• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINIA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accept animals in the public space or guest rooms of the hotel, but our front desk will be happy to refer you to a local kennel. Certified service animals are always welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Ocean Breeze Water Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of free parking for hotel guests and ample spaces to accommodate tour buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0635

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia
View More

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk is a lodging option perfect for business travelers, since we're "The Place to Meet" near Norfolk, VA. Our hotel's location is convenient if you have appointments at Northrup Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Geico or Oceana or Norfolk naval stations.

Planning an adventure is easy as there's so much to see and do in Virginia Beach. Lodging with us means you are just a half-mile from fantastic Town Center shops and restaurants, eight miles from the Boardwalk, seven miles from downtown Norfolk and the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center. You can also spend a day exploring nature areas like Back Bay National Wildlife refuge and False Cape State Park.

Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're sure you will enjoy your stay, since we have some of the best amenities near Norfolk, VA. The hotel's Fitness Center, indoor pool, Tines Restaurant, Aqua Bar and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program are sure to make your stay memorable.

View Less
Features
With a convenient location just off I-264, we're one of the best-positioned hotels in Virginia Beach for getting to and from meetings and appointments at area businesses and military installations.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 371 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overly Pleasant Our stay was excellent in all facets and the staff could not have been any better at providing excellent customer service! When in the Va Beach area again we will certainly look forward to returning to this property. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's why we go there very year,,, Our family has enjoyed the 39th Street Holiday Inn every summer for the past 20 years or so. Love the North End location - much quieter than other parts of the beach, The hotel is clean, the staff is very helpful and we always can relax knowing things will be well taken care of....and the last couple of years seems like things have really improved - more reliable ice machines, better quality interiors, etc. We'll probably be back next year.... July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Great location on the beach, and within walking distance to everything. Just about all the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Only improvement needed is parking. When we checked in, both lots were full, but they let my car stay in the valet area and moved it for me when parking was available. It was expensive, but service and location were great. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Review Several excellent staff members made our stay most enjoyable. Joshua at the front desk, Spencer and Craig in the valet staff were very helpful to my husband Tony who's handicapped; they got our SUV, and brought it to the circle for us whenever we needed it. Veronika and the maid staff on the 7th floor made sure our room was clean and pleasant. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE Another successful year at Virginia Beach - we will continue to go back to this hotel over and over. Never one complaint. I cannot say enough about this place. I highly recommend. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT ONE WORD__EXCELLENT____only words left to say this was a true holiday inn experience I wish I could go back next week__________ July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel What a Nice hotel!!!! Everything from the room, the pools, food served beside the principal pool, ambience and service is perfect!! The service is awesome as EVERYONE helps you with a smile. Will return for sure July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by every thing was correct best place & best vacation on the entire east coast July 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay at Holiday Inn Was impressed by the 3 pools and having 3 restaurants on site. The day that it rained we were able to entertain ourselves and not leave the hotel by swimming, enjoying the movie and playing games. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Impressed Hotel staff were all very friendly and responsive to any needs. Breakfast are as good as Shoney's if not a little better. Rooms were clean and we'll equipped. No complaints at all. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We had a very good experience if you want to go to a not so crowded beach, park and not have to drive anywhere. Three great pools. Very friendly and helpful staff. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. Veryvery nice The stay was great. The people at the front desk were polite as well as everyone that works at the facility The place was very tidy and clean. My 9 yr. old loved the movie theatre. My 5 yr. old loved the splash camp. The whole famy enjoyed the pools slides lazy rivers and hot tub. The rooms were nice and the restaurants had good food. They could be a little bigger. But overall it was a great stay and will go back again July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by reasonable stay was reasonable breakfast wasvery good other eating area in open space too noisy music July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great when weather is good If the weather is sunny and warm during the day, this hotel is fine. Lots of pools and of course the ocean. Water sports are nowhere though. If the weather gets bad, like rain or storms, this hotel isn't the best. There's nothing to do! They have a movie theater, but they didn't play appropriate family movies throughout the day! Transformers and Spiderman? My kids would have nightmares! No game room. Sand from beach that was brought up in towels etc. wasn't swept up from housecleaning. We did enjoy our stay, but we had 2 days of storms and were confined to our room with nothing to do. We can do that at home. The boardwalk was a disappointment too. There wasn't any entertainment! Evening activities were nonexistent! The staff was incredibly kind and friendly. Location was nice during the day because you're at the end of the boardwalk so there wasn't a lot of traffic. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Despite Weather-Related Complications We have often stayed at this property and have always been very satisfied. On this visit ,(during which we were fortunate enough to introduce our great-grandson to the beach!! ), there was a terrible storm creating severe flooding in many areas surrounding the hotel. The hotel dealt with its own water issues in an extremely competent manner. It seemed that there was personnel everywhere cleaning, making sure that guests navigated wet areas safely, and checking to make sure all were OK. It was obviously a stressful time for all, and we appreciated the calm, helpful, can-do attitude displayed by the staff that we encountered. By the next morning, it was as if there had been no storm at all. On a non-storm note, the hotel is marvelous in that there are so many great things for children, the lazy river, playroom, and movie theatre are just a few of the things that make it very kid-friendly. Thanks again to all who made our stay great! July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay! Love the location of this hotel on the quiet end of the beach. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff overall was friendly and welcoming. I especially appreciated the warm welcome from Charles the head chef....and the omelettes he made at breakfast were fantastic! It was great having lunch on the beach at the Square Whale. Overall, another enjoyable stay. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Room but staff moved us We encountered a room that was not up to par. The staff was able to move us the next day to a more suitable room, although the air conditioner was pointed directly to the bed and was very loud. Overall once we moved rooms, the stay was enjoyable enough, although since we were there for a dance competition, we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing stay with too many problems The location of this hotel is good, despite the frequent passing of naval aircraft! Many of the staff however, need to improve the quality of their work. This includes housekeeping in particular, but also the front desk. I would not stay here again. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities My Goddaughter and I had a wonderful stay. She wanted a place with a pool and was very happy with all of your pools. She met several friends, took parts in the wonderful activities you offered. Having the guys come around with the water was a great thing to do in the hot weather. Everyone on the staff was so nice and helpful. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service had a great time clean hotel and beautiful location, The kids loved the pool, Tonka and tink, and the personal movie theatre. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful family Hotel The Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - North Beach was an awesome hotel. Everything about our stay was great. The beach is beautiful and all 3 of the pools were a blast for both the kids and adults. Every single staff member at the Hotel was friendly and ensured that we were satisfied. Our kids loved the pools and the kids play room. The only downfall to the hotel was that the food and drinks were expensive. I'm sure it is the same at every hotel on the strip, but I don't think you can get a meal for under $10. Fortunately the kids ate free! The alcohol is VERY expensive. I recommend walking across the street to the 7-11 and buying a 12 pack and putting it in your room. Overall it was an AWESOME time!! July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice vacation destination My family and I enjoy this HI and we enjoy Va Beach. People around the hotel are pleasant, helpful and accommodating. It is a very nice beach hotel with an excellent beach. This HI also has the Isle of Capri Italian Restaurant which is very nice. The breakfast bar is great too. We just enjoyed our 2nd stay here and we plan to return next year........if not before. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing vacation with superb service If you are planning on visiting Virginia Beach consider Holiday Inn for your stay. Great hotel, beautifully located by the boardwalk and steps away from the beach. Nicely decorated room with microwave and spacious fridge. Very comfortable beds with firm and soft pillows. TV with many channels and free WFi. Super friendly staff always greeting you with a smile and offering assistance. Very organized and proactive administration, slipping important updates under your door. From what we saw, the nicest outdoor pool, open until 11pm and cleaned every morning. Crazy breakfast menu and buffet to start your day. Very nice memories, we will be back for sure. Kathy - Milton, Ontario July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Weekend I was very impressed with how much this location had to offer. The staff was outstanding. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel but........... Let me start with I love this hotel. The location is a little far out for all the night life on 21st st but its nice to return to a slower pace once you get back. Lazy River, pools & hot tob are our fav's. Theater is great and just a lot to do for the kiddos. Staff is very nice and rooms are over all ok. They are starting to look a little less modern wich I do not like. Food is good. Cons for this visit: We did not get upgraded per my request and per the Platinum Elite benefit. We had a suite but wanted a deluxe suite. Bathrooms very small. Was not happy that I was told that the storm wasnt affecting the area or that hotel. Called hotel 3 times to inquire and inform we were stuck in the storm but were on our way.each time told the same thing. We arrived very late and still had to pay full price for a room we didnt use a day.I feel like it should have been pro-rated, especially because when we arrived there was clearly a storm and signs were printed all over the hotel.Fire alarm at about 6 am and we were evacuated. Although we got a free breakfast, it wasnt offered we had to ask for it. I also was told at first that we couldnt have a later check out per our platinum member benefit but we did eventually get one. So all in all it was a good visit but im still upset about the fee for a room we didnt use and being told the storm wast affecting that area, just to arrive and see that it was. We may have decided to stay home we may not have but I would have liked to be given a choice since we have small children in our party. July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by CONFUSED STAFF, NOT FRIENDLY I WAS TOLD BY STAFF AT TIME OF RESERVATIONS I WOULD BE IN A OCEAN FRONT ROOM, UPON ARRIVAL I WAS ABLE TO SEE THE POOL AND BAR AREA NOT THE OCEAN, FIRE DRILL WENT OFF I WAS ON 3RD FLOOR HAD FAMILY ON 5TH FLOOR WE HEARD NO ALARM HAD TO BE CALLED VIA CELL PHONE BY ANOTHER FAMILY MEMBER. WAS OFFERED FREE BREAKFAST FOR COMPENSATION INSTEAD OF REDUCING MY RATE, I WILL NOT USE THIS PROPERTY AGAIN VERY DISSATISFIED July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful We stay here for July the 4 , the hotel is beautiful, clean and the rooms are big and the bed and pillows are so comfortable . It has 2 pools outside and 1 inside. My daughter loves the pools and she enjoyed a lot. The breakfast is delicious and they have variety of food. We will come back next year, I really recommend . July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value for oceanfront rooms Clean, friendly and overall relaxing. Excellent facilities if you are bringing children. Also nice for business travelers because the children are occupied with many activities and tend to stay in designated areas. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice We have stayed at this location a few different times and we consider this to be a wonderful selection with great staff and amenitites. The four different pools (two lazy rivers and two full pools) offers variety at the hotel along with ocean front access to the beach and ocean. The location is quiet and wonderfully maintained. The staff (of special note is the front desk supervisor/manager and the square whale staffing) are wonderful and take care of all the customer needs. We have a son with a food allergy and the square whale dining staff and chef took very good care of us. We had a large party of people with us and we felt welcome and very well taken care of from the room to the pools to the friendliness of the staff. I would definitely visit this location again and would highly recommend it to others. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Great location. Staff made our stay comfortable. Hotel was always clean and staff available to assist. We were there during Hurricane Arthur and the situation was professionally managed - always felt safe. Would improve signage for stairs - difficult to find with only two small slow elevators... not a great option if can't find them! July 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Area Attractions Downtown Norfolk Evening Virginia Beach Oceanfront Jet Skiing Virginia Beach Town Center Virginia Beach Oceanfront Harbor Park Downtown Norfolk Parasailing Virginia Lighthouse AMC Theathers Lynnhaven Mall Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading