• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Special Needs Animals only permitted. Please ensure upon checkin you inform our front desk agents of your special need animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Museum of Art
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Playhouse Square Theaters
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary Bus Parking
    Complimentary Shuttle Service

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of
View More

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of hospitality.

"The Place to Meet" in Independence, Ohio, this hotel's facilities include over 10,000 sq ft of event space for groups of 10 to 250. A Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debrief help ensure a smooth event. In addition, those commuting to IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft or Cleveland Clinic can count on easy access from the hotel's site.

Near Cleveland, Ohio attractions like Great Lakes Science Center and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, this hotel's location ensures convenient travel for vacationers. Nearby Cuyahoga Valley National Park promises outdoor adventures. Sports teams, from the NFL's Browns to the NBA's Cavaliers, are a terrific source of entertainment, too.

With 100% smoke-free rooms featuring free Wi-Fi access, as well as perks like free airport and area shuttles, this hotel delivers the optimal travel experience. Additional amenities include Fitness and Business Centers, an indoor pool and Aura Bistro (on-site). We look forward to serving you.

View Less
Features
Our award winning Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence offers upscale accommodations with over 10,000 square feet of function space. Our hotel is now outfitted with a brand new wireless smart Wi-Fi system complimentary throughout the hotel.
Announcements
Our internet has just been upgraded from Cable to FIBER OPTIC, which means to you, superior speed and connectivity.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We went to Cleveland to see the Rock and Roll Hall of fame. We had a King suite that was very nice. The wood floor was a great touch and the bed and other amenities were very comfortable. We got our tickets as part of the Hall of Fame package...everything was easy and pleasant. We also enjoyed walking just a few minutes to multiple shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if you play to stay in downtown cleveland. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful loation, great vue The room was roomy and in very good taste (including the artwork). Very efficient staff. A street full of restaurants is nearby and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame within 10 minutes walk. One of the best in a 4 weeks cross-country trip July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed Comfort Usually the beds are great! This was the first time I had an issue. I'm sure not every room at this location has the same issue. I stay at Holiday Inn Express all over for work and never had a problem. Just an FYI July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Time in Cleveland! This was my first time staying in a hotel in the heart of a City, and I must say it was impressive. The rooms were very spacious and loved the hardwood floors. We were very comfortable, it was quiet and we wanted to take the bed home with us! The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hallways were hot but the rooms were cool. Parking was easy and close and we were within walking distance of great food and entertainment. Also appreciated the great breakfast we had each morning. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed our visit. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Wonderful location close to lots of things to do sightseeing, gambling and eatingThe woman as the front desk was so kind and helpful July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious quiet room We were upgraded to a large king with Jacuzzi. Very nice clean room, comfortable bed. 10-15 minute walk to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, many good restaurants near the hotel. Would stay again. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room, fantastic view. We recently stayed in room 1210. Wow. 20 ft ceiling, floor to ceiling windows with a spectacular view of terminal tower. Will stay there again for sure. July 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating I have never been disappointed with any of my stays at a Holiday Inn until now. We were happy they let us check into our room early, but once in our room the floor was dirty, the ceiling was cracked and looked ready to fall in over our bed and over all the whole place looked tired. The coin machine in the game room was broke. No air conditioning in the exercise room, only a fan blowing around the already hot air. It seemed like the only AC was in the rooms because all hallways, common rooms and elevators were overly hot. I was seriously disappointed. We have stayed at many Holiday Inns, even one's in small out of the way towns, and to see and experience what we did, in what we would think would be a more upscale setting, really made us think about not staying there again. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive property in the heart of the city I've stayed at the HI Express in Cleveland for two weeks between this month and last and it was a very enjoyable experience. I love the fact that they have their own small gym but they partnered with a large retail gym across the street for serious lifters and athletes of which I'm sadly neither but I did enjoy my workouts. Also the breakfast bar is very good and the staff especially Autumn @ the Concierge Desk were super pleasant and always greeted me with a smile. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice vintage hotel Loved the big room and proximity to RRHF. Only bad experience was the air did not work properly and after the mgr tried to fix it, it went out again. Hard to sleep in hot room. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the rooms Second time we've stayed at this hotel, and will always stay here when we're in Cleveland. Great central location within the downtown core, and no other location beats the rooms that the HIE has. Love the hardwood floors, huge rooms and the overall vibe of the hotel. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great hotel friendly staff, great location, great room! A walk away from the rock n roll hall of fame, great sleep, quiet room. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and great location The spaciousness of the room was beyond belief! Very clean, very comfortable night's sleep. Located in downtown Cleveland, you are within walking distance of attractions and eateries. I would definitely stay again on my next visit. Will be in the Cleveland area quite a bit and am looking for a place to call home when I visit. This might be it! July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Hotel I stayed in several Holiday Inns over the years at several places but believe me, I never never had such a wonderful hotel stay in anywhere !!. At a very reasonable price our family was able to stay in a suite and had such a variety of breakfast in the morning. This is truly an outstanding property and hotel. Congratulations !! July 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay in Cleveland Location was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and our room could not have been better. Will definitely book again the next time we are staying in Cleveland. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In town to watch Twins play the Indians We had a great stay here while we were visiting from Minnesota to watch the baseball games. Great location, nice rooms, and very friendly and helpful staff! July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value! I stay here every time I'm in Cleveland. Excellent staff, very friendly. A great Value for a hotel in downtown Cleveland. June 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Check In time Check In time was not that great during my last stay. I made it to the hotel around noon to check in. They told us our room was not ready yet. The room did not become available for us until 4pm. This was unacceptable and it was quite inconvenient for me. We had a wedding to go to at 4:30 on the other side of town and we needed to get changed in the room. We ended up being late to the wedding as a result. It seemed as though no effort was made to help our situation even though I made my situation clear to the front desk attendant June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful The rooms here were beautiful! Staff were very helpful. The shower curtain had not been replaced and when we called the staff was there very quickly to bring one. Only complaint was that our TV did not work but not a huge deal! There was also no recognition for priority club. June 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No air-conditioning, reimbursted at 1/2 rate. Nice hotel, good location, above average breakfast buffet. . Staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful. Could not find keys to get a fan when air-conditioner did not work. Did reduce room rate by 1/2 as compensation as there were no other rooms available. If air conditioner worked, it would have been a nice place to stay. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Book an extra day just to enjoy the hotel! Wow! What a building. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite, and the room was incredible. I highly recommend booking an extra night so that you can truly enjoy the room. We were only in for one night and after we enjoyed an Indians game at Progressive Field (just a short, safe walk), we didn't have much time to enjoy the room. We could have stayed for days. The hardwood floors are beautiful, and when put together with the cathedral ceilings in the room - it looks like something from a magazine featuring a fine resort. If you're into fine architecture and classic buildings, the hotel has it all. From the custom designed Westinghouse elevators, to beautiful building entry/lobby, and the high-class quality overall feel, this building makes you feel like you're someone special. Parking was not an issue at all. We arrived a little worried being our first time in Cleveland, but the hotel parking was well marked, and the cost was less than other alternatives. The parking garage seemed new, and was just around the corner from the hotel entrance. I appreciated the recognition for being a Priority Club member, and the fine treatment. The only part of the experience that wasn't perfect was the breakfast. In a hotel this size, with this many guests, I think a second breakfast line would be justified. The line was always a little long, and the one worker was constantly trying to keep up with food demand refilling each item. We didn't have to wait too long though, and the food was good. We were disappointed that the pancake machine wasn't operating. I've seen that before at some HI Express locations - those must be tempermental, but when they're working, they make great pancakes. Overall, an outstanding experience. The next time we're in the city, we're going to book an extra night to enjoy the room! June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding front desk staff We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was wonderful, allowing us to walk to every venue. Checking in was easy -- the front desk clerk was super nice and upgraded us due to our Platinum status. Unfortunately, I misplaced her name. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cool hotel for a Holiday Inn In the heart of downtown Cleveland, this hotel stands out because it is not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Modern rooms in historic old building. High ceilings/hardwood floors/Jacuzzi tub in a very spacious room. Location is very central to all downtown Cleveland attractions- Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, football/baseball/basketball venues, tons of restaurants in the area also. Free breakfasts were just OK. Front desk staff was not very knowledgeable about the local area as far as where attractions were, local transit system etc.., but the service overall was good June 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious rooms and Great location This was exactly what we wanted ... a place where we could just park the car and be in walking distance of downtown Cleveland's many hot spots like: Tower City, Progressive Field, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Great Lakes Science Center, etc. The only problem was that the rooms were so spacious, clean, and beautiful ...we hated to leave the room to sight-see. The beds were very comfortable and the hardwood floors just glistened. My grown kids loved the game area on the mezzanine level. I loved the character of the old building that houses the Holiday Inn Express. I would love to stay there again. June 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend! Wonderful experience. The customer service level is very high. Very pleasant. I even remarked to my husband how everyone was so helpful and smiling. Would definitely go back. June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family stayed two nights for Graduation I cannot say enough about the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Cleveland. I stayed recently with extended family after attending a graduation in rural Ohio. We all decided to fly or drive in and out of Cleveland as there are more restaurants etc. to celebrate. I read many reviews online and overall it sounded good, but I worried about the parking garage and unloading. My worries were baseless. I was able to park, unload and the head of security even took our bags on a cart while we went to the parking garage. It was so close, it is nearly a part of the building. We were moving a kid from college, had another fly from California with giant suitcases from his year of college...the gentleman was patient as we figured out what to take out of the car. Check-in was great for two of our rooms. For some reason, mine wasn't ready even though I made the reservations. But the people handled it and the room was amazing. I thought it was pricey for Cleveland, but once I saw the room, it was worth it. Huge, hardwood floors, mini fridge, a couch. It was not called a suite, but with the king bed and tons of seating, it was great to have people for wine and then the short walk to the Greenhouse TAvern for one of the best meals/experiences at a restaurant I have ever had. The hotel is walking distance to a bunch of cool restaurants and to the baseball park. Some of our party went to the game the next day, while some of us left. I highly recommend this hotel. My mother and stepfather, sister and sister-in-law and all my kids (16,18,21) also loved it. June 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken Ice Machine First I got a room that did not have a mini fridge. Then when I went to get ice the machine on my floor was broken. Since I stayed the majority of a week, this was a problem every night. I would have to go to another floor to get ice. There were multiple times the elevador took so long I had to take the stairs. One time I hit the next floor and it took me up 6 floors. I got Ice and waited 10 minutes on the elevator before I finally just walked down 6 flights of steps to get to me room. I was very disapointed with this stay. Not only do I stay at this hotel multiple times a year, I normally recomend it to everyone at my company. I hope my next stay in about a month is a lot better experiance. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room amenities Great friendly front desk and staff support. Do something about key card everytime I stay there the key card only works the first night and I don't like carrying all my luggage back down to get card adjusted. Parking is very good and I enjoy the local resturants in walking distance. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place Only thing that would have made it better would be a pool. Had a great time in Cleveland and will visit and stay here again. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I have not ever thought there should be a $20 parking fee to park at a hotel you are already spending money on. I paid $40 to park two days in downtown Cleveland :( June 14, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 21 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Concierge Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Front Desk Hotel Lobby Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Concierge Cleveland Convention Center Pro Football Hall of Fame Rock N Roll Hall of Fame Cedar Point Roller Coaster Capital First Energy Stadium Home of The Cleveland Browns
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading