• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.3KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Italian
  7. Punjabi
  8. Polish
  9. Portuguese
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are please to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Royal Yacht Britannia
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
St Giles Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
The Real Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:20
  • Car Parking Available
  • Limited car parking is available at the hotel for residents at a charge of £19.50 Sunday - Thursay and £22.00 on a Friday and Saturday. Please contact the Concierge desk direct on 0844 879 9063 to pre book your space.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 22.00  GBP)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 22.0 GBP )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:198
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:198
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge
View More

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge services can help arrange your travel in & around Edinburgh City Centre. This Edinburgh hotel is near the shops and restaurants of Princes Street & George Street, with Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh Zoo and many other attractions nearby. If your visit is for business, we are located at the centre of the financial & business districts. Business services are available and we can host meetings for up to 300 people.

Guest bedrooms offer a luxurious stay while our Club Rooms, Feature Rooms & Junior Suites give extra space, stunning views and free Wi-Fi. Guests upgrading also receive complimentary access to our Exclusive Club Lounge with complimentary drinks and private breakfast. Dine in the George Street Bar & Grill, a vibrant space where you can relax and enjoy dishes bursting with flavour. Guests also have complimentary access to the swimming pool and gym during their stay.

View Less
Features
Crowne Plaza – The Roxburghe. An iconic Edinburgh hotel located in Edinburgh City Centre and perfectly equipped for the modern Business or Leisure traveller complete with onsite gym, spa with Sauna, Steam Room and Swimming Pool. We offer a range of over 25 classes per week in our studio and offer a range of indulgent spa treatments, all of which can be pre booked prior to your arrival.
Announcements
Enjoy your time away over Easter at the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe with rates starting from £135 per room per night. We also have a special Easter menu running over the
View More
Announcements
Enjoy your time away over Easter at the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe with rates starting from £135 per room per night. We also have a special Easter menu running over the Easter Weekend which is a 3 course set menu for £24.95 per person including Easter activities and a chocolate egg for the children.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Place To Stay Stayed here as going to the Playhouse which is directly across the road. Staff friendly and helpful, spotless throughout, room was comfortable, teas made in the room. Central point to go out and about. Hot breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages, beans and toast, (a bit of bacon would have been nice but that's just my preference), plenty cereal, yoghurt, fruit, etc, spoiled for choice. Would definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it. February 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Handy for Playhouse and parking Comfortable bed. Good breakfast choices. Great system for discounted parking February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of Service We stay fairly regularly at Holiday Inn hotels and at least one every year at Picardy Place. We are always impressed with the attitude of the staff who are friendly and polite. We are also certain that the room will be very clean and comfortable and this is a consistent quality of Holiday Inns in the UK Staff respond promptly to enquiries and issues. We reported that our kettle wasn't working and within an hour a maintenance engineer came to the room. I also like the provision of Broughton Ales in the bar, which is a local beer. Not all Holiday Inn stock such local, almost specialist beer. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent HIX Excellent stay in a great location in Edinburgh. Staff excellent and friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again review by Platinum Ambassador. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away First time we have stayed at the Holiday inn, we enjoyed the location of the Holiday Inn. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Lovely lady on reception when we checked in, very helpful advising where we could eat as we were late checking in. Been to Edinburgh lots of time before so we do know our way around. We would stay again most definitely. : ) February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for a weekend break Great location for a weekend break. Very comfortable room and adequate breakfast to set you up for a days sightseeing. great value for money February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable , value for money I was amazed at the service and quality of the Hotel . I had stayed at the Hilton in SanFrancisco last September and I find it difficult to believe that this modest Hotel came up thrumps in comparison to a well known brand . Will definitely use the chain again . Location was great, it was adequate for the 2 nights stay and having breakfast on site was really handy . Slight criticism is the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom ,which upon first entry into the room makes it smell a bit damp/musky . However it becomes less obvious once you are settled in or shut the bathroom door. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good large room great shower. Booked on line with ease room ready on arrival. Given twin room instead of double but as only staying one night it was no problem. Staff friendly and very helpful booking in and out offered to keep luggage if needed. Breakfast was Luke warm but plenty of it. Would use Holiday express again and recommend it to others. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class location The location is excellent with Edinburgh city centre right there. We were lucky to be able to park in the hotel car park and the rate was well worth it. The room was spotless and very comfortable with no external noise. Breakfast was an added bonus. We will certainly stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for city and theatre A perfect stay, we stayed for 2 nights. Quiet and peaceful nights sleep. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheeky night in Edinburgh Stayed at this hotel for the first time using my points. 3 of us in the room and the room was more than comfortable enough (my wife and I plus my 16 year old son). Hotel is in a fantastic location, is easy to find and the the overall standard is much better than other HIE's I have stayed in. Breakfast is free, so hard to complain about it and certainly plenty of choice. Heating on everywhere made the hotel very hot for a local - but then with a lot of foreign visitors from warmer climates maybe that is what they needed. Huge waste of energy though! Fancy a weekend in Edinburgh, for the price, given the location and quality, you can;t really do any better. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed for two nights,very clean and comfortable,staff made you feel very welcome,room totally adequate for our needs. Breakfast set us up for our visit around Edinburgh,the hotel is very well situated for the center of Edinburgh. We will use this hotel again, highly recommended . January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The location of the hotel is excellent right in city centre across from playhouse. Staff friendly and polite. Room basic but very clean and what I would expect for the money and star rating. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcomed & Looked after We were welcomed from the moment we walked in, until we departed...staff were pleasant, helpful & courteous. The location was ideal for walking anywhere in Old or New Edinburgh, and it was only 30-45 mins walk down to Leith. The rooms were clean, facilities more than adequate...sufficient breakfasts...and all very good value. Would recommend to anyone...we've used Holiday Inn Express before...and will use them again in future. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The room was was perfectly adequate for our needs and the double bed very comfortable. Slept like a log after each day walking round Edinburgh! Great value for money for B&B. Altho after 2 days I was a bit bored with the hot choice of scrambled egg, sausage & beans again for breakfast it was still very good value for money. Hotel was in a good situation to get to town (10 mins walk to centre) for shops, train or bus to Airport. Plenty of restaurants/take aways around. Plus a small supermarket a few doors along for essentials. Overall excellent value, would come again.. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 wi-fi very poor wi-fi [free] every 2 min dont work.everything its very good,location ,exellent,and the next time a stay here January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break with friends Spent last Saturday night with two friends at this fabulous location! handy for shopping, eating out and theatre. Could not fault anything, thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Edinburgh. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and helpful staff This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express so we didn't know much about this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very helpful even telling us breakfast was complimentary [the breakfast was excellent] Our room was spotless and very comfortable and we would certainly use H.I.E again January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time stay will definatly be back This was the first time iv stayed here could not fault this hotel everything was perfect January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations We stayed at this hotel for two nights and are very happy to recommend it. The location is excellent: walking distance from Waverley station, the castle, and many of the city's tourist sites, shopping locations and entertainment venues. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the staff are extremely helpful. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, though fairly small - which did not really matter for our short stay. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Not a great variety but quite enough to start the day - and, as with the hotel in general, it exceeded our expectations. Our only criticism was the constant loud music in the lounge/breakfast area. It's probably set to one (high) volume level regardless of how many people are in the room, but we found it quite intrusive. Our daughter lives in a tiny apartment just a short walk away from the hotel, so we'll certainly stay at the hotel again, particularly as the room price is substantially less than that of other hotels and B&Bs in the area. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Had a great time in the hotel from the minute we booked in the girl on the desk was very friendly and explained everything , made you feel very welcome The room was clean had everything you want if not you just have to ask ! Bed was comfortable plenty hot water for our showers Breakfast was good had plenty of choice checking out was simple January 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough space for breakfast and bed really uncomfortable Hotel in good central location and overall kept clean. First morning there were hardly any tables left for breakfast and people were bumping into each other as dining area was too cramped. Both toasters weren't working and staff took ages to get it sorted. Room was adequate although a little small. Bed was very uncomfortable. Very disappointed that none of the staff were Scottish which was shocking considering we were in Edinburgh!! Think hotel groups need to start recruiting people from their local communities and give something back to local economies. Overall very disappointed even for a budget hotel given that I have stayed in two others this year alone!! Would not recommend at all. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location, clean and great facilities We stayed here while seeing a musical at the Playhouse directly opposite. Plenty bars close by. Central location. Clean room with everything you need, funky lighting in bathroom! Very reasonable rates. Staff very helpful. Car parking available at extra cost. Only thing which I would have changed was providing more milk etc for tea and coffee and the single glazing lets in a lot of noise from the street and rattles when buses go past. Didn't stop us sleeping though and there is a tesco express next door so I bought more milk there. We went down for breakfast and couldn't get a seat so had to come back later and there wasn't much choice left. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great central location with friendly efficient staff , room was spotless and breakfast was adequate in the morning . Would stay again next time in Edinburgh . January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, good value and so comfotable. We had a great stay, it was perfect in every way and so convenient. I have already recommended your hotel to various friends and family. Thank you so much, January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and met all our requirements On visiting Edinburgh with an overnight stay our first check is always with Holiday Inn Express we only use it for leisure breaks normally theatre visits and it is so perfectly located and has everything we require and the cost is always perfect for us. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Good Value Very good location for exploring Edinburgh on foot, with great bus links nearby. Good value (although we booked well ahead), and very comfortable room, only slightly spoiled by a huge pillar blocking the view of the television from the bed (although the rest of the room was great and roomy, with benefit of sofa bed). On arrival, both the TV Remote control and the telephone didn't work, so had obviously not been checked by the room cleaning staff. Quickly resolved by handyman Christian, though, once reported. Breakfast limited in range, but still ok for an inclusive deal. Exceptionally clean and tidy room. Bag storage willingly arranged on day of arrival and departure. January 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible. I stayed here two nights. Both nights I was woken up by other travellers pulling their suitcase trolleys through the corridor outside my room. They weren't particularly loud but I could hear them very well due to the poor sound insulation. I was woken up before 8am both mornings because the cleaners were terribly loud. I have never experienced anything like this before. They were laughing loudly and shouting from one room to another showing absolutely no consideration of sleeping guests. On the second morning I was woken up at 6am because the TV had switched on automatically. I got up to switch it off and went back to sleep. Half an hour later the same thing happened again. I am guessing it was switched on by the signal from a remote in another room nearby. I forgot my power adaptor and phone charger and called the hotel as soon as I noticed. I asked the woman on the phone to mail the items to me. She arranged this but I had to pay for the postage myself. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great hotel and room, staff very helpful and knowlegeable January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great central location attended the Edinburgh playhouse and found the hotel fantastic value for money good size room and cleanliness friendly staff great breakfast . will stay again thanks January 9, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe Concierge Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby George Street View Edinburgh Castle View Hotel Lobby Historic Old Town and The Royal Mile Edinburgh Zoo home to the Uk's only Giant Panda's Dynamic Earth Edinburgh Castle St Giles Cathedral Iconic Hotel in the heart of Edinburgh Comfortable seating available in our reception A warm welcome awaits you Palace of Holyrood House - The Queens offical Edinburgh residence Catch up with friends in our internal  courtyard
Select to close.
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.