Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 224 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by will not stay at this hotel again would not ever go to this hotel ever again very poor service rubbish room rubbish food it was our 49 wedding anniversary spoiled March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great Spa experience. I spent the weekend here on a Spa package with a group of people. This included lunch, dinner as well as a Spa treatment and use of all the facilities. The Spa rooms and pool were great. The only downside is that was no control over using the Jacuzzi, so it was pretty crowded on the Saturday. In fact the Spa and pool were very busy on the Saturday, but as our package allowed us to stay all day Sunday as well, it was very quiet on the Sunday....bliss! Recommend you stay for longer on the Sunday if you can! Reflexology treatment was relaxing as well as very interesting. The food was delicious and when we asked for extra puddings to take to our room that evening; this was accommodated too. The beds were really comfortable and nice hot shower. All in all; a good experience. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We stayed for 2 nights for our daughter's wedding with many family members and found the hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms of a good design and very clean. The hotel has a very friendly ambiance considering the size. Parking was a slight problem during the Carping On exhibition. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hot Stuff I have stayed at this Hotel many times and never sampled the delights of the fresh coffee machine - this time I did and had the best hot chocolate I have ever tasted, made by the absolutely charming Nicola - my cup runneth over in many ways....... March 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfy bed and Sky Sports in the room Lovely weekend in a spacious and comfortable room with lovely views over golf course. Impressed to have sky sports in the bedroom. Very clean with good toiletries and excellent shower. Well equipped gym and very friendly and competent spa staff. Food good but not a fan of buffets-breakfast queue very long for cooked food. Big downside was no free WiFi access. Unacceptable in a hotel of this standard. Strongly disliked the system of having to pay £50 per day in order to be able to charge anything to your room. We didn't need that kind of allowance and my credit card had been swiped at check in so seemed non customer friendly system. Have never been told to pay up front like that anywhere else in order to be able to charge against the room bill. Other than that good choice of venue for girls spa break. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spa We had a lovely stay the food the service the rooms the hotel was fantastic but was very let down by the spa the swimming pool was cold the jacuzzi was not like a jacuzzi it was just weak bubbles and the sauna and steam were very tatty and the loungers around the pool were not impressive and the changing rooms were unclean and very cheap compared to the rest if the hotel !! March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay! I stayed with a friend for a night and used the spa. The room was good and the beds were really comfortable. Food was excellent; something for everyone. The spa relaxation room and nail bar could do with a makeover but treatments were good. Would recommend a stay. In fact looking to book again and take my daughter for a treat. March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The good & the bad We stayed here for one night on 1st March 2014. Nice setting for the hotel, we came here to see the hotel about 10 years ago, it's looking very tired in the common parts now. We was put in room 510 in the village, which was separate from the main hotel. Room was lovely & trendy with a really nice view. Went to the bar for a late lunch which was very nice but expensive. Went back for an afternoon nap, no such luck with all the door slamming & cackling from all the rooms around us. Went for dinner in the main restaurant and was sat next to 2 drunk men, well that killed the romance of dinner... The food was delicious though so no complaint there. Back to the bar for drinks but now it was about 10.45 Football blaring out of the TVs which no one was watching, this does not create a good atmosphere. Bedtime, more door slamming at 1.30, 2.30 & 4.45am and very drunk ladies making A LOT of noise all around us again. Woke at 8.30 by more very loud ladies discussing their breakfast & more door slamming. Breakfast was delicious. Did I enjoy my stay, yes I enjoyed the very rare opportunity I got to spend time with my husband away from 2 small children. What I didn't enjoy was the other guests who were inconsiderate to 2 parents who really wanted to catch up on some sleep!! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great room I stayed in 306 in the village. Lovely room with great views across the golf course. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ab Fab (Super Resort) What a pleasant stay I had at the Five Lakes resort, nothing was too much trouble, great room, food was stunning, These people really know how to make you feel special, one of the managers (Stuart) made me feel welcome and was truly helpful, all the bar and restaurant staff were brilliant. Excellent place to stay. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive hotel, excellent service I rarely feel the need to write a review for anywhere that I stay but on this occasion I feel I must make an exception. I stayed here at the end of January for 1 night and was impressed from the moment I walked in through the foyer. Whilst I had no time to enjoy the golf courses or even try out the leisure centre, everything that I experienced at the hotel was excellent. I must give special mention to the restaurant service. The staff on duty that night, James, Aisha and Andreas could not be faulted at all. I was particularly pleased by the level of engagement they demonstrated. Should I be in the Colchester area again on business I will not hesitate to stay here. Thoroughly recommended to all February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Jewell in the Crown This place just gets better and better............... This hotel is superb in vey way, from the food to the the beds, but hat really makes e are the staff, quality service, polite, professional wrapped up in a "can do" approach. The new food menu is gorgeous, stunning and great value. Whether you are welcomed by the charming Summit or the beautiful Nat (who looked after me really we'll every morning), you will be in good hands. We'll done Crowne Plaza February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel - very poor business facilities Probably the best Crowne Plaza property that I have stayed in world-wide. Excellent service from staff. Recognised as Platinum member and upgraded to Club room. Restaurant excellent. Fantastic facilities on site. Big disappointment was the non-existence of the business centre described on the IHG web-site. Only one PC available in the, at times, very noisy club lounge, but with no printing facilities. Document could only be printed at the reception desk using a memory stick provided by myself. Photocopying in the main office. Nevertheless, a great place to stay with outstanding staff. February 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Night in North-East Essex My wife and I chose to stay at Five Lakes because we were attending a party at the hotel. It was a good decision, because our room was coveniently located for the function room. The staff were all very polite and helpful, and our room upgrade was particularly appreciated. The only problem we experienced was a fault with the A/C, which resulted in the hot air not working. After reporting the matter, a member of staff soon appeared (even though it was late evening) with a portable electric heater, which did the trick. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointing I stayed at this hotel to celebrate my daughters birthday and to visit Colchester Zoo. On arrival we found the staff very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in an Executive room in the Village where I thought we would enjoy a good comfortable nights sleep, as in the past we have stayed in the main hotel and was disturbed by guests celebrating Hen Parties by very loud drunk party goers keeping us awake. I expected by choosing to stay in an Executive room away from the hotel in the Village it would be quieter. However, to our great disappointment we were kept awake by our neighbors having a party in the room next door. I did call to report the noise at around 12.30 ish and I was not able to settle my daughter back down to sleep until 1.30am. I did speak with a very nice Operations Manager, and was told that security did come to the room next door and tell the party of 10 people that they had to break up the party and leave. The operations manager did explain that the hotel have an allocated quite floor and offered me a discount of 50% on a one night visit if I decided to come back and stay, with a followup email confirming this a day later. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great bed my last night out of 5 nights the noise from the water system near my room was awful and it was about 4-30am and lasted about 45 minutes when I checked out I told reception that my stay was fine except for this problem, I thought the response I got was very poor as I was told they would get maintenance to look at it and they were sorry about it, not what I would have expected from a 4star hotel. I will still return to this hotel and many others in the group, but I would like to know the hotels thoughts on this. February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel The hotel is clean comfortable and the beds give you the best night sleep you could ever possibly have. The staff at this hotel are trained to a high standard as the service from housekeeping to the highest level was EXCELLENT. I will be back to enjoy this hotel very soon. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so enjoyable . February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and hotel Had a lovely weekend, the hotel looks lovely and all the staff are really friendly and hotel room was comfortable and very modern with a great view. During the day we was in the spa and was in the pool and it was lovely and clean and the pool was a lovely temperature In the evening we had a stater and main, which was lovely and great services but food took a little while to come up and the food price was reasonable. Would go back to hotel again!!!! January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality, Quality, Quality This resort is excellent, great location, super facilities, great value and WONDERFUL staff. Came here for a business meeting and was thrilled at the facilities and range of services available. i would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this resort, super. The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble, especially BILLY the R and B Manager - well done Billy, you will be the GM one day. Nat cooks a smashing sausage in the morning, well worth getting up for. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a super stay I stayed at this resort on business recently and was overwhelmed by the quality of the resort, the bedrooms are of an extremely high standard and very clean. The staff are a great asset, always polite and professional, keen to make your stay a pleasure. As you would expect from such a prestigious place, the food was excellent, fresh, well cooked, hot and great value. The reception and bar staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, brilliant, especially Martin and Erika, super employees. Well done Crowne Plaza January 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Maintenance... Dear crown plaza, I am a regular guest a the five lakes. I recently stayed for two nights, the food, cleanliness etc was excellent but my experience was somewhat compromised by the bathroom.... The shower did not drain away so after two minutes the shower tray would fill with water and drench the bathroom floor...the toilet also was broken so didn't flush. I reported this on the first night and was told it would be addressed the next day by the maintenance team. I arrived the next night and neither was fixed, I reported it also when I checked out... The above ruined what could have been two relaxing evenings. The room was 126 Thanks, January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very relaxing spa break A truly lovely girls spa weekend I would highly recommended and would love to go back soon January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing view from window. bedding was great Only problem was the bathroom sink needed disinfecting as it smelt awful and the toilet holder needed re-screwing to the wall Did not like the heating controls as it was difficult to adjust and was noisey Apart from that the hotel was very comfortable and will stay there again January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great night huge comfy bed yummy 3 course meal and very polite and helpful staff Went to the crowne plaza in maldon essex as a birthday treat on 30th dec 2013 with my partner and was impressed from start to finish when we arrived we were a little early so went and had a drink in the bar very polite bar staff. Then we went and checked in and were greated by a very lovely lady who was very thorough and helpful we went to our room which was very big and had a enormous bed which u could just sink into nice clean crisp bed covers and we chilled in our room till our dinner watching movies on the big tv. Dinner was served 3 course buffet lots of choice but if you didnt like the buffet you could have something from the main menu the food was very yummy the salad bar had lots of different choice and all the veg where not really soft or hard as you get most places they were lovely soft but with a bit of crunch left in them. The night stay was amazing I had the best nights sleep in ages and even was so comfy I did not want to get bk up bht when we did we went to breakfast which was also very yummy I would definetely recommend this hotel to others and will definitely be coming here again thanks for a great night. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brrrrrrilliant As always enjoyed the stag with family, clean well appointed rooms and smiles everywhere you go. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Hotel, Superb Stay with Great Sports Facilities My wife and I stayed with 5 young children last summer and we really had a fantastic time. The staff were extremely helpful and everything we needed was available. The rooms were very comfortable too. The hotel was serene and plush in beautiful surroundings and not too far from the coast - definitely recommend! Room however could have been a little cleaner. The bed was moved very slightly and from the quantity of dirt that was revealed it was clear the staff hadn't cleaned under the beds for months! Otherwise cannot fault our experience. Thanks and look forward to seeing you soon over the X-mas holidays! December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I stay regually at this hotel for work and the staff and service are always immaculate. This hotel is a real gem! December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel and spa We were a Group of ten ladies on a spa break for a friends birthday. We had a lovely time. The hotel was very organised for a large group, with our rooms all ready and together, a table for ten in the restaurant and a good choice of food. Spa area and treatments rooms were all very clean. Will hopeful be returning very soon as we all had a lovely weekend. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay 1st December 2013 Very enjoyable, staff helpful and attentive. First time here we will be returning. Only problem both lifts down on final day, unfortunate as my wife has difficulty with stairs. Spoke to reception staff, problem solved, they took us to our room via staff lift. December 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beauty Is Only Skin Deep Great bedrooms, lovely comfy beds and a good nights sleep. Shower is old, but works well. Make sure you are in the main hotel rather than the "village". Reception staff need some training and guidance on their service skills in representing a 4/5 star brand. They were okay, but not to the standard I would have expected. Restaurant and bar menu are minimal, lack of variety and choice, and the prices are expensive. The food is nothing special. This is an issue as the hotel is really remote and nothing else is in the vicinity, so I would eat before I arrive the next time I visit. Leisure facilities are good, pool is large and the gym is well equipped. I felt that the locals who are members aren't too keen on guests using "their" gym and their was a bit of an atmosphere. December 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>