• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Polish
  5. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:1.6MI
Attraction:
Starlight Theatre
Distance From Hotel:8.7MI
Attraction:
Kansas City River Market
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Power and Light District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:245
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel parking garage is on-site with a $15 nightly charge that comes with unlimited in-and-out privileges. We also offer valet parking at a charge of $19 per night. Day of or non-overnight parking options are also available, starting at $10 for self parking and $14 for valet.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 15.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 19.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:385
  • Total number of suites:99
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:249
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:385
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:28
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center
View More
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, work out in the fitness center and grab a bite to eat in the City Grille or enjoy a drink in our City Bar. Rooms come fully equipped with complimentary high speed Internet access, a work desk and Crowne Plaza sleep amenities. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is your home away from home! Within minutes of Kemper Arena, American Royal, River Market, Crown Center and the Country Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues that Kansas City has to offer.
View Less
Features
The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is 100% non-smoking. Located in the heart of downtown Kansas City, we're directly across from the Convention Center and just a few blocks from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center Arena, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, restaurants and entertainment venues galore!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than our last experience I hesitated booking this because of a really bad experience the last time we stayed there. We had to wait until after 10 pm to get into our rooms because the staff was behind in cleaning. We sat in the lobby for 3 hours. This was much better. The staff was competent, the rooms were clean and all the additions are very nice. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Hotel The pillows were thin and not comfortable. The beds were very hard and not comfortable as well. The bathroom has no exhaust fan so it is super hot while taking a shower. Not to mention our shower head squirted all over the place but where it should have. The pressure of the sink was very low as well. Overall I wasn't very pleased with the stay here for the price. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughters birthday weekend My family and I had a great time at this location. We wanted to give our birthday girl and our 1 year old a great getaway and we accomplish it at your property. The water park is great for kids and the theme is just greate! My only concern at the water park was the cleanliness of the water in the pool area especially the one where the backetball rings are. The tile was pretty dirty and the water was very cloudy. Didn't see anyone checking or sampling the water to read the PH level of the water. Other than that, I have to admit that we had a great time and most importantly my kids had a blast!!!! October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Nice hotel but first room had roaches in bath and on my bed. I discussed with the front desk and was moved to another room. Had no problem after that but I recommend that they upgrade their beds. The mattresses in both rooms were pretty bad- lumpy and not very comfortable. The sheets were very thin almost threadbare and the mattress cover was just. Pad on top of the mattress and moved a overthr place. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly personel Everyone was very friendly and welcoming the entire weekend. The crowd did not unnerve the staff. They helped with directions and even the parking. The exchange between the Saturday crowd and the Sunday was smooth. I guess being so close to the stadium, they are accustom to this load of traffic. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Football Weekend Even though it was a busy weekend at the hotel, it was a good experience. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent guest service We arrived in KC and we had another room elsewhere. Victoria jumped to our aide and helped us find rooms at this location. She was friendly and accommodating to our situation. The entire staff we interacted with was friendly, professional, and made out stay a wonderful experience!! I look forward to visiting again!! September 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel I enjoyed my stay at your hotel. Small problem in moving in. Dierection were not clear for lower level. There was two employees on the back side that made it easy for us to move in. We were grateful for their assistance. September 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by too crowded! We took advantage of the Royals Package on a Saturday evening. Big mistake. The waterpark was overcrowded to the point of not being enjoyable whatsoever. Same with the hotel. The shower clogged and to the hotel's credit the maintenance man was up fixing it asap. But it took him over 30 minutes to do so. The bathroom was tiny. One of the three elevators wasn't working properly. Shuttle bus driver very friendly so that was a plus. All in all, if you do not like crowds, don't take advantage of their Royals package on a weekend Kids eating free breakfast was a plus. Breakfast was good. September 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't leave anything anywhere or it will be gone. This is a pretty big hotel and from the looks of the entry way make it seem to be a up scale hotel, but as I found out some of the people that comes into this hotel are not of the respectful kind. I was charging my charger for my phone in the computer area on one of the computer and decided to go into the bar for a drink and by the time I returned in approximately 10 minutes my device was taken. That tell you a little about some of the people that comes to this hotel. I won't stay here anymore. September 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty In the Coco Keys the bathroom smelled like urine 28 Aug 13. First timew I visited the womens restroom at 6pm. When I went in to use the showers at close 9pm the urine, smell was worse. The showers also had garbage on thefloor. Little soap in the shower, to wash body. My daughter was crying because I made her go in the bathroom and it was disgusting. Next day we swam for 2 hours. 10 am - 12 pm. We went in shower area and it still smelled like urine, but not as strong as the night before. There was still the same amount of soap, to wash our bodies. I then went to the bathroom and there was no toilet paper in my stall. How could that be? The swimming area has only been open for 2 hours. the water in the pool looked really cloudy, dirty. Tere was no microwaves in the hotel rooms. Only one in the Market area, behind the snack bar. It took 3 times at 50 secends to re heat 2 pieces of pizza. this hotel was a joke. Never coming back. September 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Perhaps my expectations were too high No vent fans in the bathroom?! Steamy/stinky. Noisy hallways. Soda machines didn't work or were incorrectly stocked on 5 different floors that I tried. Staff was very nice and accommodating. The only positive thing. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall okay The room was warm and stuffy even after maintenance changes the direction of the vent. Breakfast buffet was outrageous at $14 per adult. Overall stay was okay. Water park was okay, despite cold water. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere Although we had a change of venue when we arrived, everything turned out ok. We had booked a room with 2 queen beds. There was an earlier problem and they had to shampoo the carpet. They offered us 2 adjoining rooms with king beds which also gave us an extra bath. The only issue I had was the shower curtain didn't want to stay closed unless you carefully lifted the edge up over a bump on the curtain rod. We didn't have a fridge so I called and requested one. It was delivered within about 30 minutes. Oops! I do remember the parking problem. We had to park in the back. It seems that since they have opened CoCo Keys to the public not staying at the hotel, there isn't enough space to handle the overflow of customers. September 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Service Informed that shuttle would pick us up after Chiefs game but no where to be found! Guess I should have asked for specifics. Compensated us with discounted room charges and free breakfast buffett. It was far from average. The servers and wait staff were great however....but food was marginal. Something backed up in our bath tub and there was brown sediment in our tub. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Service was Great...Waterpark was poor We thought as a family that this hotel was clean and the staff was great. They even let us check in early. The waterpark had horrible service, nobody smiled or acted like they enjoyed their job. We were there 2 days, and my son was only able to do the big slide once because of lack of blow up tubes that were needed for the rides. Very disappointed and a waste of time and money. September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by ISSUES EACH TIME WE USE THIS HOTEL 1st time elevators have all worked. 1st time you had bar open with enough help after Chiefs game. Our room had a ceiling that had leaked . See pictures. For the room cost we should have a better maintained room. No room cleaning service the 2nd day so had to call for towels ,etc. Had us by a suite that had a party going on so had Children in hallways making noise both days and evenings. Sodas in machine on our floor 15 where outdated. So had to go to front to get them replaced. Internet in Business area wouldnt work and every time before we have stayed there it has been messed up. TV wouldnt work and had to call to get it reprogrammed. It seems you cater to the water park and the maintenance of the building is suffering. September 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointing My wife and I travel once a month to the KC area to shop and go to a club we like.We brought our daughter with us this time and booked this hotel so she would have something to do.The elevators smelled musty and dirty.The whole place seemed very dusty as well. When I arrived they could not find my reservation packet. I travel a lot on buisness and use this brand.My daughter said that the waterpark was too expensive and not worth the value. We also missed the free breakfast that was not offered.Westport will have my buisness from now on. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Get away weekend What a great family get away! The room was above average and we had excellent customer service. A big thank-you for making this one of the best weekends ever for our family. September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place The service was always excellent, both at the front desk, the lounge & restaurant as well as the reunion I attended there. My room was comfortable and well kept. The only negative thing I could say was the breakfast buffet was very disappointing. There were not very many choices. The scrambled eggs were cold and runny. What the cereal bin labeled as Cheerios was definitely a cheap substitute and not the real thing. However, despite this one thing I would stay there again. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was Great! I've stayed at this property twice in two years and enjoyed my stay both times especially in relation to the staff. The staff in the bar and restaurant were wonderful to my group - the Mule Barn Reunion gang. We kept them busy both Friday and Saturday nights, but they kept up with us and added to the evening's enjoyment. My only compliant (and it was dealt with) was that the bathroom in my room smelled of mildew and wasn't as clean as it should have been. I addressed it with the housekeeping staff and they changed out my shower curtain which solved the smell problem. Cleanliness of the room was fine, but the toilet has some tissue in it when I first opened the lid. Not good, but not worth staying away either. Big kudos to the staff. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service! The people really went above and beyond to be friendly and ensure we had an enjoyable stay! The few drawbacks, including poor Internet service, a business center that needs updating, and lighting problems, were made up for by the staff, who fixed problems and found workarounds promptly. Would definitely stay again just for the simple joy of receiving such excellent customer service! August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The customer service was fantastic and really made our stay. The hotel is very nice, great decor, clean and family friendly. The rooms were nice, but bedding lumpy and the air was excessively noisy. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific employees and nice hotel My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Co Co Key this past weekend for a college reunion that I was attending. The employees were great from the moment that I checked in. My college group was in the lounge and the servers went out of their way to make sure we felt at home. Even after the lounge closed, we were invited to hang out in the lobby and continue our visit. Our room was lovely with the exception of the air conditioning which was rather loud. We had a view of the two stadiums and had I been in the room would have been able to see the wonderful fireworks after the Royals game was over. Saturday we had a banquet in one of the ballrooms and the food and the set up were wonderful. Again we were able to mill around and visit and never felt rushed. We moved back into the lounge area and from there into the lobby again and had a wonderful time sharing company. The employees were again very accommodating. Saturday night the staff asked if we would all be attending breakfast together and said that they would set aside a private area for us to eat so we could visit and then be on our way. Sunday morning when we approached the hostess stand, she said right this way Mule Barn people and led us right in to be seated and fed. You really have a wonderful group of employees working there - they have been super accommodating to our planning members since the moment we chose the hotel and they helped in creating a very memorable reunion for us. August 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Staff was not knowledgeable at all. Experienced some very rude staff members. Otherwise the place was clean. August 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again - Blood Stained Sheets The hotel was booked with an Japanese Anime convention and there were lots on folks on property who were not guests, the parking lot was a joke, and the front desk told me to wait until 9:00 pm to move my car to another location closer to the front. One of the 3 elevators was not working and the wait was too long and the lobby was very crowded. Also, I could never get a wifi connection. But the true issue was the dirty bed and bloodstained sheets and mattress. I pulled back my bed cover only to discover dried blood on the sheets and mattress. The bed had no mattress cover and under the covers I found a piece of silver foil which looked like it came from a medicine tube or something. When I called to report the issue, housekeeping sent up two men, who promptly put the clean linen on the room floor! When I complained to the men about putting clean items on a floor, they left with no explanation. Finally two very helpful young men, Matt and Luke came up to change the linen. I went to the front desk to discuss the room condition and I received a $50 credit on the bill. Needless to say, I would not recommend this location to anyone. The employees did mention they were on the 'low end' of the hotel chain and they had a new general manager who was working to get the property back up to par. Matt and Luke were great, but overall, this was one of the worst experiences I've had staying at a hotel. I will never stay here again. I've attached photos of the bed linens. August 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ANIME CONVENTION! UGGGGGG I brought my wife and two kids to the water park to have a relaxing weekend and fun. Instead, I arrived had to drive through hundreds of people in the parking lot dressed for an Anime Convention. I drove for a long time looking for a place to park. Had to walk a long way to get back around to the front of the building where the lobby was with our bags. Lobby was also full of the convention participants. Elevators were almost non exsistent. Would stop at 2nd floor and go back up. We finally caught one and made it to our room. It was hot. I turned up the air and we went for a swim. Found out the tickets I purchased on Priceline did not include the water park. Had to cough up another $40 a day to use the water park. Water in park was murky. We got back to our room and it was still hot. Cooled down about 2 in the morning. Beds were not comfortable. Back was sore the next day. We do not plan to return anytime soon. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice family place This is a really nice place for you to take your family for the weekend, with the built in water park, nice rooms, good food, you don't even have to leave the hotel. The staff are very nice and accomidating and treat everyone with a real feeling of friendliness. Just want to say thank you for making our stay perfect!! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff 2nd to none. I met 8 of the Staff from front desk to janitorial, to servers etc. They all said in one way or another "Thank you for staying at our hotel".. The front desk was very informative about the surrounding area. The bartender was helpful in telling me about the Harley Davidson factory tours, which I wouldn't have done if she wouldn't have told me about it. I stayed at several Holiday Inn's on my recent motorcycle vacation and this one is probably the best one. They even shuttled me to the KC Royals baseball game and back. What a crew they have working here. August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by thin walls plus poor window coverage equal poor sleep Our room was right next to the elevator and the walls must have been paper thin for every time the elevator dinged we heard it; Every time people collected at the elevators we heard their conversation and laughter. This went on late into the night and started up early the next morning. Also in the morning if we had been able to sleep thru the noise, we may not have been able to sleep thru the bright sunlight streaming in around the poorly fitted shades. August 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
Select to close.
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Front Desk and Lobby The Crowne Plaza Kansas City lobby is a great place to gather
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.