• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Maximum of two pets per room. Non refundable fee of 75.00 per pet room.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Coronado
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Beaches
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Gaslamp Quarter
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:600
  • Car Parking Available
  • Gate restricted outdoor parking available
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:416
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:162
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:226
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:405
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1685

San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis

Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions.

Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific
View More

San Diego Hotel Offers a Tropical Oasis

Welcome to the San Diego Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of Mission Valley. Our affordable luxury hotel is just minutes from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and near many of Southern California's most popular attractions.

Families lodging at our choice San Diego hotel can enjoy convenient access to many of California's best attractions, including the world-renowned San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World and the gorgeous Pacific Ocean beaches.

Our upscale hotel in San Diego, CA provides business travelers with quick access to many area businesses, such as the San Diego University of Integrative Studies, the University of San Diego, the UCSD Medical Center and the Scripps Mercy Hospital.

Guests lodging at our luxurious San Diego accommodations can take advantage of our hotel's premium meeting facilities. With 26,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, endless room style arrangements and catering services available, our San Diego hotel can accommodate meetings and events of all sizes and types.

During your stay at our hotel near the San Diego Zoo, you can relax in a tropical paradise. Lounge by the outdoor pool while listening to the soothing sounds of the outdoor waterfall, or enjoy fresh sushi at the Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar. Book your reservation today and see why our Crowne Plaza is among the finest San Diego hotels.

View Less
Features
*All rooms have balconies or lanais overlooking adjacent golf course or swimming pool area
*Islands Restaurant
*Islands Sushi and Pupu Bar
*Outdoor heated pool
*Fitness room
*Be Good to Yourself Massage company on site
*Business Center
*Oversized guestrooms

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 249 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Very Helpful Excellent location and staff was very accomidating to whatever we needed. Loved the underground covered parking A real plus. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good night receiption and driver We were late because of airplan delay but the friendly night fornt receiption make us feel a lot of more comfortable. The second day good drive of the hotel make us even feel better. We extend out stay for five more days immediately. A few of the good employees are really the treasury of the hotel. I can only remember a few names. Josh(afternoon and night receiption), Felnando(dirver), and Alex (Driver). Thanks a lot for the holidayinn old town. I am sure will recommend anyone I know will come to San diego. January 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast and Parking included? Good deal! If you have been to San Diego you know parking is an issue. The fact that parking and breakfast were included in the price of our stay was a prime factor in our decision when choosing where to stay, especially when traveling with a small child. The breakfast bar resolved one meal option for the day. No nned to go out and find a place to eat each morning. Also, this location was very certal to the activities we wanted to engage in, specifically, Sea World, and the World Famous San Diego Zoo. We had the opportunity to stay there when it was called Comfort Inn... I have to say that the Holiday Inn folks did well with the remodel, making the room decor up to date. The rooms and overall grounds were clean, and the staff was curtious. There is an exercise room, but it is tiny. A couple of treadmills and a bike if I recall, but if you like to jog, it was a niece area to do it, with plenty of challenging hills. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thrilled that I picked this hotel!!! You will be, too! I want to preface this by saying I am a front desk agent at a Holiday Inn Express in St. Louis. Providing excellent customer service is something I strive for and am extra sensitive to when staying elsewhere. I have stayed at Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn, and Holiday Inn Express brands. I had several choices for our recent trip and picked this location because of the positive reviews and location to my destination (MCRD). I was NOT disappointed. Our family was promptly picked up from the airport when I called the hotel. I just told them I was a guest who just arrived and they were there within 20 minutes (make sure you get your luggage first before you call them...they get there that fast!) The shuttle driver was AWESOME! He told us all about MCRD procedures since we mentioned that our son was graduating from Marine Corp Recruit Depot. We were acknowledged as Priority Club members upon check-in. Our rooms were almost immaculate! Kudos to housekeeping! You should be proud of yourselves! We had a total of 3 rooms and all were VERY clean (we used PC points for one room). I really look at the floor behind the beds and the bed skirts. Bed skirts were immaculate. I did find a few nail clippings behind one bed, but otherwise the floor boards were spotless. Great job! The Front Desk...wow! These people are wonderful! We had so many questions on where to sight see, where to rent a car, etc. Had great conversations with KYLENE at the Front Desk who answered all my questions and was very engaging (I sure hope I spelled her name correctly.) There was another young man who was behind the desk AND was a shuttle driver...Josh, you went above and beyond several times. FD helped us get a car rental at a great rate (thanks Kylene and Josh). Now for the incredible shuttle service! George and Alex, your names are the only two I remember (my daughter thought Alex was hysterical!). I just didn't get a look at name tags when I meant to. I won't go into all the places they took us and how they prepped us for entering the MCRD. How friendly they ALWAYS were. How they sent someone to get us from the car rental place and one driver who was new got lost, so they automatically realized it and sent another and TWO shuttle drivers made sure they got to us. I will just say they were fantastic! And just because this location is right next to a highway, we could NEVER hear it unless standing in the courtyard. Never from our room that opens to the outside. Now. NO hotel is perfect, so I'll say this....the property recently became a Holiday Inn Express. It seems to be on the older side, but it fits into the surrounding neighborhood architecture. (The rooms ARE updated to meet brand standards.) No pancake or waffle maker. TV runs a constant advertisement for Pay Per View, but the service is disconnected. If that's all I have to complain about, then I think YOU'RE doing good. YOUR STAFF MADE ME WANT TO COME BACK TO MY HOTEL AND BE A BETTER FRONT DESK AGENT!!!!! Thank you!!!! P.S. I'm attaching a picture that I took of a sea lion we had a close encounter with in La Jolla. Thanks Kylene for telling us where to go! December 28, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by MORE THAN SATISFIED NICE ROOM AND FRIENDLY STAFF.BREAKFASTS WERE ADEQUATE BUT NOT SPECIAL GOOD LOCATION TO OLD TOWN THE SHUTTLE SERVICE WAS SUPER THEY WILL DROP YOU OFF AND PICK-UP AROUND TOWN DURING YOUR STAY. I LIKE VALUE FOR MY $$ AND I FELT THAT I GOT IT ARNOLD December 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and very nice facility Your friendly and helpful staff made all the difference to us. The shuttle service is very convenient, and you provide a comfortable room with a nice pool and hot tube. The hot breakfasts are appreciated - a good value December 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Late arrival and early check out due to flight times. Wonderful and efficient greeting and check in Clean and very comfortable room. On time shuttle to airport. Have already booked a return night December 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasure I stay at this Holiday Inn each time I travel to San Diego. It's got the same excellent services as other Holiday Inns as well as wonderful van service. The staff is exceptional too. December 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time stay at this hotel This was my first time stay at this hotel. Great location for the airport, downtown SD and Old Town. Rooms were spotless and I loved the underground, gated parking. Staff was very helpfull. If you are seeking fast food, you need to drive to find it. Nothing in the Old Town area or near the hotel. Pick something up on the way to the hotel! I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend to anyone. December 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Everyone that works at this location is friendly and helpful. Shuttle to/from airport, Old Town, and cruise ships was very good. December 10, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Well we arrived and check in took a while. I was in line waiting and the person at front desk was helping a lady purchase some items from the store. then this guy walks in and just starts to talk the the person at front desk and I wait and I wait and I wait and finally they stoped talking and he helped me. Saturday morning at 6:00 a.m. the foot steps above my room was horrible. Room 212. then at 7:00 a.m. the noise and talking of everyone in cafeteria was horrible. They should have shut the doors. I checked out in a hurry to attend my sisters graduation or I would have gone up front to complain. They need to keep those doors closed so the room close can sleep in at least until 8:00 a.m. December 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All round great location. Central to the airport/Old World/downtown. Friendly service, comfortable room. December 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Service and Great Value We've stayed at this hotel twice now. Each time the service has been fantastic. Can't say enough good things about the staff!! November 27, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location to entertainment for value The only major complaint I have with the room I stayed in was the excessive road noise I heard. Minor: Lack of first impression appearance when entering the hallway to the part that was separated from the main part of the hotel. Felt the need to make it more inviting and not so much like a dungeon. November 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay!!!!! I was very pleased with my stay. I had never been to San Diego and did not know anything about the city. I picked this hotel by chance, close to the airport and had a shuttle and free breakfast. The front desk staff were very helpful, the shuttle drivers were very nice, as a matter of fact all staff that I had any dealings with were very nice. I would stay there again if I were to come to San Diego again. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Airport Hotel Had a great experience at this hotel. Very convenient and close to the San Diego airport. Free shuttle takes you too and from airport. Free gated parking--which is very hard to find at a hotel in SD! Rooms and hotel were just updated and are very clean and nice. Close to Old Town and several great restaurants. Hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. Highly recomend this hotel if you need to stay near the airport. November 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY THIS IS TRULY A SERVICE TO PLEASE HOTEL!!! WE ARRIVED IN SAN DIEGO BY SHIP. I CALLED THE HOTEL FOR TRANSPORTATION AND IN FIVE MINUTES THE VAN ARRIVED AT THE HARBOR TO TAKE US TO THE HOTEL. WE WERE AN EARLY ARRIVAL BUT THE DESK CLERK WAS SO KIND IN FINDING US A ROOM THAT WAS READY. IT WAS SPOTLESS AND NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. IT OVERLOOKED THE I-5 BUT IT DID NOT MATTER, THE ROOM/WINDOWS WERE SO INSULATED THAT WE DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING INCLUDING THE PLANES AT THE AIRPORT ACROSS THE ROAD. WHEN WE ARRIVED WE WERE ASKED FOR OUR DEPARTURE TIME FOR THE AIRPORT FOR THE FOLLOWING DAY AND THE DRIVER WAS PROMPT AND TOOK US TO OUR AIRLINE AT THE AIRPORT. THIS HOTEL IS IN OLD TOWN (GREAT TOURIST ATTRACTION) AND THEY WILL EVEN TAKE YOU THERE ALTHOUGH IT IS ONY ABOUT A HALF A MILE TO WALK. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN. IT IS ONLY A SHORT RIDE FROM THE HARBOR OR THE AIRPORT, MEANING LESS THAN 10 MINUTES. November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed 1 night and left car. Came back 10 days later and arrived at airport at 11:45 PM. Courtesy driver stayed after shift and picked us up.. Everybody was extremely nice and helpful. I wholeheartedly recommend this place. November 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed here while oin business I had stayed the first night at the Holiday Inn on the bay the first night. I was lured away from there with the noise "foghorn" all night, and the 22.00 daily parking fee. I opted to move to the HI Express airport for the next two nights. The room was quiet, comfortable, and the parking was free. I sacrificed a great view, but who really stays in their room long enough to enjoy a view anyway.. I will stay here again, it is within walking distance to Old Town where there are lots of choiced for dining. November 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service and professional staff With its flawless staff, top-notch presentation, location, room size and room amenities (microwave, bar refrigerator, coffee maker), not to mention the impeccable cleanliness, Holiday Inn Old Town, is our favorite hotel to stay in when we are in San Diego. The only low mark we would give would be for the quality of the beds which we believe should be of better quality. November 5, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn experience I've ever had This hotel is in the middle of a residential area, with no amenities within walking distance except a small taco stand. I checked in after a long day of work and driving. I had asked in my reservation for a room on an upper floor, away from elevators and noise. I was originally assigned to a ground floor room (the lobby is on the 2nd floor, but the "1st" floor is the garage). The 2nd floor of this hotel is ground level. I refused the room, so they gave me another room on the 3rd floor. However, this room did not have a wired internet connection (which I am required to use), so I couldn't do any work that night. Thank goodness I only stayed there one night!. The floor was dirty - it had actual Cheerios on the rug. When I asked where I could get something quick to eat, the front desk staff repeatedly suggested Old Town- a San Diego tourist trap that I would have had to drive to, pay for parking, and wait for overpriced food. No matter how many times I told them I didn't want to go to Old Town, that was the stock answer. Also, the nearest gas station is several miles down winding, twisting roads. However, it is close to the airport and rental car places. November 2, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is spread too thin I always stay at a Holiday Inn Express if available and this was my first bad experience. The staff is spread too thin and has too many responsibilities when it comes to the shuttle service. The same person responsible for shuttling folks to the airport and MCRD is also responsible for making breakfast. Breakfast was serviced late due to this. Also, the shuttle service was very slow when being picked up from MCRD on Family Day. We waited 45 minutes and finally called another shuttle service to pick us up and take us back to the hotel (which we had to pay for). Three vans were available and only two were being utilized, but one was going to the airport and only one to MCRD. More than 75 people needed to be shuttled from MCRD to the hotel and the van only carried 7-11 people. All the other hotels had already picked up their customers and Holiday Inn was the only hotel that had people still waiting at 6:45pm to be picked up. The staff was wonderful and so were the gentlemen shuttling everybody. The manager needs to re-evaluate the needs and provide more staffing to shuttle folks during Family Day from MCRD. October 29, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access Super easy to access from the freeway. You do hear the cars but not awful. The staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served longer and later than most hotels which is perfect for those of us that aren't early risers. Very good variety of foods also. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and very helpful staff stayed in this hotel in oct 2012. we stayed 6 days and everyday was enjoyed.it was close to mcrd and old town.they offered free shuttle service to many different places in san diego.if i came back to san diego i would stay here again.hope this helps anyone out. October 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, comfortable stay! Our stay was for 5 nights and we could not have asked for a better location or hotel for our family. The breakfast is good and we appreciated the free and safe parking. We were on the freeway side of the hotel, but surprisingly, the sounds did not keep us awake. The front desk staff even went above and beyond to take care of our each request and were very friendly. Finally, the shuttle service was excellent and was easy and convenient to use. October 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return visit after good experience We returned to your property after a very nice stay last June. We were not disapponted again. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was as expected with plenty of everything. The bed was comfortable and rooms clean. We will be back! October 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & comfortable Exceeded our expections. We chose this hotel for it's location (close to the airport) and did not expect the welcome we received. The shuttle service you provide is invaluable. Not only were we picked up and dropped off at the airport in a timely manner but you also shuttled us back and forth to Old Town saving us dollars on taxis'. We would stay again. October 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff was very friendly and helpful. We also loved the hotel shuttle that took us to the rail transit center or Old Town. Will definitely stay here again if visiting San Diego. October 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Clean with awesome service! The staff was very accommodating. Any questions we had were answered above and beyond. The office center was convenient to print off directions in a city that was unfamiliar. Was able to walk to great restaurants in Old Town and a rental car place nearby. The shuttle to the airport was on time and had a friendly driver. The pool and hot tub were relaxing. Great experience! I hope all Holiday Inn Express' are like this one! We'll find out....going to stay in one in Newport News, VA next week! October 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service early checkin requested and received; great suggestions for taking trolley car tour; excellent shuttle service; excellent breakfast choices - a great stay, will definitely do this one again! October 12, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Welcome to the tropics
Welcome to the tropics
Select to close.
Welcome to the tropics A tropical welcome awaits you at the Crowne Plaza San Diego You'll be greeted by our friendly staff in a tropical setting Casual elegance greets you upon arrival Atrium View from Hotel Guest Room Make a splash in our outdoor heated pool Great photo opportunity at our Lobby Waterfall Enjoy our soothing waterfall in our open air atrium
Select to close.
Select to book our daily parking package.