• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
St. Giles Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Palace of Holyroodhouse
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Rosslyn Chapel
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From
View More
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From comedy to opera there will be a host of shows that will suit your personal preferences.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 181 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel overall Our room was fantastic. So nice to stay in a place where the shower was at least as good as the one we have at home. The staff were all friendly and courteous in particular the breakfast staff who were exceptional. My only one (albeit minor) niggle was that when I checked out, the person on the desk tried to charge me for breakfast when this was included in the price and this clearly showed up on my invoice so presumably would have been apparent on their system. Maybe I am being unfair and it didn't in which case the stay was 100% rather than 95% July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We travelled toEdinburgh for a 2 night stay and decieded on this hotel after friends recommended it, they were correct it is a wonderful hotel. All staff were feindly and helpful, breakast was lovely and our room was perfect, we were at the back of the hotel so room was very quiet you would never have guessed you were in the middle of such a large city. We will most defiently stay here again and recommend it to others in the future. June 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic room great service Room was really well presented clean tidy and fresh. Loved the colour scheme. Bed was really comfy linen clean . Overall a excellantplace to stay.staff were very polite well dressed and extremely helpful. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel with great employees We had a very pleasant stay in June. The hotel was an easy walk to the Royal Mile and the rooms were very nice with comfortable beds. The desk personnel went out of their way to accomodate our requests. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel, great service, but.... Loved the free minibar (albeit without alcohol), the 24 hour room service food options, great new furniture, lovely bathroom etc. Loved the mini gym. However - why add breakfast to our bill when our confirmation notice clearly said breakfast was included? All in all recommended. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service Every member of staff was efficient, engaging and helpful. As good a service as I have ever had. Enjoyed the contemporary decor within the Georgian facade. Liked the complimentary soft drinks and snacks. Breakfast exceptional value for money. Initially , having booked a deluxe kingsize room, we were shown to room 411 and found everything about it disappointingly small and cramped. Being 5'2" I volunteered for the sloped ceiling side, however within 10 minutes of unpacking I had hit my head twice. The staff at reception were great and offered us another room on the second floor, which tackled the main issue and they also moved our luggage while we went out for dinner. Good service. However we still found the bed very small. Kingsize in length but not in width. This did lead to disturbed sleep both nights. The kingsize beds need to be wider. Overall however we were impressed by the location and the staff and would return but book a superkingsize next time! June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with great staff Smart hotel with super friendly and helpful staff - they are all very good, although Jen on reception stands out as being particularly helpful. The rooms are all very comfortable, although some are small. All the rooms have HD TV with HDMI input, so you can watch your own stuff, and the complimentary snacks in the room fridge are a great extra. All the food I've had in this hotel has been very good indeed, although I find it pretty challenging in the restaurant to stay within my £25 dinner budget. The scrambled eggs at breakfast time are a highlight. It's my hotel of choice in Edinburgh. June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice boutique hotel in fantastic Edinburgh vicinity Nice boutique hotel located on York place , off broughton street, which has good pubs and restaurants. Minutes from Harvey Nicholls and George Street. This hotel is really convenient for pleasure and business. Would be nice if the gym room were not cardio only ;) May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay with all comgorts I could not fault the hotel for its amenities and comfort The staff went outof their way to make the stay memorable It was such an excellent choice to make. Would return anytime Graham May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and superior accomodations! The staff at this Hotel Indigo is superb. Always at the ready to give directions and recommendations on restaurants. They never led us astray! The rooms are hip and comfortable with a fun vibe! May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing From the moment we arrived all staff were very helpful. Room was amazing and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. I would definately stay here again and will recommend to friends, family and clients. Thank you all for a wonderful stay I May 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but bed quality disappoints This hotel is in a very good location except there is currently tram works on the street in front of the hotel and construction in the back of hotel. The hotel did try to accommodate our request for a quiet room by placing us in a dark room on the ground floor with no view at all. So in the end we opted for a 1st floor room facing the back. The room was quite large and bright and fitted out nicely even though we do not find the colour scheme attractive. The TV was placed at the foot of the bed which is way too close for viewing comfort. More fatally the bed was too soft, making it quite difficult for two people to balance on it. We were not able to have good sleep for the three nights we were there and ended up going home quite tired after our trip. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great value stay in a fab hotel Myself and boyfriend stayed in Hotel Indigo in May 2013...great stay with comfortable bed, clean + well equipped bedroom and mini bar with snacks and juice. Friendly and helpful staff :) Have recommended to friends and family and will stay again when visiting Edinburgh. May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay Fast becoming one of my favorite hotels in the UK. Everything about this property is spot on. I have reviewed it previously so for now all I can add is it still the best in Edinburgh for business and pleasure travelers. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel, Great Staff We loved our stay at the Hotel Indigo Edinburgh. Our first night was in a King Junior Suite (Room 005), however, the bed was more like a small queen/full size and was not comfortable for two adults who were used to American king size beds. The next morning, we spoke with reception and were moved that day to a wonderful King Executive Room on the 3rd floor (309, I think). Now THAT was an amazing room, with high ceilings and a very large bed. We were also refunded a portion of our rate as the second night was technically a 'step down' in room type. I'd highly recommend staying at this hotel as the staff is wonderful, the rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect! April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Excellent hotel with funky decor and spotlessly clean rooms. Great location and very friendly staff. Bar and restaurant good too. Highly recommend as its central for all main amenities in Edinburgh City Centre. April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Convenient We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Indigo and found it to be very comfortable and convenient to both Old Town (10-15min walk) and all the clubs on George St (approx 15 min walk). Breakfast was included and was very good with a full breakfast made to order as well as assortment of pastries etc. There is a lot of construction going on right outside which would have been problematic with a car. We had originally booked a rental car but decided to cancel it (which turned out to be a good idea) since downtown was quite congested and parking would have been very problematic (esp with all the construction going on). So far this was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in while travelling Europe, which was refreshing. Overall, we were very happy and would recommend this Hotel. They only have double rooms (mostly), so travelling with more than 2-3 people may be problematic. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Theatre break Stayed for 1 night rather than going home after an evening show. From the moment we arrived we experienced staff with an attitude of ensuring all our needs were catered for. Well done to all staff including the restaurant where we enjoyed a meal before the show. Bedroom was a modern delight with a luxury bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel. April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The rooms are a little tight but they are very nice, especially the bathrooms. The staff were always eager to help and were always pleasant. We felt that the breakfast was overpriced for what was offered but overall, we had a very nice stay, we would stay again and we would recommend it to others. The hotel is walking distance to the Royal Mile and the neighbourhood was nice and is quiet. The Conan Doyle pub on the corner was also a nice surprise with great food and service. When we checked in, we were advised that we had been upgraded. I'm not sure if that was because of our Priority Club membership and if we truly did get upgraded, I'm glad we did b/c the rooms are very small. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room comfortable bed suite and bathroom Despite having trouble finding the hotel as York Place was shut for the new tram lines, we found the staff very knowledgeable, helpful and polite. The hotel was very clean and modern and well sited for a city stay. Would recommend this hotel any day. Thanks April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast excellent staff faultless stay again, and the breakfast is very good. I wouldnt pay myself to stay here as it is expensive, but work paid this time April 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room Space - Bar Food Quality It was my second visit to the hotel. I was put in room 403, which must have been an existing room in the building prior to refurbishment, where a bathroom has been added. The bedroom space was small, smaller than the brand requirements and a double bed was fitted, leaving little space between the side of the bed and the wall. The bathroom was tiny and it was impossible to sit on the toilet due to the closeness of the wall between the bathroom and bedroom. I had to turn sideways on the toilet pan. Its understood the need to maximise the numbers of keys, but this room in terms of size does not meet brand requirements and does little to enhance the hotels reputation. The Lasange was dry and tastless. The staff were good on both occassions I have stayed. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location! Our stay at Hotel Indigo was our second Indigo experience (the other being in London). The room was very nice, and accommodations were what we expected. The location of the hotel is great (very close to the "border" of old/new town), and well within walking distance of everything you could possibly want to do. Customer service was impeccable - Daniel greeted us at the desk with enthusiasm, was extremely helpful with suggesting local venues that weren't the typical "tourist" spots, and was very knowledgeable the various tours & points of interest. The only downside (which is completely out of the control of the hotel), is that the street that it is located on was closed (and from what I understand will be for a few months) due to replacement rail construction. This was not an issue, because the layout of the area is very pedestrian friendly. We *WILL* stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Edinburgh. March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Location Excellent Service Location of this Hotel was excellent for access to shops and tourist attractions ,the staff were great from top to bottom couldn't have been be more helpful The decor and cleanliness of the rooms was as expected of a Hotel already at 4.6 out of 5 in previous reviews, if I had one observation the heating in the room could have been better as the fan produced hot air into the sitting area but left the bedroom area rather chilly even with the fan at max setting, but overall excellent we would have no hesitation in staying on future visits to Edinburgh March 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow Ok so this was my first stay at an Indigo branded hotel and all I can say is wow. What a breath of fresh air. The staff were all brilliant, my upgraded room was stunning and all the services offered were perfect. The hotel currently has shared parking due to the major road works outside but this is out of the hotels hands. they have a gym and a great restaurant. If I looked for something to complain about I would say the breakfast is expensive, although mine was included and was very good quality. They also offer free good wifi and free mini bar. I will be using Indigo's again based on this stay and am already booked in to stay here again. March 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by How to lose a customer for a few pounds I stayed in this hotel for the second time last week after having a good experience the first time. Unfortunately, my second stay was a disappointing experience and I left after only 1 night to go to another hotel when I had booked 3 nights. Firstly, they didn't save on their system my priority club membership and I wasn't given the opportunity to receive an upgrade as a platinum member. Even worse I was given a room with disabled facilities and a view of a wall. Secondly, arriving in the reception I informed the front desk that my boyfriend who was also working in Edinburgh and is a gold priority club member would be staying with me the last two of 3 nights. The manager who was very rude informed me that we would have to pay £35 a night extra for an extra person in the room as the booking from the agency was for single occupancy. This was the first time I've had a hotel in Edinburgh ask me to pay more money on a room rate in a hotel for only two people. Upon hearing this, I called the agency, explained to them what I was told, they confirmed to me that it is a room rate and they were surprised that I was being asked to pay for a second person. So, I cancelled the next 2 days of the booking, left the hotel, nobody apologised and stayed at another hotel where as usual they had no problems with a second person staying under the same room rate. I was very surprised they were willing to lose future revenue from me for a few extra pounds as this is now a hotel I will be avoiding. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel - I really Love this Hotel I've chosen this hotel only by coincidence and now I've been staying here for the last 4 weeks, due to the convenience to be close to the office and the fact that is right in the middle of the city centre where I can choose from hundreds of restaurants and pubs. Great place, very friendly and helpful staff , good food, with rooms of different sizes, always clean and comfy beds. I would highly recommend it to business travellers. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo.... Why go elsewhere? Great hotel, great location and great staff. My first choice when I'm staying in Edinburgh. Well recommended.. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay once again Thoroughly relaxing stay at the Indigo again . We had a lovely suite on the fourth floor . Usual original touches . Finished with a great breakfast . March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing overnight stay last week. The warm welcome we received on arrival was a good start. Although the staff were friendly and welcoming they were not over intrusive. Our room although compact had everything we required and was of an excellent standard. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept with clean crisp cotton linen ( I want that bed!!) Breakfast was served quickly from once again friendly staff and was one of the best I have had in any hotel. We had afternoon tea which was good but I have had better. The hotel is ideally located for shopping and visitor attractions all only a a short walk. I would and have since recommended Hotel Indigo and will definitely be back. March 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Entrance - a warm welcome awaits when you arrive
Hotel Entrance - a warm welcome awaits when you arrive
Select to close.
Hotel Entrance - a warm welcome awaits when you arrive Reception Area Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Our Concierge awaits to advise you of Edinburgh sights Relax in our reception area beside the fire place Relax in the hotel lobby by our fireplace Set amongst a row of Georgian townhouses on Royal Terrace Located on a residential street, close to Edinburgh Playhouse
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.