• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Special Needs Animals only permitted. Please ensure upon checkin you inform our front desk agents of your special need animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Playhouse Square Theaters
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Museum of Natural History
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary Bus Parking
    Complimentary Shuttle Service

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of
View More

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of hospitality.

"The Place to Meet" in Independence, Ohio, this hotel's facilities include over 10,000 sq ft of event space for groups of 10 to 250. A Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debrief help ensure a smooth event. In addition, those commuting to IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft or Cleveland Clinic can count on easy access from the hotel's site.

Near Cleveland, Ohio attractions like Great Lakes Science Center and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, this hotel's location ensures convenient travel for vacationers. Nearby Cuyahoga Valley National Park promises outdoor adventures. Sports teams, from the NFL's Browns to the NBA's Cavaliers, are a terrific source of entertainment, too.

With 100% smoke-free rooms featuring free Wi-Fi access, as well as perks like free airport and area shuttles, this hotel delivers the optimal travel experience. Additional amenities include Fitness and Business Centers, an indoor pool and Aura Bistro (on-site). We look forward to serving you.

View Less
Features
Our award winning Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence offers upscale accommodations with over 10,000 square feet of function space. Our hotel is now outfitted with a brand new wireless smart Wi-Fi system complimentary throughout the hotel.
Announcements
Our internet has just been upgraded from Cable to FIBER OPTIC, which means to you, superior speed and connectivity.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 548 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All good but....... Very nice hotel in a great location in downtown Cleveland. The room was very nice, clean and well appointed. We were extremely pleased right up until it was time for bed. The mattress may have been the most uncomfortable we've sleep on ever. Sagging in the middle (king bed), old sping type...must have been at least 15 years old. Probably the most important part of a hotel room is getting a good night's sleep, but that was impossible in the room we had. Really too bad because up until it was time for sleep, we were extremely pleased with the room, the location, the friendly staff. We were really let down after what started out to be a super experince. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will be back Everything was perfect and what a beautiful old building. Our room on the15th floor was very large and beautiful. The staff was excellent and very helpful with giving directions and information. For our purposes the location could not have been better. Easy walking distance to Progressive Field and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame which were our main interests. Plan to go back next year. Thanks for everything! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definetly recommend Comfortable bed and pillows, clean, quiet room and friendly, helpful staff September 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing Special I just want to start this off by saying I wish I would have looked more into this hotel before I booked it. The main reason I booked the room was for the whirlpool tub in the room. The hotel was nothing fancy. you would think at $180 a night downtown it would be something special but its not. The floors were uneven, the lobby was uninspiring, and the elevators looked like they were about to cave in on you. The room was okay, hardwood floors were nice but i made the mistake of accidentally moving the bed and there was garbage underneath it. The staff didn't know anything that was going on downtown. My girlfriend and I were looking for something to do after our dinner and the staff just looked at each other and couldn't offer any ideas. They didn't tell us anything about the hotel when we came in, I had no idea that floor "M" was were there was a game room, workout room, and were the comp breakfast would be. There was no pool which wouldn't have been a big deal if all the jets in the whirlpool tub were working. Overall I would not stay there again, I stayed at another hotel downtown last year and it was a much better experience and cheaper. September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Temperature of Room Room temperature was very uncomfortable. Thermostat was regulated by management and you could not make the room cooler. Our room was 79 degrees for our entire stay and being 8 months pregnant, I was miserable!!! Other than the temp, we enjoyed the breakfast and the staff members were very nice. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room. Within walking distance of tourist attractions. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only complaint that I had was the air conditioning unit was very loud. The staff was courteous and friendly. Location was convenient and within walking distance of RR Hall of Fame, Brown's football stadium and Cleveland Indians ball park. Enjoyed our stay and will probably return. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for games at Progressive Field Perfect location for attending Indians games. Excellent staff, very clean and spacious rooms! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room!! Great place to stay in downtown Cleveland, walking distance to Tower Center, Casino, many restaurants. Will stay here again.... September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Accommodating. First time in Cleveland for a concert at the House of Blues. The hotel is a block away with tons of places to eat or enjoy a snack. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating by letting me check in early. September 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude and Dirty I reserved 3 rooms for a convention. They didn't have the rooms available that we reserved. There was suppose to be two beds in each room but only one room had the two beds so they gave those two rooms roll aways. If it wasn't so late we would have tried to get new rooms. When finally getting to the rooms they looked nothing like the pictures. The rooms where dirty and smelly. The next morning we went to the front desk hoping to get our problems resolved but had no luck, the front desk help were very rude and not helpful at all so we cancelled the rest of our stay and relocated to the holiday inn independence, that place was a great stay. I love the holiday inn hotels as we are platinum members and for the most part try to stay in one but this one was the worst one that we have come across. Oh by the way this is the very first review I have written. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All Good! No complaints whatsoever! Bought the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame Package...good value. Great staff and location. The room was spotless and very comfortable. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay!!! When we come to Cleveland we only stay at the HolidayInn Express! They are the best! They even upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite when we got there. What a wonderful surprise that was! It is close to Progressive Field and Our Cleveland Browns!!!!! There have been a few times that we haven't been able to get a room due to calling to late because we never know when we can get away but since we are retiring at the end of the year we will be able to make better plans. If you ever get the chance you must stay here! Everyone is great!!!!! September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Roomy Suite We reserved this room because we had a wedding downtown at Old Stone Church & then a reception at Windows on the River. We had about 3 hours in between the church and reception. We relaxed had drinks and snacks in our room with some other family members. The suite was spacious, offered a fridge, table for our snacks and seating (instead of getting a room and sitting on the beds). We could have used a few more chairs.The hardwood floors and high ceilings were a nice feature. After the reception we found the room and beds to be comfortable. Never went to the breakfast, because we had to get someone to the airport very early. The only negative would be the view....we had NO view out of the windows, I wish we would have asked if they had another suite available, to see downtown. Nice stay, Nice help and clean. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really enjoyed my stay! I had a large group & we booked 2 of the suites. The suites were huge! They had a nice little kitchenette area with a mini fridge & microwave. The beds were comfy & the bathroom was a decent size. Very close to E.4th St - walking distance to our restaurant- Zocalo which was good! I also liked that we had a continental breakfast in the morning with a spacious eating area. Would definitely stay there again. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great staff! My husband and I traveled to Cleveland to see Steely Dan in July, this hotel was only 10 minutes away. The staff was more than helpful in providing us with everything we needed. They were so friendly, it's obvious they are provided with excellent training. Our Jacuzzi suite smoking room was clean and HUGE. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very comfortable stay. I wish we could have stayed at least one more night there! We will definitely be back. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely Stunning Hotel We stayed at this property in September 2013 for just one night. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Check in was very quick. Parking was located around the corner, so you should definitely unload your car in the loading zone in front of the hotel. We were on the 12th floor, and though I didn't see any other rooms for comparison, I will always request that floor when I stay there again. The elevators are super tiny, so a family of four with multiple pieces of luggage might have to take separate cars. Our room had 15 foot (? maybe 18 foot?# ceilings, hardwood floors, was spotlessly clean, and had these beautiful arched windows. #From looking at the hotel outside, the 12th floor is the only one with these windows). We had a great view of the city and towards Progressive Field. The bathroom had a garden tub/jacuzzi with a frosted glass panel that allowed you to turn the lights on in the bedroom, and then leave all of the lights off in the bathroom because the light came in through the glass and gave it a very relaxing and romantic ambiance. The bed was extremely comfortable and when we called down to the front desk for extra pillows, they were delivered within 10 minutes. The breakfast that was included in our stay was terrific. In addition to cereals, yogurts, fruits, and breads, there was also scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, and waffles. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown Cleveland area. Not only is it incredibly convenient for tourists visiting for an Indians game,Browns game, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, or the Science Center, but the hotel is so beautiful! It is definitely not something that I would have expected from a Holiday Inn, as it had much more of a boutique hotel feel that would have cost me double what I paid for my stay. I cannot recommend this place enough!! September 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience When we got there it started out okay. We checked in and we went up to our first room. We walked in and there were bugs everywhere. We called down and they sent up someone who was very rude. Just walked right in without knocking. So they moved us out of that room and into another room that the toilet was broken. It took them until the morning to fix it. No one could use the restroom until 10am and we left after hour messages. It was a horrible experience. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean,quiet,execellent location Old building however very clean,friendly staff,great parking.Excellent location for downtown,great restaurants and theater nearby.Highly recommend. September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Room Unfortunately upon arrival the hotel did not have a room for us like the one we had booked. They explained that they wee having A/C problems. They put us up next door at a competitors hotel that was nice but didn't have queen beds. It was inconvenient to move from one hotel to another for our second night. Check out in one was 4 hours prior to check in for the next. The hotel did not offer a breakfast which I thought was standard at all HI Express. Parking was excessively expensive. Especially given all the available parking on the weekend in the city. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room very spacious and great service I rated the room and comfort as average because the a/c kept going out during our weekend stay. The manager and staff did all they could to get it fixed, but just did not have any luck. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Comfortable room. We loved the hardwood floor. Very spacious and roomy. We will definitely stay here again. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ENJOYABLE STAY I was treated very well at this hotel. Not sure if its because I am a rewards member. Very happy with the room suite. Thank you very much. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, comfortable, well situated. Clean, comfortable hotel within walking distance of R&R Hall of Fame and baseball park. Would recommend and stay here again. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms and great service Have been here for a few weeks now and would not stay anywhere else. The rooms are private and very comfortable and the staff could not be better. Autumn, Melanie, Shelly, Brittany, John, Patricia, and Tyrone have all been fantastic and a pleasure to speak with during my long stay away from home for work. They are always upbeat and friendly and always willing to assist whether it be places in the area, assistance in the room, or extending/shortening the stay. Truly a good group to deal with. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room One of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever had and definitely the best value ever. The 11th floor room had a jacuzzi and tall ceilings. There is a fantastic view of the city including the fireworks show from the Indian's stadium and the rock and roll hall of fame. Could not believe the quality of the room for the price. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and convenient location We had a corner room, great view. Spacious room actually gives it a master bedroom feel. Very clean. The classic building alone is enough to visit. Close to great restaurants. Can walk to many of the city attractions. Great little breakfast diner in the lobby if you missed hotel complimentary breakfast. We will be making reservations here again next year! August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by what a great hotel The Cleveland Downtown Holiday Inn Express is a great hotel. I love the historic building, the large rooms and the beautifully decorated rooms with hard wood floors. The staff was professional and courteous. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. The location right close to all Cleveland has to offer. August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Manager Response We stayed recently for 4 nights. The hotel was beatuiful and the front desk staff helpful. BUT, when we checked in we did not get the room I had reserved, a room with a tub would not be available until the next day. I was told I could change rooms, I declined, I had reserved this room since I was driving for 6 hours and wanted to relax when I arrived. I was told a manager would be told about this. For 2 nights, no one cleaned the room, when I called the front desk the first night, I was told a manager would be advised, and asked if I needed towels or anything. The second night when I called, I was asked the same thing, I needed towels, shampoo and conditioner. I was brought towels, conditioner and lotion. Again told that management would be advised. At no time during our stay were we contacted by a member of management. I think forgettingto clean a guest room is pretty important in the hotel business and was disappointed that this was not addressed with me. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service love that the room had hardwood floors, much better for people with alergies. well located as it was so close to attractions August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service The location of this hotel is outstanding! We were able to walk to many restaurants, the casino and parking was just around the corner. The fact that this building is an old bank added to the charm of the place. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and up-to-date. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in a great location downtown. August 23, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 19 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Playhouse Square Theater District - 25 Min North Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Concierge Pro Football Hall of Fame Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Progressive Field - Cleveland Indians - 10 Min North Cedar Point Amusement Park - Sandusky, Ohio - 45 Min Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Concierge Front Desk Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Cleveland Clinic Foundation Main Campus - 25 Min North Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading