• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.3MI
Attraction:
Palace of Holyroodhouse
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From
View More
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From comedy to opera there will be a host of shows that will suit your personal preferences.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a good night's sleep! We were pleasantly surprised with everything from the warm greeting on arrival, the room layout, cleanliness, the comfortable bed, the continental breakfast, right through to the friendly farewell at checkout. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel location for short term visit Fantastic central location round the corner from main tourist attractions. Hotel suitable for family travel and young kids, friendly and helpful staff. Staff could be a little more attentive and the hotel could be a little cooler but overall, very good place to stay. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay stayed 2 nights, welcome was warm and professional, room exceptionally clean, particularly the bathroom (pure white grouting all round!). Breakfast was busy on the first morning, but tables were being kept clean and food restocked. Cooked items could be improved upon, particularly the sausages. Not a vast selection of cereals, and the apple juice tasted rather watery, but other than that it was adequate. Hotel is ideally situated and all staff were personable. Good stay overall. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EDINBURG FALTA AIRE ACONDICIONADO EN LAS HABITACIONES,NO HAY VARIEDAD DE ALIMENTOS EN LOS DESAYUNOS, NO HAY ALIMENTOS DURENTE LA NOCHE June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent little hotel in great part of town Was in town for a conference and brought my dog. Even though there'd been miscommunication so no note on file about him, there was absolutely no problem with the booking, and we were easily accommodated with a room on the ground floor at the back. Very quiet & comfortable. Room simple but well set out and spacious. Functional, but with a pleasant atmosphere in general, with comfortable public spaces, so it felt better & nicer than basic. Would happily stay again. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Personal de habla española Siempre es una ayuda importante encontrarse con personal que hable tu propio idioma. Como nota negativa, la factura no se correspondía con la reserva efectuada. Tuve que efectuar una reclamación después de haberla pagado porque excedía en 40 Libras por noche al precio de la reserva. En su favor he de decir que la devolución del exceso de precio fue atendida inmediatamente y sin discusión June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All Good Check in staff did not know there was a show on at the Playhouse opposite. They said nothing was on, on Fri. 13th. But we knew there was, so went over the road June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, service and overall experience Friendly and helpful staff, quite a small lobby area but that was expected in a city centre hotel. Got a little crowded in the lobby area as a result but was not a problem. Room was quite small but that was due to our use of the sofa bed as well as the double bed. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the tea bags were replaced which is always a positive. Breakfast was amazing! The whole Holiday Inn had a great welcoming feel and I would most definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Edinburgh for a weekend on a limited budget. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Hotel is well located and close to Calton Hill and Princess Street. Rooms are large and clean. New Edinburgh tram stops close to hotel. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Fox Lovely experience. Family room got a little hot but overall nice hotel and place to visit. Staff were extremely accommodating with our requests. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not so bad The hotel is in a lively location - good starting point for exploring Edinburgh. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff couldn't have been more helpful Listened to everything we needed and made it happen. What more can I say. Staff were really helpful. It delights me to be able to say that. Location is great for the city but it can be a bit noisy at nigt, Enjoyed our stay and will be back. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad Overall this hotel is a perfect. Location, staff, amenities all top notch. The bar is lovely, beer cold. However, I was given an accessible room. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Checking in at 4pm, I did not expect to be told that my room was not ready, and that I would have to wait ten minutes before it was available (this period actually extended to more than twenty minutes). Shortly after gaining access, I was forced to vacate again as a result of a fire alarm going off. During this event there were no staff on hand to offer guidance or advice; or to let guests know when they could return to their rooms. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Booked a double but got a twin room ,didn't complain as it was just for one night .Room clean,beds comfy ,reception and bar staff very friendly and professional ,great choice for breakfast .Big plus was its location .Would stay there again . May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and great service Welcomed by friendly staff. Excellent location with good access to all of the city centre and train station. Ideal for a short stay of 1-2 nights. May 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good place to stay poor quality mattress gaves us both bad backs hence not much sleep, had room with connecting door to next room which was very unnerving for my wife, room was set for 24 degrees on radiator had to leave window open most of night to cool room down which does not help with road noise. breakfast room was cramped not ideally suited to such numbers. would not recommend staying again rooms starting to look very tired. May 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, clean, modern Staff at reception were very helpful - even kept flowers I had been given in water till we were ready to leave. Decor fresh and even though it is in the centre of Edinburgh very quiet. Would go back. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by VERY GOOD HOTEL AND EXCELLENT VALUE FOR CITY CENTRE I HAVE NOW STAYED IN THIS HOTEL A COUPLE OF TIMES AND ALWAYS FOUND IT VERY FRIENDLY AND STAFF HELPFUL WOULD NOT HESITATE TO RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY. May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Had a good stay, staff were friendly on arrival and check out. Mattress was really soft so didn't sleep very well (rm 315). Like the choice of pillow but could do with 2 of each in the room. Did report it to reception on check out and they said someone would look at the mattress. We have stayed in other holiday inn express hotels and the mattress were firm abit disappointed when it wasn't the same. There was alway a lot of running water noise within the walls which was very disturbing. Did ask if mattress toppers were available but was advised there is no choice on mattress. May 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average/Poor staff performance and cleanliness Some how the staff dint clean my room for 2 days. Very bad for IHG hotel performance. Dint like it. I called the reception for asking the staff to clean the room. No one from reception bothered to look at it. Went to the cleaning staff for cleaning the room he dint bother to clean it. The amount I paid for staying dint worth the stay I believe I would not prefer IHG again Premier inn or any cheap BB is better than this April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Edinburgh City Centre Very friendly welcome by reception on check in. Hotel clean and perfect location. Room was adequate in size for a short stay. Beds were fairly uncomfortable and our room (323) had lots of traffic noise too. Staff gave great recommendations even eating at the nearby Italian which was gorgeous and our children loved. Would definitely return for the location but request a quiet room away from the roadside! April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by woderful stay We could not fault this hotel in any way.Our room was ready although we arrived early.Central location near cinema and theatre.Many good restuarants near by. April 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by stranger disturb In the morning at 10:30, even not the time of check out. There is a impolite and rude man who just open my door without knocking the door or pressing the bell. I felt very angry. When I check out, I told the reception what happened. They just say they will check, not even mentioned about further reparation. I feel they r such irresponsible!!! I think someone needs to give me a reasonable explanation! April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This was the 2nd time we have stayed here and still cannot fault this hotel. The staff are really helpful, the hotel is immaculate and the rooms are of a very high standard. Have stayed in other hotels in edinburgh and paid a lot more money for a room that don't compare. Excellent location with Omni centre just across the road. Highly recommend and will definetely stay here again April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised I was looking for a nice hotel to take my mother for a 75th Birthday weekend with show. I spent ages looking at different hotels but in the end decided on this one as it is literally across the road from the Playhouse. From the moment we arrived the staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was fine, spotlessly clean and perfect for our needs. Breakfast was an added bonus . Our room was at the back and really fairly quiet for a city centre hotel. I will definitely return. It is in a great position both for the theatre and for shopping. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. April 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet, i give up I give up because- I'm writing about last weeks stay while tonight having to use 4g on my phone rather than wifi in my room. The internet isnt strong enough to even load a page on wifi. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff - really accommodating especially Sangeeta We stayed for 3 nights in a family room with a 7 and 5 year old. Room was a bit small when sofa bed was out and the room we had was quite warm with no air con adjustment but we just opened the window. Overall very comfortable and close to everything. Family day pass on bus only £7.50 which was really useful as you can hop on and off as you need to. Breakfast was good and would definatly come back. Very good value for money. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by March 2014 Had a lovely stay, all staff I came into contact with were very professional and helpful. Great spacious room with good facilities. Car park was a bonus and location was ideal. Didn't use the bar so can't comment in that but would certainly stay again when in Edinburgh. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Comfortable bed and spotless room and toilet, very friendly staff who offered excellent customer care. The location is excellent for theatre and good restaurants, will definitely go back. March 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Select to close.
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome Located on a residential street, close to Edinburgh Playhouse Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Relax in the hotel lobby by our fireplace Our Concierge awaits to advise you of Edinburgh sights Reception Area Relax in our reception area beside the fire place Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Set amongst a row of Georgian townhouses on Royal Terrace
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading