• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Maximum of two pets per room. Non refundable fee of 75.00 per pet room.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
UCSD - University of California San Diego
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
USD - University of San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.9MI
Attraction:
Tijuanna Mexico
Distance From Hotel:35.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:600
  • Car Parking Available
  • Gate restricted outdoor parking available
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:416
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:162
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:226
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:405
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1685

San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis

Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions.

Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific
View More

San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis

Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions.

Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches.

Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital.

Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types.

During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels.

View Less
Features
*All rooms have balconies or lanais overlooking adjacent golf course or swimming pool area
*Islands Restaurant
*Islands Sushi and Pupu Bar
*Outdoor heated pool
*Fitness room
*Be Good to Yourself Massage company on site
*Business Center
*Oversized guestrooms

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth it Typically I like Holiday Inns however, this one did disappoint in value. It was pricey, there was an additional fee to park of $10 per day (there is a lot next door for $6 that is meant for visitors and fish tours) breakfast is also an additional fee of not worth it. Rooms are small, beds were very uncomfortable and unfortunately for us there was a very large family reunion booked on the floor above ours that partied and ran the isles until two in the morning. Also, it was a warm weekend in San Diego and the A/C would not cool. Nice pool area but not enough chairs for all who wanted to be there. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lola was awesome I would absolutely recommend this Hotel. great service, very comfortable and love the new modern bathrooms. Awesome shower... :) Lola at the front desk was great! July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice July 4th The cafe staff were really the stars of our stay. I stayed with my parents and daughter and the cafe staff accommodated the needs of 3 generations with kindness and ease. The hotel room was adequate, nothing special. We loved being able to walk across the street to see the July 4th fireworks celebrations. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel Located in the Point Loma area that allowed easy access to down town, airport and residential amenities with out dealing with traffic. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable! We came to your hotel from another hotel in San Diego. We had stayed at another hotel for an evening and we very unhappy with that place. We are able to check in early into the Holiday Inn. That was very helpful with my two young children. Our stay was very comfortable and would come back! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel in a great location. This hotel is in a great location if you want to relax as it is a short distance from "downtown" San Diego. For my partner and I, it was ideal as we could explore the nearby marina on foot and enjoy the tranquility of this area, then with just a short drive into town we could be in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter and all the other attractions of the city. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel immensely, felt very safe and the new section of the hotel is fabulous! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BMF National Conference Sales and catering staff did a great job looking after our group. One suggestion is to have as phone or some other system available in the meeting room to more quickly access staff for changes in the program or meet current needs. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst hotel experiences The Holiday Inn Bayside San Diego is terrible for business travel and business sessions. The food and service quality is poor. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Rooms are very comfy and modern, pool area is great for family and single couples. Thou I wish the pool would be more deep. Breakfust at the cafe is excellent July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great! Since adding the new tower, the Holiday Inn-Bayside has really stepped up their game. I am in San Diego for a meeting each month and my experience has been excellent! June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bayview hotel review I am a single mom and took three of my kids with me to stay here. I absolutely loved our suite. It was amazing and very comfortable. Great view. June 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very confusing It was a confusing hotel to figure out where to check in. Based on the address on the side of the building we ended up at the wrong end, trying to find a place to park. Room was not ready so they gave us a temp parking permit so we could at least have our luggage near the right building. Tried to call for wake up call but the line was always busy so called front desk. Called to ask if there was a shuttle pick up closer to our building and told we had to come to lobby. Only to see flight crew waiting to get picked up near our building. Girl at front desk, says "oh sorry about that:. We had two heavy sea bags we were carrying and it was not convenient to carry them all that way. The living furniture in our sweet looked like something you would buy at a cheap store. Sat on couch and it was hard as a rock. I was not impressed with service, convenience or value for what we paid. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Lage - neues Hotel Empfehlenswertes Hotel - im neuem Gebäude ist alles hell, sauber und modern. Im richtigen Zimmer hat man einen tollen Ausblick. Personal war freundlich Ich würde wieder dort absteigen, falls ich in der Gegend bin. Kundenumfrage im Nachgang war etwas aufdringlich - man muss nicht im Wochenabstand nachfragen, ob man an der Kundenbefragung teilnehmen will (einmal fragen reicht). June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected... Over all the stay was nice... Only two areas of improvement are: the dinning, rude waiter and staff there were just there, no engery. Second was when we checked out, we walked by 3 front desk members and not one acknowledged us. No thank you for staying w us or come back. I would expect that from Motel 6, not a holiday inn... June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Taxis readily available, great staff I got into the hotel after my reservation time due to my plane delay and the staff was very accommodating of my late arrival. I was very impressed with the condition of the hotel although the pictures on the website left a lot to be desired. The bar staff was amazing and had lots of insight for what to do what bars and beaches to hit up for my age "22". I had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone going out to the area. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Awsome stay as always. Room was great and the staff even better. Location is a big plus as well. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Thank you especially to Dianne Rodrigues, she went out of her way to make sure we had a beautiful room for a very busy weekend! We loved your new addition to the hotel, and the staff was efficient and friendly. We ended up staying an extra night! Had breakfast at the cafe, food was good and the servers very nice. See you next year! Thank you, Art and Pam Ferreira June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Great experience at this hotel, I would recommend this location to anyone. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by June Visit to Holiday In San Diego Bayside The beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows so comfy that my husband didn't snore for the entire week. The pool is quiet and relaxing. The food at the Cafe Loma was consistently high quality and the service prompt. The loby of this Holiday Inn is inviting an relaxing. We would stay in this hotel again. June 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Keep looking AC ran all night, I still woke up sweating Room was small, out dated, and dingy Staff was nice and professional Tub wouldn't drain Sink would drain Card reader in door had dead battery Couldn't use vanity and have room to get by to the bathroom Furnishings looked dingy June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Problems from the start First impression at the counter I was asked several times to make sure my kids were under 12 for the free lunch tickets. My answer was the same the 4 other times you asked. Walked off the elevator in the back tower (where they put you if you have kids) to a strong chemical smell that gave us headaches. We had to shove a towel under the door. I'm guessing they didn't want to give up the space while they were under construction. Yep we dodged the construction guys often enough to be irritated. The smell was so bad we could not sleep. No resolution to complaints. The room door was so small it was like walking into a closet had to pull bags through it was smaller than a 6'3" guys shoulders are wide. The shower was clogged every day from the start asked for help got none. Point Loma Cafe: while the food was not too bad the service was horrible. If you take a group over 8 you will be charged 18% gratuity just for that. While I don't mind paying a higher tip for a group I expect the service to rise to that level. Our waitress left the menus on the table the entire time rarely came back brought the wrong things to the table and we had to wait 10 minutes plus for her to return to correct it. When I complained to the manager he talked to me like I was Ignorant "sir you’re not from California" this is normal. Yes I forgot it’s normal to treat a larger group bad because you already made your tip I do understand now. This cafe needs an over haul like the rooms except get rid of the manager and waitress withe the attitude. Taking your kids to a pool with an open patio bar is a wonderful experience they get to learn all kinds of new words from the drunken people. When I checked out of this place I mentioned all of this to the guy at the counter and received the same horrible reply I was expecting. I have stayed here twice the first time was fair different room man sized door on that one. He was as rude as the rest emphasizing his Sir's to me after I told them some of the issues. I had to walk away rather than argue with this guy. It was like he was accusing me of making it all up. I travel for business all year long stay in IHG brand hotels every stay and this is what I get for being a Gold Elite member. Condescending rude treatment at a horrible hotel. I will not put my family through it again. Next year on our annual San Diego vacation we might have to choose another brand of hotel all together. I'm completely disappointed by this experience. Not one time when I told them about the issued did they correct it or seem sincere. They reacted negatively every time I brought an issue up. I expected better from a company I have spent thousands of dollars with. If they post this as they should you will regret staying here with a family. One shining star in the hotel was the gift shop girl she was awesome. The rest could learn from her the customer service was great. We had sunburns and needed something to apply to our skin so we could sleep. We arrived at 9pm closing time and she took the extra time to service our needs. I only wish she was in charge of the whole place. Things would have been different. They should be ashamed of them selves for taking money after the service they did not provide. June 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not clean If you are staying at this hotel I recommend you request the new addition hotel because we didnt know we got the old building. It was horrible dirty as soon as we walked in the lobby...there was sneeze spit dried on the walls and closet doors disgusting...carpet, bedding all dirty...I requested to move but of course I was told nothing else available...never again you live you learn... June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed This is a hassel , I think the information I have supplied is sufficient for your needs. We had a good time and your facility was more than adequate for our stay. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable romm confortable conviente easy access to food and we received a very nice upgrade to reduce the distance I had to walk June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful grounds, comfortable stay. Had a nice comfortable stay in San Diego, CA. Enjoyed the neatly landscaped grounds and pool area. The wait service at the Point Loma Cafe is super! Very friendly staff! We were accomodated well by Hector, Irene June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safety I felt safe, the bed & room were very comfortable, I slept great, when you fell safe you relax & sleep a lot better. I will always come to this hotel when I'm in San Diego. you have a great hotel keep it up. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thoroughly enjoyed my stay I highly recommend the San Diego - Bayside Holiday Inn. I stayed in the new part and my room was wonderful - very comfortable and clean. The pool area was nice and i ate at the onsite restaurant twice. Good value for the money, very nice and helpful staff and close to the airport. Would defintely stay here again. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Girlfriend and I stayed here so that we would be close to the airport for an early flight after spending three nights at Pacific Beach. We stayed in the newest tower and had a room with a view of the harbor. We had dinner/drinks in the bar and the bartender was great - a really nice guy with a great personality. We will definitely be back in the future. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service .Very conveniently located near the airport! The hotel room was clean and the beds were very comfortable but a great value for the area in San Diego. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like a Honeymoon Terrific room and location, the staff was a very friendly group and helpful we are already book back.. June 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading