• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Polish
  5. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:1.6MI
Attraction:
Starlight Theatre
Distance From Hotel:8.7MI
Attraction:
Kansas City River Market
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Power and Light District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:245
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel parking garage is on-site with a $15 nightly charge that comes with unlimited in-and-out privileges. We also offer valet parking at a charge of $19 per night. Day of or non-overnight parking options are also available, starting at $10 for self parking and $14 for valet.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 15.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 19.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:385
  • Total number of suites:99
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:249
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:385
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:28
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center
View More
Welcome to the upscale Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Adjacent to Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center and the Power & Light District, this luxurious Crowne Plaza hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City and features a Starbucks Coffeehouse in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block World Headquarters, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, work out in the fitness center and grab a bite to eat in the City Grille or enjoy a drink in our City Bar. Rooms come fully equipped with complimentary high speed Internet access, a work desk and Crowne Plaza sleep amenities. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is your home away from home! Within minutes of Kemper Arena, American Royal, River Market, Crown Center and the Country Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues that Kansas City has to offer.
View Less
Features
The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown is 100% non-smoking. Located in the heart of downtown Kansas City, we're directly across from the Convention Center and just a few blocks from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center Arena, Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, restaurants and entertainment venues galore!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, but needs some maintenance We found our over all experience to be ok. The kids had fun at the water park and swimming pool. The elevators are really busy and slow. The room's ceiling had water damage, the shower was luke warm at best, and the room's windows were dripping with condensation, at one point we had to wipe away with a towel. March 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Spring break with a 3 & 4 year old. Checking in was a breeze, and our room was clean. But the restaurant in the lobby was horrible! We ate there 3 times, and was very disappointed every time! If we were familiar with the area, we would have went else where to eat. The food was over priced, the service was, well two of the visits we had to go find service. We stayed at the hotel for three days, and getting a hot shower was a treat. Now for the water park, CoCo Key, the life guards could not have cared less to be there. They were not watching the kids. The facility as a whole was very dirty. March 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK for kids, overpriced for overnight stay. The hotel was very basic. The waterpark experience was good and the convenience of having the hotel connected was nice. The hotel restaurant where "kids eat free" was still overpriced and the service was horrendous. The dinner buffet was lukewarm and did not provide many kid-friendly options. The breakfast buffet was better, but we did not see a server the entire time we were there. I left cash on the table and we left. As the market is fairly slim for indoor waterparks in the area, we may revisit this location but next time will be for a day pass only and we will not eat or stay onsite. March 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Thankful they refunded our second night. It appeared the room had not been cleaned. Sheets had washed blood stains, and food crumbs. Something was splattered on the wall. The bathroom had toothpaste smeared in the sink and hair on the floor. It rained and the window leaked. The tub drained slow so I was standing in a pool of water in the shower. The water park smelled like sour bleach. We should have complained when we arrived and tried to change rooms but did not which was our mistake. We checked out first thing in the morning and were thankful to get a refund for our second night. March 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fun for kids Kids had a great time Housekeeping knocked on door at 650..It woke everybody up. Other then that had a great time. March 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I'd recommend ONE night package only My girls enjoyed the water park. We arrived before the check-in time, so the girls could enjoy the water park w/ their friends (the water park opens @ 1000 and closes @ 2100). The room was stinky, the heater didn't work properly, and we could hear everything next door. I'd only recommend ONE night package only. March 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inadequate service and furnishings While our family found the water park to be very good, the hotel experience was disappointing. The room was very small and cramped. The alarm clock did not work at all. Fortunately we had cell phones with alarms, but it was still anoying. The TV remote had dead batteries. We took it to the front desk where they said they would replace them and send it right back up to our room. After two hours we still had not recieved it. We called down and they apologized again, and said it would be right up. After another 30 min. without a remote, I went back down to the front desk myself. They assured me it was on its way. We did get it about 15 min. after that. The hotel room had no hair dryer! What? Even cheep hotel chains have hair dryers in the rooms. We had not packed one and found that very inconvenient. The hotel did have good food in the restauraunt, however, both times we ate there, it took about an hour before our food arrived. I will not be staying here again. I will gladly pay a little more for a similar water park, but much better quality hotel where we can actually relax. March 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very poor service The Beds were very uncomfortable very poor service and the costumer service girls were to young to take care of any complaint, I pay for two nights and I only stay for one. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for a family vacation We had a great time over the Spring break visit. It was the right choice for us: a family with a 5 yld and a 6 mo old. The place was extremely busy, but that did not in any way worsen the experience for us. I liked the fact that I could eat at the hotel's restaurant without having to pack the family every time to go out: the menu was both kid and adult friendly. If baby got fussy, I could run to the room and get whatever was needed while still enjoying the evening - priceless in my book. The pool and the video game rooms were great for the 5yld. I liked the idea that you just charge for the waterpark a separate daily pass instead of making people stay at the hotel to use the resort (we were able to meet up with our KC friends this way!#. I would not pick this for an adult vacation getaway :), but for a 'family stay' events this is excellent. The rooms were good, for the price right what I was expecting. The staff was great. I only had one request and it was done promptly. The restaurant service was good #it got extremely busy one night so the delays were understandable#. March 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected I was worried about staying after I read other reviews, but it was better than expected. The hotel was clean, the front desk staff was great, and the location had easy accessibility to the highway. My daughter and her friend enjoyed the waterpark, and the cafe/ store was very convenient and always open when we needed snacks I do think they need new mattresses, sheets, and pillows as they were definitely old and worn. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and park, terrible restaurant We really enjoyed everything about our stay except for the restaurant (Casey's). We waited a really long time for our waitress to even come to our table, as did everyone else in the place. They seemed incredibly understaffed. Just so we could get our food quick, my husband and I ordered the buffet. The kids could eat free from the kids menu, so we ordered those for them. The buffet food was not very good and they were out of several things. For the kids they were out of chocolate milk. The buffet had several dessert choices, but only one item didn't have nuts. We have nut allergies in our family. We did not return for breakfast the next morning. March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by decent room Room was clean and comfortable, however the condensation on the window never went away, so the ventilation wasn't good. The restaurant service was slow, the kitchen couldn't keep up with the amount of people eating at the restaurant. The menu was glorified bar food. I ordered boneless wings, and received oversized nuggets, no sauce. Didn't eat most of them. No ribs in Kansas City? Water park was ok, very crowded. Locker room smelled like it needed to be disinfected. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always happy This is our third time to Holiday Inn and Co Co Key. Of course is was busy but the staff was very pleasant as always. Our room was next to the elevators and it was kind of noisy. We are usually on a higher floor facing the stadium. Our only complaint was we tried to eat at the restaurant and stood for about five minutes before we were told it was a 1/2 wait. Surprised since there were open tables and no one else waiting. So instead of being able to eat there and two of our children eating free, went some where close and spent $70. We are a family of five and look for places to stay that cater to families, like kids eat free. But we will be back and with more knowledge to make our visit better. I have to say again, the Holiday Inn staff is always pleasant!!!!! March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Environment, Friendly Staff We were there during the Big 12 Tournament. The staff was friendly, our room was comfortable and spacious. We went to the CoCo Key Water Resort as well. Again, the staff was friendly, the water resort was clean, and the water felt great. I look forward to the next time we are able to go back. March 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Dinner was a nice experience and our children loved the waterpark. Sadly, our experience with several of the waterpark life guards was disappointing. No one ever smiled or spoke to us and when we asked for directions three of the guards we asked told us they could not help us with finding the other pool located in the hotel. On the brighter side the hotel staff had to replace our television because it did not turn on. The gentleman that was sent to help us was delightful and very pleasant. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! We brought our granddaughters there to celebrate a birthday,which all of them told us that it was the best birthday party they ever went to! The room was immaculately clean and a good size. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Birthday cake was adorable & delicious...all of party favors for the birthday girl were superb. Waterpark was totally awesome,fun for all! Would defiantly recommend this place to everyone for a fun birthday place & place to stay. Thank you so very much! March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spring break getaway Me and my husband took our 6 year old daughter here for the weekend starting her spring break. It was super busy, but it was worth it. We didn't even have to leave the hotel once we got there. They have a great restaurant right inside or a lil convience like store if you just wanna grab something and go. The room was really nice and the water park was just what she wanted. Would def go back and have been telling all my friends to go. March 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience! Stayed one night and had very uncomfortable bed. Beds were double beds but sheets were for a queen size bed! Sheets were very loose and would bunch up under you. Indoor water park had a very strong chlorine smell that had us coughing and burning eyes. Second morning went back to pool and had the same strong odor and the lazy river was closed until they had enough life guards to man it. March 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Spring Break The staff was very friendly. Upon arrival I was greated promptly. Rooms were nice. The issues were parking and the elevators. Parking was terrible during the entire stay! The elevators were always jam packed with people and the wait was terrible. It was quicker to take the stairs from the 6th floor than it was to wait on the elevators. I pitty the people on the higher floors....... I would stay here again but only during the slow season! March 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Once in my room, I tried to get ice. Room books say there is ice on each floor but not on the 10th floor. You can go to 9 or 11 if you want ice. I also picked up the room menu, made some choices, called room service. I try to eat healthy when I travel. They said new menus probably not in rooms yet. I called the front desk and she said they had probably missed my room. As I picked up the menu it was stuck on something red and sticky on room table.The girl on the phone (Cari) was rude and impatient. I got dressed and went across the street to get dinner. With 12 inches of snow on the ground, that was the last thing I wanted to do. When I checked out in the moring the desk girl was talking badly about another customer to someone of the phone. Too many choices out there to return. I travel about 150 days per year. March 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn Coco Keys in Kansas City for a cheer competition. The hotel was nice and clean and quite large. The staff were friendly especially the ones in the sports bar. The food we ordered was nothing to brag about and a bit over priced but we didn't have to go out in the rain and try and find someplace to eat so the convenience was nice. Our daughter enjoyed the water park with the other cheerleaders and my husband and I enjoyed the full bar. :) The only real downside was that our toilet had barely any water pressure so we had to flush multiple times each time someone went to the bathroom. March 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was nice but not sure I would return. The room itself was nice (bathroom a bit small) but overall nice. We ran out of toilet paper in the bathroom and had to call the front desk to ask for more. After about 30 minutes we had to call and ask again because my two children really had to use the restroom. After the second call, we received the toilet paper in about 5 minutes. The restaurant in hotel had poor service. Took about an hour to get our food (they were not busy) after a long wait because the staff forgot about us. Breakfast buffet was okay but I felt it was a bit overpriced. The waterpark I felt was clean but at times it didn't seem very organized. People waited in line for tubes (had to have in order to ride two of the slides) for an extreme amount of time. The lifeguards made a few of the people give up their tubes to the next people in line but not everybody. The lazy river was very full and the bottom of it was really rough. Both my children had scrapes on their knees and feet as did I. Also the other family with us had scrapes on their knees and feet also. My children did have fun in the waterpark, I am just not convinced that I will return. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good pillows. I stayed at the Holiday Inn Waterpark in Kansas City February 28 - March 3, 2013. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The staff cleaned the bathroom and made the beds every day in a timely manner. The bed had a variety of pillows, from fiem to soft. The bed itself was very comfortable, and I slept very well. March 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff helpful food offering poor I had previously stayed at this property and they had a very nice food offering, it is now a low end convenience store type food offering. The service staff was very very nice and apologetic about the food offering. Twice in the morning the front desk clerk was sleeping soundly, this at about 630 am. There is no free coffee service in the lobby, its 4 bucks for a cup in the cafe. Will be my last trip to this property. March 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service and management * Advertised as Coco Keys Resort but upon check in we find out that we have to pay extra to use the Coco Key water area. *Non working television in both rooms. 1st room, maintenance helped. 2nd room, nobody helped. Should we really have to work on a television in order to get a picture in? *NO HEAT in our bedroom overnight. *Condensation was so bad on windows we couldn't even see outside. *Condensation on window sill was so bad it was dripping onto floor, into my sons shoes. *Once heat was fixed we could not turn the heat down. Room was then unbearable. * We had to ask for a new room *Worker who brought us keys to our new room wouldn't even answer a question NOR help us move our belongings up to the 12th floor. We were treated as a nuisance. *Lobby floor was so wet my husband almost fell. Nobody even helped or apologized *parking lots were unplowed making finding a parking spot nearly impossible. Even the handicapped were unplowed. *when asked to speak to management, no one was on site. *Non working alarm clocks in both rooms *Water temperature in shower was luke warm and fluctuated. These are just my major complaints. There were plenty of other issues. I expected to travel 9.5 hours with kids; check into the hotel and relax. This is hands down my worst hotel/travel experience. We were vocal with asking for help and were basically ignored. Upon checkout, we once again asked for the manager and once again we were told one wasn't available. We also overheard another guest complaining and asking for the manager. Very poorly ran business. March 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service The staff and service are great! My family enjoyed the waterpark and the relaxing atmosphere after playtime. March 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, toliet backed up several times I rented 3 rooms for one night. When we first checked into our room the maint man came in and said the toliet had backed up just before that. Maint. had to come to the room several times and we were only there for 1 night. Staff was cleaning the hallway carpet very early sunday morning and did not have a peaceful night. One of the other rooms the door did not lock and we did not find that out until Sunday morning so someone could have gotten into the room and taken our belongings. The Resturant - We went to dinner saturday night in a large party (almost 20) and we waited over an hour for appetizers while only 5 of us ordered from the menu, the rest had the buffett and the Manager did take care of us but we had 2 4 your old boys that were starving waiting for a kids pizza? That takes an hour? Coco keys was nice but I will not be dining at the resturant again. Staff was friendly but not what I would have expected from a Holiday Inn... Disappointed. Very unprofessional March 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kids Dream , Parents not so much! The Hotel and accomodations were more than adequate Pricing was appropriate for the facilty and level of service Distance from major areas of interest including walmart is minimal and easy to find Did not notice any level of security in the Swimming Area , dining hall , hallways or after hours General public is welcome , no screening of individuals entering into the watar park with children Although the lifeguards present an obvious presence and show great diligence in their duties of observing the safety of the swimmers , there primary focus is always on the water and its occupants , no one appears to be observing the patrons at the bar or the common sitting areas , there should be some level of modesty and appropriate behavior regulations in the presence of Alcohol and small and teenage children , I did not see this and I was there in the water park for 6 hours , Also , there is no security presence in the water park lobby. I strongly recommend NOT eating at the water park food service location, I observed several unhealthy practices regarding the hotdogs and cheese , fingers in the plates and handing of food items and money in less than sanitary conditions, In Hindsight I regret eating there and would not choose to eat there should I return , it would be best to leave the resort area and eat at the hotel dining area. February 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. The room was nice and a good price. It included a 2-day pass to the indoor water park. This water park is great for young kids but if you are over 5' tall find another water park. I would take young kids here for parties or for fun days. Anyway the room and service were good and in a good location. February 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Worth The Money I've really enjoyed my experiences with Holiday Inns, up until this past weekend. Most Holiday Inns are very clean and well maintained, but I was very disappointed in this particular hotel. Understandably, with a snow storm that had just happened it would be expected to see snow on the ground and even see the occasional snow pile in the parking lot. But to have multiple small piles taking up 4-5 parking spots in an already small parking lot is ridiculous, as well as sidewalks not being cleared. Having to park in the back parking lot wouldn't have been to bad, had the one rear entrance actually worked. It's a little awkward to be a guest and be told that it will be easier to just walk through the loading dock. If I'm paying this much for a hotel, I would expect to be able to actually enter a guest entrance. Once in the room, it was noticed that there was a funny smell in the room that was very noticeable because the air conditioner wasn't working very well and continued to not work on a consistent basis. Then to be in the restroom and smell smoke on the towels or the room in general wasn't very appealing. I also understand that it's a large hotel and on a weekend there are many people there but again for the money I would hope that the room would be a little more sound proof; an example would be that we could hear the elevator from two rooms down. The front desk staff at this hotel are great to work with and very friendly, house keeping seemed to do a fine job as well. Other than that we didn't interact with many others. We had thought about vacationing in KC for the summer and staying at this hotel in order to use CoCo Keys Resort. After this last weekend we agreed that we have changed our mind about staying at this hotel for our summer family vacation. February 25, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown
Select to close.
View of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel from downtown The Crowne Plaza Kansas City Front Desk and Lobby The Crowne Plaza Kansas City lobby is a great place to gather
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.