• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Polish
  5. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:1.6MI
Attraction:
Starlight Theatre
Distance From Hotel:8.7MI
Attraction:
Kansas City River Market
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Power and Light District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:245
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel parking garage is on-site with a $15 nightly charge that comes with unlimited in-and-out privileges. We also offer valet parking at a charge of $19 per night. Day of or non-overnight parking options are also available, starting at $10 for self parking and $14 for valet.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 15.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 19.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:385
  • Total number of suites:99
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:249
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:385
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:28
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center
View More
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, work out in the fitness center and grab a bite to eat in the City Grille or enjoy a drink in our City Bar. Rooms come fully equipped with complimentary high speed Internet access, a work desk and Crowne Plaza sleep amenities. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is your home away from home! Within minutes of Kemper Arena, American Royal, River Market, Crown Center and the Country Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues that Kansas City has to offer.
View Less
Features
The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is 100% non-smoking. Located in the heart of downtown Kansas City, we're directly across from the Convention Center and just a few blocks from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center Arena, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, restaurants and entertainment venues galore!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A great place to stay for a game We stayed 3 nights to watch games at Kaufman Stadium. Someone with more energy than I could easily walk to/from the game, but the hotel provides a free shuttle! We didn't use it because it didn't have a wheelchair lift. That is the only negative thing I can say about the hotel. We will definitely stay again. June 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty rooms and unfriendly waterpark staff! I found hair in both beds in our room and to top it off a chewed up dog bone left behind! The carpets and hotel itself seemed dirty. The exterior could use a lot of work, when driving up I was immediately discouraged by the appearance of the hotel. The waterpark staff seemed unhappy and as though they did not want to be bothered. Overall the ONLY benefit about this hotel is that small children most likely would not be bothered by most of the issues. My four year old son still had fun. Glad we only stayed one night! June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Can't say enough good things. June 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Interesting Events We had some interesting events that happened at this location. Wanted to book another night using points and it took just about 2hrs to book one night. A conference was going on so it was just a pain. Had to call IHG to use points and it still took a very long time. Secondly, since a conference was going on, an outside firm was brought in to help with house keeping. Issue was, one of those employees stole items from my room. Brought up to the management team and GM while he was at the hotel and the employee was escorted off the property. Just watch your items... Keep in mind that you have to pay EXTRA for the waterpark. I didn't realize that until we tried to get in, so heads up. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel and Clean, lots of options Overall we enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very clean and the only 2 issues I had in the rooms were that I couldn't get the temperature to a comfortable setting. It was humid and sticky to me. The other issue was the fridge in the room wasn't working very good. There was an indoor and a separate outdoor pool plus the CoCo Keys resort. The prices for that wasn't bad. I think CoCo keys is more geared towards younger kids if you are planning to be there all day though. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dissatisfied the room was too hot and even though the maintenance man worked on it it never cooled off. the bathroom didn't have a bathmat, toilet paper, or shampoo. the desk chair had a tear in the back of it. June 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not recommended! We were looking forward to taking our children to Coco Keys and staying at the hotel. Upon arrival the hotel was very busy and check in took quite some time. When arriving to our room it smelled like urine and our son could hardly stand to go into the bathroom without gagging from the smell. We then went down to Coco Keys and it was very busy, kids were throwing candy in the water from a party and were very rude. In one area there was puke on the floor and no one cleaned it up. We chose to go outside to the hotel pool and enjoyed that more but when we went out the next morning that pool had dirt, feathers and bird poop all over in it. My husband attempted to use the net to clean it but we decided agains swimming. Our kids were very disappointed as they were very excited about Coco Keys. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Youth Mission stop on way home We had to wait for our rooms to be ready in order to get 2 rooms that were connected. We thought the waterpark was ok but rather crowded and busy besides overpriced for the two hours we were able to use it. I feel we would have been better off just using the pool or staying closer to World of Fun/Ocean of Fun and paying the fee for that park...I believe the youth as well as the adults would have had way more fun. But thanks for the opportunity to give it a try and besides we got to watch the fireworks display out our window after the Kansas City Royals game. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service my stay was 3 days for a convention the bed and bathroom were nice and clean but the room floor NEEDED very much cleaning it was vacuum but it needed to be shampoo for sure I would stay there again the staff was great and the buffet breakfast nice. June 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nasty and dirty Upon arriving at hotel I used lobby bathrooms which were backed up, smelly, and not cleaned in a long time. Rooms were nasty. Old urine down sides of toilet and behind the toilet. Stains on bathroom door and room wall. Dusty furniture. Stains on floor. Housekeeping came in for three days and mad'e bed. That was all! No cabinet space anywhere. Including bathroom. No plug ins. Overall, the filthiest, dirty, nasty hotel I've stayed at. The super * was cleaner than this. Other than that the staff was very nice. Food was great and fast! Beds were very comfy. Won't stay here again though. Too gross! June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by From excellent room, excellent at desk excellent restaurant Everything was perfect! Could not have ask for anything else. Desk all super friendly, room perfect, water park perfect. A little city all in one place. Restaurant had excellent food and excellent service. Thank you to all! Would highly recommend! June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by great service and staff was great checking in was quick, and staff very pleasant. Free breakfast was great. I would stay again, I have always enjoy my stay's at Holiday Inn June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lacking some things I only had one package of regular coffee among the bunch. No tissues in the room and the pillows are reaching the end of their lifespan. Did however love that it was so close to Kauffman field, my son and I came into town just for the game against the Indians and easily walked to the stadium. June 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Complaint Do not order room service! Be careful how you book the rooms are not that great!If going for the waterpark you might want to stay at a different place. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, fantastic staff :) After reading some of the previous reviews I was worried about staying at this hotel, but was so glad we did, the hotel was fantastic, the staff went over and above to make us comfortable, the hotel was clean was quite even though it was full, we saw a wonderful fireworks display from the kc ball park across the street from the hotel (extra perk), the breakfast was fantastic, hardly any wait for elevator and we were on the 11 floor, will stay there again :) June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by no two people give the same answer The biggest problem we had was getting a straight answer out of desk staff. When they weren't appearing too busy too answer, they gave an answer that was usually wrong. Example was the price of the water park. Then there was the restaurant. After being promptly greeted and told just a moment, 5 minutes later still waiting to be seated in a nearly empty restaurant. When we began to go ahead to seat ourselves we were again promptly greeted and almost told to return to our wait post until deciding that we could sit. Then another wait for someone to come to our table. The water park seemed a little shabby. Balls with ripped seams, the adult spa was dirty. The bar was out of items to make a drink. There were cosmetic issues that detracted from the atmosphere. We go to Kansas City every year. Really looked forward to this property. We stayed here twice in the last 2 months. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location with great service and staff Terrific location close to ballpark -- easy walk across the street. Staff was always cheerful and helpful. The restaurant service after the game was efficient and pleasant. Quiet facility with great rooms and comfortable beds. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service friendly staff The front desk folks were great . i am platinum elite and ask for a upgrade the day before the stay ... they took the time to check and called me back (wow) .... They were able to upgrade me one day ahead of time and took the time on a very busy weekend ( Yankees ) to do so ... A special thanks to Stephienie and Victoria for there above and beyond effort (.. I personally thanked them .. We had a total of 3 rooms and everythng went smoothly .. the gal that checked us in was great ( name ? ) had 6 grandkids in the party and the water park was super and well supervised. thanks to all for a great stay and you will see me again next time .. we have stayed at this location several times . the location for the ball park is outstanding as is the shuttle service. .thanks again ,. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Only one problem at the room. The only problem we had was the refrigerator not cold enough. The milk we had for our baby ruined in our 3 night stay, but overall we had a good stay. The waterpark was a blast for all four of our kids from 1 year to 10 years old. They wanted to stay longer. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfortable but that's about it. Housekeeping needs to improve. Restaurant staff needs to improve. Waterpark was great. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All Around Good Stay We were there for a convention, so a lot of people were arriving at once. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean and cool. We slept wonderfully, which is unusual away from home. And we love express check-out! All around, our stay was great! June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Employees were very rood We were woken at 8:00 am by construction pounding on pipes 4 rooms down from us. The hallway was like *90 degrees with a blower into the room under construction. The housekeeping entered our room without knocking at 8:15 am. While checking out a customer said his toilet wouldn't hold water and he had to pour 40 coffee cups of water just to get it to flush. The employees at checkout didn't seem to be to concerned, we will never use this facility again. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amenities Having my two Grandchildren eat free was fantastic. We enjoyed taking the shuttle to the game and back. Having a choice of Coco Keys, indoor and outdoor pool (with less people) was also appreciated. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly Managed, Dated Facilities Although the check-in time is 4 PM and we arrived at 3:15, we were not able to check in until after 5 PM as the room was not yet clean and the hotel was overbooked. This was not the fault of the desk staff, who were courteous and also provided a breakfast voucher for the morning due to the excessive wait, but it does demonstrate generally poor management. It wasn't a surprise that the hotel was going to be busy that weekend, yet the staffing was not adequate and no one seemed prepared. Carpets throughout the building were drab and many were stained. The room was in the older section of the building and seemed very small and dark. It was reasonably clean, but not worth the rate charged. The shuttle to the stadium was very convenient. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent There were a couple issues after our check in, but the House Man was right there and had everything taken care of in just a few minutes! Fabulous service everywhere in the facility. We will definitely make this our place to stay in KC! June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, so-so bed comfort, no tea bags, just coffee Staff and shuttle were wonderful! We just did not sleep well in the beds. We were very disappointed there were not tea bags in our room. June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water Had no hot water in room 1410 for 3 days, rotted 2 times to front desks and was told it was fixed only to still have cold water not even like warm June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place for kids Overall, our experience was great. It was pet friendly which is always nice. The food was good, even though I wish there had been a few more breakfast choices ( since I try and stay away from carbs). I loved the fact that kids 12 and under were free . The water park was nice for the kids and the hotel was close to a lot of other things to do. The weekend we were there was very busy with union/political meetings, baseball and the week after school let out, but overall it was great. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by If not using waterpark, don't stay here. given the circumstances of my stay, I would not have chosen this location. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by super friendly staff The staff was amazing. Enjoyed talking to them, seemed to enjoy their jobs. Very helpful. The whole point of staying at this hotel was to also enjoy the waterpark. Any staff helping at the waterpark (including bartender) were Great, but the lifeguards weren't as nice. Seemed to resent their jobs and the patrons enjoying the park. Grouchy. June 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
Select to close.
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown The Crowne Plaza Kansas City lobby is a great place to gather A smiling face is ready to greet you! A glorious view of Kansas City from our Starlight Ballroom!
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading