Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 247 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The most fantastic staff I've ever met From the moment we pulled up and were greeted by the valet until we pulled away our experience was exceptional. We stayed for 5 nights and every day it became more obvious that the staff was not pretending to be nice, but truly were and showed a sincere personal interest in our comfort, safety and enjoyment. The news media lies about Detroit, but we will tell the truth: Detroit is a wonderful place with exceptional people, especially at my new favorite hotel, The Crowne Plaza. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and good room I was part of a very large convention in Detroit. The hotel was sold out. Check in on Thursday went smoothly although there there were many of us trying to check in at the same time. The valet people were excellent in directing to where the parking had been set up and the bellmen got my wife to the room quickly while I checked in. The check in was the fastest that I have ever had. Each day there was a morning buffet which was prepared very well with a good selection. On Sunday evening when everyone was trying to check out again the staff was very helpful from getting our luggage to storage and then to our vehicle. I would not hesitate to stay there again. The only complaint would be the double beds. My wife and I have not slept on a double bed in 40 years. Other than that we had a great time. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by you can"t go wrong choosing Crown Plaza My wife and I were attending a convention in Detroit. We made last minute reservations, which we should not have done, but the staff at the crown plaza were very accommodating. All the rooms have excellent views of the city and the beautiful river in Detroit. The rooms are a little small but very comfortable. The atmosphere of the hotel is very helpful and down to earth, The food is excellent and the breakfast buffet was down on the farm good. The next time were in Detroit we definitely will stay at the crown plaza. The people mover station is right across the street inside Cobo hall, very convenient. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bedding, Great Sleep I was excited that the Crowne Plaza re-opened in the renovated Ponchatrain Hotel landmark location. What I was disappointed about was the lack of attention the staff paid to their guests, although polite, not very attentive; They could use some training on customer service etiquette, particularly when working at a premiere hotel location in the City of Detroit. I would also add, the hotel rooms need some additional cosmetic fixes. Beautifully remodeled but upclose, remnants of an older renovated hotel, i.e. water stain patch-ups not well done, almost like they put beautiful new furniture and carpet on a patched-up structure. Finally, I was at an event that was to start at 11:00 am with a brunch, staff had just started setting up the room/food at 11:10 am, well after guest had started to arrive; didn't they know there was an event starting at 11:00. The Crowne Plaza is a wonderful chain of hotels - don't short change yourself by trying to cut corners. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Resturant I find it very odd that on a Sunday morning there is no place to have a meal. We had to walk 6 blocks to find a restaurant that was open. Thank goodness the weather was good. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding!!!!! We stayed at the hotel in downtown Detroit in July 25th-27th, 2014. The staff was amazing! So friendly and professional taking care of every need we had. They served a buffet style breakfast and the food was delicious. The room was very comfortable and clean. We did not experience any noise at night so we slept sound. We had a beautiful view of the river and the bridge outside our window. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this Hotel The rooms and staff at this hotel are some of the nicest I've encountered in a hotel. The rooms were clean and really nice. The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent. The only complaint would be that the hotel bar closes so early. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice But Cramped Our room was nicely appointed, with the one exception of the bathroom, which had only a shower stall without a bathtub. (This is apparently how most of the rooms in this hotel are built.) I know it's fundamental to the original construction, but it was still disappointing to my wife, who prefers a bath over a shower. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable Attentive to your needs, great view from rooms, comfortable beds, restaurant is okay but needs more "average joe" food. Staff is amazing 24/7, helpful, always with a smile, ready, willing and able to assist. Would stay again, again and again and look forward to my next trip to Detroit because I definitely will. Thanks for an awesome time Crowne Plaza... July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Cobo I stayed at the Crowne for 9 nights while attending a convention. It's right across from the Cobo Center - VERY convenient. The room, while not large, was quite sufficient for me, and very clean. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was spacious, and the view from the 24th floor was superb! Staff were GREAT from the moment I arrived; food at the restaurant and bar were quite good. I would definitely stay here again. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Beautiful old (but new) hotel. Gorgeous views for the revitalized city. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a beautiful Hotel Really enjoyed my stay. The room was wonderful and the view was even better. The little touches were very nice, like the aroma therapy items. Definitely my new favorite place to stay when downtown for meetings. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms, Attentive Staff, Fantastic Food The Crowne Plaza Hotel is my go-to for frequent trips to Detroit for business travel. The rooms are very comfortable and have fantastic views. The staff is always very attentive and friendly. The bar and restaurant is always outstanding. Staying here makes the experience of traveling to Detroit very comfortable. Highly recommend. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 4 Day Stay Stayed Wed thru Sunday. Location is top notch, can't be beat. Room service menu is limited. Beds are terribly small and the bedding is as skimpy as a European youth hostel. Hallway floors are dirty. Bathroom tile is dirty. Window curtains are broken. Room walls are thin and outside nouse is loud. Every staff member I interacted with was outstanding EXCePT front desk staff. Very rude and dismissive. Nice coffee lounge. Room key had to be reset TWICE A DAY EVERY DAY FOR 5 DAYS. I was told by front desk it was my fault even when I had no wallet or cell phone on me. Front desk staff is terrible as I mentioned. All other staff was above average. Outside the great location this is a average hotel at best. July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Customer Service Front Desk Staff were rude and not attentive. Be careful if you have a red-eye flight, they will give your room away and blame you as a no-show! We were offered the lobby even though I reserved our room with a credit card! July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was comfortable, the room was smaller that expected, but comfortable The front desk staff was very knowledgeable and helpful, all question was answer with a smile. The cleaning staff was short of towel, but when call front desk for more they was brought to the room in a timely manner. The valet service was exceptional with helping with the parking of our charter bus. All staff was polite and well trained I would use this hotel anytime during my travels. Also recommend it to others. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, less comfortable bed the mattress was very soft. The room was not cleaned for two days. But staff was very attentive, location is great, the updates were very nice. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service while staying there but not after I check out. I was a guest at the hotel for a week. Everything was pretty good until I checked out. I accidently left an (expensive) pair of sunglasses in my room when I left. I noticed as soon as I got to the airport (30 minutes after checking out) and called right away. The lady at the front desk told me they had been found in my room and would ship them directly to my house if I could provide them with my credit card information. I called back on July 2nd, the next day to provide all of my information and the lady I spoke to said she would have them shipped UPS right away. It has been 19 days and I have not received my glasses. I called and left a message regarding this issue and I also sent an email last week and have gotten no response. It is my own fault for carelessly leaving valuables behind, but I was told by two different people at the hotel that they would help in returning my glasses and over 2 and a half weeks later, nothing. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Clean, friendly staff, convenient. Great view of the river and riverfront from our room. Did not have a light for the desk which was only real problem. Would stay here again. Best location if going to COBO Center. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service and valet service, downhill from there I was really looking forward to my stay at the Crowne Plaza in Detroit. But my enthusiasm dissipated the moment the elevator doors opened on my floor. The living areas lacked a smell and look of cleanliness. There were towel shortages throughout my stay. We spent time calling one another to secure clean towels for evening showers and swimming activities. And, for some reason many of the room keys were deactivated one day early, which caused us to miss a significant portion of our family reunion picnic. We were told over and over, "there are three family reunions booked this weekend." If we had to book in advance, there should have been advance preparation. The overall experience felt like that of a low to moderate hotel, instead of a luxury hotel. The experience was inconsistent with my other Crowne experiences. July 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by yuck it was terrible I had a suit andthe pullout sofa had stains on it. I asked put extra towels and was told they had a shortage. The bathroom shower was so small I bumped my elbow on the door trying to reach for the soap.I was very unhappy and just wanted to leave.my kids went downstairs in the lobby and the staff was having a loud argument with his each other. it was not were the price that I pay and there was no breakfast sausage offusered. the only good thing was the view was perfect. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit of 07/10/14 My sister and I stayed at the Crown Plaza as a member of a Family Reunion Group. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location with superior comfort Very enjoyable stay. Valet parking efficient and convenient. Check-in Check out was easy in-easy out. I walked to attend to my business, took the people mover to Greek Town. All in all a great stay. Unfortunately the dining area was under renovation, Next time I'll check it out. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My best hotel experience ever! SO WHAT! Yes there was a water main break in front of the hotel and the CITY of DETROIT shut the water off....for a few hours to not FURTHER cause any accidents on the road and to be repaired. This incident was not a controllable for the hotel but the way they handled the situation was very impressive to me. Saturday night from my window which had the most beautiful view of the ambassador bridge, canada and the flooded street below I saw the hotel checking in with the repair crew regularly and bringing them bottles of water to keep them hydrated as they worked to resolve the issue. I saw this happening still when I woke up to no running water Sunday morning. For the guests in the hotel, The staff had a gift bag with an explanation letter of that was going on and 2 bottles of water so that we could at least brush our teeth. In the lobby, they set up a nice continental breakfast for everyone since the restaurant was closed. The staff was very apologetic and worked very hard to make everyone as comfortable as possible. The water did come back on before the end of checkout. The only disappointment I found in the weekend was some of the guest that were incredibly rude to the hotel staff. Some of their behavior was truly uncalled for and they should be ashamed of themselves. Even to these ugly acting people the staff remained calm, courteous and understanding of their frustration but it really did hurt my heart to see this wonderful staff encounter such rude behavior. Some people just need to learn how to be more thankful for what they DO have. I have stayed in MANY hotels and for work travel practically have lived in a hotel for sometime but I have never had an experience that was as amazing as my stay here at the crowne plaza in Detroit. I needed a hotel to host my family reunion and banquet for the July 4th weekend and after speaking with various sales reps I finalized our stay with this hotel. Every employee with this hotel from the general manager, sales team, chef, A/V guy, front desk, bellmen, to valet was courteous, fun, energetic and great to work with....which is what you want when planning an event! I can't wait to go back to this hotel....without the entire family. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! Good value. This is a first class hotel! Upgraded to a suite with wet bar; overlooking Hart Plaza; 2 free drink tickets at a very nice hotel bar; and free hot breakfast. My husband ordered eggs & sausage and the plate arrived with 3 eggs, potatoes, toast and 5 sausages! Drink included. The staff was exceptional, from the desk clerk, bartender, housekeeping, breakfast waiter and the valet! All were extremely pleasant, Great experience. July 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE STAY We had no water during our stay. We could not shower. We could not brush our teeth. We could not drink water. WE could not use the rest room ALL NIGHT AND MORNING. We are completely unsatisfied. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Upgrade After hours staff were great. Had positive experience with front desk management as well. We received an upgrade on arrival and we had a beautiful view of the Detroit skyline and river. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Service The staff was nice, but we did not have water it all the last day and no refunds or discounts were made. I would go back again... July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water Break Hello - This was my first time staying at the Crowne Plaza and overall my experience was fine however the waterline break really put a damper on the following morning. I just wanted to shower/use the bathroom and drink coffee in the morning - which was obviously not possible given the water line break. This wasn't really a problem but I expected some sort of redemption or future room discount - but none were given. Hopefully this problem is fixed and there are options put in places if this problem occurs in the future. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Surprisingly Pleasing I found the property to be more rewarding than I expected from other reviews. From my perspective I found the property to be very nice. The bathroom was a little small, but I would would take the smaller bathroom over the larger living space. The breakfast was very tasteful and the service was good. The servers were very pleasant and inviting as we placed our breakfast orders. July 8, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>