• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINIA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accept animals in the public space or guest rooms of the hotel, but our front desk will be happy to refer you to a local kennel. Certified service animals are always welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Ocean Breeze Water Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of free parking for hotel guests and ample spaces to accommodate tour buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0635

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia
View More

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk is a lodging option perfect for business travelers, since we're "The Place to Meet" near Norfolk, VA. Our hotel's location is convenient if you have appointments at Northrup Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Geico or Oceana or Norfolk naval stations.

Planning an adventure is easy as there's so much to see and do in Virginia Beach. Lodging with us means you are just a half-mile from fantastic Town Center shops and restaurants, eight miles from the Boardwalk, seven miles from downtown Norfolk and the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center. You can also spend a day exploring nature areas like Back Bay National Wildlife refuge and False Cape State Park.

Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're sure you will enjoy your stay, since we have some of the best amenities near Norfolk, VA. The hotel's Fitness Center, indoor pool, Tines Restaurant, Aqua Bar and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program are sure to make your stay memorable.

View Less
Features
With a convenient location just off I-264, we're one of the best-positioned hotels in Virginia Beach for getting to and from meetings and appointments at area businesses and military installations.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Frinedly staff, though not particularly knowledgeable Overall, my family really did enjoy a nice stay here the weekend of the sand soccer tournament. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and, of course, the ocean view and convenience to everything was great. Just a couple of areas for improvement: 1. While friendly, the staff wasn't particularly knowledgeable about some of the local restaurants. Example: Couldn't tell me the name of type of food served at restaurant right next door. Given that this property doesn't have a restaurant, it would make sense to send people over there... 2. I've stayed at the other HI Express at the quieter end of the beach and that one seemed a little more modern, with a more resort-like feel (don't recall price differences, though) 3. Our room was not as clean as I would've liked it; in particular, it was very dusty and the carpet was quite worn. 4. It was disappointing that there was only one parking spot for each room. We had the unanticipated expense of paying for public parking for the weekend. Though, I will say, the staff was flexible on Sunday by allowing us to park our second vehicle in the front lot once some folks checked out. 5. Breakfast was not great but free and we didn't go hungry so that's what mattered most. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by vacation front desk staff not friendly. cut my foot in hot tub and she was more annoyed than anything. offered me a band aid and that was it. room very dusty and didn't smell good until i wiped it all down with Clorox wipes. didn't get club member gift. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms at heart of VA Beach The room was clean and large with a nice balcony and a great view of the ocean. Front desk staff was friendly and check-in and check-out was extremely fast and efficient despite the fact that the hotel was completely filled due to a sand-soccer competition that weekend. The breakfast had a good selection and the cinnamon buns were great! We would definitely stay at this hotel again! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time to Virginia Beach My mom and I stayed for two nights at this location to visit the area. The property was easy to find, and conveniently located to dining establishments. What impressed us the most was the biking/walking paths between the hotel and beach. This property's beach side landscaping was the best we saw, even if the street side landscaping was forgettable. The desk and housekeeping staff were extremely friendly, and we were impressed at the attention given by the breakfast staff to assuring food items didn't run out. I had to ask about the goody bag or points at check in, but then the desk staff was very accommodating. I will definitely stay at this property if I ever return to Virginia Beach! June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would like to see A game I rate my stay average in. this area and would like the hotel to up their quality of customer care and satisfaction. This location would probably be a better as a off season trip. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Clean It was nice to find a hotel on the oceanfront that does not over charge! June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beachfront Location We have stayed here before and I amazed that you can get such decent accommodations for this price. Easy access to the beach and walking distance to several restaurants. The ocean view is fantastic. We will always try to stay here when we are in the area. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st review I have never left a review before on any site but felt I need to after our stay last week. My wife and I had a king bed. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was a typical room. The pool was a little small and the breakfast was above average. My reason for writing a review is mostly because of the staff. I have stayed in a lot of hotels before but have never seen a more friendly staff. Every time we passed a member of the staff, from the ladies at the front desk to the cleaning crew to the maintenance men, they spoke. They always had a smile on their face. This made us feel welcome. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girl's weekend get away Awesome accommodations, convenient locations, great breakfast. private balcony June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiffany and Star Both were very helpful and friendly. The night time lady, after 11pm was excellent as well. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OCEAN VEIW WAS GREAT!!!!! GREAT VEIW OF OCEAN. HOTEL WAS GREAT..THIS REVIEW PROCESS IS A LITTLE ANNOYING THO June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Place to stay in Va. Beach I've stayed in several oceanfront hotels in Va. Beach and this is one of, if not the best all around hotels. Accommodating staff, nice rooms, clean, nice amenities, including a pretty decent breakfast buffet. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by parking Very poor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Had one lot next to tyhe Hotel, hit and miss if you could find a space. Second lot was full all the time we were there. Very tough with bad knees if your aree 93 and 91 years old. May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good, but not bad The room was nice, I have stayed at better and more updated Holiday Inn Express. The lock on the door would not lock and there was not enough lighting when you first walked into the room. The parking lot is horrible. We had to make sure we were back at the hotel everyday early, just so we could get a parking space. There seemed to be a lot of homeless people hanging around the hotels, that made me a little uneasy. Overall, the staff was nice and friendly. I don't think I will be coming back to Virginia Beach, just not the atmosphere I was looking for. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable room We were very please with this hotel . We were in a very good location convenient to everything. The breakfast was wonderful with a large dining area inside and outside. Eating breakfast sitting with a view of the ocean was a plus. All the personnel were friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again if I am in the area again. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great place, clean, friendly and convenient. Staff is curteous and very attentive to requests. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal Clean friendly staff and wonderful view. Quiet and breakfast was good. I like the fact they served turkey sausage. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay My wife and I have always stayed in a Holiday Inn Express and when we seen this one right on Virginia Beach, we could not pass it up. From the initial greeting by the staff upon check - in to our final day was nothing than excellent. All the staff at this hotel was nothing less than extraordinary. There was one particular staff member; Star, who would anytime she would see you either in the lobby for breakfast or anytime for that matter always greeted my wife and I with a smile and either a "Good Morning, How are you" or "Hello, I hope you are having a great time" This was the "icing on the cake" to our stay there. We WILL be staying there again :-) May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Schöner Aufenthalt direkt am Strand Guter Aufenthalt in direkter Strandlage. Parkplatz direkt vorm Hotel. Indoorpool ausreichend. May 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great views! The view was great! Pool was extremely small and did not appear clean (so we did not go into it)! Room was average...great cleaning supervisors and crew who were professional and helpful! April 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Website needs to reflect actual facilities I booked a 1BR 2QUEEN suite with this property -- selected precisely because the website showed it. This is why I selected the property -- most suites have two doubles or one King. The front desk tried to tell me that all their suites have two doubles or a king. I didn't argue, but went back to check and the website clearly shows 2 queens for what I booked. In addition to the misrepresentation above, I also take exception to the professional photo of the pool -- deliberately taken with a lens and at an angle to make it look very large, which it was not. It would be good if this review actually makes it to the hotel website, but even better if management rectifies these misrepresentations, whether or not they are deliberate. On the plus side, the staff was friendly. I would not fault them for the points above, as these are management/corporate issues. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place From prompt room cleaning to easy beach access, this was a simply wonderful experience. April 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Nothing special nice to be next to the ocean. Parking was a pain was not enough and people are rude(not hotels fault people are rude) Hotel not real clean and jacuzzi was broke the whole time we where there hard to believe in this day and age couldnt be fixed in three weeks time. Hotel not real clean but have learned to travel with lysol wipes and spray as well as detergent to clean with. Hotel should be fine for most people considering how much we have lowered our standards in this country. Instead of demanding that others raise there standards to meet ours we have lowered ours to meet theres. only recommend this hotel because I am sure the rest are the same. PLEASE BRING BACK AMERICAN PRIDE April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed fair, great service Nice ocean view and waves are great to hear. Room ok. Kleenex in bathroom were stale and bottom of box wet and stuck to counter. Lots of teenagers. Overall a good place. Staff great! April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one slight issue We stayed here 2 nights and loved everything about the facility. We had an issue but management as well as front desk staff was very helpful and apologetic. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Registration staff Upon arrival the man at the desk was very welcoming and engaging and provided very helpful information about restaurants. All of the staff were always gracious including the breakfast room staff. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gymnastics at the Beach Excellent service by the staff when an erroneous charge was discovered on our bill. No hassle in clearing the issue up. My two gymnasts enjoyed the pancakes and the heated pool. Oceanfront view was fabulous. February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Wonderful Stay here Stayed here for both business and pleasure now at least 4 times. Staff is very friendly, the hotel is kept very clean, gym room is great (lots of equipment), pool and hot tub area are wonderful. And they always recognize IHG rewards members with great gift options. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel and location we were passing through, but if we were to return, it would be to see the christmas lights on the beach and we would absolutely stay at this hotel again. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff and Hotel We couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at. We chose Holiday Inn Express because we love their continental breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms/facility that we have always received; when staying at one. This particular one has topped all of the rest. It was very easy to find, in a perfect location,and the staff were incredible and extra sweet! All of that together created an extra special vacation for us and when we visit Virginia Beach again, this is where we will be staying! 2 Thumbs up! Keep up the great work! January 5, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Area Attractions Downtown Norfolk Evening Virginia Beach Oceanfront Jet Skiing Virginia Beach Town Center Virginia Beach Oceanfront Harbor Park Downtown Norfolk Parasailing Virginia Lighthouse AMC Theathers Lynnhaven Mall Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click to learn more about our summer savings when you  book early.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading