• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.3MI
Attraction:
Palace of Holyroodhouse
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From
View More
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From comedy to opera there will be a host of shows that will suit your personal preferences.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Enjoyable Stay Very nice hotel, contemporary in style, good location especially for the theatre. Room very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with top quality fittings. Very noisy guest in next room in early hours of morning but overall would thoroughy recommend. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star accommodation My mum and I stayed here for one night when we went to Edinburgh to see the lion king. We stayed in an executive king suite. The room was bright, modern and very comfortable. There was a complimentary mini fridge as well as a coffee machine. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom did not actually have a bath but the shower was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful e.g. looking after our bags as we were too early to check in and then putting our bags in our room ready for us. The breakfast was delicious and we had plenty to choose from. I would definitely stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away Arrived at Hotel Indigo a bit early for check-in, as we were visiting the Edinburgh Playhouse, this was not a problem as girl on Reception let us check in and leave our luggage as our room was not ready on returning back to hotel we were shown to our room and everything explained to us re breakfast times, telephone etc, and our case was already in our room for us. Room was beautiful, massive comfortable bed and pillows so had a good nights sleep, breakfast was excellent and plenty to choose from with ample tea, coffee and toast available, staff so attentive nothing is a problem to them, as you have a late check out time of 12o'clock there is no need to rush, we did not get our train till 4.30pm and the girl on Reception said we could leave our luggage this meant we could have a look around the shops then collect luggage in time for the train, perfect. The hotel was excellent as were the staff, would recommend and definitely stay here again. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.. The hotel itself was excellent, I cannot fault the room or the staff. However we had toyed between this hotel and another and I chose Hotel Indigo because it appeared to include car parking whereas the other charged extra. It turned out that Hotel Indigo also charged extra though I didn't discover this until I phoned to find out where the car park was. I was told to book in first and then I would be given access to the car parking space (at a charge of £12). This is impossible as there is nowhere to stop on the busy road outside so I ended up having to park in the NCP car park after all. Also, on arrival I was told that I was being charged extra because I had booked a twin room but they don't do twin rooms! So they had moved an extra bed into a junior suite and I was being charged for this. If they don't do twin rooms then don't take the booking. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent centrally located boutique hotel If you're looking for a boutique hotel in a quiet but central location this is the perfect hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Lovely bathrooms and tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A nice bar and restaurant and an excellent breakfast. All in all a fabulous hotel where we would definitely stay again. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Realy good staff, couldnt ask any more. 2 night stay. Pleased with location close to main ares. Arrived at 11 45 check in not till 3. However staff were realy helpfull and checked us into a room that was available at no extra cost. Realy good start. Room was lovely, clean and had a quirky colour scheme that was a nice change from the usual chain hotel. Complementry soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch as well. Bed was extra comfy tv was good. Only thing missing was sky sports from tv. Bathroom was nice, wife liked aveda products. Pre ordered champagne full scottish breakfast to room for the next morning. It came on time and was cooked to perfection. Hotel has a nice small bar had a couple of nice cocktails in there. Again staff realy friendly and seemed to enjoy working there and were happy to chat. All in all a good hotel with friendly, helpfull staff, good rooms and good location. Would recomend and would go back. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay! All the amazing reviews are true! We had a wonderful stay here! From the incredibly attentive staff to the lushly appointed rooms (many thanks for the special room in honor of our honeymoon--we sincerely appreciate the kind attention of the staff and management during our romantic trip) to its great location in the city, we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We look forward to returning soon! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special person Our stay was perfect, everything about the facility was excellent. The reason for my additional comment though is to compliment one of the employees. There is a young man at the reception desk whose name is Daniel, this man was by far and away the most wonderful, helpful and professional individual I have ever met at any IHG facility. I travel over 100 days per year and get to see a lot of places and meet a lot of staff at these facilities, the entire staff at this hotel should be complimented!!!!! Thank you to all for your great service. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay at Indigo again when I return to Scotland. I got really sick my first day at the hotel and I believe that Jen and Daniel probably saved my life. I ended up in the hospital on an emergency basis and was unable to make full use of the hotel's facilities. However, everyone took care of my wife Patsy. Bill October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet needs upgrading The Hotel is fine except for speed o internet. Speedtest.net showed 0.87 downstream and 0.35 upstream. Upgraded to business plan for £15 and get 3.47 down and 0.87 up. Not fast enough for reliable webex, facetime or Skype video. For tourists, this may be sufficient but for a road warrior, it is insufficient. To contract, my home speeds are 70Mbps down and 30Mbps upon cable. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel with excellent service My husband and I had a 2 night stay here and found the hotel be be clean, modern and very comfortable. The food and service were excellent, we particularly enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. The room we had, whilst small, was very comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. We highly recommend this hotel and was excellent value for money. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely well planned Room Very nice hotel in a very central position. Friendly staff. If coming from North leave your car at Park & Ride at South Queens Ferry. The bus goes to the main bus station just around the corner from the hotel September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smashing !!! thanks for a great stay. Room was great service great location spot on just one tip don't forget to book parking in advance we will be back September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice discovery! It was the first time for us to stay with Indigo. They exceeded our expectations and we have made a very nice discovery and will be seaching for this brand for our next trips. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I gave a second try! Have stayed at the property once before and was much happier this stay. As it is a boutique hotel, each room is different. This visit, once again, had wonderful, helpful staff. My room this stay was much better for my tastes. It was quiet, roomy and comfortable. I was informed that I had been upgraded and appreciated the effort. My last room was lovely and large but right under reception with hardwood floors - a bit noisy for me. I had mentioned this when I booked. Also all the roadwork has been completed! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay on my visits to edinburgh September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, ideal location. A lovely boutique hotel with ultra modern decor. Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing, although if arriving by car it can be a little problematic loading/unloading due to the hotel being on a very busy road (the day we left the road reopened after a long closure for tram works) but the staff did their very best to assist. The hotel does provide a very convenient parking space just around the corner. If you are arriving by car I suggest you call ahead to let them know your estimated time of arrival. We stayed on a higher floor over looking the main street. It was very quiet, very modern and very clean. The bed was fabulously comfortable. The bathroom is ultra modern with an excellent power shower with Aveda toiletries, towels were lovely and fluffy along with dressing gowns. A complimentary mini bar was provided in the room which was a very nice touch. We had dinner in the bar which was very pleasant and I can highly recommend the coffee, the latte's were excellent. The staff were very pleasant and I would personally like to thank the gentleman on reception on the morning we checked out who went that extra mile to help us with our luggage and loading our car, even using his own phone to check road directions for us. My only negative comments would be that in our room some thing, furniture I'm guessing had badly scratched the floor and it did look very unsightly. When it rained, the floor of the lobby became very wet and dirty so I would suggest either a mat or it be cleaned regularly, as it was both slippy and unsightly. Overall, a lovely hotel a very pleasant stay and I look forward to returning. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I stay regularly at the Indigo in Edinburgh. It's one of the few best hotel I recommend. Very clean, refreshing look and great ambience! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some in Room issues The hotel had just opened and was experiencing a few in room maintenance issues. The staff worked thru these well. September 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Six days in Edinburgh The Hotel was excellent located to the center of Edinburgh, and updated in a modern style. We will recomend the Hotel in the best way to all users. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Gorgeous Hotel Absolutely fabulous hotel! We booked a "family room" - very stylisch, modern and spacious. The bath room deserves a five star award. Much more than we expected. Excellent breakfast buffet. Unfortunaltely, a construction site was right in front of the hotel (road works). September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We went just for 2 days and we felt so comfortable in the Hotel. Warmful staff. Good breakfast but not excellent. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice interior, comfortable, worth it The staff were really friendly, rooms are very nice and comfortable! The neighborhood was quiet and nice. Always worth a visit! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by distinctive & delightful I have been (sent to) the Indigo by my employers a number of times now and it is my hotel of choice in Edinburgh. within walking distance of the station (always a plus) but quietly situated the hotel is not too big and retains a quirky flair for decor and design. Close to the shops (very dangerous) and with a tram line soon to be completed outside it is located in a premium second rank position, in my view the best of all possible worlds because it has to work to attract customers. It has comfortable beds and rooms with a fridge stocked with free drinks and nibbles (why can't all hotels do that?). OK, the rooms are not overlarge, but they are individually decorated and finished and the overall effect is pleasing. The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is good (no endless so-called breakfast hotplate here - all is individually cooked!) and the restaurant in the evening is excellent. You can keep your premium location hotels grown fat on passing trade - this is a much better bet and I look forward to going back there. Can we have more hotels like this please? September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay We stayed at Hotel Indigo during our first visit to Edinburgh. Wow, what a place! Very friendly and helpful staff, cool contemporary design, immaculately clean and right in the center of the city (no more than 5 minutes walk from the train station)! The bar has a wide selection of drinks on offer and the breakfast, although quite expensive, is excellent. Our room was very comfortable with high ceilings and a beautiful en suite. The walk-in shower with water-fall shower head was powerful and hot - a perfect shower, although there was no bath. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh, we shall be staying again next time without doubt. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Enjoyed my short stay. Stylish rooms and quality staff made the stay enjoyable. Scottish breakfast excelled. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and individuality Firstly, the negatives: the receptionist was on her own and couldn't take us to our room - we got lost. (This hotel is not designed to a standard template!). Our room (212) seemed to be next to an engine room, and there was a fairly loud constant background noise. I did think of asking to be moved, but it was the height of Festival time and we were staying only one night. Now the positives: the room was well equipped, very clean and had one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The background noise went off at night, although it did resume early in the morning. We slept well, however, and enjoyed a very good room service breakfast. I'd certainly recommend the hotel, but when I come back I'll specifically request not room 212. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Edinburgh hotel Hotel Indigo is an excellent choice for a stay in Edinburgh. It's not cheap, but then nothing is in Edinburgh. The staff are friendly and efficient, the restaurant has good quality food. The rooms are small (as all are in Edinburgh), but there are creative uses of space so the room doesn't feel cramped. It is located within walking distance of all the important sites. The current tramline construction makes it a challenge for taxis, but they are accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A good night's sleep.... Plus points: Excellent staff service at all times no matter who approached you. Good layout and decor throughout the hotel very modern almost boutique orientated. Excellent beds for a good nights sleep. Comfortable air con. Down points: Didn't get the King bedroom I had paid for. Broken hair dryer attachment - the good lady didn't want to complain and persevered with it. Broken mirror in the room - we thought it was art decor until closer inspection did reveal it was broken in several places, receptionist said'There was probably a domestic in the room'! Broken volume control in the bathroom. Wardrobe space totally inadequate for the length of clothes to hang as the shelving was too high and clothes were left crumpled .Bar area - Very little on offer other than two real ales and a smittering of european lagers. Not quite sure who that market is aimed at. Pricey to say the least. Breakfast not included- i was convinced I had read that breakfast was included so had to pay extra for this. Not on my own on this one as a couple checking in after us also complained they were sure breakfast was included, be sure to check this out! For a 4 star hotel they clearly need to have attention to detail on everything with the charges they ask for. Would I stay again - No because I've done this. Would I recommend this hotel to others - Yes! If they ironed out the points I've raised then maybe I would have written a completely different experience. It has a lot of potential and I'm sure others will not have experienced what we did. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel with excellent staff I love the Indigo, and what makes this little hotel so special is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are comfortable and well serviced, and a mini-bar crammed with free snacks is nice. Would happily stay in the Indigo whenever I visit Edinburgh. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room - comfortable bed We stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed the room very much. Breakfast was good - not excellent! The staff did not clean the tables; they need to be much more attentive and efficient.. August 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Select to close.
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome Located on a residential street, close to Edinburgh Playhouse Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Relax in the hotel lobby by our fireplace Our Concierge awaits to advise you of Edinburgh sights Reception Area Relax in our reception area beside the fire place Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Set amongst a row of Georgian townhouses on Royal Terrace
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading