• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Special Needs Animals only permitted. Please ensure upon checkin you inform our front desk agents of your special need animal.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Museum of Art
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Pro Football Hall of Fame
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary Bus Parking
    Complimentary Shuttle Service

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:94
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of
View More

Hotel's Guests are in Independence Business District, Ohio

This hotel's location near downtown Cleveland, Ohio, off Rockside Road and I-77 in the heart of Independence Business District, affords a place for travelers to be productive and feel refreshed. Well-suited for any occasion, from corporate ventures to vacations, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Cleveland South - Independence offers comfortable accommodations, delivers exceptional meeting services and exudes a genuine spirit of hospitality.

"The Place to Meet" in Independence, Ohio, this hotel's facilities include over 10,000 sq ft of event space for groups of 10 to 250. A Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debrief help ensure a smooth event. In addition, those commuting to IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft or Cleveland Clinic can count on easy access from the hotel's site.

Near Cleveland, Ohio attractions like Great Lakes Science Center and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, this hotel's location ensures convenient travel for vacationers. Nearby Cuyahoga Valley National Park promises outdoor adventures. Sports teams, from the NFL's Browns to the NBA's Cavaliers, are a terrific source of entertainment, too.

With 100% smoke-free rooms featuring free Wi-Fi access, as well as perks like free airport and area shuttles, this hotel delivers the optimal travel experience. Additional amenities include Fitness and Business Centers, an indoor pool and Aura Bistro (on-site). We look forward to serving you.

View Less
Features
Our award winning Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence offers upscale accommodations with over 10,000 square feet of function space. Our hotel is now outfitted with a brand new wireless smart Wi-Fi system complimentary throughout the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cleveland Great Job! Very nice property. Would stay again for sure! July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceeded my expectations I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any traveler. I am really picky about cleanliness, this room was perfect. Carpets were clean, bathroom perfect, and crisp linens. Nice toiletries and an aromatherapy kit too. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was better than most hotel breakfasts. We had only 30 minutes to get breakfast and we got there and we ate a delicious, hearty breakfast and were on time! The staff was very friendly. I will look for crowne plazas from now on when I travel. I hope that they are all as clean and as nice as this one was. The ONLY downside was there was some trash in the parking lot, bad impression but the inside was immaculate! The mattress was a bit on the firm side, I happen to like that but if you like a soft mattress you may be disappointed. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous check in Attention to detail. I expect that at the Crowne Plaza. Front desk Pro Melanie made certain I hade everything I needed, right down to a cold bottle of water - Great Touch! She made me feel like a welcomed friend - not just a customer. The bar staff is always attentive and friendly. My room is comfortable with the ammenities I prefer. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel I attended a conference at the hotel I was very impressed with the facility and the staff. They were very accommodating and had great service. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs better management attention and guest support Poor restaurant lunch service. Unacceptable computer and printer support. Poor attention to IHG Platinum members - no access to Club Room, upon check-in. Staff were friendly, apologetic and totally unresponsive to my complaints. I advised the GM before departing, so he could be made aware. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay for a class The staff was exceptional and we enjoyed our stay but the hotel is a little old (not bad). Unfortunately internet/wifi was an issue in the meeting rooms and the sliding doors on our closet area never got worked on as we had requested. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service We used to the Crowne Plaza Hotel for our annual convention. The entire staff treated us like royalty. The service was top notch and the prices were very reasonable. The staff made our stay one of the most pleasant we have had. I would highly recommend this hotel! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel and staff The hotel staff was very helpful, the aromatherapy kit added to the relaxing time we had, it was a really nice touch. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great atomsphere Was upgraded, loved the room. The patio was so nice and relaxing after a hard day of work.. The bed was so comfortable. I slept like a baby. Nice pillows to. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy The check in staff were excellent but the lounge staff are very unprofessional and not people persons. The 55 minute wait for the shuttle upon our return at the airport was unacceptable. We will not stay again. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feeling like home Very nice environment, quiet and comfortable room, bathrobes, and sleeping amenity kit...For sure, I will return soon.... May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by heat problems This would not be my first choice upon returning to this area May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place! I have stayed at this property on multiple occasions and each time has been excellent. Promise and Vernon at the front desk are very welcoming and helpful. They both have fantastic personalities and take the guest experience to a higher level. The beds a comfortable and I get good sleep. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is very nice and the sweet lady who helps serve guests is fabulous and remembers what our preferences are! I apologize for not remembering her name, but she works breakfast hours on weekends. Give these 3 employees a raise! They are assets to your company! May 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good stay Mildew stains in room. Horrible Oder. Floor soaked close to ac unit Will not stay here again. Room not at all clean and needs updating May 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check things out before you stay in your room Me and my husband love the get-away we have at the crown and are there almost every other weekend. We have enjoyed our stay except for minor mishaps. If your going to stay for more than a day check the tv. Ours didn't work half the time and when you have down time it would be nice to have a tv. Also don't have a balcony above because we had people pouring stuff out of theirs onto ours right in front of our door. Other than that we had a nice stay. Very courteous staff for breakfast:) April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Enjoyed our stay! Stuffed peppers at Buccis were excellent!! Would stay again! Only down side sheets were stained, but staff changed and apologized. Housekeeping needs to watch for that when changing linen between guests. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WE WILL USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN !!!!! GREAT HOTEL, AND THE PARKING OPTION IS A HUGE PLUS FOR ME. WE WILL BE USING THIS HOTEL MORE FOR FUTURE TRAVEL. THANKS AGAIN, TOM February 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza –Cleveland Airport I was very disappointed with the stay Crowne Plaza Cleveland Airport for the reasons listed below. 1. I am a Priority Club member and was trying to use points to reserve two rooms for two nights. I tried doing this online but wasn’t sure how to get the rooms close together. So I called the hotel directly and told them what I was trying to do. I asked if I could use my points for the rooms and was advised that I could. When we arrived I asked again and was told it would be taken care of at checkout. When I received the invoice no mention of points was on it. I called the front desk and was told that only way to use points was to make the reservation online through the Priority Club web site. This problem may have been due to the clerks misunderstanding my questions. This was the first time I ever tried to use points that I have accumulated. This was a minor problem if it wasn’t for the other problems listed below. 2. First room we were given was already occupied and its occupant wasn’t happy about being woke up. 3. The other room we were given had a very strong cherry aroma that made it hard to breath. My daughter did not think they could stay in the room. They left the door open trying to air the room out while I went back to the front door to get another room to replace the room that was already occupied. 4. We were given another room and went to that room and found the room Key did not work and returned to the front desk a third time. They key was reprogrammed and we went back to the room. 5. We were able to get into the room finding it to be very cool and the cover of the heater lying on the floor. The heater and wall thermostat both showed they were set at 90 degrees and on the set in the heating mode. Apparently somebody attempted to repair the heater but did not complete the job. We tried to change the temperature with no luck. I called the front desk and was advised that there were no other rooms available. 6. While trying to get heat in my room my daughter’s husband found the reason for the heavy cherry odor in their room. Some had placed 3 foam squares soaked with the cherry scent in the heater of their room. I took the squares to the front desk (my 4th trip) and ask if they had a portable heater. They did not have a portable heater. I gave the foam squares and told her where they were found. I returned to my room. The temperature got down to 66 degrees during the night which reminded me an old farm house I used to live in. The heater was repaired and the room was ok on the second night. The young lady at the front desk was polite and appeared to try to resolve the issues as they occurred. She also gave us coupons for breakfast for all the problems that occurred .Housekeeping and the maintenance definitely dropped the ball. We were also wondering what odor the cherry scent was used to cover up. This is the most problems I ever came across at any hotel I ever stayed at and surprised that a major chain would be run this way. February 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Heat did not work, didn't seem to care much I stayed here because it was near the airport, but it is not as close as other properties. After checking in to my room I realized the heat was not working so I called the front desk - realize it was near zero outside. After about 15 minutes a maintenance person came in to check the heat. He banged on a part of the control panel and it seemed to work. He said if it happens again, bang on this particular spot and it should work again. Of course soon after he left it did it again and banging on it didn't fix it. So I called down to the front desk to ask for another room. I was told there were no more rooms (this is the only apology I received during this ordeal, one to apologize they had no other rooms). I was told maintenance would stop by again. After 30 minutes or so and no maintenance person, I called down to the front desk.and told them what was going on. They said the only other option was for them to bring me a space heater - what choice did I have, I took it to stay warm. I also asked for another blanket. Between my experience and the fact this is an older hotel, I would not stay here again. February 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor bar staff I have been to this hotel many of times and on this particular night I learned since my last time here. We have a new restaurant and bar staff. Food is still great but bar staff (Dave and Irish (no idea what her real name is) are probably two is the worst bartenders I've ever come across. Push food on you as soon as you sit down, once you order you're forgotten about. Then had to ask 4 times for a to go container....just not what I expect here February 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless in Cleveland Three nights, three different rooms, three sleepless nights. Loud, noisy and no "auto" fan setting in the room over the lobby exit on night one...the heating fan never shut off making the room either too hot or too cold...and the noise from the people entering, exiting and smoking outside was unbearable. Room/night two was quieter but colder...the heat didn't work and the temp never rose above 62 degrees. The front desk had a new room for me at 6:00 a.m. Room/night three was also quieter but a large bag of linens outside my door didn't include those from my morning shower or bed since the room hadn't been refreshed at all. And once again, no wall thermostat led to a night of the fan never shutting off to regulate the temperature. I stay at this property for work, but was here for pleasure...it was a terrible stay. And a half-price or free breakfast doesn't make up for the lost sleep. Neither does the one night refund that I had to ask for. Not one staff member took it upon him or herself to acknowledge the difficulties I had during my stay and the manager never contacted me as I requested. Also, no laundry on premises. December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value Very pleased with our stay, staff was nice and room was clean. Only complaint is that the heat/ac unit is loud and kept turning on and off during the night. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff Staff was vey attentive and kind. We got ready in the bridal suite and the housekeepers came by to check on us if we needed extra towels etc. the front desk ladies were more than accommodating and allowed for us to adjust our check out and in times. A great experience with fabulous staff. I would recommend to anyone.thank you for being so accommodating! They made a busy day easier with their professionalism and kindness November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mildew in the shower...Again! We recently changed to this hotel as our company's preferred property. Twice out of three stays there has been black mildew in the shower! Never a manager on site to talk to. The desk clerk is professional enough, but really...no manager on duty ever? November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful customer service I have to compliment MARIA the representative at the front desk who checked us in upon arrival. Evidently there was a mistake made with my reservation and Maria handled it quickly and professionally. She made us feel like valued customers. I hope these comments make their way to the Front Desk Manager and that Maria is recognized to her skill. She is an asset to the hotel. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business Visit Had business conference at this property. The property is average in this area market however it is below average compared with other Crowne Plaza branches. My room had many problems; for example, (1) both phones in room broken (2) A/C & Heater malfunctioned during the whole stay (3) no room water for coffee maker (4) little or no available power plugs in the room. Good Points: (a) Good Internet Connection (b) breakfast and catering was good October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend Very clean. The clerk behind desk was very friendly! October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by typical Holiday Inn friendliness` Your staff could not have been more helpful to our group. Thanks for a great weekend October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds! Very comfortable beds and lovely rooms. I was disappointed that there was no refrigerator and microwave in the room. I thought that was a standard at this point. The service in the basement restaurant was excellent, but the food at the Sunday morning buffet was only average. We were there for a wedding and took the hotel shuttle to and from the reception. On the way, the driver took a wrong turn, causing us to be late, which was a big deal as I am the mother of the bride. All in all, I was satisfied with my experience but not overwhelmingly pleased. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great experience. This was a very nice hotel and the staff was was very accommodating and friendly. There is also a very nice retaurant in this hotel. This was also a great location, close to the airport but also close to other restaurants. October 7, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Scenery / Landscape Front Desk Cedar Point Amusement Park - Sandusky, Ohio - 45 Min Pro Football Hall of Fame Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Cleveland Clinic Foundation Main Campus - 25 Min North Playhouse Square Theater District - 25 Min North Progressive Field - Cleveland Indians - 10 Min North Concierge Concierge Reception Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading