• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rosslyn Chapel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Royal Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Museum of Childhood
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disasterous hotel do not use this hotel if you need a good nights sleep followed by a relaxing breakfast August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central only one real gripe,too hot ,had little fan but did not cool down very well August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent overall service We really enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel.At some stage we would like to come back and spend a week there,and see some more of the sights.The Hotel is quite near most of the sites.,and the bus service is good..Just one complaint.We usually find a Gideon Bible in the room,but looked in vain this time.Trust that will be available next time August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well looked after in good position for city All in all a good experience in a comfortable hotel close to the main sights and station. Staff were attentive and happy to help. Pleasant bar/lounge area for drinks and as a meeting point. As a family room a little cramped but acceptable and unconventional design of bathroom a little odd. Breakfast could have offered more variety and pastries were a little dry. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Lovely Hotel...easy walk to and from Railway Station. Rooms are small ( we did have our son with us and he used the fold out bed )...but adequate....the bathroom, however, is very very small..as is the wee toilet with a dual fitting door ( can shut over the loo...or shut over the other way to close the whole bathroom off to the bedroom. The breakfast was ok...there wasn't much choice but i did think that was because it was an express....my son doesn't like beans or scrambled eggs...so his only choice of hot food was sausage. Now unlike my husband and son..i'm not tall...and to try and reach the hot breakfast items on the higher shelf was difficult...and the two way set up was unclear to most people as they were all over the place and not proper queue was established ( the dinner lady in me was screaming for them to get in line!! ) I would stay again if my need was for one night...wouldn't say for more than that. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General comment Reasonable hotel overall. The difference between floor levels and lift levels is inconvenient. Breakfast is self-service (not a problem) but topping-up slow and staff uncommunicative. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unbearable heat on the top floor Our room on the top floor was too hot, so much so we all slept naked with no duvet . Never again. July 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could do better! The welcome I received after an 11 hour journey was less than satisfactory, the desk attendant was very abrupt, in fact I would say rude, and it was not the welcome I expected to receive in Scotland's capital city. With no air conditioning, the room was very hot with only a fan to circulate the air. The corridor leading to the room was also very hot and the heat hit you as soon as the lift door opened. Having said that, the restaurant staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful, as were the bar staff. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by recent visit Hotel is generally nice but to hot and under staffed July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel but poor access to lobby Good hotel for the price I paid. Beds were very comfortable for a family of 4 and although the bathroom was quite basic, it was clean. Space was adequate for me in the room. I would say it's value for money for a Holiday Inn in a big city like Edinburgh. My only dissatisfaction was that I needed to carry the pushchair up the stairs to the lobby. There was no one there to help me or direct me to an area to access to the lobby. Imagine a disabled person with a wheelchair. They would be lost. July 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms far too hot I spent a night here recently along with 6 colleagues and although the rooms are very nice and spotless we all agreed we struggled to sleep due to the heat of the rooms. I also had an unfortunate accident in the reception area where i tripped over the cleaners electric lead fron the hoover as she was cleaning the bar area resulting in me falling over injuring my arm and leg with severe bruising coming out a day later, all that said i would happily stay here again! July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very helpful staff. I was surprised that there is an emergency pull cord beside the bed and in the bathroom which i think is very good especially for elderly guests. Room is clean though a bit warm but then again it was a lovely weather on those days very sunny so cant fault them:-) me and hubby enjoyed our stay and will definitely choose this hotel again. Thanks. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value stay We were in Edinburgh for two nights last week. Very comforable room, good value for money and decent breakfast. Would recommend. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Great hotel. Only problem we had was that the room was too warm and we couldn't open the window. However we did not mention this at the time as we spent so little time there. A fan had been provided but it was a very hot day. The hotel is straight across from the Omni centre where there are many eateries and also a huge cinema complex. Perfect if you want a nice chilled evening. We loved our stay and will definitely be back July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unusually 'Average' experience @ HI Express We have stayed in lots of HI Express hotels on family trips worldwide. Most have been great, which is why we have kept using them. Edinburgh City Centre was a contrast. Our room was stiflingly hot, with no air conditioning, and secondly, when we showed up for breakfast about 15 minutes before the advertised 'stop serving time', it was already too late. The breakfast things were being cleared away and it was a race to grab a bowl of cereal before that disappeared too. I have seen better service out of HI Express. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a good night's sleep! We were pleasantly surprised with everything from the warm greeting on arrival, the room layout, cleanliness, the comfortable bed, the continental breakfast, right through to the friendly farewell at checkout. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel location for short term visit Fantastic central location round the corner from main tourist attractions. Hotel suitable for family travel and young kids, friendly and helpful staff. Staff could be a little more attentive and the hotel could be a little cooler but overall, very good place to stay. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay stayed 2 nights, welcome was warm and professional, room exceptionally clean, particularly the bathroom (pure white grouting all round!). Breakfast was busy on the first morning, but tables were being kept clean and food restocked. Cooked items could be improved upon, particularly the sausages. Not a vast selection of cereals, and the apple juice tasted rather watery, but other than that it was adequate. Hotel is ideally situated and all staff were personable. Good stay overall. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EDINBURG FALTA AIRE ACONDICIONADO EN LAS HABITACIONES,NO HAY VARIEDAD DE ALIMENTOS EN LOS DESAYUNOS, NO HAY ALIMENTOS DURENTE LA NOCHE June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent little hotel in great part of town Was in town for a conference and brought my dog. Even though there'd been miscommunication so no note on file about him, there was absolutely no problem with the booking, and we were easily accommodated with a room on the ground floor at the back. Very quiet & comfortable. Room simple but well set out and spacious. Functional, but with a pleasant atmosphere in general, with comfortable public spaces, so it felt better & nicer than basic. Would happily stay again. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Personal de habla española Siempre es una ayuda importante encontrarse con personal que hable tu propio idioma. Como nota negativa, la factura no se correspondía con la reserva efectuada. Tuve que efectuar una reclamación después de haberla pagado porque excedía en 40 Libras por noche al precio de la reserva. En su favor he de decir que la devolución del exceso de precio fue atendida inmediatamente y sin discusión June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All Good Check in staff did not know there was a show on at the Playhouse opposite. They said nothing was on, on Fri. 13th. But we knew there was, so went over the road June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, service and overall experience Friendly and helpful staff, quite a small lobby area but that was expected in a city centre hotel. Got a little crowded in the lobby area as a result but was not a problem. Room was quite small but that was due to our use of the sofa bed as well as the double bed. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the tea bags were replaced which is always a positive. Breakfast was amazing! The whole Holiday Inn had a great welcoming feel and I would most definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Edinburgh for a weekend on a limited budget. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Hotel is well located and close to Calton Hill and Princess Street. Rooms are large and clean. New Edinburgh tram stops close to hotel. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Fox Lovely experience. Family room got a little hot but overall nice hotel and place to visit. Staff were extremely accommodating with our requests. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not so bad The hotel is in a lively location - good starting point for exploring Edinburgh. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff couldn't have been more helpful Listened to everything we needed and made it happen. What more can I say. Staff were really helpful. It delights me to be able to say that. Location is great for the city but it can be a bit noisy at nigt, Enjoyed our stay and will be back. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad Overall this hotel is a perfect. Location, staff, amenities all top notch. The bar is lovely, beer cold. However, I was given an accessible room. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Checking in at 4pm, I did not expect to be told that my room was not ready, and that I would have to wait ten minutes before it was available (this period actually extended to more than twenty minutes). Shortly after gaining access, I was forced to vacate again as a result of a fire alarm going off. During this event there were no staff on hand to offer guidance or advice; or to let guests know when they could return to their rooms. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Booked a double but got a twin room ,didn't complain as it was just for one night .Room clean,beds comfy ,reception and bar staff very friendly and professional ,great choice for breakfast .Big plus was its location .Would stay there again . May 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city
Select to close.
Located on a Georgian Terrace in the heart of the city Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Reception Area A warm Scottish welcome awaits! Stunning city views from the front of the hotel Relax and enjoy a refreshment in the hotel lobby We look forward to welcoming you
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading