Crowne Plaza Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Hotel Front Desk: 61-7-55929900

Hotel Fax: 61-7-55929994

Hotel Email: res@crowneplazasurfersparadise.com.au

Check In: 2:00 PM | Check Out: 11:00 AM | Local Time: 7:30 PM


Airport
Coolangatta (OOL)

- Distance from hotel: 12.49 MI/ 20.1 KM South l

- From Coolangatta Airport, head north-west towards Longa Avenue Continue straight onto Longa Avenue At roundabout take 2nd exit onto Terminal Drive Slight left onto Gold Coast Highway Slight Right onto Gold Coast Highway Make a u-turn at Wharf Road Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Brisbane (BNE)

- Distance from hotel: 52.82 MI/ 85 KM North l

- Head south Slight right towards Airport Drive Merge onto Moreton Drive Take the ramp to M1/Gateway Motorway Take Pacific Motorway/M1 Gold Coast exit Take Exit 66, Smith Street exit towards Southport Turn right onto Gold Coast Highway Destination will be on left

Train
Nerang

- Distance from hotel: 7.08 MI/ 11.4 KM North West

- Head east, turn left onto Boulton Road, turn left onto Nerang-Broadbeach Rd/State Route 90, turn left onto Birmingham Rd/State Route 4, continue to follow State Route 4, At the roundabout, take the 3rd exit onto Ashmore Rd/State Route 24 Go through 1 roundabout, slight right to stay on Ashmore Rd/State Route 24, Turn right onto Gold Coast Highway for 1km, Hotel will be on your left.

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

- Car Parking Available

- Complimentary Daily Self-Parking

- Valet Parking Available

- Valet Parking Fee: 10.00 AUD

- Complimentary undercover parking.

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

Current Settings are:

/


Change Preferences:

Country of Residence:

Available Languages:

lang-loader
Make A Reservation

Book Online or Call:

Chat with an AgentChat with an Agent

Best Price Guarantee

Select to close

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button

Please enter Check In.

Please enter Check Out.

Costs 10p per minute + network extras

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 149 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property
Read All Reviews

Ratings Breakdown

149reviews

  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    8

Great pool, coffee, and loved the shower

By

July 20, 2014

club

The king bed room was just as expected for 5 stars. The outside balcony had a great view, was a good size and relaxing. I absolutely loved the shower. Large size shower head with good water pressure. The shampoo/ conditioner was not bad either. yes I am fussy as I have long hair :) We had a choice of 2 pools as we were staying in the gold tower. The main pool was better than the Gold Tower pool for children as it was larger with ponds and a bridge. The other pool was better if you want privacy. The pool was cold so the kids played in the spa whilst I relaxed on the banana lounge and read a book in the sunshine. I truly relaxed which is a compliment to the hotel. The young girl in the restaurant made a great cappuccino. I was pleased as I found it hard to get good coffee on the esplanade. The concierge service was a little slow as there was only one. No one was at the front to great me or direct me upon arrive which I found to be a poor first impression. The service did improve after that. The wifi was not very good. The kids complained. Overall I would recommend this hotel. I had a great sleep and truly relaxed. Staff were very accommodating. The location was OK. Transportation was available out the front of the hotel. I think I would prefer to be closer to the esplanade next trip.

Read More
Read Less

everything we wished for

By

July 18, 2014

from the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be a great experience, upgraded , free bottle of wine , and amazing views from the 19th floor, we can not fault ,,,, the room had climate control, a spa to die for , the room was clean and felt like a home away from home, it is so quiet you dont realise your not the only guests....

from a local point of view we could have been anywhere in the world and you wouldnt know it ,,,we were so happy we picked Crown Plaza ,,,room service is very fair and great food, elevators are fast , car parking was a breeze,,,it even has a bar on the corner with pokies and a great atmosphere...... close to the casino and surfers its perfectly in the middle of both ....yep we will be back !!!!! thanks again

Read More
Read Less

Atrocious IHG ''ambassador''

By

July 14, 2014

club

Rude and cold, unfriendly, unhelpful front desk. Poor amenities, poorly presented. Have sent a complaint letter to the GM. Please look out for it. I expect a reply.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay, just refine a few details to be 5 star

By

July 06, 2014

We've stayed at the Crowne Plaza a few times now and we've generally had a good time and filled with plenty of great memories for the Gold Coast. But this time around, a few cracks appeared.

All good stuff first - location is great, facilities good, rooms generally good, buffet is good, staff are great and helpful/friendly.

I don't usually leave bad reviews but these needed to be shared...

There is no DVD player in the family based room. For parents with kids, this is a must to help wind them down. Not always movies, they watch TV shows to help feel comfortable. Most other places offer this.

If you are requesting a family room and providing the age of the children, the cost for breakfast should be included. There is no possible way we can leave the children in the room while we enjoy our included buffet breakfast. And the additional cost was an unexpected $100+ for the week.

Finally, the cost of breakfast for children is excessive. We have a 5 and 7 year old. Both had to eat breakfast with us at the cost of $14 each. They only ate 2 pancakes, a piece of fruit and half a glass of milk. Hardly worth $14. Please consider a better pricing structure for children. A 5 year old should not be in the same cost as a 14 year old.

Finally, bed side light was blown, clock radio didn't work and the Spa bath was absolutely filthy. The kids wanted their first spa and it was nothing but filth coming out of the pipes. Disgusting!

Read More
Read Less

EXCELLENT ROOM LAYOUT

By

July 04, 2014

club

Layout of room was one of the best I have experienced. The separate toilet was a valuable feature, ie not in same room as shower.
The walk-in wardrobe was great and it was screened off from visitors which meant the "mess" was not on display.

The providing of biscuit snacks was a nice feature.

On the negative side, although there was a wide choice of pillow hardness to softness, there was no height option. I would like to see a height option introduced, ie medium height, low height as I prefer a low height but all pillows were high height of various hardness

As expected and normal, the mini bar prices were high. I would like to see IHG take the initiative and introduce mini bar prices at a level that visitors, not on business, would accept as reasonable and use . Although this might make mini bars run at a loss, I believe there is a lot of good will out there waiting for someone to capitalise on.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

July 04, 2014

club

Great and affordable 5 star hotel.
My tv unfortunately had a cable missing and I didn't want to move rooms. The staff were amazing ! They gave me 2 bottles of wine and anything I used out of the minibar to compensate for the tv.
They did also offer an upgrade but as I had friends over it was my choice not to move.
The room was clean and tidy and showcased a large balcony with beautiful views of the ocean.
I travel for work regularly and will always plan my stays here from now on.
The only downside would be it's a taxi drive to restaurants, bars etc if you don't have your own transport. BUT we got a stretch limo into town for only $20 so excellent options available.
Thanks Crown for an amazing stay, I will be back!!!

Read More
Read Less

Disappointing experience

By

June 26, 2014

club

We checked in to the Hotel on a Friday afternoon. There were issues with parking at that time i.e. we were unable to secure a parking position at the front of the hotel to allow us to unload luggage and complete the check-in process. We were not too concerned about this and initially parked outside of the Hotel complex while we completed check-in. During this process we asked about internet access and parking. At no time were we told there was a 'valet' parking service available nor were we informed that there was the potential that we would have to park on the street due to the high number of guests attending conferences etc. We were also asked whether we would like a paper to be delivered to our room the following morning to which we responded yes and advised our preference. We had to ask about internet access twice as the first response did not answer our question and was 'mumbled'. It appeared that either the person checking us in was under pressure or in a hurry to get home.

We did not receive our paper the following morning but didn't consider this too much of an issue, more a nuisance not worth worrying about.

Saturday evening however was quite a different issue. We drove around the car park three times looking for a parking spot. Unfortunately, all parking spaces were taken and getting out of the car park was an issue in itself. Cars were backed up inside the car park and on the exit ramp as there were cars blocking the exit at the front of the Hotel - presumably guests unloading luggage. There were a number of Hotel employees assisting with this however clearly not enough. We were not approached at any time while sitting in our car trying to get on to the exit ramp to advise that we could leave our car with Hotel staff who would park it for us when a position became available.

We were forced to park our rental car across the highway, next to a park as there were no other parking spots available near the Hotel.

When we came back to the Hotel, I asked 'Emily' what the issue was with parking. She was initially quite apologetic however when I challenged her in regard to her statement that ' we make a point of telling all our guests that we provide a 'valet' service where we will park your car when a spot becomes available as often the car park is full until 11pm' her attitude was nothing short of rude and disrespectful. I informed her that we were never told about this service and she responded with a smirk that 'we tell all our guests'. Again, I informed her that this was not the case with us as if it was we wouldn't be having this discussion.

This line of 'discussion' went on for a few more minutes with similar behaviour exhibited by Emily and a number of requests from me asking her to 'please stop smirking' all of which she responded to with 'I'm not smirking'. Emily did offer to give us a 'free' breakfast and to let her know what the name of the paper was that we did not receive that morning however I informed her that we were not interested in getting anything for free - we were merely asking to be provided the service we had paid for.

Of most concern to my husband and I was Emily's behaviour the minute we left the front desk - she proceeded to share a joke and laugh with the customer waiting in line behind us and I have absolutely no hesitation in saying that this was at our expense. I would be very surprised and disappointed if Crowne Plaza found this type of behaviour from its employees acceptable.

I raised my concerns immediately with the Duty Manager Danielle. Whilst being apologetic for Emily's apparent 'unusual' behaviour she also informed me that the issue with parking was uncommon and had only happened three times in the last six months. I informed Danielle that I found this quite hard to believe as we had been guests at the Hotel a couple of months prior and had the same issue then and in fact one of the Hotel employees gave us his parking spot as he was finishing his shift within the hour. I will add that he also mentioned that this was a common occurrence on the weekend.

As I mentioned to both Danielle and Emily, we are not looking for compensation, I would like to think that your Organisation can use this feedback to address what appear to be training issues and a fundamental lack of understanding of how important every Customer is. It might pay Emily to consider that when she is at work, she is the face of Crowne Plaza and she not only let your Customers down, she let your Organisation down.

Read More
Read Less

Just stunning !

By

June 25, 2014

We stayed in the gold tower over looking the beautiful beach fro as far as the eye can see , spacious balcony and is very spacious room! We also had welcoming chocolates yummy ... Over all we are booking this hotel / room again it was perfect :) .. And everyone was very friendly thank you .

Read More
Read Less

Wow Factor

By

June 16, 2014

club

We would come back again and again. Best room, best view and best food. would recommend to friends and family. We came for sun and relaxation and celebrate our son's birthday. The Crown Plaza was close to everything and we felt we could leave our bags and go travelling Surfers and not have to worry. The room service in house was amazing. And to wake up to a Newspaper in the morning was great.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday in Style

By

June 11, 2014

Crowne Plaza offers impeccable service with excellent on-site amenities, suitable for the casual holiday-goers or the regular businessman. The staff were professional, and the room was lovely. There is also a varied dine-in menu as well as a restaurant on-site, and the hotel is close to the beach and within walking distance of both Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise. I definitely recommend this accommodation.

Read More
Read Less

Average experience

By

June 08, 2014

club

The hotel stay was fairly average I didnt feel as though I was staying in a luxury hotel. Would probably try something different next time. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very good at breakfast probably highlight of stay at hotel. would of liked a beauty spa in hotel.

Read More
Read Less

wonderful staff & great service

By

May 29, 2014

club

We stayed here to celebrate my husband's birthday and on arrival we received a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a lovely note from the customer relations manager wishing him all the very best - it made us feel special. From the moment we booked in to when we booked out the staff were friendly, most accommodating and cheerful. We had a wonderful dinner and breakfast in the revolving restaurant and once again we had a super efficient waitress, even though the restaurant was full she effortlessly floated over the table constantly clearing plates and refilling our water, taking our drinks orders and all done so cheerfully - the staff and the hotel are a credit to the hotel chain.

Read More
Read Less