• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.3KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Italian
  7. Punjabi
  8. Polish
  9. Portuguese
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Royal Yacht Britannia
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
St Giles Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
The Real Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:20
  • Car Parking Available
  • We are able to offer guests at the Hotel parking on site. Charges are: £19.50 for 24 hours – Sunday to Thursday £22 for 24 hours – Friday and Saturday. Please contact the Concierge desk direct on 0844 879 9063 to pre book your space.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 22.00  GBP)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 22.0 GBP )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:198
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:198
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge
View More

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge services can help arrange your travel in & around Edinburgh City Centre. This Edinburgh hotel is near the shops and restaurants of Princes Street & George Street, with Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh Zoo and many other attractions nearby. If your visit is for business, we are located at the centre of the financial & business districts. Business services are available and we can host meetings for up to 300 people.

Guest bedrooms offer a luxurious stay while our Club Rooms, Feature Rooms & Junior Suites give extra space, stunning views and free Wi-Fi. Guests upgrading also receive complimentary access to our Exclusive Club Lounge with complimentary drinks and private breakfast. Dine in the George Street Bar & Grill, a vibrant space where you can relax and enjoy dishes bursting with flavour. Guests also have complimentary access to the swimming pool and gym during their stay.

View Less
Features
Crowne Plaza – The Roxburghe. An iconic Edinburgh hotel located in Edinburgh City Centre and perfectly equipped for the modern Business or Leisure traveller complete with onsite gym, spa with Sauna, Steam Room and Swimming Pool. We offer a range of over 25 classes per week in our studio and offer a range of indulgent spa treatments, all of which can be pre booked prior to your arrival.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Stayed at the Cowgate Holiday Inn for 6 nights on a trip to Edinburgh. Had a wonderful stay. We wanted a quiet hotel that was in Old Town near the Royal Mile. This hotel did not disappoint. We could walk to everything in Edinburgh. The staff was outstanding, worked hard to meet our needs. It is only one block off the Royal Mile but so quiet you can get a great night's sleep. Breakfast was adequate, good selection of items. We would not hesitate to stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good reception and friendliness Excellent value, in this friendly hotel. Very good service and friendly and helpful staff, esp. at front desk, Room was comfortable and clean and quiet. Would use this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends It's location was perfect, near the bridge the buses etc. The fact that we had such wonderful weather helped. Do not think that I am too easily pleased, we did enjoy our stay. Many thanks June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay in Edinburgh This little hotel is tucked into a busy city in the perfect spot for tourists. Situated next to a quiet cathedral, it's only a couple blocks from the middle of the Royal Mile, so you can walk easily up to Edinburgh Castle or down to Holyroodhouse. It's comfortable, clean, and quiet. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a treat for a traveler The staff was what made the visit memorable. Great tips for tourism, smiles abounded! The site was absolutely perfect for exploring the Royal Mile, and the staff was so knowledgeable. We arrived early, but our bags were whisked to a safe keeping area so we could start our sight-seeing. The staff at each shift were positive as the service was delightful. We SHALL stay here on our return to Edinburgh! June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Overall, the experience was quite good. The area isn't very exciting and at night a bit dodgy looking, but certainly not "unsafe." Not many restaurants in the immediate area, so a bit of a walk to find a variety of places to eat. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile The internet situation was confusing. I had forgotten my IHG number at a previous stay (Glasgow airport) but internet seemed to be standard for all guests. What was confusing was that I had to register my email and set a password. Alas, I didn't remember my password two weeks later.b June 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Total disapointment I stayed in this hotel en route from Edinburgh to London. I was tired, but found to my dismay that you only served food at the bar, and that was either one of 2 meat dishes. I am vegetarian so I had to find my way in a strange city to find somewhere to have my evening meal. Compared to where I stayed the previous night, it was a third as good and three times the price. I was astonished to be asked to replace my tray and dishes back on the rack after a poor breakfast. The croissants were hard, and the bread not very nice either. It was all very basic, and I was surprised to find it so poor. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate Room clean, service good. But quality and choice of food poor. Breakfast was not great, and there was a lack of bacon to go with the over done eggs, low grade sausages and overly crispy and crunchy croissants. Equally low quality pizza and chicken tikka masala available 24 hours. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Good Holiday Inn Express Property Once again I couldn't fault the Holiday Inn Express. Good, clean and fresh rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast, felt safe. This property just off the Royal Mile is a fabulous location for exploring the city of Edinburgh. Reception staff were helpful and very friendly. Will stay here again! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grest Great hotel, great service, great location, yummy breakfast - easy all round... June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Comfy beds, clean rooms, free wifi, and breakfast! And all withing walking distance of Edinburgh's Royal Mile! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent location From the moment i walked in the door i felt welcome and comfotable. Fantasyic location 3 mins from royal mile pubs n restaurants. Cannot rate highly enough June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas Family Edinburgh is an old, compact city with fascinating places to walk and to find short cuts through the hilly streets and alleyways. In such an historic place, the Holiday Inn Express was conveniently tucked away in a location very accessable to wherever you would likely want to go. The staff was extraordinary and transitioned the family from the historical old to the modern convenience of excellent accommodations. Checking in on a wet day, it was a five-star experience. After a late evening of dining and pubs (there are many) the staff helped with printing out boarding passes and volunteering to have the breakfast bar open early since we had an early morning flight. The location was near the student district of the University and great local shops. I would encourage anyone to get off the Royal Mile and take advantage of the local shops and pubs just off the beaten path -- this is especially true if you are looking for the best woolen products and lifelong memories. I do wish there was a self-service laundry for wet clothing...but worth the sacrifice. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, clean, comfortable Great hotel for family stay. Nice location, we walked everywhere from here - with two small children. Staff helpful and friendly. Excellent choice for breakfast. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel but over priced This hotel is very clean and close to town but parking is expensive in the nearby car park and hard to park while checking in bags etc. Breakfast was terrible and was worse than a school canteen, we opted out of breakfast the 2nd day as it was so bad. This hotel was very expensive for what it was and it would be better if they dropped the rate and did not provide breakfast. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, a little expensive We got this hotel at the hotel and hence got it very expensive. That may be because it was a long weekend. The hotel is at a very comfortable location - walking distance from station (or £5 by taxi), market and most of the attractions in old town. It is 15 minutes walk from Castle. We reached hotel much before check in time, but our rooms were ready. This is a great relief. Bed was comfortable, although can not say same for pillows. We had opted for buffet breakfast. The range and selection of buffet was excellent. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service The location worked well for me. Walking distance from the Royal Mile. Also a nice park with a mountain to climb within walking distance. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Little hotel Nice little hotel, all staff were pleasant and friendly. Stayed in the guest room for 3 people, pretty basic room however we didnt spend much time in the room. We asked for extra pillows and by the time we go to our room they were on the bed- extra quick service. Hotel is very safe, you need tthe room card to get into the building and to use the lift and stairs to access the rooms, could be stood there for half an hour trying to get the lift to work but at least it was safe! Variety of breakfast choices more on offer than expected, some cooked breakfast such as sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. No queuing for tables at breakast whether you went down early or late. Could have changed the towels more regularly as they werent changed the 3 nights we stayed. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. Good location of hotel. Good stay,staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The staff was able to provide me with an electrical extension cord so I could use my CPAP machine so I could sleep. The design of the rooms has all the electrical outlets located across the room away from the bed. This is my second stay at this location and each time the people here have been most helpful with any problems we might run into,thanks again. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Only one block off the Royal Mile in Old Town with good access to all venues and the train station as well. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and wonderful staff This location was perfect! We walked to everything we wanted to see in the city. The staff was extremely friendly and the person who checked us in actually remembered who we were and our room number when we needed to charge something to the room the next day. They were helpful with walking directions and restaurant recommendations. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location I stayed here recently for three nights and was part of a larger family party in Edinburgh for a wedding. There were several children in the party and although rooms are small if you have to have the sofa bed pulled out, in evey other way the hotel was fine. The continental breakfast was good but the sausages, reconstituted scrambled eggs and beans were not rated very highly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was ideal as we only had a short time to explore the city. I booked and paid for the third night myself and was very happy with the value for money we received. However the other two nights, paid for by a relative as part of a block booking were charged at double this amount. He was only aware of this at checkout, having been under the impression that he would be paying a lower rate at the time of booking. The reason given was that it was a bank holiday in Scotland, although I don't understand why he was originally quoted a lower price. Unfortunately this has coloured my impression of HI Ex as in my opinion, the hotel is definitely not worth this amount of money. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Room was clean and the staff was great. The location was perfect. Easy walking to everything May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest service Absoutely everyone that we had the opportunity to interact with was very friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. There were however 2 events that really stood out in separating your hotel from any other. While walking on the Royal Mile on Thursday I realized that my diamond earring was missing. Having no idea where it could be I wrote it off thinking I would never see it again and when I got back to the room it was laying on the shelf. I was amazed. I travel for work and stay in hotels more than 250 nights per year and left hundreds of dollars worth of items that were never recovered. There was also a young man working the night shift both Wednesday and Thursday night that was wonderful. There was a strange guy hanging out around the door and he was very concerned about the safety of all of the guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in great city Great location. Helpful, friendly,polite,courteous staff. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Love free internet. Highly recommend in a great city. May 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location. Personnel very friendly. Excellent location as to the sights. May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central Hotel with excellent service Very nice hotel with parking close to the hotel - a bonus in Edinburgh. Very clean and compact with excellent staff and very welcoming. Good hot free breakfast with ample choice. Only criticism is that I would upgrade quality of sausage and change supplier. Perhaps also extend breakfast time by 30 mins at weekends. Very central for many attractions. Platinum Elite Ambassador May 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good The room was fine sized, but the rest of the hotel was cramped, even for Europe. The hotel staff were average at best. The cleaning staff did not take dirty glasses out of the room and did not do a great job cleaning the bathroom, but did clean the rest of the room very well. I was with my father in law who was waiting for a package to be delivered of medication. He began leaving his name and room number two days before package delivery with the staff at the front desk so they would remember him, and take the package for him. It did not work, when the package came to the front desk the staff said there was no one here by that name (because the room was under my name) and sent the package back. When my father in law returned to the hotel and ask the staff why they didn't take the package he asked for all he got was "no one wrote it down", but he saw staff members make a note of his request. Breakfast was bad. No variety and taste was bland. Coffee was good though. I would suggest to make minor quality improvements and better variety. Everyone in my party thought the same so it was not just me. When it was time to check out my in laws went down stairs and were basically accosted by the staff that it was checkout time and that we needed to pay. It was a little embarrassing that mu in laws had to come to me to say the front desk was looking for payment. I guess they don't have express checkout and use the credit card that is holding the room, I suggest that they should do this. Location was great, it was right on the Royal mile and near a public transportation. However, not a great stay. It felt more like a motel than a hotel. i have stayed in many HI and HI Express, this is by far the worst one. There really wasn't anything to this hotel other than 4 walls and a roof. If I ever go back to Scotland I will stay at another hotel in the same area. I would also like to say this is my first review of a hotel ever, I think my stay was that bad. April 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The most friendly and helpful reception staff I have encountered in any hotel I have stayed in. The room and bed were very comfortable, although there was some noise during the night/early morning from other guests in the corridors. Very conveniently located for all city centre attractions and a short walk from Waverley train station. Breakfast fairly simple but more than adequate. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional Staff The staff was friendly, helpful and recognized that they were dealing with tourists and the patience that required. An example related to one of the front desk staff who went out of his way to insure that we had a smooth booking for a National Rail ticket from Edinburgh to York. He assisted us in getting to the right web site to book the tickets, helped us cost and finalize the tickets and just tolerated our inexperience dealing with the British rail system. He was fantastic and worked with us for a long period of time. The hotel is in a great location centrally located right off the Royal Mile. April 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Concierge Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe Reception Charlotte Square Gardens Scottish Parliament Edinburgh World Famous Royal Mile St Andrews Square Edinburgh Castle Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading