Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SERVICE I requested ice for my room and the service desk attendee said they would send it to the room. But I never received the ice. Overall experience was excellent and enjoyable. lol August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable property convenient location...staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Very disappointed in the condition of the room. Spider webs and dirty grout on the tile floors. The bar area in the room was all wrong. The fridge that had a designated space sat on top of the counter. Furniture in the two room suite was soiled as were the carpets. The mattress and linens were quality and comfortable. I think that room just needed a good cleaning and a little care. We felt strongly that 25.00 per night for parking was extremely high and we felt because we were there with a conference that we were taken advantage of. Because we did not know the area we did not know about other parking options, nor were there any real options offered to us. This is a beautiful property. Very comfortable. We would stay there again. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quietness on the floor Everyone on the floor was respectful and quiet. Very little noise was heard in the halls the entire time I was there. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Improvement Needs Improvement, Needs Improvement, Needs Improvement, Needs Improvement August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and helpful staff The location of this hotel to the COBO center is excellent. We enjoyed the food after they gave up on serving the horrible breakfast buffet. I was disappointed in the size of the room. I felt the furniture was outdated and in some cases completely missing. The hallways could stand up-dating and cleaning. The beds were very comfortable and there were always plenty of towels and amenties. When I called for assistance at Guest Services I received prompt attention to my request. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We planned a night out in Detroit. Dinner at Greektown, and a Tiger game. We wanted to spend the night downtown so we could go to Eastern Market in the morning. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza (the old Ponchatrain) and loved it. We picked up the People Mover across the street at Cobo and went to Greektown. We had a great time. The Crowne Plaza is beautiful and elegant. High end finishes, friendly staff, and a beautiful room tastefully decorated. I loved the bathroom doors. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service We recently hosted our Family Reunion here and was very appreciative of the excellent customer service from all staff. Although, it was a very busy weekend and a lot of conferences and family reunions at the same time, the staff went out of their way to assist as quick as possible. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful under pressure. I strongly recommend this hotel for various reasons: most of all customer service, the atmosphere, location to all the downtown happenings, and cost. The hotel is clean, well decorated and the view is exceptional. I felt safe at all times. The Family Reunion was successful due to the detail assistance of the hotel staff. Thanks, my hat-off to Detroit Riverfront Crowne Plaza. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced-Understaffed-Stressed Staff-Poor Service First time there on business for 2 days with group of 6 co-workers. Assumed being a Crowne Plaza it was the best place to stay however maybe it was once but not ant more. Our company will not be back....sorry. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Small room, tired and tiny bathroom Very convenient but this property is very tired looking. I asked for a king bed and didn't get it and the bathroom is very tiny. I tried to communicate in advance but nobody answers any mails. To be fair the staff were good but if I come next year will I come again? It needs to be better than this. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff My family of four stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 10 days, and have nothing but praise to say about our experience there. We enjoyed the location, being so close to the River walk and local train around the district.Things to mention that made our stay enjoyable were good beds,great staff and the facilities.We would absolutely stay there again if we ever come to Detroit again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room. Very helpful staff The room was so nice. The bed comfortable. The staff was very helpful and so friendly. I would Recommend this hotel. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and helpful staff The staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was small but had a great view of the river. The bathroom was the only complaint it was dark and didn't seem to have an exhaust fan. Overall a good stay. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Hotel was conveniently located to where we wanted to go- People Mover station is across the street. Food was great. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Room was clean and well arranged. The views from our room of the city and riverfront were spectacular. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff My stay at Crowne Plaza Riverfront was amazing. The staff were extremely pleasant, always courteous and helpful, very accommodating. I had a wonderful view and the bed and pillows were comfortable. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Conference We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Detroit Downtown Riverfront because we were attending a convention of Jehovah's Witnesses. The staff was so hospitable and helpful to all of us delegates. Staff couldn't have done one more thing to make a delightful stay. Everything was perfect. It was so nice to have breakfast and supper ready everyday, and to come back to clean rooms every night. We can't thank you enough. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable surroundings; Extremely efficient, friendly staff My family spent a long weekend in Detroit for a convention being held downtown. The hotel was extremely busy from the moment we arrived to the day we checked out, but the staff remained calm, efficient and friendly throughout the entire process. They fed approximately 800 people a delicious warm breakfast every morning and kept up with the demand for food. They still took the time to say "hello" and smile at us as we ate. The room was kept clean and well stocked. The only reason we had trouble sleeping was the noisy sheets. Otherwise, the rooms were inviting and comfortable. The hotel is situated ideally, so we were able to walk to restaurants and take the people mover to Ford Field. We will definitely choose the Crowne Plaza the next time we're in town! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, view and staff We enjoyed the view, room, staff. The only compliant was a scratchy material on the couch/loveseat. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The most fantastic staff I've ever met From the moment we pulled up and were greeted by the valet until we pulled away our experience was exceptional. We stayed for 5 nights and every day it became more obvious that the staff was not pretending to be nice, but truly were and showed a sincere personal interest in our comfort, safety and enjoyment. The news media lies about Detroit, but we will tell the truth: Detroit is a wonderful place with exceptional people, especially at my new favorite hotel, The Crowne Plaza. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and good room I was part of a very large convention in Detroit. The hotel was sold out. Check in on Thursday went smoothly although there there were many of us trying to check in at the same time. The valet people were excellent in directing to where the parking had been set up and the bellmen got my wife to the room quickly while I checked in. The check in was the fastest that I have ever had. Each day there was a morning buffet which was prepared very well with a good selection. On Sunday evening when everyone was trying to check out again the staff was very helpful from getting our luggage to storage and then to our vehicle. I would not hesitate to stay there again. The only complaint would be the double beds. My wife and I have not slept on a double bed in 40 years. Other than that we had a great time. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by you can"t go wrong choosing Crown Plaza My wife and I were attending a convention in Detroit. We made last minute reservations, which we should not have done, but the staff at the crown plaza were very accommodating. All the rooms have excellent views of the city and the beautiful river in Detroit. The rooms are a little small but very comfortable. The atmosphere of the hotel is very helpful and down to earth, The food is excellent and the breakfast buffet was down on the farm good. The next time were in Detroit we definitely will stay at the crown plaza. The people mover station is right across the street inside Cobo hall, very convenient. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bedding, Great Sleep I was excited that the Crowne Plaza re-opened in the renovated Ponchatrain Hotel landmark location. What I was disappointed about was the lack of attention the staff paid to their guests, although polite, not very attentive; They could use some training on customer service etiquette, particularly when working at a premiere hotel location in the City of Detroit. I would also add, the hotel rooms need some additional cosmetic fixes. Beautifully remodeled but upclose, remnants of an older renovated hotel, i.e. water stain patch-ups not well done, almost like they put beautiful new furniture and carpet on a patched-up structure. Finally, I was at an event that was to start at 11:00 am with a brunch, staff had just started setting up the room/food at 11:10 am, well after guest had started to arrive; didn't they know there was an event starting at 11:00. The Crowne Plaza is a wonderful chain of hotels - don't short change yourself by trying to cut corners. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Resturant I find it very odd that on a Sunday morning there is no place to have a meal. We had to walk 6 blocks to find a restaurant that was open. Thank goodness the weather was good. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding!!!!! We stayed at the hotel in downtown Detroit in July 25th-27th, 2014. The staff was amazing! So friendly and professional taking care of every need we had. They served a buffet style breakfast and the food was delicious. The room was very comfortable and clean. We did not experience any noise at night so we slept sound. We had a beautiful view of the river and the bridge outside our window. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this Hotel The rooms and staff at this hotel are some of the nicest I've encountered in a hotel. The rooms were clean and really nice. The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent. The only complaint would be that the hotel bar closes so early. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice But Cramped Our room was nicely appointed, with the one exception of the bathroom, which had only a shower stall without a bathtub. (This is apparently how most of the rooms in this hotel are built.) I know it's fundamental to the original construction, but it was still disappointing to my wife, who prefers a bath over a shower. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable Attentive to your needs, great view from rooms, comfortable beds, restaurant is okay but needs more "average joe" food. Staff is amazing 24/7, helpful, always with a smile, ready, willing and able to assist. Would stay again, again and again and look forward to my next trip to Detroit because I definitely will. Thanks for an awesome time Crowne Plaza... July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Cobo I stayed at the Crowne for 9 nights while attending a convention. It's right across from the Cobo Center - VERY convenient. The room, while not large, was quite sufficient for me, and very clean. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was spacious, and the view from the 24th floor was superb! Staff were GREAT from the moment I arrived; food at the restaurant and bar were quite good. I would definitely stay here again. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Beautiful old (but new) hotel. Gorgeous views for the revitalized city. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a beautiful Hotel Really enjoyed my stay. The room was wonderful and the view was even better. The little touches were very nice, like the aroma therapy items. Definitely my new favorite place to stay when downtown for meetings. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms, Attentive Staff, Fantastic Food The Crowne Plaza Hotel is my go-to for frequent trips to Detroit for business travel. The rooms are very comfortable and have fantastic views. The staff is always very attentive and friendly. The bar and restaurant is always outstanding. Staying here makes the experience of traveling to Detroit very comfortable. Highly recommend. July 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>