Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 158 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful My husband and I stayed over as he had a business meeting the following morning. We had the deluxe room with balcony and it really lived up to its description. The location is excellent the staff friendly and efficient It was a pleasure to stay we had a wonderful time. Looking for an excuse to stay again July 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I booked to stay at the Crowne Plaza for my sister's surprise 60th birthday, and as we were going on a boat trip from Caversham to Henley-on-Thames at 11.00am I asked if we could check in early as we wouldn't be back until 6.30pm. The staff were absolutely great and we were able to check into all 3 rooms at 10.30am. So, many thanks to the Housekeeping Staff who had the rooms ready. Lovely big bed, and pillows sooooo comfy. We all had a very nice 3 course meal in the evening and once again the staff were great! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying again in the very near future! June 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, comfortable but bland hotel. The main areas and rooms are all spotlessly clean but, like chain hotels the world over, the building is a little bland and lacking in atmosphere. Once through the door, you could be in any IHG property anywhere in the world. The plus side of this is that you know what you are getting when you book, but on the negative side you aren't really experiencing the place you are visiting. The best attributes of this particular hotel are the staff, all of whom in my experience are friendly and welcoming. When you stay in hotels as much as I do, that is very welcome. A downside? The aircon in this property is noisy and can keep you awake. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good all round experience Quality service with very attentive staff nothing to much trouble. June 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and great location This is a great hotel stop in the Reading area. The location on the river is relaxing, and provides easy access to trails for walking or jogging along the river. The hotel itself is serviced very well, and has a nice relaxed feel. However, for me the stand-out feature was the excellent staff - efficient, friendly and helpful in every way. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly atmosphere A very comfortable stay. The room was clean and very well appointed. Although our room looked out onto a very busy roundabout there was next to no road noise and it certainly didn't disturb us. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We will definately be staying here again. PS. The shower was the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An enjoyable stay We were pleased with our two-day stay at the hotel. The welcome by the reception staff was good as was the subsequent contact with other staff in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and, although located at the side of the hotel facing the road, the traffic noise was not audible. The breakfast choice was excellent and, although we enjoyed dinner on both nights, the selection was somewhat unadventurous. Notwithstanding that, the food was of a good standard. The only slight drawback was that, as one of our nights was a Saturday, there was the inevitable wedding reception. Whilst this was not a particular problem there were several children rampaging through the dining room during dinner which somewhat detracted from the overall experience. Overall, a delightful spot to stay, alongside the flowing waters of the mighty Thames. June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short but sweet stay! Myself and my partner only stayed at Crowne Plaza Reading for one night, but it was a very enjoyable stay all the same. We were spending the evening at a party just over the road at Caversham Bridge, and the hotel was originally chosen for its perfect location.Just a two minute walk back to the hotel at the end of the evening was ideal!! The room was extremely clean, and the King size bed was huge and very comfortable.The only disappointment for me was that the pillows were a bit thin, and even two weren't enough for me. Perhaps having a choice of pillows with different firmness would be a good idea. The breakfast the next morning was an excellent experience.It was a beautiful sunny day and we sat where we could watch the swans on the river. We were immediately asked what hot drinks we would like, and they came straight away. The buffet breakfast had a vast choice including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cooked items such as bacon, sausages, hash browns, fried and scrambled eggs, mushrooms, beans and endless toast!! The dining area was light and airy, and the tables had plenty of space between them, so you had plenty of privacy. Staff were in attendance, but weren't at all overbearing, and we didn't feel rushed at all. We had a very pleasant and relaxing breakfast. All in all, a perfect stay.....short and sweet!! Thank you. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a nice and sweet stay I really like this place. It is very well located and you can have a great walk down the river. Anytime I have a business in Reading I will definitely book and stay at this wonderful hotel. Because I am also a photographer, there is a beautiful opportunity to grab great shots. Enjoy my 2 included photos! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely setting Really lovely setting right on the river. Very clean and comfortable room. Very good choice at breakfast and all staff happy and pleasant to deal with. Only criticism was the loud disco music which could be heard in our room on the 2nd floor. We were staying overnight because our neighbours at home were having a loud party which we wanted to escape! Other than that very happy with our stay and would certainly return. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Hotel Ive been here twice and been made to feel very welcome the manager Mark is great always ready for a chat and to make sure everything is spot on Which it generally is. May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent We really like Crowne Plaza hotels, and our first stay at Caversham lived up to expectations. Delicious breakfast and friendly, competent staff. We will stay again. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Enjoyable This is the fourth time I have stayed at this Crowne Plaza, and always find it a very comfortable place to stay. In a good location with good pubs and restaurants nearby, a great place to stay, and convenient to travel into London for shopping or whatever. Highly recommended, and I hope I will be back before too long. May 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good value for money The hotel was lovely with great facilities and within easy walking distance of most things, with the most impressive part being the location. Unfortunately, the staff let it down. Our room was not ready and we were made to wait for an hour and a half with two small children. Then in the restaurant the food had to be sent back as it was not right and the waitress was very unhelpful. But due to the location and facilities we would return. May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything We Needed And More... This was the best B&B deal in Reading to prevent a late night 'tired and emotional' trip back to Bristol after the Reading Beer Festival. The quality of the hotel, room and breakfast along with free parking elevated the value of the price even further, and the riverside location and views from breakfast were the cherry and hundreds and thousands on the top. Excellent value and we shall return. May 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, nice hotel, poor Priority Club benefits Needing to stay near Reading I choose the Crowne Plaza. I had stayed in a Crowne Plaza the previous week at Heathrow and will be staying in a Holiday Inn next week in London. Upon checking in, the reception staff were brilliant. Smiles, happy, very helpful, couldn't wish for a better reception. However, I then find out that the hotel has taken a large booking for a rowing club. As such, there is no access to the Club lounge, as they have given it to the rowing club. The hotel backs onto the Thames and I had read many of the reviews of the location. I go up to my room and find that I have not been upgraded (being a Platinum member I would have expected that) and that my room is right above the garbage collection and facing to the back of the property facing the car park. Of course, when discussing this with the staff, I'm told that in fact I'm lucky that I even got a room as they are so busy...No offer to move me, not even after the club had checked out. Not well planned by the hotel at all. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, comfortable and good location A pleasant hotel in a lovely location and cheaper than the "cheap" hotel next door! The room was well-furnished with every convenience. Breakfast was good but my table was cleared and relaid while I was getting another course from the servery. The drainage in the car park needs improving; big puddles. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Spacious room spotlessly clean. Good quality bedding and huge comfortable bed. Service was friendly and efficient. We will book this hotel again. April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and confortable room. room was really nice, clean and comfortable. The bed perfect. March 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by individual service. We were pleased to be treated with individuality and all four rooms put next to each other for our family gathering. We thought the bedrooms and toiletries of a high standard. The dining area lacks atmosphere and the food average for a hotel. The restaurant manager tried very hard to keep the show on the road and coud'nt have been nicer. The lack of restaurant staff making his job very hard. March 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment I checked into the hotel and when I got to my room I realised I had been downgraded. I called reception and was told that they would sort it out. When I called again half an hour later I was told that the person who had spoken to me had gone into a meeting and that was why I hadn't been called back. I was told to come to reception and they would give me the key to my room. By this point I was annoyed that not only had been downgraded (aren't platinum members supposed to be upgraded?) but they expected me to go down to get the key. When I got to my new room it was as bad as the first, just with a balcony so I decided not to bother moving my stuff. I sat in my room and thought that there was no way I could spend a weekend in it. It was just such a depressing room, even the window was damaged so you couldn't look out of it properly. I called reception and asked to speak to a manager. When they said no I told them that I was going to check out. The manager came up to my room. He was very apologetic. He upgraded me to a suite and gave me the first night for free. I want to give this hotel a good review because of that but I can't. The suite was nice but there is no way I would stay in one of their other rooms. There were some good things about the hotel. Priority club members get a free massage, the swimming pool and gym were great, the club lounge was nice and some staff were friendly. Unfortunately there were as many rude staff as there were helpful staff. Quality of the food was poor (especially the breakfast which tasted stale). Canapes are supposed to be served between 6 and 8 but they were not refilled at all. If you didn't get there at six then they were gone. The common areas are all very nice and modern but the bedrooms are in desperate need of some work. The two that I went into just didn't seem to be up to crowne plaza standard. There are very few television channels (basically 1-4 plus news) and I couldn't even get a radio station that was clear. There is free wifi though so that's a plus. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second visit much better thanthe first Congratualtions on improving on most aspects in this nice river side hotel. Staff actually seem focused on customers, which is a refreshing change. Ashish - the Dep GMi s a credit to the hotel March 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed We have stayed in the Crowne Plaza several times before because of its location and in general have had good stays. This time we were given room 103 and I didn't get a wink of sleep all night. The hot air/central heating system woke me with loud noises that I couldn't place initially. Because of its erratic nature, I would be just falling asleep again and then woken up. It was like torture. I even put the TV on and the noise came over that. In the morning I told the receptionist and she smiled sweetly at me and said yes they knew of the problem and were in the process of having it attended. Well, it then springs to mind why was I not told, or why was I put in this room. My lack of sleep severely impacted on my enjoyment of the weekend and we had to change our plans and go home early on the Sunday. Will think twice about staying here again March 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor value for money Disappointed on arrival to find a single small bottle of water in the room minibar for sharing between two people. This was compounded by only a single cup of coffee being provided for each guest. I'm sure further supplies could have been obtained from Reception, but don't believe guests should be put to that trouble. On check-in we were told that complimentary drinks and nibbles would be provided in the evening. There was insufficient seating or standing room available in the lounge however for us to take advantage of this offer. Our "full breakfast" provided for in the room rate turned out to be a very poor continental breakfast. Making clear at the point of booking that a full breakfast was in fact a continental breakfast would have been useful. Again this was not made clear on booking in at Reception but was only confirmed when I queried with Reception in the morning. We had to ask on several occasions for our key to be activated to access various parts of the hotel as this was not programmed correctly on arrival. Taking all of thes factors into account I found that this stay was poor value in comparison to stays in other hotels in a similar price range. Having said that, in a place like Reading, a large free car park is a real bonus and the pool was great for an early morning swim. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great position, staff and decor Excellent position, friendly and efficient staff. Spa facilities very good. Excellent choice at breakfast. One improvement that should be made - having homemade pancakes on the menu is great but they need to be freshly homemade and not heated up and made tough in the process. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful stay We had a wonderful stay at the Reading Crowne Plaza. Our visit got off to a good start when we were upgraded to an executive room complete with it's own balcony. The lobby is very welcoming and the ambience is further enhanced by the gentle music from the piano. The room was well furnished, clean and the oversized bed was fantastic. All staff members, from the duty manager, reception staff and chamber maids were welcoming and polite. There was a large selection of freshly prepared food at the breakfast buffet. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again and this stay has encouraged us to look at other Crowne Plaza hotels for future breaks. March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner Bed & Breakfast We had a fantastic time at the crown Plaza. On arrival we went swimming with the children which is their favourite past time. We then relaxed in our room and got changed and came down for dinner. The food was excellent and to a high standard and we had a great night. The following day we had the best breakfast ever, everything you could imagine and as much as you wanted. We then went swimming before leaving. The staff could not do enough for you which made our stay a memorable one. Thank you. February 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by reading crowne plaza hotel Swimming and leisure facilities were the cleanest i have experienced. Good position overlooking river. good choice for breakfast February 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, good location but noisy room, lack of Sunday evening food choice. Whilst the comfort and cleanliness of the room and hotel generally was good, it was impossible to stop the fan/central heating noise over night which led to a disturbed night's sleep. Sunday night meal in the restaurant wasn't particularly good with only bar meals served and one of those mysteriously not available which seemed to surprise the duty manager. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, well-priced hotel We loved our stay at the Crown Plaza. Excellent room service, clean, large room with a comfortable, king size bed. Really lovely swimming pool and helpful staff. The exterior of the hotel belies the opulent interior and our stay was most pleasant and relaxing. We would thoroughly recommend the Crown Plaza for a value for money, thoroughly pleasant weekend or holiday venue. February 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>