Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, ok location, where's the recycling??? Clean, quiet, very friendly and helpful staff, especially maids and limo drivers. Conveniently walkable to downtown Richmond (15 mins), which lacks nightlife, but that's not what we were there for. Downtown Richmond just has poor ambiance in general, although a few blocks away from the hotel is the James River canal walk which is pretty. I was also able to walk to the Crowne Plaza from the Main Street Amtrak station (25 mins). The restaurant was severely understaffed Friday night (one server). The hot tub was unavailable two nights. I was very frustrated trying to find recycling bins for my newspapers (delivered daily free to every room) and plastic bottles. If they have any bins at all, they need more. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very comfortable stay Stayed for 5 days for a conference. Beds comfortable, hotel was very quiet, concierge service on 16th floor was fantastic. The food was good at the main restaurant - did not try the lounge. Above all, the staff was just great - from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the housekeeping to the food service. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by for only one night Very helpful and pleasant staff. I loved the location. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible It was incredibly disappointing. The rooms world uncomfortably warm and they refused to let me borrow a fan as it is a liability. Are you kidding me? This service in the restaurant was nonexistent, absolutely terrible. Tonight's in a row I was awaken at 2 AM and 3:10 AM with people banging on doors in the hall and being extremely loud and boisterous. Never again. Trust me, stay somewhere else if you want any type of service and a restful nights sleep. May 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The Difference Between Can't and Don't Want To One of the reasons that I booked this hotel for myself and my students was the fact that it had shuttle service, however, when we arrived, I quickly discovered the the shuttle service was only available if and when it was quick and easy for the driver. When I called the hotel and asked for the shuttle to pick us up at the convention center, I was told by the driver that he was unable to get to the convention center because of all the block off streets due to the intercollegiate Cycling Event going on downtown. I walked outside, talked to one of the cabbies parked by the convention center and he not only said he could get me there, but quoted a price. We piled in and were at the hotel in under 15 minutes. So much for can't. In about and hour when my students and I needed to head back to the convention center, I spoke to the front desk about the shuttle and they spoke to the driver and he still said the same thing, "I can't get there because of the bike races". I explained to him that the taxi cab had no problems getting us to the hotel, so I did not understand why he could not get us back to the convention center. His response to one of my students was that "Y'all need to be walkin' anyhow". May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome at Front Desk and Room Assignment and Condition I am a frequent guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on Canal Street in Richmond. I have stayed at this Hotel numerous times during the past four years because the Hotel is clean, safe and offers all of the amenities that make business travel feel like home. I am especially appreciative for the warm welcome I receive when I make my reservations and when I arrive. Kenya, who works on the front desk is exceptional in her customer relations and her approach to receiving guest. She makes me feel that I am a priority and always, I repeat always, has a smile and a "glad to see you again" greeting. She knows my name and makes sure my room assignment will allow me to work in a conducive atmosphere. Kenya, in my opinion, is among the top front desk employees I have ever encountered in all of my business travels during the past twenty-five years. I have traveled extensively all of the US and Kenya rates at the top of the front desk members who have checked me in. I commend Kenya to you because she is friendly, effective and efficient at her job and when greeting guest at the Hotel. She deserves recognition and a raise! I was in your Hotel last week for two days and will return again tomorrow night and I look forward to Kenya's smile and greeting when I arrive. Dr. Harris April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room comfort The overall experience was good, however, the AC in the room was not working properly. The room was very warm and it was a hot day. I called for service. A service man did come by and attempted to make an adjustment, but his efforts did not make a difference. So my room and sleep experience could have been better with a cooler room temperature April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Comfortable bed and a great room for the price offered. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Visit The visit at the Crowne Plaza was very relaxing and comfortable except for the bed which was a little uncomfortable. Overall it was a great stay. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous bed and stellar service! The room and hotel were both very clean. The beds and pillows are exceptionally comfy! The front desk and valet staff were by far the best I've experienced - both incredibly helpful and friendly. The only negative would be the Pavilion restaurant on the second floor was very short staffed. I was in town for a conference - as were many of the hotel guests - and the service was beyond slow at breakfast. Next time, I will plan to leave the hotel earlier, and eat elsewhere. Other than that, I would absolutely recommend this hotel, as the rest of the stay was great! Good value, and about 7 minutes to get to the Greater Richmond Conference Center via the hotel shuttle. I'll be returning next year for sure! April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by i like the hotel but... Please update your gym. The equipment is old and outdated. March 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly Disappointed. We had a kid free weekend and this hotel was recommended by a friend for us to have a little getaway. We were very excited to spend time at this hotel. When we checked into our room, it was 78°, we set the thermostat to 65° to try and cool it down. After an hour, it was still set at 78°. After a few calls to the front desk, someone finally picked up. They informed us that maintence had left for the night but instructed me how to manually reset it, we did and went to sleep hoping this did the trick and it would cool down. The coolest the room got was 76°. The next morning we went down and told them about the problem and that our room had been a sauna and they said they would have someone fix it right away. They did fix it but we were both already congested Bc of the dryness from the room. It was incredibly disappointing that we tried complaining and no one seemed to care. We spent a lot of money to come down and stay at this hotel, the customer service could've been way better. If a customer has to complain numerous times about their room being hot, something should've been done or offered to be changed. Our room was very clean and the wait staff in the restaurant were incredibly kind and courteous. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stood here for the weekend and it was a great experience! Rooms were clean everyday, pool was nice and kept for. Even the sofa in the room was comfortable! The staff were friendly and helpful, especially with their shuttle service! One thing I would work on is I drove over 4 hours to get their would had loved if the front desk had smiles in their faces. They were not rude just would have appreciated a BIG smile when I got there! : ) March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Guests Hotel staff were great, friendly, and very helpful. Had a top floor room which was great until the adjoining guests arrived with their hyperactive child bouncing off the walls. Hotel should not put children on top floor at a business conference during the week. We did not contact the front desk to avoid creating a confrontation. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My home away from home! The Crowne has always been my "go-to" hotel in Richmond. Great location with easy access to all interstates. Great breakfast buffet! Great staff and service. I have left behind cell phone, chargers, baby blankets,etc. and the housekeeping staff has always been accommodating to return items. And best of all is Ms. Althea at the front desk...always a smile and genuinely helpful when resolving issues. As a business traveler, I am always appreciative of good customer service. March 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel but bring your own TP We were very pleased with our stay, but there are a couple of exceptions. Let me start with the good things first. 1) The room was GREAT. I reserved for only 1 night with a AAA discount so the rate was very reasonable despite the lack of room availability in the area that night. In the reservation notes, I requested a "quiet" room not on the highway side, not near elevator or ice/vending area. 2) Our room was near the elevator, but they put us on the 13th floor in a "Priority Suite." The room was HUGE -- it was basically two rooms with a wall knocked out and split into living room and bedroom (king) areas. I loved the laminate (not hardwood) floors. I find them so much cleaner than icky commercial grade carpet! Now for the bad. 1) We arrived on Saturday afternoon around 2:00 p.m. There was one person in front of us on one side of the desk working with a woman behind the desk. There were 2 other women behind the desk. Then a third joined them. The woman with the customer was clearly dealing with some "issue" with him. The other women were pretending we were not there. We stood there for over 10 minutes before even being acknowledged. None of them even offered us a "We'll be right with you." It got to the point where my boyfriend said, "In about 2 seconds I'm gonna start yelling." I said, "NO. They have the power to put us in a bad room!" We waited (and based on the room we got, I'm glad he didn't yell). 2) The floors in the room were sticky. I believe they were clean, just not rinsed, so they made our shoes click as we lifted our feet. That is a minor issue. I just wore socks around the room. 3) The bed was too soft. Not because it was a soft mattress, but it sagged. The BIG issue was ... saving the best for last ... wait for it ... 4) The TOILET PAPER. Yes. You heard me correctly. It was so bad that I actually DID NOT USE the bathroom the morning we checked out. TMI? Maybe, but the toilet paper was HORRIBLE. It was worth the wait to get to a bathroom with decent toilet paper. That is one area where NO business should cut corners. I'd rather have rougher towels or sheets than toilet paper that leaves little rolled up blobs of paper in my nether regions. Yes, I said it out loud. A wipe should not then require a rinse. I was very pleased with the hotel overall and would recommend it. Just be sure to bring your own toilet paper and be patient when you are ignored at the front desk. March 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Add on to room review This is an add on to my first review. our cable connector to TV was broke March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls Unfortunately we were given a room that adjoined on both sides. On one side there was a couple having a wild time way into the wee hours of the morning. On the other side there were people with children that were up at the crack of dawn. I had booked two rooms under my name since my daughter was also staying there. I was surprised since were given a room that adjoined on one side they did not book my daughter in one of those rooms. At least one side would have been quiet. I would strongly suggest that if one is booking there they specifically request that they are not given an adjoining room. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed linens need replacing We had the opportunity to say at this hotel last week. It was one of five Holiday Inn brand hotels that we stayed at last week. We are Platinum Ambassador members and sometimes stay at this brand 80 or so times in a year. We will even go out of our way to find this brand hotel so we are loyal customers. First of this is a great hotel in great location. The dining room is first rate and the staff are well trained and courteous. However, in the last year or so a problem has been occurring with more and more frequency that may make us reconsider our choice of hotel. On this particular trip the problem occurred 3 out of the 5 nights!! And it happened at this hotel, perhaps the worse that I have seen. The problem in a couple of words is this: the quality of the sheets. A number of years ago HI was selling their brand on "tripple sheets". And it was, and is, a great idea. The sheets were crisp and white. There is only one flaw. The sheets are wearing out and many need to be replaced!!! Many of the sheets are now thin and dingy. In this particular Crowne Plaza the top sheet was SOOO thin that when you held it out in front of you, you could see the features of a person on the other side! It was the worse sheet I had seen on a bed in any hotel. Or any where for that matter. The staff responded well and did bring us another sheet which was of high quality. I consider bedding, and in particular the sheets and pillow covers, to be particular important when I stay at a hotel. The fact that they look good is a bonus but there is a more important issue here. It is the sheeting which separates me from the others who have slept in this bed. (I don't believe that hotels launder the mattress covers and blankets every day!) I took this sheet to the desk to show the manger when we checked out. It was agreed that this was,without debate, a worn out sheet. However, I was not offered a reduction in the rate and when I requested it, was offered a $10.00 reduction. I think this, as my Mom would say, only added insult to injury! Thank you for letting me get this off my chest. But from my recent experience, and I must stress, this is recent experience, I would advise all HI guests, and guests of all hotels, to check the quality of the sheets before retiring for the night! Thank you again February 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Heat in lodging room and meeting There was a heating malfunction in the conference center area. It really became unbearable and very uncomfortable. The staff made efforts to provide heating units and blowers at the break but due to the noise could not use these during the presentations. This was the situation from over 12 hours. The heat in the lodging rooms did not work well. The room was warm and the heat on but then it would stop and in the early morning hour the room temperature dropped to 69 degrees. You had to keep changing the temperature so the unit would operate. The unit itself was terribly loud which made sleep unlikely and then add that to the temperature of the room and it was uncomfortable. Also, the clerk at the desk failed to recognize me as Priority Club member. I thought the hotel was no longer doing that but later saw individuals checking in and receiving their gifts for being a club member January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION The staff is wonderful and extremely knowledgeable about the Richmond downtown area. The Van Driver was fantastic and was extremely courteous, kind and considerate to each of the guests and wanted to be sure that everyone had everything that they needed. This is a great location and customer service is their number one goal. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Had a great experience, the staff is warming and friendly and the location is great! Building is older than I care for and they were doing maintenance during my stay so if you aren't a fan of workman and hard hat stations, double check before the reservation. January 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Club room, without the Club Most disappointing that our combined leisure/work weekend turned out to be free from Club services, though we booked specifically Club level to enjoy the benefits and make the work weekend slightly more bearable. The lounge is closed on weekends, so none of the services are available. We double-checked twice with reception as I have never seen this anywhere else, and the only answer we got was that the lounge is closed on weekends. No apologies, no alternatives, nothing. I was planning on raising this at check-out again, but in another first, reception didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay. The only verbal exchange was a statement from reception "You are checking out". She grabbed our keys, and that was it. Clearly, there was no point in engaging with the hotel staff, who couldn't care less from arrival until departure. Most disappointing! January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff!!! My wife and I stay at the Crowne in Downtown Richmond every other month or so to just relax and keep our relationship strong. There is no other hotel in Richmond that we'd choose over the Crowne. And this is mostly because of the people who work there. One of our favorite things about Crowne is the restaurant staff. We've been coming here for 7 years now and the wait staff hasn't changed - no turnover! Dave manages the team well and he sets a fine example of friendly customer service. Henry makes the best omelets in town. He may seem a little shy, but he's really a very nice guy. Faye and Shannon always greet us with a smile and are quick to bring coffee and juice and anything else you like. And when we get the munchies at 9:00 at night, Anne Marie is usually the one to deliver our room service. She is always friendly and kind. We've never had a visit at the Crowne in Richmond that we didn't enjoy thoroughly. But in the end, it's the people there who make this hotel one of the best in Richmond. Good people providing great service. We can't wait to get back! January 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 GREAT HOTEL HOTEL WAS PRETTY AMAZING, GREAT LOCATION IN DOWNTOWN ASWELL AS IT WAS CLOSE TO THE BELLE ISLAND RIVER WALK, STAFF WAS AWESOME AND POOL AND HOT TUB WAS A LIFE SAVER AT THE END OF THE DAYS. THE ONLY COMPLAIN I HAVE IS MY ROOM HAD THE INTERNAL DOOR INSIDE THAT LINKED 2 ROOMS TOGETHER AND I HATE THAT BECAUSE YOU CAN HERE EVERYTHING IN THE OTHER ROOM, ALSO THE AC WAS NOT THAT COLD. OTHER THAN THAT THE ROOM AND HOTEL WAS AMAZING January 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great stay! We stayed there for a wedding for one night at the wedding party rate and it was great! Make sure you checkout by 11am. Overall, clean rooms, bathroom and beds were well kept. All we did there was shower and sleep. Would stay there again. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, check in experience needs help. Nice hotel, friendly bar and restaurant staff. Front check-in is undermanned, so trying to check in can be a hastle if person helping you is also answering the phones. Front desk personnel seemed to be bothered by me being there and it took too much time to check in. Ask for a river side room as the view is awesome! January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We spent three nights in Richmond for our Son's wedding. Most out-of-town guests stayed here. At the front desk, Richard took great care of us and responded to every need. The General Manager followed up several times to make sure our stay was satisfactory. Our suite was very roomy and comfortable. In the first floor lounge, Ernest was the hit among our family and friends. He is very entertaining and provided great service and advise on the menu items. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, great pillows had very enjoyable and relaxing stay. I wouuld recommend this hotel to others. Everythig was well maintianed and orderly. Maybe could use more outlets for electronics. January 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, average experience great view My overall experience let to the average score. More for issues with the property than the staff. To start, check-in was difficult because the system wasn't working properly. The front desk tried their best to get the registration forms printed but to no avail. I couldn't help notice while standing there, just how badly design the entrance is especially for winter. The staff has to bundle up and keep electric heaters going because the entrance is so cold. It certainly didn't add to customer comfort to stand there, with cold air blowing through and systems that didn't allow for an expedient check-in. My room was nice and very clean with a great view. No complaints there. However, it was the middle room to two that connect. The doors allowed for a lot of noise to be heard from the other rooms. I could hear a normal conversation going on in the other rooms without even trying. Also, the heating system stayed in heat mode all night and made the room very warm. I had a hard time with this because I like to be under the covers and the too was so warm that wasn't an option. Would I recommend it? Yes if it suits your needs. I wouldn't vacation here or spend more than one or two night if it could be helped. January 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>