Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In

It's easy to start earning points. Just travel, shop or dine out, and watch your points add up.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to a simply rewarding experience.

Explore the Benefits

Here's to our rewarding relationship. We have so much more to show you.

Explore the Benefits

Ready for some great rewards? Use your points for Reward Nights, brand name Items, travel and more.

Explore the Benefits

Welcome to Spire Elite! A whole new level of benefits is yours to enjoy.

Explore the Benefits
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
78%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 535 reviews
78%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

535reviews

  • 5 Stars
    236
  • 4 Stars
    131
  • 3 Stars
    75
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    35

Comfortable bed and modern ammenities

By

July 31, 2015

club

Overall great hotel for the money. Very clean and modern appearance. Only issues were broken television and very slow elevator service.

Read More
Read Less

Early check in?

By

July 30, 2015

I called the day before our reservation and spoke with someone to request an early check in. They added it to the reservation and said I was all set. We were going to a concert in downtown Detroit that started at 12:30 and wouldn't be back until 9 pm so we wanted to drop our stuff. When we went to check in the Front Desk said "we don't have any rooms". I said I had an early check in requested. She stared at the screen and then said "I don't see it requested, we don't have any rooms". She was not very friendly and honestly wanted to go back to talking with the bellman. We had to store our luggage behind the desk for the day. When we came back at 8 pm(concert had a rain stoppage) we checked in. Went to our room, which was of course occupied. Returned to the front desk and the other attendant had programmed the wrong key code. Then we made it to our room (while soaking wet from the rain) and all was fine after that for the night. Just disappointed that the first Front Desk associate lied to me and said the early check in was not on the reservation. When I called back the next day they said it showed up. The wrong room wasn't a huge deal because thankfully they weren't in the room, just a few hundred dollars in cash strewn on the bed. I used to run hotels after I graduated at Michigan State in Hotel Management and honestly this would have constituted a free night by our policy. But I was too tired to complain and just wanted to get up to the room and take a warm shower and get in some dry clothes.
And the restaurant on the main floor has great food.

Read More
Read Less

Bed a little harder, but great hotel

By

July 29, 2015

The bed was a little harder than other IGH properties, but still overall a great hotel.

Great view of the surrounding buildings and the river between US and Canada.

Read More
Read Less

Where I needed to be

By

July 29, 2015

Great location next to the COBO center. Quality hotel, with a pretty good staff. they seemed to be a lot friendlier last year. This time around they seemed quite annoyed with the guests...

Read More
Read Less

Downtown Getaway for a Ballgame

By

July 29, 2015

club

We stayed here on a quick overnight for a ballgame downtown. The staff was courteous and great.

We will recommend this property to our friends.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay

By

July 27, 2015

club

Accommodating staff. The hotel was conveniently located to most thing in Downtown and Midtown.

Read More
Read Less

Room not clean

By

July 24, 2015

club

The room was not clean. We had to clean the room before we unpacked. A large cockroach is NEVER acceptable.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 29, 2015
Dear ELCA Volunteer, Thank you for your stay here at the Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront. We do truly apologize for the inconvenience, and the uninvited guest in your room. This is not something we are happy about. We will be contacting you soon about this incident.
Read More
Read Less

Wished we could have stayed longer

By

July 23, 2015

platinumelite

The Crowne Plaza Downtown Riverfront Detroit offered us a pleasant stay. The rooms were comfortable, clean and ours had a nice view. We booked the room with a free night voucher so I think we were given a smaller room. Although we were platinum card members we were not offered a room on the executive floors. Also, we weren't told about the executive lounge. However, when I inquired, they asked if we were platinum members and I said yes. Then he told us the room number and code to get in. The lounge was on the top floors and the view was amazing. We were the only people taking advantage of the snacks and breakfast. We enjoyed walking along the Riverwalk which was across the street from the hotel. The area is obviously still undergoing revitalization and I don't think I would feel safe on the streets at night. I was happy with the underground parking but my husband didn't like that it was valet parking only.

Read More
Read Less

Very nice hotel

By

July 20, 2015

club

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Rooms are small, as with many older hotels, but they were updated and very clean. Front desk personnel, housekeeping and bar staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. I have stayed in other Detroit hotels, but I found this hotel to be the best. I found that surprising, but a great surprise. I will stay here in future trips to Detroit.

Read More
Read Less

OK for one night

By

July 20, 2015

platinumelite

Stayed one night while visiting friends nearby. Checked in and was not recognized as an IHG Spire member let alone an IHG member at all. No offer of upgrade or welcome amenity. Only after I asked, they said I could get points or something else. I asked for the points and have still yet to receive them. Rooms and the bathrooms are small, but clean. Definitely not enough room for a family of 4 for any length of time. Opened the ice bucket and found trash inside. I did not try any of the restaurants. Would probably not stay again unless it was just myself or with my wife.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 30, 2015
Dear Kevin79CVCA, Thank you for your review, and thank you for being an IHG Spire member. We regret the unfortunate “Check-in experience". Please rest assured that this is not a typical experience and we will address it with our team. Our team is committed in providing excellent customer service to guest and my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectation at this time. We appreciate your business and looking forward to talking to you soon. Evelyn P Social Media Correspondent
Read More
Read Less

Front desk customer service

By

July 15, 2015

the front desk staff were not very friendly, ignoring me waiting in line to check in while they talked to each other about whatever.

Read More
Read Less

Crowne Plaza - Detroit

By

July 15, 2015

platinumelite

Great view from room and restaurant; room mostly modernized, but not completely. Clean and comfortable

Posted byHotelStaff
July 30, 2015
Dear Tom R 1, Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for sharing that our beds are comfortable and clean, that our hotel has amazing views from the room. We greatly appreciate your business and looking forward to your next stay. Evelyn P Social Media Correspondent
Read More
Read Less