• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The hotel does not accept pets other than service animals. Service Animal Papers required. Local short term and long term boarding is available at Pet Care Professionals, Inc. Call 9013240202 for more information. 2651 Union Avenue Extd. Memphis TN 38112

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Memphis Cook Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
St Jude Children's Research Hospital
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
AutoZone Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Orpheum Theatre
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • We offer both self parking and valet parking. As of July 1, 2013 the daily parking fees are $17.00 for self parking and $20.00 for valet parking. Taxes are included in parking fees. Limited bus and trailer parking is available for $35.00 per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 17.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 20.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:230
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:97
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:133
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:230
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11

Our Memphis Meeting Hotel is the Perfect Place for Your Next Corporate Convention

The Crowne Plaza Memphis hotel offers affordable hotel accommodations in the heart of Memphis, TN. Our downtown Memphis hotel is just 12 miles from Memphis International Airport (MEM) and minutes from the Cook Convention Center, making us the perfect Memphis meeting and convention hotel for business travelers and corporate conventions.

Our convenient downtown Memphis
View More

Our Memphis Meeting Hotel is the Perfect Place for Your Next Corporate Convention

The Crowne Plaza Memphis hotel offers affordable hotel accommodations in the heart of Memphis, TN. Our downtown Memphis hotel is just 12 miles from Memphis International Airport (MEM) and minutes from the Cook Convention Center, making us the perfect Memphis meeting and convention hotel for business travelers and corporate conventions.

Our convenient downtown Memphis hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Memphis trolley system which provides easy access to the convention center and business district as well as the local tourist attractions that help make Memphis a great vacation destination.

Looking for something fun to do in Memphis? Music enthusiasts will be pleased to know that the world-famous Beale Street Entertainment District is within walking distance of our downtown Memphis vacation hotel and Elvis Presley’s Graceland is just 8 miles away. Sports fans can catch a game at AutoZone Park, home of the Memphis Redbirds, or the FedEx Forum, home of the NBA's Memphis Grizzlies.

The Crowne Plaza Memphis hotel offers luxury accommodations and amenities to compliment its great downtown Memphis location. From quiet zone floors to Sleep Advantage packages, we provide everything you need to rest well while on the road.

View Less
Features
Our affordable Memphis meeting hotel is conveniently located in downtown Memphis, Tennessee and is a short block away from the Cook Convention Center. Our downtown Memphis hotel offers quick access to all the local attractions that make Memphis unique.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Holiday Inn Ever! I travel extensively for my job. 50% of the time, I'm on the road. My responsibilities are nation-wide, and since I stay at Holiday Inns exclusively, I see a lot of them. The Holiday Inn-University is, without a doubt, the best Holiday Inn that I've ever stayed at. It's a beautiful facility, far more contemporary than most of the hotels in the Holiday Inn group. My recent four-day stay was absolutely wonderful, from start to finish. I'd called ahead to arrange for the hotel's airport shuttle. My flights were delayed several times, but the hotel tracked their status and I couldn't believe it when I walked out of the airport and found the shuttle waiting for me, a welcome sight after a tedious day of travel. The driver even greeted me by name. BTW...both of the shuttle drivers that I encountered were absolutely wonderful. Either could host their own late-night TV show. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. They were happy, almost eager, to provide insight into the sights and activities available in Memphis. The housekeeping staff was courteous, conscientious and efficient. But the best part of my stay was the hotel's restaurant. It was far superior to any Holiday Inn in-house restaurant that I have experienced in the past. The dinner menu and the quality of preparation far surpassed my expectations. This was completely unexpected, as the hotel is situated in a city known for its dining. The prices were very modest, given the quality of the meal, a welcome change for one constrained by an employer's expense policy. Being without a vehicle and too tired to deal with a taxi or the hotel shuttle after a day in the field, I elected to eat dinner each evening in the hotel. The staff was friendly, attentive and above all, "chatty", which served as a catalyst for conversation among those dining in the restaurant. All of this made what would normally have been just one more boring hotel meal an enjoyable social experience. To those that may dine in the hotel's restaurant, here's a suggestion: Order the Nut-crusted Rack of Lamb! (It's unbelievable). If this isn't the best Holiday Inn on the planet, I would be very surprised. The Holiday Inn-University of Memphis should be the model upon which all Holiday Inns are based. If any of the hotel staff happens to read this review, please accept my sincere thanks for an absolutely wonderful stay. Trust me, I'll be back! April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place. Reasonable price I was pleased with my stay at this HI. I was close to other ,meetings I had, the room was very nice, clean and quiet. Food was good as well. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient location across from Un of Memphis We always stay at this Holiday Inn when in Memphis. The restaurant is excellent, the beds are very comfortable. My only complaint is no bellhops to help upon arrival. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I was wowed the moment I walked into the lobby. I had never stayed in such an elegant Holiday in hotel before. I had no Idea that this facility was not only a hotel but a cultural center. The Staff was impeccable, very courteous and friendly. My room, a two room suit was very nice and very quite even though it was on the first floor. The price of the room was very good as well I went to the Holiday Inn website and booked it. My company had a training class there and I was the instructor. The conference room was great, the food served during the meeting was a Tasty lunch ant the staff took very good care of my class. My Thanks to The Holiday Inn Memphis-Univ. Of Memphis for a wonderful stay and meeting. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Enjoyed our stay at HI Univ of Memphis. Easy to access the places I need to be in Memphis. Very clean and comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay Last week was our second stay in Memphis-Univ of Memphis. It was a very pleasant experience. The rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is excellent. I would certainly stay there again. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service and great room This was a very pleasant erexperience from the front desk personnel to the shuttle drivers thst took me over to the University. All the housekeeping staff were very accommadating. The food was great. The breakfast buffet is worth the price and the staff was great always smiling. Enjoyed the little grill too. Outstsnding burgers! The room was clean, comfortable anf quiet. The price was right it just made my stay for business very comfortable I can't thank you enough and I can't wait until this fall when I will be back! March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I ate at the in house restaurant, the Lamb plate I received was superb, completely above expectations. If you get a chance I fully recommend this facility March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and quiet room Our room was very clean and quiet. The hotel's proximity to midtown and the University of Memphis can't be beat. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Totally impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness and value of this Holiday Inn. The front desk was friendly and helpful and immediately recognized me as a PC Member. The room was comfortable and the bed great; We at the the Restaurant where service was top class and the food was probably the best I've ever had at a IHG brand hotel, let alone a Holiday Inn. We've decided that should we visit Memphis again, we will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn! February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unique Facility This hotel is fantastic, not only does the facility have a unique layout, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant has excellent food with caring servers. Great value! February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Fantastic and Accommodations Convenient and Comfy I cannot say enough about the staff at this property. We stay often at this location and as you might expect, we are warmly welcomed every visit. But the entire team here cannot do enough for us. They are friendly, helpful and always go out of their way to make our stay there as comfortable as possible. I see more smiles on the staff faces than at my family reunions. Travel these days is not as fun as it used to be. But staying at this location is something we look forward to BECAUSE OF THE STAFF. The accommodations are ALWAYS clean and comfy. Unlike other hotels, the free internet access always provides a strong and usable signal. The beds are soft and comfy. The water pressure is strong and the temps get toasty. I wish this property and its staff could be picked up and dropped into every place that I travel... Thx! h January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay in Memphis! Thanks to the polite and knowledgeable staff at the Holiday Inn, University of Memphis, our stay was wonderful. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Drew, who graciously informed us of the hotel conveniences and city "must dos" for Memphis. All of the front desk clerks were very helpful throughout the week. Housekeeping was extremely courteous while making our stay clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff was the best! The food was excellent, and the wait staff was especially competent. A special thanks to the young engineering student for making our dining experience so pleasurable. I hope to come to Memphis again and plan to stay at the Holiday Inn. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Quiet Area, helpful front desk! will stay again!!! December 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs remolding! Our room was very outdated and the carpets needed to be replaced. The bed needed to be replaced as it sloped terribly into the middle. This is suppose to be a crown jewel for HI as it is the HI that honors Mr. K. Wilson the founder of HI. On the other hand the staff is very nice. The Thanksgiving giving dinner is wonderful and the location is great. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service! We had appointments at The University of Memphis so we were right across the street. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and actually feel like family. We were able to get great service in the restaurant and great recommendations of other places to go. The shuttle was so convenient. We especially appreciated Brian, the night manager, who went way above and beyond to make us comfortable allowing early check-in and late check out because of our travel schedule. He truly made our experience great. We are considering sending our child to the U of M from several states away and this sort of kindness makes that decision much easier on parents. I would also recommend this hotel if someone wanted to see the city, then get away to a clean quiet comfortable place to make your home base, since it is not right in the chaos of of downtown. The neighborhood was comfortable and walkable too. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service & Quality! I asked if there was a place to get a cup of coffee at 5:50am other than the room coffee and I was told not until 6:30am when the resturaunt opens. About 5 minutes later a call came from the front desk asking me what I wanted in my coffee & moments later it was at my door!!! I don't think it is something everyone should expect but it sure made my week...very thoughtful! October 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful facility The facility was beautiful and service was average. The front desk was nice but did not go out of their way to serve us. The escalator was not operating. I was surprised that there was no keycard required to gain access as we had been warned about the safety issues in Memphis. However, we did feel safe at all times. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay The room was clean and quite, I even like the fact the bedroom had a door to close in the event it was loud in the open area outside the room. this was never an issue but I liked the idea. The staff was great very accomodating and the shuttle was a huge bonus. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Great location for us. Enjoyed the extra space. Beds were comfortable. Only con: phone was messed up and we got random calls starting at 7 a.m. with nothing but static - which woke us up earlier than we had wanted to be. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Safe This hotel is one of our favorites for many reasons. The staff is friendly and professional, and the rooms are quiet and clean. August 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room but that's it My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a Family Reunion weekend. I can say that my husband and I were pleased with our room. Love the suite set up with the fridge and microwave and living room area. We stayed two nights, house keeping did not come to clean the room and didnt even stop to ask if we needed fresh towels. I had to call the front desk for towels. Other family members experienced the same situation. I felt like the hotel was understaffed for the venues that were going on that weekend. We had a reunion, there were two weddings and receptions and a woman's conference. Service checking in was slow, the complimentary coffee pot was empty before 9:00 a.m. and was not re-filled. The gift shop if you call it that was under stocked. Didn't have any personal items needed, the vending machines only had soda pop in them. Didnt like it that the pool was not in the same area as the rooms, had to take a shuttel bus to the pool and the hours of the pool are un realistic for people vacationing. Not to mention it was closed the entire weekend. And on top of the hotel fee there is a additiona $5 to swim. Unacceptable. I will not reccommend this hotel to freinds and family. Thank you. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodations This hotel was very clean. I really enjoyed my stay. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was rude Staff wa rude. Attempted to check in early after a 9 hour drive, the manager was going to charge me a $50 early check in fee. Had to come back after three hours to get in my room. The next day while in the lobby I watched several people checking in early without paying a charge. HMMM. We wont be back! July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experience at Holiday Inn U of Memphis First of all the room was quite nice and conveniently located for the meeting I attended. The only problem we encountered was at check in with a trainee left all by herself at the front desk unable to manage someone who wanted to check in 2 hours before the 3 PM check in time. I asked that she call someone to see if a room was clean, which she did, but never followed up to determine if the room was available. Luckily, a night manager appeared after about a half hour and quickly resolved the situation. Generally, a nice place to stay, but it's clear that leaving an inexperienced trainee with the check in desk without any help seems to be a bad practice. Guarded, but favorable, recommendation for this hotel. Lesson for me: ask for a manager! July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by surprisingly nice I was impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of the Holiday Inn. I will be staying in their chain again. July 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodations; very comfortable and spacious rooms, but Was surprised that did not have complementary breakfast! July 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Spaces These suites are really amazing -- lots of room and well kept. My only complaint is that the lobby bar closes way too early. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff helpful Good location. Staff nice and helpful. Clean. Lots of pillows. Bed comfortable. Only wish it had a pool. June 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom smelled like urine when we got to our room the toilet was full of unflushed urine and the whole bathroom reeked. we called the janitor and he had to unclog the toilet, but the barhroom still smelled like urine. It had to have overflowed. no coffee cups, cobwebs in multiple places....severe lack of attention by managment. not indicative of most Holiday Inn's that we have stayed in lately. Won't stay there again when we return to Memphis. April 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown - Central Downtown Location!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown - Central Downtown Location!
Select to close.
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown - Central Downtown Location! Exterior Feature Crowne Plaza Memphis Elvis' Graceland Near Our Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis Downtown Hotel Near Orpheum Theatre Mississippi River Bridge Near Memphis Hotel FedEx Forum Home of the 'Memphis Grizzlies' Stax Museum Rock and Soul Museum Beale Street Entertainment Hotel Relax in our comfortable downtown Memphis lobby. Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn 1000 Points per Night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading