Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Hotel Front Desk: 1-804-7880900

Hotel Fax: 1-804-7880791

Hotel Email: sales@smi-hotelgroup.com

Check In: 3:00 PM | Check Out: 12:00 PM | Local Time: 7:30 PM


Airport
Richmond International Airport (RIC)

- Distance from hotel: 9.8 MI/ 15.77 KM South West l

- Interstate 64 West to Interstate 95 South/5th St. Exit. Follow 5th St. to E. Franklin St. Turn Left on Franklin then Right on 6th St. Turn Left on Canal Street.

Washington Dulles International Airport (WAS)

- Distance from hotel: 121 MI/ 194.73 KM South l

- I-95 South to Richmond, VA to Canal Street Exit.

Baltimore Washington International (BWI)

- Distance from hotel: 139 MI/ 223.7 KM South l

- 95 South to Richmond, VA to Canal Street Exit

Train
Amtrak Main Street Station

- Distance from hotel: 1 MI/ 1.61 KM West

- From the Amtrak Main Street Station, Follow Main Street East to 6the Street. Turn Left onto 5th Street and follow until it dead ends at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown .

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

- Car Parking Available

- Self-Parking Fee: 12.00 USD

- Valet Parking Available

- Valet Parking Fee: 17.00 USD

- The Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown offers self-parking in an attached parking garage with elevator access directly into the building. Hotel also offers Valet parking. Both self and valet parking have fees associated that includes in and out privileges

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

Current Settings are:

/


Change Preferences:

Country of Residence:

Available Languages:

lang-loader
Make A Reservation

Book Online or Call:

Chat with an AgentChat with an Agent

Best Price Guarantee

Select to close

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button

Please enter Check In.

Please enter Check Out.

Costs 10p per minute + network extras

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 243 reviews
77%
Recommend This Property
Read All Reviews

Ratings Breakdown

243reviews

  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    21

Worst IHG Hotel Experience

By

July 25, 2014

club

This hotel offered the worst experience I have ever received at an IHG property. Starting with the arrival to a hotel with a nice little driveway in front, allowing you to pull in, walk into the lobby and check-in before either valet parking or self parking...however...at least six cars parked in the driveway there was nowhere to park. Had to park down the block on the street. Ok, so I thought maybe these were all guests registering, until I stepped into the lobby and found only 2 guests checking in and 1 guest waiting to check in...6 cars...3 people...you do the math.

The front desk staff took FOREVER checking in each guest. While standing 2nd in line the lobby continued to line with guests, and the 2 clerks at the front desk didn't seem to care about everyone having to wait. Finally got to the desk after nearly 15-20 minutes and was not welcomed as an IHG member. Got my room key and was off to my room. Turned on the TV and every time I pressed a button on the remote it did the command twice...volume...channel...didn't matter. Frustrated I went back to the lobby rather than simply call and wait for maintenance.

After another lengthy wait on the desk staff, I was moved to the room next door. No apologies, no considerations. Back up 9 floors to room number two. Keys (plural) do not work, can't access the room...back down 9 floors to the incompetent clerks in the lobby.

After another wait...moved to yet another room on the 9th floor. Again, no apology, no considerations. No free cup of coffee, no discount to the overpriced breakfast (both of which were offered to another guest in front of me during initial check in). Finally back up to the 9th floor to room number three. Walk in to a 78 degree room, frustrated, but I check the air and it's on and blowing cool air so I hope for the best. Next I open the mini fridge to put in my drinks and the fridge is full of last guests left over food...disgusting...at this point I debate checking out of this dump all together.

After a couple minutes, I realize I'm too tired to go find another hotel and way too frustrated to go back down 9 floors to the lobby and interact yet again with the inept clerks. So I stay.

Off to the IHG hospitality in the bar. The only bright spot in this miserable experience was the offer of a free beer. The rest of the hospitality, much like the rest of the hotel, was a joke. Stale cheese and over cooked finger food, and what kind of restaurant doesn't know to core a pineapple before serving it?

Frustrated to no end, I decide to leave the hotel for a bit and go get dinner. Return to my room and go to sleep, the temperature finally down to a respectable 70 degrees...however, I awake to the room back up to 76 degrees. Off to check out of this miserable hotel and desk clerk number three. Still no apology no considerations, even had to pay for a cup of luke warm stale coffee.

Generally speaking I usually always have good experiences with IHG hotels. This hotel in particular has made me rethink using any IHG hotel in the future.

Read More
Read Less

visit

By

July 24, 2014

Pretty nice hotel. Parking was convenient. Nice discount for large block of rooms.

Read More
Read Less

Not what we expected

By

July 23, 2014

club

The check-in process was rather slow. The room was clean and nice with one exception....the mattress was lousy. Not a good night sleep, which wasn't helped any by the noisy neighbors who were loud in both their room and hallway until almost 1:00 AM. Had to call the front desk twice!

Read More
Read Less

Unprofessional Management staff

By

July 22, 2014

Housekeeping is very nice and pleasant to see daily, however the management staff can learn a thing or two from them about customer service. The front desk staff wanted to argue about a complaint I had on a oversight.

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful, Clean Hotel, Staff and AC problems

By

July 21, 2014

platinumelite

Extremely well maintained hotel, very clean.

Had 2 issues.
1) Concierge room was supposed to open at 630am, it did not. (When I called the front desk they told me it was 633 and they didn't know why it wasn't open). No apology, no "i'll find out" just "I don't know".
2) Room AC. As long as I was up and walking about, it was fine. But laying asleep, it would not kick on. Woke of sweating multiple times - each time as soon as I stood up the AC kicked on. I understand the need to regulate AC and manage energy bills, but this one. Something apparently faulty in the system. At checkout, I told the desk clerk of my issue and asked her to have the manager call me. The manager did not - I guess we will have the discussion when I dispute my credit card.

As an IHG Platinum member, and as a Platinum equivelent at a competitor, I am in at hotel 150+ nights a year. I understand issues happen. Having issues is not a problem - how management does or does not handle a problem is the issue.

Would I stay here again - I would cautiously answer yes - the cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding.

Read More
Read Less

Satisfactory room, terrible service

By

July 20, 2014

The rooms were clean and the shower had decent pressure and hot water. These cursory requirements were the highlights of the hotel. Service was terrible. I am not a Priority Club member. Perhaps that's why my experience was so different from those that I read online when I was researching which hotel to choose in Richmond. Our room was not available when we went to check-in at 3:15. No apology, no suggestion of what to do in the interim beyond sit and wait, and no compensation. Staff seemed relieved when I suggested we use the pool until the room was ready. Pool was ok (they always look better in the pictures), though work was being done in the women's locker room and we had to use the men's room to change. After passing 45 minutes at the pool, we went back the front desk and they were able to find a room for us to check in. (There were many people awaiting a room.) Still no apologies for the wait. Hallway to room was soaking wet with no signs to alert people walking through hall. Later they put a fan in the hallway in an attempt to dry it out. We were in Richmond to experience the city. We booked this hotel because we thought that we would be in the midst of the action. However, I asked multiple times for suggestions of what to do and where to go in Richmond to no avail. After looking through a magazine in the room, I asked for directions to go to a restaurant and they just rattled off directions, taking no time for me to actually write them down. (I was informed that this restaurant was not within the shuttle distance. No suggestions of other kid friendly restaurants within the shuttle range.) The rushed, unperceptive, bare-minimum service by staff happened multiple times in multiple ways by various staff. In addition, I decided to pay the extra $5 for valet parking, thinking it would be easier. However, the two times we asked for the car, it took over 20 - 30 minutes to find the valet and then another 5 - 10 minutes for our car to come. I would suggest self-parking to anyone who has to stay at this hotel. They seem to be short-staffed so that the valet is constantly running around. Upon checking out, I had hoped to voice some of these concerns, but was never asked how my stay was or if I had a nice visit. Pretty sure they know that the hotel is a bust, and just didn't want another complaint. Rumor has it that Richmond is a great place to visit. Unfortunately the staff at this hotel did not seem to know where visiting guests might like to go. This hotel made for a bad hotel experience, as well as no desire to return to Richmond. Beyond a satisfactory room, a good hotel is notable for its high quality of friendly service. Unfortunately this hotel doesn't have it!

Read More
Read Less

Good business hotel to stay in

By

July 18, 2014

Good overall hotel with an easy location to find. Bar manager very good and very friendly to all customers with lots of information about the area.

Read More
Read Less

felt very comfortable here.

By

July 17, 2014

club

The staff at this hotel, make it a very good choice. they were very attentive and went out of their way to accommodate me. Nice view of St James river. Not too far from downtown restaurants. They do have a shuttle with a small radius, but all in all, it was a great
experience.

Read More
Read Less

First-Class Stay

By

July 12, 2014

Breakfast buffet and omelet chef are first-class.
Wednesday reception is very nice - especially complimentary beverages, fruit tray, and dessert tray. Heated food is okay.
Location is perfect for business in downtown Richmond.

Read More
Read Less

We expected more

By

July 10, 2014

Our visit was both business and leisure. The room was clean and comfortable but it's in major need of a makeover. Especially the bathroom. We ordered dinner through room service. The service was pretty bad she forgot all the side sauces. It took her 20 minutes to bring back the sauces by that time the food was cold. So I was totally over it!

Read More
Read Less

Good value, close to all downtown attractions

By

July 07, 2014

Enjoyable stay at the hotel. If you are an avid runner, make sure to take a run over the suspended pedestrian bridge to the island in the river where there are some great trails.

Read More
Read Less

Great price, convenient location

By

July 07, 2014

Great value for the money - booked on line and got a better deal here than almost anywhere else - like the last time we stayed in Richmond, so this is now our "go to" hotel.

Read More
Read Less