and for that price a night? I expected something a little bit better. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location excellent breakfast I spent a week at this hotel for business purposes and was very pleased with the friendly staff and breakfast buffet. The hotel is clean and quiet and offered evening cookies and always had a complimentary bowl of apples for the guests. The swimming pool is a bit awkward due to its vicinity to the lobby and parking lot. Like many hotels in a high tourist area, there was a charge for parking. The proximity to a great selection of restaurants and other sites of interest is a bonus. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Express In Newport. Everything was kept clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great with a lot of variety. My only complaint was the pillows were pretty worn in our room. We will be backfire another stay I'm sure!! September 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place BUT Don't Fall for the "Partial View of the Bay" Everything here was great BUT. I spent some extra bucks for one of the "partial view of the bay" rooms. What a disappointment! Between the palm tree right in front of my window and the building across the street there was no way I could see any water. Maybe if the hotel was about 4 stories tall but not with just the two stories that they have. I feel the description was misleading. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service The hotel location was very convenient. The bed was fine for me but not so much for my husband. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the price was right. We would recommend this hotel. We are not rewards members. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All good except for one thing This hotel's location is by far its best attribute. It's close enough to the Balboa Peninsula to make it easy to get to the beaches (on both the ocean side and the bay side), the Fun Zone, Balboa Island, and other key attractions in the area. But by NOT being on the peninsula, its rates are significantly lower than hotels which are on it. The one thing I didn't like about this Holiday Inn Express (during our Aug 12 to 15 stay): An unpleasant (sulphur-like) odor at the rear entrance, which was the one we used most often because it was closer to our rooms. I suspect that smell (which was ONLY out in the parking lot and at the rear door, not inside) was coming from the hotel's laundry, which I think is all the way at the back of the building. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location The room was clean and modern and the location was about 10 minutes walk to restaurants and bars. It had a small pool out front and I would come here again August 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WORST HOTEL EVER!!! The smell of the 2nd floor was so bad it made me literally sick to my stomach. (Just like a combination of sewer and unflushed toilet)---sorry, but my daughter said exactly the same thing-same description.) It smelled worse than any hotel ever anywhere I've stayed in my life at over 1000 stays. The room was almost as bad and smelled like urine. (Just like an elevator where homeless people urinate--exactly like it!!) I had to open the window and endure all the passing traffic and yourist noise from the pool to make it thru the nite. I asked mgmt for another room--They said they were working on the smell--apparently all thru the hotel--WORST HOTEL EVER!!!! August 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor accomodations I had booked for 2 double beds, got a room with one bed for my 19 year old daughter and I to share. The room was small, unappealing and not comfortable. The mattress was miserably hard. It was also very noisy. We were put in the end room next to the lobby. I had stayed here several years ago and found it to be a decent comfortable place to stay. This time was not. Won't be back. August 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Amenities There was no lounge to relax in and have a drink after a long flight in, there was no shuttle to retrieve you from the airport that results in a $30+ cab ride. There is not an ATM on site, nor a little store to purchase any amenities. The closest store is a 1 1/2 miles down the road, so without a car you are stuck, unless you want to walk. Which I did not as I was traveling alone. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in convenient location. Comfortable bed and sofa bed w good quality linens. Nice bathroom- could be a bit cleaner. The view isn't much of a view- only a sliver of bay- not worth extra cost. Nice amenities in room- fridge coffee maker microwave. Need more dresser space for 4 people. Small but clean pool. Charming and comfortable seating area. Nice breakfast spread with wide variety of choices. Great for kids! Staff very helpful and accommodating. Shouldn't be a fee for paying guests. Would definitely stay here again. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfasts All in all we were pleased with our stay at your Inn. There are just two things that we were not that happy about and it was the smell from the elevator and slight smell in our room. (We kept our window open all the time we were there) The other thing that my husband was not to happy about was being charged to park in a space. We have traveled often and have never had to pay to park at a motel. The things that we did like were the breakfasts and the cookies in the lobby at 4:00. Also all personal were very friendly and outgoing towards us. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An absolute fabulous room and comfortable stay This is one of the nicest rooms for the money I have ever stayed at. It is in a pricey area (Newport Beach) but our Queen suite was immaculate and so comfortable! I absolutely would return and recommend this to everyone. The breakfast was good. The eggs better than any other breakfast hotel I have tasted. We were very comfortable. The only negative was that the rear elevator was not in working order. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Newport Stay Location was great. Rooms smelled a little musty, like there was moisture under the carpets. Bathrooms very small. Cost was kind of high for what we got, but the location was good. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Sport fishing This was a great property and it was close to the Sport fishing area. We enjoyed the small, but comfortable jacuzzi, especially after a long day of fishing. The room was clean, smelled good and the AC was cold, unfortunately the bed was hard. Had a great dinner next door at Joe Shrimp - it's a New Orleans themed joint. Lastly, the breakfast was great, we especially liked the pancake maker/machine. Will stay here again! July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good location I was able to sleep so well and I did not hear noises through the walls! There are great restaurants within walking distance too. The pool area is small, though so I did not get to relax there. I like the fridge & microwave convenience. Overall a very good experience. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming front desk clerk and nicely remodeled rooms We had the best stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport Beach. Conveniently located, nicely remodeled rooms, excellent customer service by the front desk staff. Wish that the selection at the Breakfast bar would get a re-vamping....tired of the same old stuff, but that is not the hotels fault, that is IHG who needs to take a look at coming up with some new ideas. Only one thing that stood out for us, the hallway had a strange odor which was not welcoming. We would definitely stay at this property again and will suggest it to other family and friends. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and reasonably priced for Newport We were just staying one night in Newport and mostly just needed a place to sleep that was convenient. This hotel was a great deal and is a nice Holiday Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. Only a few rooms have a view and ours looked onto the parking lot, but it was quiet. The breakfast is your average Holiday Inn breakfast. Good if you like simple stuff but most importantly, the coffee was good. I did read the reviews on here prior to booking and was aware of the smell of the elevator. Yes, it does exist in the elevator but we didn't smell it anywhere else. All of the employees were very nice. We didn't use the pool, but others seemed to be enjoying it. It is small and looks onto the parking lot - nothing glamorous but nice if you want to relax. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks Holiday Inn for your consistency! July 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Crowne Plaza front entry
Crowne Plaza front entry
Select to close.
Crowne Plaza front entry Crowne Plaza front entry Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Crowne Plaza Check In Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.

Quality : Excellence

Hotel Quality: Excellent  


These hotels have received our highest level of guest endorsement, based on scores from our guest satisfaction surveys. Guests evaluate hotels based on the quality of the product, return value and quality of service experienced during their stay.

Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading