• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MINNEAPOLIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Polish
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accept pets at our property. If you wish to inquire about our pet policy further, please contact the General Manager or the Front Office Manager.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Walker Art Center/Sculpture Garden
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Mall of America
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI
Attraction:
Target Field
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Orchestra Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Follow signs to plum colored Hotel Elevators. Sunday-Thurs $22/day. In and out privileges with daily pass available. (bring lic. plate# to Front desk) A discounted rate of $12 applies to anyone entering after 2:31pm on Fri and all day Sat. 6'5" clearance
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 22.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 9.95 9.95  USD
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:222
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:132
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:90
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:222
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:17
  • FEMA Property Number:MN0273

Downtown Minneapolis Hotel's Location is the Best

Centered in the vibrant heart of downtown Minneapolis, our hotel's location, superb service and unrivaled amenities make the Crowne Plaza® Minneapolis - Northstar hotel the best.

Corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's downtown Minneapolis location near major corporations. Being within 2.5 blocks of two light rail stations makes it easy to get to meetings anywhere in the Twin Cities. We're considered "The Place To Meet
View More

Downtown Minneapolis Hotel's Location is the Best

Centered in the vibrant heart of downtown Minneapolis, our hotel's location, superb service and unrivaled amenities make the Crowne Plaza® Minneapolis - Northstar hotel the best.

Corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's downtown Minneapolis location near major corporations. Being within 2.5 blocks of two light rail stations makes it easy to get to meetings anywhere in the Twin Cities. We're considered "The Place To Meet "thanks to 10,000 sq ft of unique event space, an excellent business center and an outstanding Crowne Meetings Director and staff.

Minneapolis is home to world-class cultural icons like the Walker Art Center and Guthrie Theatre, plus 56 terrific museums. With professional teams playing at Target Field, Target Center and Xcel Energy Center, concert venues and cutting-edge shopping at Mall of America, there's truly something for each of our hotel's guests in downtown Minneapolis. And the climate-controlled, glass Skyway System connects you to everything from our hotel.

No matter what brings you to the Twin Cities, our hotel's amenities make your downtown Minneapolis visit memorable. From the unique sleep perks of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® Program to the sleek style of our Café Northstar, we're one-of-a-kind. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, and then spend a relaxing hour or two by the fireplace in our lounge. We look forward to serving you!

View Less
Features
World-class museums and theatre, corporate headquarters, efficient light rail service, professional sports and chic shopping are why downtown Minneapolis is our hotel's guests preferred destination.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable. A great place to stay for rest,relax, and go for walks to see what is in the area. Close to the concert that we went to also. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I believe that you should have it online that you charge for parking in your parking lot. I am not going to pay that much for a room and than pay for parking, too. That should be included in with your stay. I probably won't stay again, because of the parking problem. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great breakfast! Loved being able to walk down stairs and start the day with a yummy breakfast while planning our activities for the day! Great food and service. Comfy beds and pillows. Just wish there was a magnifying mirror available for applying make up! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed too soft/lumpy but service great! Quiet room facing parking lot. Staff helped us room close to family members. Breakfast was healthy and coffee good! Walking distance to lots of restaurants and symphony hall. Staff helpful for directions. Parking garage across the street is much less expensive than their lot which was full anyway.. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by charming hotel The hotel is convenient to downtown and great restaurants. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Downtown Gem! Services like one would find at a boutique hotel in a comfortable, secure, very clean environment. The staff was EXCELLENT, my room VERY nice, ALL good! June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Great room, breakfast was filling and close to desired conference. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice room- friendly staff We enjoyed our stay at your hotel. No problems. I don't know what else to say. Great Breakfast and the attendant kept it very clean. June 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn did not live up to its guarantee This was one of the worst Holiday Inns our family have ever stayed at. Upon arrival, the clerk informed me that the hotel parking area was full and that I would have to park across the street at the public parking garage, which I found totally unacceptable. This appears to be a common complaint among guests. We were then assigned a room with a Queen sized bed and a Queen sized sofa bed. At which time I informed them that we did not want a room with a sofa bed as our party consisted of four adults who all suffer from varying degrees of back and neck problems. I asked for a regular room with two actual beds, but was informed I had no other choice. I was very surprised that I had no other choice as these reservations were made in March 2014. The clerk also informed me that this room was an upgrade, an upgrade I totally did not want. As I had no other choice, I reluctantly agreed to take the room. We settled in our room and then went out for dinner and the Cher concert. Upon our return from the concert, we opened up the sofa bed and proceeded to settle in for the night, at least we tried. The sofa bed consisted of a poor quality mattress with springs that could be felt with your every move. As we knew we wouldn’t get any type of sleep, I called the Front Desk for assistance. The night clerk was very helpful in trying to find alternate accommodations at different hotels, but due to a convention in town and the Cher concert, accommodations were very limited. At my suggestion, he contacted a hotel in neighboring Albertville and found they had openings. At 1:00 a.m., my family and I decided to make the journey to Albertville. Unfortunately, due to unfamiliarity with the area at night, we missed the exit to Albertville. After realizing we missed the exit, we then decided to make the 456 mile trip to home. After the long drive home and the lack of sleep, I called the General Manager, to express my concerns about this hotel, and found him to be confrontational and uninterested in resolving this issue. I would like to invite the GM to sleep on the sofa bed that they wanted us to sleep on for a night. In addition to the above, the WIFI was very slow, and the bathroom door did not lock. It appears that this hotel may have been an older hotel, which the Holiday Inn chain purchased. Rooms need to upgraded and in need of new furniture. I definitely would not stay at this hotel again and will not refer it to anyone. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Holiday Inn! Staff was friendly, room was clean and inviting. The location of this hotel was perfect for business at the convention center and had much to offer in the way of food and entertainment in the city! It is right in the middle of the hub of everything! Easy access to train for a great June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, good value The staff were friendly, the room was clean, and breakfast was complimentary. The hotel is a short distance from the Convention Center; the train station is about a 10-minute walk. Overall, I had a great experience at this hotel. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expected more Room was very clean with all the basic needs covered. No in room fridge which would have been nice. Internet service kept kicking me out and had to keep logging back in. Fitness room only had cardio and no strength. Had to pay extra for parking which for the price I expected it to be included. Staff was great and very helpful with finding a great place to eat downtown. Breakfast had a lot of options although I did put the sign out for the free in room breakfast that never came. For the price I was just expecting more out of my stay. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at HIE Minneapolis Really great place, excellent location for convention center and also very proximate to Nicollet Mall and some other nightlife areas (although a little far from the riverfront stuff and the university area). Breakfast is adequate, didn't get too tired of it even after 5 days. Room is great, no complaints. Front desk were super helpful, even received a package for me and disposed of the large box when I was finished and didn't want to leave that for the housekeepers to deal with. Overall I'd definitely stay here again. It's certainly a notch better than most other HIE line hotels (I don't know if they're all doing the express breakfast in-room by now, which is still free, but that's a great perk!) June 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Appalling traffic and corridor noise/vibration in Rm 501 Nothing wrong with this hotel except for the appalling level of traffic noise night and day - and smashing banging noise from doors being dropped shut along corridor when staying in Rm 501. So severe that this room should not be used for accommodation. No such problems when changed to Rm 316. But first two nights complete misery - could not work or sleep - desk and bed actually shuddering and vibrating day and night from traffic noise and ricocheting effect of internal doors along corridor on that floor - some kind of design or structural issue and also geological issue. No traffic or door slamming noise apparent on check in - and no such bother after changed to lower floor and room towards the back of the hotel facing the car park not the street. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Robert is the best! Robert was serving breakfast Friday morning. He helped me with the selections & even made me a pancake! Having welcoming and friendly people like Robert to start your day can't be beat! June 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless in MN The room was noisy and the beds were uncomfortable. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall convenient Great location proximity to Convention Center. Complimentary breakfast is handy due to few other options on nearby streets. Friendly accommodating staff. Not really fancy compared to some surrounding hotels but provides essentials, everything is comfortable and works. I would stay here again when visiting Minneapolis. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and friendly staff This is a perfect downtown Minneapolis location with staff attentive to guest needs. The rooms were very comfortable with great lighting. I can see where parking is at a premium but we had no problem and always felt safe.. The work out area was clean and comfortable, the hallways were nicely decorated and the breakfast was more than anything I've experienced at other hotels. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Whirlpool suite My wife and I stayed in the whirlpool suite for a special date night. It was lovely! Just a little disappointed in the mattress quality... should have been much firmer. Everything else was fantastic. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dissappointed Was not appetizing to have to walk past the mop and bucket sitting in the hallway that was obviously used to clean something and stunk to high heaven. Room was not up to usual Holiday Inn Express cleanliness. Bathroom tile was falling off. Tub drain was not working May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Parking Conditions The hotel itself is fairly decent, and the breakfast is amazing. They do not have enough parking spaces to accommodate all the guests, and advise you to park across the street in a city owned parking ramp. For a businessman that works out of his car, this is simply not acceptable. I would not like it if I was there with my family, and if you have to run back and forth to your vehicle, I would recommend staying somewhere else. The parking ramp does not have automatic doors, so it is difficult lugging items back and forth. The staff must be tired of hearing complaints about the parking, and have a very short fuse. But it is frustrating for someone that spends 100's of days a year in hotels across the Midwest to come across a hotel with such an inconvenience. I checked in right at 3:00 PM, and was told there wasn't any parking, despite most of the spots being vacant. It's possible everyone was staying multiple nights and was out working during the day, but nonetheless, it is very frustrating. If I can't reserve a parking space next time, I will be staying somewhere else. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Upgraded to a King Suite This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn Express in quite some time. I was upgraded to a King Suite( I didn't ask for it, they just did it at no charge!) that had a wonderful jacuzzi tub and fireplace. Staff was friendly. Very informative on things to do and see in the Minneapolis area. I would recommend to stay at this Holiday Inn Express if you are in the area. Within walking distance (2 blocks) of the convention center. And lots to do on Nicolette Mall (streets in the area) . April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I have stayed here each year for almost 15 years while attending the NW Sports Show. It is only a 1/2 a block to the Convention center and this hotel has great rooms and a fabulous breakfast. Nice pool, hot tub and exercise room and close to restaurants. The staff are friendly too. I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but noise level was too high Hotel staff were excellent and the location of the property was very convenient to downtown Minneapolis. Pool is small but still quite nice and kept very clean. Only problem we had was that there was a young family staying in the room above ours and their children were using the room like a jungle gym. The noise was unreal. We called them and asked them to try to be quieter but they weren't interested. March 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough parking, did not honor Platinum free upgrade, small rooms Other Holiday Inns in the area are much better choices. My Crown Plaza stay Downtown last month was Great but This Holiday Inn was more like staying in a motel with no parking. Breakfast choices were only the bare minimum. Room was so small it made me feel like I was sleeping in a closet, Very very small rooms and their "kitchenette" was no kitchen but only microwave and small refrigerator. Management scolds you like a child if you complain. Non-responsive manager to complaints. I Moved to a different IHG hotel at Golden Valley, only a few minutes from downtown, with much better rooms and genuine customer service. Outdated motel. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome experience A little bit of a walk to the target center but we didn't mind walking. Totally worth the price. Very clean. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. The kitchenette room had a really cool layout March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Normal place for me. Located nice and close to the convention center - only a short walk. I always stay here when in Downtown. The only downfall this stay was the cheerleader crowd. Overall - good place to stay. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I would recommend your location and definitely will be back. Your service was great and our room was always spotless! February 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by broken hot tub in room.Night manager not friendly about situation. Front desk girls very nice and helpful. stated above. Our option for solution was kill power to room or move at 11pm.We addressed our problem at 430pm before we left for our event. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay...Average Holiday Inn Express This hotel has a good location near downtown Minneapolis. It seems to be an old hotel taken over by Holiday Inn Express and has not been renovated in many years...the room and hallways look worn and dated. The lobby is updated however and there is a pretty nice breakfast offering (normal for a Holiday Inn Express). If you are just looking for a place to sleep and need to be downtown, this hotel is alright. February 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Northstar Entrance Krona Bar and Grill Krona Bar & Grill Lobby Lounge Reception Crowne Plaza Northstar Entrance Skygarden
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click to learn more about our summer savings when you  book early.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading