• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Italian
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are pleased to welcome Guide Dogs by prior arrangement.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.3MI
Attraction:
Palace of Holyroodhouse
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
National Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and
View More

Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.

Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace. A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street. The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away.

The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquility in our private gardens, or take a short walk to Calton Hill, just behind the hotel, to enjoy panoramic views over the whole of Edinburgh.

The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony.

Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.

View Less
Features
The hotel is a collection of stunning Georgian Townhouses located in a peaceful location with spectacular views across to the Firth of Forth. Our hidden secret are the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel, where guests can experience some serenity in the middle of this bustling city!
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From
View More
Announcements
Edinburgh comes alive during August and is home to the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival where a host of actors and musicians descends on the city to showcase their talents. From comedy to opera there will be a host of shows that will suit your personal preferences.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful reception staff Our stay at Edinburgh Waterfront was greatly enhanced by the helpful staff on Reception who willingly helped us out with several taxi arrangements and were always cheerful and efficient. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, good location Stayed here over Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend. Good location with car parking, frequent buses in & out of town and close to Ocean Terminal. Room excellent & well priced. Staff helpful & knowledgeable. Late check out option appreciated - worth becoming a Priority Club member fir that alone. Lobby and eating/bar area a bit jaded and untidy slightly lets down the overall experience down. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice for my family We enjoyed our stay. My family and I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The location near bus stops was convenient, and parking was sufficient. We were in Edinburgh as tourists, and the only thing to consider is that the hotel is somewhat far from the city center, so you'll need a bus or you'll need to drive to parking. Another consideration is that one is near the docks, and there seemed to be few nearby restaurants of interest. We were told there was a shopping center at the cruise ship dock, but we did not investigate. The only other considerations were the very slow WiFi in the lobby. It was good enough for checking email and very brief, light, work. It would have been frustrating if I had important things to do that required Internet access. We choose this hotel for its value, and it did not disappoint! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good locality and comfortable staff very good,helpful,stay was worthwhile,i would choose it again-Dr.RS Patil,Bangalore,India May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception We arrived at this hotel knowing very little about the area. When we asked about dinner available locally, we were given a list of recommended hotels and discounts too. We were also given a map of the area. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was up to the usual Express standard. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break From the moment of booking untill checkout the staff were most helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms and drinks machine available in the lounge all day. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by does the job Good location for a couple of days, next to ocean terminal. Rooms are large and functional. Parking can be tricky if you get there late. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice I had read that this hotel was too far from the city which is insane. It is a short 10-15 minute walk depending on your walking speed to the main strret Deansgate. A taxi to the train station was under 10GBP. The breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good variety. The staff were excellent and so helpful. This hotel was recently renovated and it shows. It is clean, looks clean and is kept clean. We had a small issue with the water not being hot enough and it was immediately taken care of. The evening meals were reasonably priced especially the bar menu and very good. I would recommend the rooms away from the road because while this is not a main road there can be a little traffic in the morning but quiet at night. There is a shopping mall approximately 100 yards away with stores, a drug store, Boots and pharmacy. The free With-Fi was a nice bonus. We walked to Old Trafford but a taxi is only around 8GBP. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy with this place Comfortable room and bedding provided and the price is exceptional. No noise - wonderful May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable service with a smile. We have stayed here on several occasions and have always found staff to be very helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. The choice of soft and harder pillows is always welcome. The position of the hotel is great for browsing in the Ocean Terminal Centre with its choice of eateries or for visiting the Royal Yacht. Plenty of car parking room on site and with easy bus access to the city centre, this means you don't have to drive into town! May 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor reception service When I was received, the staff who attended to our check-in didn't bother to look up to even smile and say hello or make any Casual eye contact conversation. His tone was not at all welcoming and he treated as we were just a waste of time. I am sure, I was paying to be there, I have been in several holiday inn express and well as holiday inn's in other cities and countries for both business as well as personal visits, but never have been treated that manner. He was like "You have to pay, before you check in" well I know that I will be paying but I felt like he doubted if I could pay. I wouldn't like to be treated in such a manner in any circumstances. He didn't even say "enjoy your stay", looked down and handed the room accessing cards. All your other staff treated us well but I am sure first impression should be the best impression. I felt insulted and my whole mood was spoiled. Disappointed. Now I will rethink before booking in holiday inn in the future. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room brilliant staff we had an exellant stay staff were briliant great location very helpfull and friendly staff there could have been a bit more variasion to the english breakfast very little to choose from but the heating in the room leaves very little to be desired extra blankets wouldnt go a miss we wer freezing at night and the heating kept blowing cold apart from that lovely many thanks mr r nuttall May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ALL ROUND - GREAT! GREAT - As always... I have been told that my "review text is too short" what more can I say? .... If you want/need to stay in Edinburgh this is the place to check in. - They'll look after you there : ) May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy to be in Scotland Situated in the Leith/ Ocean terminus area this hotel was perfect for shopping, with all the visitor attractions either a short bus ride away or in the case of the royal yacht brittania right on the doorstep. The hotel staff were excellent in all respects, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel , but... Hotel location, service, staff all first class! - the only minor niggle was the state of the carpet in the room - rather stained and worn. That apart we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be back! May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Ideal place to stay near Leith. We have stayed here quite a few times, just gets better, handy for town and Leith. Great service and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Will return. May 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean & bright our night was a bit spoiled due 2 our room being next 2 the lift & we were disturbed most of the night with people comming & going at various times we have 3 children & this was supposed 2 be a peaceful night , had we realised this would have been a problem we would have ased for a room change when we booked in. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break Though we only stay 80 miles away on the West coast of Scotland it is nicer to have a short city break staying in Edinburgh than travelling home on the same day. This is our third visit to this hotel . All stays have been good but this stay was the best probably because of the friendly and professional staff - especially at reception. The location, while not in the centre of Edinburgh, is good being opposite a shopping centre and a cinema. There are also excellent and frequent bus services to the city centre. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Everything worked in the room which has not been the case with some recent stays. Breakfast was the standard for the chain but as it is included in the price it was more than adequate. Although we did not take advantage of the extended check out time offered we were able to leave our car parked in the hotel car park while we visited the city. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Visit Enjoyed our visit to Hotel,clean tidy,rooms very comfortable.Plenty variations for Breakfast.Staff very helpful,friendly.Great location for local transport,shopping site seeing etc.Will use Hotel again on next visit to Edinburgh. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location ideal for business in the local area As always, good service, comfortable room and pleasant surroundings. Plenty of choice close to the Hotel for a meal / bit to eat without having to drive. Second stop in two weeks - speaks for itself. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn V Premier inn This hotel had great staff at reception. The room was very basic compared to the premier inn and I found the bed un -comfortable.The breakfast was also fine however, the freshness of some of the breakfast products could have been better. I would now in future always book premier inn its a all round better product. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location My husband is wheelchair user. We parked and accessed hotel without a problem on busy Saturday lunchtime. The bedroom was fully accessible and comfortable. We were able to leave car and go across to cinema within shopping mall and enjoy meal with glass of wine afterwards. Staff friendly and helpful throughout, May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Trip Reception staff friendly and welcoming, also arranged taxi for return to station. Nice breakfast selection in clean surroundings. Bed sheets were a bit grey in colour, but clean. En suite was clean and kept so by hotel cleaning staff. Overall a good stay with good public transport connections to the city. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel If your looking for frills, this is not the place to stay, but if you happen to need to need a great value hotel and be in the area of Leith like we had to, this is a great place to stay. Staff were lovely. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and excellent location Room had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The hotel was ideally located for our visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and the shopping centre had a good range of shops and restaurants and was in walking distance of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Also as the hotel is pet friendly we were able to take our dog with us. Would definitely stay there again in the future and would recommend to others. Not to detract from the above review, minor maintenance issues should be addressed by the hotel group, for example, the desk lamp wasn't working in our room and also the sealant around the shower needed replacing. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodation with easy access to city transport Third time staying at this hotel did not disappoint. We were very warmly welcomed by hotel staff who were able to give us all the necessary information re public transport. A parking spot at hotel, very close proximity of bus stop, frequency of buses and very reasonable costs allowed us the opportunity to relax and enjoy our visit to the city centre. The ample breakfast served in the spotless dining area set us up for the day. I had left my hair straighteners in the hotel and this was posted on to my home ASAP. A short walk to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall is also worthwhile. Would definitely use this hotel again. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay this hotel is close to all attractions a few mile from Edinburgh great bus service if needed close to ocean terminal,the staff are very helpful in all we had a great stay April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff were a joy There was a card in our room asking for the name of one member of staff who we thought deserved praise, but all the staff deserve praise at this Holiday Inn, from the managers to the girl who cleaned our room. Everything was done with a smile. Being the Easter holidays, there was a real family feel to the dining area at breakfast with plenty of chatter, and there was no shortage of anything to eat - first class. Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will definitely make this our place to stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always made to feel welcome We have used this particular Holiday Inn Express and we have never been let down. The staff are always welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Great location and was very clean. April 14, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome
Select to close.
Arrive to a warm Scottish welcome Located on a residential street, close to Edinburgh Playhouse Stunning views from Calton Hill behind the hotel Relax in the hotel lobby by our fireplace Our Concierge awaits to advise you of Edinburgh sights Reception Area Relax in our reception area beside the fire place Concierge offer a number of services for our guests Set amongst a row of Georgian townhouses on Royal Terrace
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Book the Best Flex with Breakfast rate now and enhance your stay experience with a full breakfast.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading