• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
(e.g. Apr-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: ORLANDO
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Guide Dogs or Service Animals allowed. Unauthorized pets found in will be charged a 250 dollars cleaning fee.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
YMCA
Distance From Hotel:0.9MI
Attraction:
Orange County Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Discovery Cove
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Point Orlando
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 9.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 18.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 12.95 12.95  USD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 12.95 12.95  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:400
  • Total number of suites:92
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:100
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:178
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:400
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:15
  • FEMA Property Number:FL5340

Enjoy One of the Best Hotels in Orlando, Florida

When you're looking for hotels in Orlando, Florida, location is usually the top priority. Whether you're here for business meetings or to visit Disney World®, Universal Studios or Sea World, our hotel's in the midst of everything that this unique city has to offer.

Just because the award-winning Crowne Plaza® Orlando - Universal hotel is near theme parks doesn't mean it can't cater to business travelers. We're proud to offer
View More

Enjoy One of the Best Hotels in Orlando, Florida

When you're looking for hotels in Orlando, Florida, location is usually the top priority. Whether you're here for business meetings or to visit Disney World®, Universal Studios or Sea World, our hotel's in the midst of everything that this unique city has to offer.

Just because the award-winning Crowne Plaza® Orlando - Universal hotel is near theme parks doesn't mean it can't cater to business travelers. We're proud to offer nearly 7,000 square feet of space and standards such as a Crowne Meetings Director and a Guaranteed Wake-Up Call. Our Orlando hotel's location is near the Orange County Convention Center, Lockheed Martin, Darden and the University of Central Florida.

Orlando is synonymous with family fun and our hotel is perfectly located in the midst of everything. Be sure to hop on the I-Ride Trolley that stops at key spots like City Walk, Islands of Adventure, Universal Studios, Aquatica and Sea World. Our hotel's location is also convenient to Disney World®, Hollywood Studios and the Mall at Millenia, where you can shop at great stores like Bloomingdale's and Neiman Marcus.

As a certified green hotel on Universal Blvd, we're already a top place to stay, but we also offer a large outdoor pool, spa services, a gift shop, Cafe Del Sol and Elements Bar & Grille. Make your plans now to visit our hotel in Orlando, FL to enjoy the best stay possible.

View Less
Features
You can also benefit from scheduled transportation to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure featuring SeaWorld, Aquatica and the Walt Disney World theme parks and save money on meals for children under 10 with Kids Eat Free program. Located in the world renowned International Drive area, The Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal is the Place To Meet when visiting Orlando, Florida.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Have stayed numerous times is always a great place never a problem. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Multiple Stays For the past 20 years we have chosen Hoiday Day Inn each time we visited the parks at Disney World. As one of the staff said to us "Welcome Home" we are glad you are here. The breakfast ia always hot and has a variety of food to to fit any age or need to help them start their day. The rooms are quiet, clean,towels are big and fluffy. The beds are very comfortable considering we are used to a Sleep Number Bed. The staff is friendly and ready to make our time there a pleasant experience. March 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Somewhere Else Good location but overall not worth it! even this forced text is as annoying as my stay at this location. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Customer Service! We had a wonderful stay, upgraded as a perk of being in the priority club! Had upstairs neighbors that were unruly two out of three nights, but the staff quickly took action to quiet them each time I had to call. The staff couldn't have been better and made for a great Birthday weekend for my daughter. March 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The location is excellent. Walking distance to the parks and city walk. Also easy to access from highway 4. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds The beds were very uncomfortable, No support at all, they sunk in the middle. Time to change the beds : ) March 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Problem with A/C water leak Spent 6 nights in this hotel in a 2-bedroom suite. Staff was generally very friendly and willing to help. On the last night of our stay, I went into the closet of the master bedroom to retrieve our laundry bag to pack for the trip home. Found that half of the clothes in the bag were soaked (literally dripping wet) from a leak from the A/C unit located in the room above us. All of the clothes had to be immediately washed and dried. Hotel mangement stated they would reimburse us for the laundry costs, but the reimbursement was not made - either in cash or as a deduction on our bill. One shirt and several other white items were ruined due to dye-bleeding. NOTE: There was no indication outside of the closet that there was a leak of any kind. Don't know how long the A/C unit had been leaking. To their credit hotel maintenance did respond immediately to the problem that same night. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and quite relaxing after a busy "Universal" day My wife and I had a two-day pass at Universal so we decided to stay at this hotel for a couple nights. It is the closest you can get to the Universal gates, and it is also very clean and comfy. There were no issues with the staff. From check-in to check-out we were treated very well. The woman who checked us out at the desk even helped us deal with the less-than-stellar airport shuttle service we ordered (it was an hour late, which has nothing to do with the hotel whatsoever). The bed was so comfortable that we decided to sleep an extra hour, sacrificing some precious Universal time. How dare they have beds so comfortable?! They knew we'd lose time at the park, I bet! Overall, this was a wonderful hotel experience. If you're going to Universal I would recommend the Holiday Inn wholeheartedly. March 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was comfortable, but in need of some maitenance. The refridgerator door was been and only closed if you put your body into it; and there were no switched outlets despite the fact there were light switches for them, which makes one question the electrical work. The fitness center left a great deal to be desired, but then we were out and about and on our feet all day anyway. But the staff was outstanding. A call prior to my arrival was handled by the most cheerful and helpful person at the front desk. When I checked in she remembered my request and was the same helpful and cheerful person in phone in the evening as she had been in the early afternoon several days before. The staff is fantistic, the common areas clean and inviting, and the rooms comfortable and clean as well. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and TGIFridays The hotel experience was absolutly amazing. Our room was upgraded due to enrolling into the priority program. All the staff were very friendly and answered all of the questions we had with a smile. This is our second time staying at this hotel in 10 months and both times we had a pleasent experience.The only room complaint I have is when we entered our suite there was a broken candy on the floor. we left it there to see if they would vacuume the next day, through out our entire stay the room wasn't vacuumed but everything else was very clean. The priority parking pass was supposed to make it so that you would have a labeled parking spot close to doors but we were not able to park in the marked spots due to there were more priority members then priority parking spots. The waitresses in the TGIFridays were absolutly horrible during breakfast hours. Every time we went up to the buffet our silverware was taken and they took our beverages from the table as if we had left. There was an older couple who ended up being so fed up with the waitresses that they just got up and left. we had to leave money on the table and go other wise we would have missed our departure. As for the Hotel though Friendly staff, comfortable stay, and exceeded all of my expectations March 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of restaurant We were disappointed that the hotel did not have a restaurant. We were told to go next door to a TGI Friday's. We will not be staying here again. March 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Everything was great with the stay except the A/C didn't work that well. Just took a long time to cool off the room. March 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to be renovated The room was stinky, the Building Old and the beds Needs to be replaced. March 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel stay ever If you read no other review please read this one. Ok so I travel a lot for work and pleasure. And in my entire career I have never once felt the urge to write a review, well until now. Lets start with the check in. When I booked my room, I specifically requested a king room. This was supposed to be a romantic weekend for my girlfriend and I since it was her birthday. Well when I checked in I was informed that I was given a room with 2 doubles. Nothing says romance like separate beds. When I balked at this the young lady behind the counter very rudely said fine, I will give you a king, but it will not be ready for about 2 hours and I will not upgrade you. As a platinum member your supposed to get a get a free upgrade and Well I had already drove 8 hours and only had about an hour to decorate the room for my girlfriends birthday. She lives in Florida and I live in SC. So I took the room with 2 doubles. Now this may be a little pretentious of me, but as a platinum member every other Holiday Inn I have stayed at always had a little welcome gift. Nothing big, just a couple bottles of water a few snacks note from GM etc. Nothing big but a nice gesture to show they appreciate your business . Well not this hotel. Nothing. Not even a note. Next when I booked my room it was to include breakfast for 2 each day. Well the coupons were not in the room. I went down to the front desk and spoke to the manager who was just as rude as the young lady behind the counter. I see where they get their attitude now. She basically accused me of lying about the breakfast but she begrudgingly gave me the coupons. The breakfast was a awful buffet but this was not their fault since it was a TGI Fridays. Next the appearance of the hotel. This is an older property and I understand that. But it smelled like wet cigarets every where. Also we were on the 10th floor there were a few holes in the ceiling where they had been working, and also a few holes that had been repaired. It looked like a 3rd grader had done the repairs with glue. The room.. well there was hair in sink and tub, also I had white socks on and after walking around the room they were black. The carpets were filthy. Needless to say I wore flip flops the rest of the time. Next... what ever you do. Do not ask the hotel to call you a cab. It appears that they basically call one of their friends who is running a gypsy cab, no meters no rates. I did not even see a license. He charged us $8 bucks to drive across the street plus we have him a $2 dollar tip. So $10 bucks. When we left Universal Studios we took a Yellow cab and hey charged us $4 bucks. Now its only a few bucks but its the principal plus what would they charge for a long ride. Thank god I was able to use points for this hotel. I would never stay here nor recommend it. It was one of the worst stays I have ever had. March 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Desk staff was very responsive and friendly. Good job. February 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not your usual hotel stay While we were pleased with most of the services and accommodations at this Holiday Inn, we did have a rather rough second night. We originally were booked for only one night, but changed it to two consecutive nights to be eligible for extra priority club points offered in a new promotion. However, around 2:30AM the fire alarm and dreaded announcement came on very, very loudly scaring us to death. We quickly gathered up our valuables/electronics and exited the building climbing down seven floors along with other disoriented haggard guest. We were herded and lead out of the building into the parking lot across the street. It was very cold even for Florida. They did pass out water and blankets, but we were not fortunate enough to be on the receiving end of these items. We were allowed back into our rooms at 4AM and actually never did know what the problem was. Needless to say, our night was ruined and we departed around 6:30AM. Upon check-out we found the room was comped for that night. Would rather have had a choice of additional Club points or room costs comped, but choices were not offered. Haven't checked, but hopefully we did receive our additional points for the two consecutive nights. Funny thing, this happened to us another time in San Diego which also was a Holiday Inn. But so what. It could have been worse for sure. February 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My experience in HInn Orlando I liked this hotel very much, well located and good bedroom with all needed stuff inside. Good having a TGI just beside, a rental company inside, and park info and tickets selling helping the guest a lot, very convinient. What I think is that reception could be a bit more helpful and show they are happy to serve and talk with guest when asking for info or help. February 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a make over and a boiler upgrade! Considering the location of the property to Universal Studio the price was very attractive. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel forget it, if you need a cheap place to stay you're in luck. The hotel is showing its age, the carpeting in the hallways is filthy and the walls looked like they were used for backstops at a baseball diamond. The last night were were there the boiler went out and we had no hot water in the morning. The staff was friendly and the price was 1/3 of what you pay across the street, if the price was higher I would not recommend this property. The pool is located along side a major road so don't plan on laying by the pool side and relaxing. February 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Guest Services I hosted a couple from Australia who did not have transportation. Guest services would not aid them in calling a cab, suggest bus routes or location of nearby eateries. This hotel did not have a concierge. I was embarrassed as an American for the lack of service and courtesy offered by this hotel. If other accomodations had been available in the area I would have relocated my guests. My guests walked across the street to a competitors hotel chain for service!! February 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of management controls I am a Platinum Member and came to orlando for a convention. The hotels close to the convention center were booked so I picked this property for my stay. The directions to this property are inadequate on the website as well as from the clerk who answered the phone when I called. The front desk is woefully understaffed for the amount ant type of customers they are checking in. The gentleman in the gift shop was not friendl, refused to take a room charge and seemed very interested in being paid cash for my purchase. I traveled to the convention center by cab called by the hotel and others. With one exception they refused to take credit cards, did not run the meter and they also seemed more interested in cash. The room was clean and quiet but with the lax management Idid not feel comfortable leaving my laptop in the room so I carried it with me daily which was very inconvient. I asked the front desk about shuttles to Universal at night and was told they make one trip per day in the morning. with this property being near Universal and advertising a shuttle ths again seemed to be a lack of concern for customer satisfaction from management. I would not recomend or stay at this property again. February 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location We stayed for one night at this hotel and whilst we didn't spend much time in the room it was very comfortable. We stayed in a suite and it was really nice and spacious. We picked this hotel because of the location....so close to Universal! Would definitely stay here again. February 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business TraExperiencevel Hello, I stayed at the hotel for two nights in February 2013 and I would not recommend this hotel for the business traveler. There is no breakfast continental or otherwise offered by this hotel, you have to goto a chain restaurant that is attached to the hotel. Being a business traveler, I dont have time to go to a sit down restaurant for breakfast, I much rather would use the breakfast offered by the hotel, which unfortunately is not offered by this hotel. Being a platinum member I expected breakfast and I was dissapointed. The hallways are like a dungeon, with large noisy steel doors that really clank loud upon closing. The second night of my stay, the hotel was evacuated in the middle of the night due to a fire of some sort. What happened I do not know since there was no communication given to the customers. We just missed 2.5 hours of sleep! I sent in complaints about this hotel but they fell on deaf ears. I am now questioning my platinum status with Holiday Inn. Being the CEO of a company I am exploring other options in regards to my employees travel. February 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very convenient to Universal Very convenient to Universal, Good shuttle service, Staff was very friendly, You could buy your tickets for Universal or Disney right there. Highly recommend February 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking access & Breakfast Parking access due to sharing the lot with the rental car company makes finding a decent parking spot difficult. Lack of Continental Breakfast and pushing the TGI Friday's breakfast buffet was a bummer. January 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around great place to stay Great location, great conveniences and nice rooms. Always busy and cheerful so you feel safe and surrounded by good amenities. January 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk My room was good and the stay was OK until I checked out. The wrong rate had been entered and when I tried to get Candice to straighten it out she only made matters worse. Intead of credit the amount that was already charged ($346.50) and then charging the proper amount ($237.64) she told me she was crediting $108.84. Then she apparently credited $108.84 again. After that she charged $217.68 and applied another credit of $108.86. After spending an hour on the phone with Chris, he finally figured out what she did and explained it to me. While the math works out, I have to recconcile all of the charge card transaction on my expense report and show a breakdown of each day for hotel rate and taxes. I had to create a spreadsheet to figure out how to enter this and now have 45 enteries to make on my report instead of 18 if she had done this properly. Her mistake easily cost me about 4 hours of my time. January 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience I was very pleased with my recent stay at this hotel. We were heading to Universal Studios and wanted to stay somewhere close. Well this is right across the street! You can walk to Universal (We drove and parked in their lot anyway). We had a top floor room which was awesome to see Universal out the window. Having the TGIFridays on site was also very convenient for our family. There is all kinds of restaurants, Walmart, pharmacy, etc right down the street, which is very convenient. I have no complaints except that when we checked in, the front desk staff told us to use the back entrance and there would be an elevator there to take us up to the 10th floor. But when we got inside, we will had to haul our luggage to the main elevator by the front lobby as there is no elevator by the back door. January 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We stayed 11 days and it was not enough I was worried about negative comments I had read of this hotel. On our arrival, we were given a room that had not completed to fix, there were still some fans drying the carpet. After my complaint, I was given a new one, a suite with 2 rooms, one with the beds and in the other the kitchenette, living room with sofa bed. Enough space for the 2 of us and our four small children. They cleaned the room evreyday and changed every single towel. You don't need a car, It is just a 3 or 4 blocks walking to Universal Studios or at nigth to the Universal City Walk . You can rent a car rigth next to the reception desk and have everything within 5 minutes, supermarkets, malls, restaurants, It really has a great location and the price is not as high as the resorts of the parks. We stayed 11 days and it was not enough, we could come back again.....soon. January 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Very Nice Hotel! Pros: Room was very comfortable, cool and clean. It had a small refrigerator and microwave- which was a pleasant surprise! The complimentary soaps/lotion, etc were of good quality. Front desk staff were friendly and courteous. A BIG plus for FREE Wifi!!! Easy to connect to it too with password given to me upon check in. Safe environment. Decent pricing. Cons: I could clearly hear my neighbors talking and watching television next door. Also, many of the doors SLAM shut and the harsh noise travels down the hallways. Workers talked loudly on their walkie talkies in the hallways (Even up to 11pm at night). Hallways were pretty humid and warm up on the 10th floor, but room was very comfortable. January 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and accomodating I had read reviews before going to this hotel and I was apprehensive. Our stay was wonderful. I found the negative comments to be incorrect . We had one issue with a broken bed and the staff fixed the problem beyond our expectations. The staff was friendly and willing to help. I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. CM January 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior and Outdoor Pool Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Entrance Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Courtyard Aquatica - Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal MCO Hotel - Dragon Challenge MCO Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel- Universal Studios MCO Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal - City Walk Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal - Discovery Cove Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Lobby MCO Hotel Mezzanine Crowne Plaza MCO Hotel Atrium Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Atrium Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Lobby Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Lobby Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Mezzanine
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Select to plan a successful event with our interactive floor plans.