Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

MANAGE A RESERVATION
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
78%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 577 reviews
78%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

577reviews

  • 5 Stars
    297
  • 4 Stars
    124
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    36

Nice bed and pillows

By

July 02, 2016

Property is rather old and room was not very clean. But, the hotel staff was attentive and friendly. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel's location is very convenient to downtown KC.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 05, 2016
Dear CU jays, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your 4-Stars review. Your feedback is important to us. We are pleased you found the hotel staff friendly and attentive and enjoyed our location and it's proximity to the Power & Light District. However, I will follow up with our housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of your room. We set high standards for our team members, especially when it comes to cleanliness. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We certainly hope this will not deter you from visiting again, we would love to welcome you back the next time you visit KC. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Ongoing annoyances

By

June 30, 2016

For the past year or so, this hotel has become less and less desirable. I've been told for about 3 months now that the garage will be open "next week," yet it was still closed last week. Valet claims that it only takes 5-7 minutes to retrieve your car, yet it has never taken less than 20, and has taken 50 minutes on one occasion. The "new" system for submitting a tax exempt form went over poorly, making it obvious that staff members weren't properly trained on the process, which resulted in lengthy delays in checking out (to the point that a bill had to be emailed once because 3 people couldn't figure out how to make the proper adjustments). Speaking of billing problems, for some reason, front desk staff send 2 pre-authorizations to your bank (room fees and valet separately) but only send through one final amount, so the other pre-authorization stays on your account for over a week...even after the hotel as received their funds. The food at the concierge lounge has quickly become food I would be hesitant to feed my dog. The food used to be nice, and the bartender didn't use to watch entire movies during her shift (Titanic last week). The condition of the rooms has deteriorated, and the housekeeping staff is getting very lax in their cleaning. Over the past 6 months, there have been 3 occasions in which my room wasn't cleaned at all. On one occasion, I left a dead bug on the floor just to see if it would be picked up - nope. The hotel really needs to do a better job of training front desk staff, housekeeping staff, and valet staff before these problems become worse. I'm in KC a week a month on business and will be finding a different hotel until the Crowne gets cleaned up.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 05, 2016
Dear IrritatedInSTL, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your continued loyalty to our hotel and our brand. Your feedback is very important to us. On behalf of the entire CPKC team, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have described. What you have described is certainly not up to our standards and will be addressed with our staff immediately. You will be pleased to know, the parking garage is now open! It's been a long time coming and we couldn't be happier! As far at the pre-authorizations, we only authorize for room/tax charges when you check in due to company policy, any "incidental" charges are authorized during our overnight process. However, as soon as you check out of the hotel, any funds held are released by us immediately. Again, thank you for staying with us. We certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to change your perception of our services and our hotel. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

June 30, 2016

You can't beat the location in downtown KC. Easy walk to plenty of restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone from the front desk, to the shuttle driver, the bellhops, the maintenance staff, the maid service and the management staff were very accommodating. You can't go wrong if you stay here.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 05, 2016
Dear Attkica1, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our prime location near so many of KC's major attractions including the Power & Light District. We appreciate you recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in KC. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Clean room but slow elevators

By

June 28, 2016

club

Overall nice stay. Heat wave outside made keeping the room as comfortable as I would have liked, but understandable. There was construction going on outside the hotel, but no noise. I am a thin person and found the bathroom a bit tight. Great staff in the bar and restaurant. There were only 3 elevators to service 28 floors of rooms.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear ber9949, Thank you so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown for your recent stay and your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the friendly service provided by our bar and restaurant staff.  It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I would like to mention we actually have 2 sets of elevators totaling 5 to service our guest floors. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Nice Place

By

June 27, 2016

A good place to stay for downtown business. Very nice room, very comfortable bed. Excellent location within walking distance to the P

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear Nicname Take By Other, Nice nickname :) We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our excellent location in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your review. Please let us know the next time you will be in the area. We would love to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

royals game

By

June 25, 2016

club

valet, bell, registration and bartender were awesome

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear faber42, Thank you so much for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our friendly Midwest hospitality. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

One of the best places to stay in downtown Kansas City for the price.

By

June 25, 2016

It's one of the best hotel to stay at when your in the P&L District of Kansas City Mo

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear Vipercar96, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to the area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location near the power and light district. Please let us know the next time you are in the area. We would love to welcome you back. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Good choice

By

June 23, 2016

club

We checked in late and when we got to our room, it was upgraded without even asking, the guy at front desk was very nice when checking in. It is walking distance to power and light which is what we wanted. very safe.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 28, 2016
Dear howie10, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown for your recent stay and for your review. We value your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and our friendly service. Please let us know the next time you are in the area. We would love to welcome you back. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Lovely Hotel Downtown Kansas City

By

June 14, 2016

club

The Crown Plaza is a perfect place to relax while on a business trip to downtown Kansas City. Everything you need as a busy professional is located in the hotel lobby. Starbucks for coffee and breakfast and a Bar and Restaurant for dinner in the evening. The rooms are contemporary, clean and comfortable all for a very reasonable rate.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 20, 2016
Dear IBMer42, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your five stars review, your feedback is important to us. We are overjoyed to know you had a great stay and found our hotel lovely! It brings great joy reading reviews like yours. It’s great to hear you appreciate the comforts in your room and having everything a busy professional needs. Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. Please let us know next time you will be visiting, we would love to welcome you back for another great stay. Warm Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

poor service

By

June 13, 2016

club

1. We hung breakfast order tag outside door at 11 pm (said before 1 am). Breakfast never came. Finally 10 minutes after the time it was to be there I called. They said they had no order. They said what did I want , they would make it fast and bring it up . I checked door and tag was still on door. They came up quickly and gave a discount. When I said tag was on door, she said, yea that happens sometimes.
2. Called for valet before left room. Waited over 10 minutes when 3 valet guys were standing 6 ft away from us talking and laughing. They never asked us if we needed anything . finally I asked them where car was and they said they didn’t know about it. I told them I called front desk who took the last 3 numbers of ticket and said ok. They said that there is poor communication from the front desk and sometimes there radios don’t work.
3. When the valet came, I asked for paper and pen and wrote my name, email and said I have complaints re hotel stay and to email me. The valet asked if it was just for valet or for the whole stay. I said whole stay and he said he would give to general manager . I have not received an email.
4. I went on ihg site to file a complaint and was in a continuous loop so could not do yesterday.
5. Also the hotel restaurant has a menu in room that reverses the bar and the restaurant . and we went down to eat at the restaurant at 5:30 and it was shut but the menu outside the door said it opens at 5. The front desk said that it is closed for dinner and referred us up a few blocks to outside restaurants. We were going to an appt so if we had not seen the restaurant opened at 5 we would have left earlier. As it was we had no time to go to dinner!

We are frequent travelers for business and pleasure. And this was horrible service, and at a high rate. Extremely disappointing for a Crowne Plaza.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 20, 2016
Dear parrotdogs, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your review, your feedback is important to us. We are disheartened to know that your breakfast was not delivered on time and the order did not make it to our kitchen before you called and the hours of our restaurant greatly affected your stay and opinion about our property and our services. We are very sorry to know we have failed to meet your expectation at this time. Your opinion is important to us and it will be shared with our senior management for further review. While we understand you left very disappointed, we are committed to providing an excellent service to our guests, we sincerely hope that you will consider providing us the opportunity to make up for this past stay and replace your impression about our services. I would be more than happy to personally oversee your stay and make sure you would have a memorable experience. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Awful property

By

June 13, 2016

I have been using IHG properties since 1988 regularly for my career. This is without a doubt the most awful hotel in the IHG system, possibly in any hotel network. Strongly advise you stay at any other property other than this.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 20, 2016
Dear New York 23, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your review, your feedback is important to us. On behalf of our team, please accept our sincerest and humble apologies for failing short to meet your expectation during your visit. Should you allow me, I would like to locate your recent reservation and follow up with our team. I would greatly appreciate if you would take the time to email me directly at ablair@cpkansascity.com. Again, I am very sorry that our services have not met your expectations at this time. While we understand that you left disappointed, we are committed to providing an excellent service to our guests, we sincerely hope that you will consider providing us the opportunity to make up for this past stay and replace your impression about our property and services. I am looking forward to hearing from you. Warm Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

June 13, 2016

Downtown KC, there is not really much to do unless there are some events going on. Most people work in downtown live in the suburb.
The location is pretty good, walking distance to restaurants and events venues like the Sprint Center and the Convention Center.
The price is not too bad for a downtown hotel, but okay for business trip and not so much for personal ones.
I got some blisters on my foot after walking "too much" in my new shoes and the front desk staff were able to provide me with some band-aid and sanitation cream.
I had a room facing the west on a high floor, so pretty nice view of the sunset and the surrounding areas.
One down side is my room is away from the guest elevators, but close to the services elevators. I can hear some noise to late night and early morning.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 20, 2016
Dear Rui W, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and for your 4-Stars review. Your feedback is important to us. We are thrilled to know you found our hotel nice and that you enjoyed the gorgeous view from your room and our prime location near Kansas City's Power and Light District. However, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the noise level outside of the elevators. Your comments have been forwarded to our team. Thank you again for staying with us and for your review. Please let us know next time you will be visiting, we would love to welcome you back for another great stay. Warm regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Read More
Read Less