• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Royal Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Rosslyn Chapel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Museum of Childhood
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh city west Excellent views Average in room facilties Rooms small July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing place to be with friendly staff i liked the breakfast menu a lot and staff were willing to answer my questions and assist me. please improve on varieties in dinner menu. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice hotel in a good location The hotel is in a good location, and well placed for a short trip to Leith (by car) or in town (by bus). The room was a fine size - make sure to ask for a room on an upper floor facing the castle, as the view is stunning. Breakfast was fine, and the star were very friendly. July 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by front desk arrived at noon --had informed that we will be checking in early.Still had to wait for 45 mins to get a room also, the bigger issue--the front desk wouldnot answer the phone despite me calling multiple times.They could have put me on hold and tell me to wait..The bell would keep on ringing without any response.That was frustrating July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and friendly staff Excellent overall experience. The room rate was as agreed via internet, we were well received and we would certainly be happy to stay on another occasion (this was our second or third visit. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room and attentive staff The view from the room over Edinburgh was great, the room its self was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were all excellent, very efficient and happy which was nice, the breakfast selection and quality were excellent. However the stay was spoilt for me by two things. The access to the internet is unreasonably expensive and in this day & age should not be an expensive extra when booking a room. The other disappointment was paying 25Pounds for a Chicken Caesar Salad with chips and a 200ml glass of wine from room service. Overall though a very nice two night stay. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service if you need somewhere to stay either on business or leisure this hotel is central in Edinburgh great service very good business and meeting services July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by last minute booking last minute booking for early morning flight from Edinburgh airport. upgraded to a large room on the top floor with fantastic view over the city. The air conditioning was very welcome on a very hot day. Nice meal and very pleasant staff. Once again a very pleasant stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Who pays for internet anymore? We were to have been booked into a Holiday Inn close to the airport and with a pool. We were surprised when we arrived at this location and found we had received neither. The overpriced, in my opinion, room had no amenities and we had to pay extra to use the internet! Because the price of the hotel was so high, we did not spend more money for internet, which meant that the kids' electronics and such were not accessible. Dinner was fine but pricey, and the breakfast was very high priced so we skipped it. For the price we paid to sleep at this hotel (on our last night of holiday to be close to the airport), it was not worth it. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied... As part of a trip we had two nights at this hotel. It was very nice, clean, the staff very attentive and the buffet breakfast perfect. The room had a wonderful view of Edinburgh. We would come back for sure! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, lovely staff and food We stayed for one night in June and we had a really nice stay. The room was lovely and clean and we had a fantastic view over Edinburgh. We stayed dinner bed and breakfast and all the food was lovely. We had to go out early but the restaurant manager let us eat early off the menu which was brilliant. Staff were very helpful and polite. Would definitely stay here again. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed before, will stay again From the car park you enter the hotel through the bar, and as there is a table right next to the door this makes getting into the place quite hard and people having drinks have to move! Now that's a new one on me! Plat membership was not noted and no upgrade was offered, in fact I had a very small room that was tired and basic. The hotel did not seem full, but perhaps that was the reason. Breakfast was good, although the waiter's English was bad and he mumbled so I had no idea what he was saying. Not a bad HI by any standard and quite a good location for me. Good views to the east. Noise from the corridoor is quite bad. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Great Shakes Overvalued for the services offered. There is a need to offer more services for the price you pay for the room. There was nothing spectacular about the hotel or the room that warranted the price paid. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and relaxing stay with great service Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful which made all the difference. Room was comfortable quiet and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Look forward to returning. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service and very pleasant staff at the reception, restaurant and room service. Very pleased with the stay and will definitely come back again. Great castle view from our room. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed. Bath room nice but, hand shower a bit awkward to use Over all good hotel to stay. Public transport in front of hotel. Good breakfast. Room spacious but bath room a bit small. Hand shower a bit awkward to use. Room cleanliness could have been better. Staff was wonderful. May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Average Hotel This hotel is good but there is nothing that gives it the "Wow factor". Rooms are clean and pleasant, food is OK and bar prices are aligned with city centre hotels. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy location to explore Edinburgh. Close to a bus line into the city, this is an easy hotel to get to and to use as a base for exploring the city. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Holiday Inns are consistent in their high quality and high standards. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One Night in Edinburgh quite hotel and close from Shopping just 1 min. 10 min away from the centre of city using Taxi. i suggest for who has private car. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Stay My wife and daughter and I really enjoyed our stay. Excellent recognition for IHG membership, front desk staff superb. Great upgrade to mini suites, food in restaurant better than average. All in all a super stay and will come back again. April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st stay in this hotel - would recommend We have stayed in several Holiday Inn's including the Holiday Inn Edinburgh Zoo and were pleased with our choice of the City West Hotel this time. Good location, restaurant was good (both in terms of service and food) would definitely consider this hotel again April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by as expected Overnight prior to catching morning flight from Edinburgh airport. As always being a gold elite member I was upgraded to a large suite and a voucher for a drink from the bar. Room very comfortable. Good meal and service from the restaurant. Very nice overnight stay and would recommend. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional value cannot fault this hotel,comfortable beds,controllable heating,plenty hot water,excellent food in restaurant,fantastic views of Edinburgh from bedrooms,second time we have stayed here and we will be returning later this year. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel & value for money This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and don't have any complaints always friendly staff and clean rooms . I prefer to stay here as it is cheaper but only a few minutes in a taxi and your bang in the centre ( about £7 in a cab) . Worth paying the extra and get the mini suite good size room with seating area . Good food and free parking so great for Edinburgh . Highly recommend this hotel . March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over all good experience Very kind staff. Good food in the restaurant, comfortable and spacious room. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A caring staff and Management I enjoy City West - recognition by The team of your needs and happy faces from Emma in the Restaurant and others help you to relax and be comfortable in the hotel March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Uncomfortable visit to this hotel which failed to meet expected Holiday Inn standards. Bathroom tiny and unsuitable for tall gentleman even though slim. Mattress uncomfortable but maid service good. Barman needs training as service inefficient. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very high cleanliness standards Cleanliness is a big deal for me, I am very OCD about it and a lot of my trips away can be ruined by the stress of a dirty hoteI room. Even some 5* hotels I've stayed at I have to clean the bathroom with my own products before using and I always find the bed sheets disgusting, but NOT in this Holiday Inn. I even used the towels they supplied, I can not say enough about the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff were also very warm and welcoming and it was in an easily accessible location. Would definatly look into staying at The Holiday Inn again when I next go away for a few days. The only con I can find with my stay were on the first morning there was an early fire evacuation, this would have been ok if it was just me but having to carry a 3 year old down 5 flights of stairs was difficult. I hear it was because of the steam on someone's shower so maybe warn guests to keep the bathroom door closed when showering. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MIXING BUSINESS WITH PLEASURE ARRIVED FRIDAY AFTER WORKING UP THROUGH THE COUNTRY FROM MANCHESTER. DECIDED TO EAT IN THE RESTAURANT & HAVE AN EARLY NIGHT. STAFF WERE ATTENTIVE & FRIENDLY BUT NOT IN YOUR FACE. FOOD WAS PROBABLY SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN USUAL FROM HOTEL RESTAURANTS. BOOKED BREAKFAST FOR SAT MORNING THIS WAS DELICIOUS WITH GOOD QUALITY PRODUCTS NOT YOUR VALUE SAUSAGE ETC. IT WAS A VERY WINDY NIGHT AND AS WE WERE ON THE TOP FLOOR IT WAS QUITE NOISY THINK THE WINDOW SEALS NEED REPLACING BUT ALL IN ALL A PLEASANT COMFORTABLE STAY. BIG ADVANTAGE IS THE FACT THAT THERE IS FREE PARKING AND A BUS INTO EDINBURGH COSTS £1.50 SINGLE OR A TAXI WAS APPROX £8.00 - STILL CHEAPER THAN MOST CAR PARKS. WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice mid range hotel with friendly staff They held our luggage for us when we checked in at 11am ish and when we returned after the football at 8pm or so our room type wasnt available so we got upgraded to a nice Junior Suite. The extra bed was made up immediately with no waiting time which was good. I found the staff friendly and attentive and overall its a nice hotel for the money and would be happy to stay again. February 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Select to close.
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome Located on a residential street, close to Edinburgh Playhouse Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Relax in the hotel lobby by our fireplace Our Concierge awaits to advise you of Edinburgh sights Reception Area Relax in our reception area beside the fire place Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Set amongst a row of Georgian townhouses on Royal Terrace
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Earn 1000 Points per Night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading