• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.3KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Italian
  7. Punjabi
  8. Polish
  9. Portuguese
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Royal Yacht Britannia
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
St Giles Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
The Real Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:20
  • Car Parking Available
  • We are able to offer guests at the Hotel parking on site. Charges are: £19.50 for 24 hours – Sunday to Thursday £22 for 24 hours – Friday and Saturday. Please contact the Concierge desk direct on 0844 879 9063 to pre book your space.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 22.00  GBP)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 22.0 GBP )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:198
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:198
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge
View More

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe, Georgian Grandeur & Modern Facilities in City Centre Edinburgh

We are located on Charlotte Square, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in Edinburgh’s city centre. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe is centrally located for business or leisure hotel guests. Edinburgh Waverly and Haymarket Train Stations are less than a 10 minutes walk, while there is an express bus to Edinburgh Airport. Our Concierge services can help arrange your travel in & around Edinburgh City Centre. This Edinburgh hotel is near the shops and restaurants of Princes Street & George Street, with Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh Zoo and many other attractions nearby. If your visit is for business, we are located at the centre of the financial & business districts. Business services are available and we can host meetings for up to 300 people.

Guest bedrooms offer a luxurious stay while our Club Rooms, Feature Rooms & Junior Suites give extra space, stunning views and free Wi-Fi. Guests upgrading also receive complimentary access to our Exclusive Club Lounge with complimentary drinks and private breakfast. Dine in the George Street Bar & Grill, a vibrant space where you can relax and enjoy dishes bursting with flavour. Guests also have complimentary access to the swimming pool and gym during their stay.

View Less
Features
Crowne Plaza – The Roxburghe. An iconic Edinburgh hotel located in Edinburgh City Centre and perfectly equipped for the modern Business or Leisure traveller complete with onsite gym, spa with Sauna, Steam Room and Swimming Pool. We offer a range of over 25 classes per week in our studio and offer a range of indulgent spa treatments, all of which can be pre booked prior to your arrival.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 169 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed before, will stay again From the car park you enter the hotel through the bar, and as there is a table right next to the door this makes getting into the place quite hard and people having drinks have to move! Now that's a new one on me! Plat membership was not noted and no upgrade was offered, in fact I had a very small room that was tired and basic. The hotel did not seem full, but perhaps that was the reason. Breakfast was good, although the waiter's English was bad and he mumbled so I had no idea what he was saying. Not a bad HI by any standard and quite a good location for me. Good views to the east. Noise from the corridoor is quite bad. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Great Shakes Overvalued for the services offered. There is a need to offer more services for the price you pay for the room. There was nothing spectacular about the hotel or the room that warranted the price paid. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and relaxing stay with great service Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful which made all the difference. Room was comfortable quiet and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Look forward to returning. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service and very pleasant staff at the reception, restaurant and room service. Very pleased with the stay and will definitely come back again. Great castle view from our room. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed. Bath room nice but, hand shower a bit awkward to use Over all good hotel to stay. Public transport in front of hotel. Good breakfast. Room spacious but bath room a bit small. Hand shower a bit awkward to use. Room cleanliness could have been better. Staff was wonderful. May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Average Hotel This hotel is good but there is nothing that gives it the "Wow factor". Rooms are clean and pleasant, food is OK and bar prices are aligned with city centre hotels. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy location to explore Edinburgh. Close to a bus line into the city, this is an easy hotel to get to and to use as a base for exploring the city. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Holiday Inns are consistent in their high quality and high standards. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One Night in Edinburgh quite hotel and close from Shopping just 1 min. 10 min away from the centre of city using Taxi. i suggest for who has private car. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Stay My wife and daughter and I really enjoyed our stay. Excellent recognition for IHG membership, front desk staff superb. Great upgrade to mini suites, food in restaurant better than average. All in all a super stay and will come back again. April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st stay in this hotel - would recommend We have stayed in several Holiday Inn's including the Holiday Inn Edinburgh Zoo and were pleased with our choice of the City West Hotel this time. Good location, restaurant was good (both in terms of service and food) would definitely consider this hotel again April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by as expected Overnight prior to catching morning flight from Edinburgh airport. As always being a gold elite member I was upgraded to a large suite and a voucher for a drink from the bar. Room very comfortable. Good meal and service from the restaurant. Very nice overnight stay and would recommend. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional value cannot fault this hotel,comfortable beds,controllable heating,plenty hot water,excellent food in restaurant,fantastic views of Edinburgh from bedrooms,second time we have stayed here and we will be returning later this year. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel & value for money This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and don't have any complaints always friendly staff and clean rooms . I prefer to stay here as it is cheaper but only a few minutes in a taxi and your bang in the centre ( about £7 in a cab) . Worth paying the extra and get the mini suite good size room with seating area . Good food and free parking so great for Edinburgh . Highly recommend this hotel . March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over all good experience Very kind staff. Good food in the restaurant, comfortable and spacious room. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A caring staff and Management I enjoy City West - recognition by The team of your needs and happy faces from Emma in the Restaurant and others help you to relax and be comfortable in the hotel March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Uncomfortable visit to this hotel which failed to meet expected Holiday Inn standards. Bathroom tiny and unsuitable for tall gentleman even though slim. Mattress uncomfortable but maid service good. Barman needs training as service inefficient. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very high cleanliness standards Cleanliness is a big deal for me, I am very OCD about it and a lot of my trips away can be ruined by the stress of a dirty hoteI room. Even some 5* hotels I've stayed at I have to clean the bathroom with my own products before using and I always find the bed sheets disgusting, but NOT in this Holiday Inn. I even used the towels they supplied, I can not say enough about the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff were also very warm and welcoming and it was in an easily accessible location. Would definatly look into staying at The Holiday Inn again when I next go away for a few days. The only con I can find with my stay were on the first morning there was an early fire evacuation, this would have been ok if it was just me but having to carry a 3 year old down 5 flights of stairs was difficult. I hear it was because of the steam on someone's shower so maybe warn guests to keep the bathroom door closed when showering. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MIXING BUSINESS WITH PLEASURE ARRIVED FRIDAY AFTER WORKING UP THROUGH THE COUNTRY FROM MANCHESTER. DECIDED TO EAT IN THE RESTAURANT & HAVE AN EARLY NIGHT. STAFF WERE ATTENTIVE & FRIENDLY BUT NOT IN YOUR FACE. FOOD WAS PROBABLY SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN USUAL FROM HOTEL RESTAURANTS. BOOKED BREAKFAST FOR SAT MORNING THIS WAS DELICIOUS WITH GOOD QUALITY PRODUCTS NOT YOUR VALUE SAUSAGE ETC. IT WAS A VERY WINDY NIGHT AND AS WE WERE ON THE TOP FLOOR IT WAS QUITE NOISY THINK THE WINDOW SEALS NEED REPLACING BUT ALL IN ALL A PLEASANT COMFORTABLE STAY. BIG ADVANTAGE IS THE FACT THAT THERE IS FREE PARKING AND A BUS INTO EDINBURGH COSTS £1.50 SINGLE OR A TAXI WAS APPROX £8.00 - STILL CHEAPER THAN MOST CAR PARKS. WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice mid range hotel with friendly staff They held our luggage for us when we checked in at 11am ish and when we returned after the football at 8pm or so our room type wasnt available so we got upgraded to a nice Junior Suite. The extra bed was made up immediately with no waiting time which was good. I found the staff friendly and attentive and overall its a nice hotel for the money and would be happy to stay again. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a fire alarm !! Great place to stay if only you can make it through the n ight without the fire alarm going off. Last stay it was 3am but at least this time it was 7am - but it was Sunday !! Not sure that we will go back. Too stressfull for a short break. Suspect smokers are to blame but no info from staff. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Visited during a busy Calcutta cup weekend. Staff could not have been more obliging. Large clean room and very quiet. Breakfast had great selection of hot and cold options. Would definitely stay there again. February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh West Very impressed with the one night stay for my friends and I, not too far from city centre although we did get a taxi in and out. I would recommend staying here. Each room had 2 double beds, and we were able to check in quite early as the rooms were available prior to 11:30am February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, good view and very good service! We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very well trained and seemed happy and upbeat. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay Excellent stay will be staying again, food was lovely and service great. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value for money absolute value for money, nice friendly staff, good selection of food for breakfast. A great place to stay if you fancy a nice walk into town, January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and enjoyable stay Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Front desk staff were excellent and very helpful. I am a Platinum Elite IHG member and we were upgraded to a mini suite, which was great. Bed was very comfortable and the wife remarked how lovely and soft the towels were, it's a woman thing! We only had breakfast in the hotel which was good, and we did use the bar on an evening, where the staff were very pleasant. If you don't want to be in the middle of the city this hotel is good as there is on-site parking, and you can use the local bus service to the city centre, the bus stop is across from the hotel, it's a no 41 and takes less than ten minutes, and run every 15 minutes Monday to Saturday and every half an hour on a Sunday, although we did use taxis to bring us back from the centre to the hotel. Would we recommend this hotel, yes, and would we use it again, definitely. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I liked attentive, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent menu for breakfast, a wonderful view of the city and a castle out of the window and, by the way, I could admire a lot of squirrels on the trees near the hotel. I will recommend this hotel to my friends. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hogmanay We arrived at nearly midnight after driving from London, the check in was excellent, quick and efficient which was needed at that time of the night. Staff was helpful, with where to go, what to see directions and taxis. We had breakfast each morning which was very good, the staff was cheerful and welcoming, only spoil was a couple of children screaming and running around at breakfast......... but that's not the hotels fault, it's parents who don't care and have no control of their 'cherubs'!!!! We thought about upgrading to a suite but wondered if our view of the city and the castle would be compromised. Ideally placed for us and would stay again. January 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Bed Ever!!! My wife and i have stayed at this hotel on several occasions as we regularly travel to Edinburgh to visit family. On arrival we were told at Reception that as we were IHG members we were being "upgraded" We foolishly thought this meant to an executive suite (especially as the hotel was empty) but all this equated to was free wi-fi (which i didn't need) and a newspaper - wow!! Our room with a "Castle View" we were promised included a 50ft Conifer in the way!! The hotel is starting to show it's age a bit now, rusty shower head, heating didn't work properly, furniture a bit dated, poor selection of TV channels. All of that i could have lived with but the mattress was horrendous - very lumpy and you could feel every spring. My wife and i couldn't sleep at all. Without doubt the worst bed i have ever slept in. The room was, as ever immaculately clean and the staff as helpful & courteous as always but i would expect this a minimum from a brand such as this Holiday Inn seriously need to invest in all their Beds as other hotel chains have done otherwise i will have to look elsewhere in future January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was very helpfull to get transportation to the City center. January 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Concierge Welcome to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe Reception Charlotte Square Gardens Scottish Parliament Edinburgh World Famous Royal Mile St Andrews Square Edinburgh Castle Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading