• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINIA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accept animals in the public space or guest rooms of the hotel, but our front desk will be happy to refer you to a local kennel. Certified service animals are always welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Ocean Breeze Water Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of free parking for hotel guests and ample spaces to accommodate tour buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0635

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia
View More

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk is a lodging option perfect for business travelers, since we're "The Place to Meet" near Norfolk, VA. Our hotel's location is convenient if you have appointments at Northrup Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Geico or Oceana or Norfolk naval stations.

Planning an adventure is easy as there's so much to see and do in Virginia Beach. Lodging with us means you are just a half-mile from fantastic Town Center shops and restaurants, eight miles from the Boardwalk, seven miles from downtown Norfolk and the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center. You can also spend a day exploring nature areas like Back Bay National Wildlife refuge and False Cape State Park.

Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're sure you will enjoy your stay, since we have some of the best amenities near Norfolk, VA. The hotel's Fitness Center, indoor pool, Tines Restaurant, Aqua Bar and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program are sure to make your stay memorable.

View Less
Features
With a convenient location just off I-264, we're one of the best-positioned hotels in Virginia Beach for getting to and from meetings and appointments at area businesses and military installations.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 214 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Need More Elevators Clean and comfortable. Everything you could need for a week's worth of family beach vacationing is within walking distance. Ocean/beach view from balcony is awesome, and it's designed to be private enough that you can hardly hear neighboring rooms. The indoor pool and workout room are on the small side, but they keep it clean. Breakfast was free, so can't complain. A dozen or so fighter jets fly over every day, but unless you're on the phone, it's not a big deal. Only real down side is that there are only two elevators and no service elevator, so taking the stairs is often faster in the middle of the day when the service staff is cleaning rooms. We once took the elevator from the 8th floor at around 10:00 am, and we literally stopped at every floor on the way down. Bottom line: A good option for families who want the beach. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and service I stay at HI Expresses because of comfort, breakfast and locations. This one rates as one of best overall stays that we have had. Great service, great attitudes. We will be back. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Notch Staff and Accommodations Another very comfortable and great stay at Holiday Inn Express, Virginia Beach. The staff could not be more courteous and helpful. Extra towels were brought to our room within 10 minutes of our request. Check-in was speedy and courteous, especially Tricia, who went beyond her call to accommodate our needs. Our dietary needs were quickly met at the breakfast café. Food is plentiful, dining area is kept very clean and inviting. We will return many, many times. The only thing that I could possibly think that they could improve on is the bed pillows--I might just bring my own next time. I love this property! August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by virginia Beach Oceanfront My FAMILY and I enjoyed the front desk staff who worked 2nd tour. they were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is now my spot to use whenever i am in Virginia Beach. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience From the moment we walked in, my husband, two girls, and brother (with disabilities), were thrilled with the cleanliness, cheery and helpful staff, location, and then the suite. The suite had plenty of room for 5 and gave us the privacy we needed with our type of party. We would love to come back next year. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and comfortable room The room was clean and comfortable. Staff members were very nice and willing to help. Breakfast was great with plenty of time even for late sleepers. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ocean view and outstanding staff Our stay at the hotel was excellent ! Room was clean and uncluttered. The parking situation wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews suggested. Additional parking is located directly across the street. We had a problem with the balcony slider in our room which I called the front desk, and within 5 minutes a gentleman from maintenance arrived and corrected the problem. The cleaning staff were polite and courteous, making sure that we had everything we needed. Great breakfast selections that everyone enjoyed. We can't wait for a return trip ! August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service very nice hotel at a great price. nice clean rooms. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Really like this hotel, have stayed here before and will stay again! Rooms comfy, location good. Staff very friendly and housekeeping was great. Rooms recently updated, comfortable. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ocean front room Great view, your right in the heart of the boardwalk And just steps away from the ocean. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Frontdesk Service Although the service from the Frontdesk was excellent, it was overshadowed by the uncleanliness of the room. I guess the housekeeping neglected to check underneath the bed. There were quite a few of garbages and emptied bottles under there. I had my baby infant with me at the time so it was quite unpleasant for her. Other than that minor incident, everything was quite well even when housekeeping was running low on towels, they advised us that they'll bring those up as soon as they're available. This is one of the reasons why I limited my stays with IHG. August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No service elevators There are only 2 elevators in this hotel. No service elevator. I recommend you get a room on the 1st floor because the employees do not have their own elevator. It is very slow because of this. Also, we had to park 2 blocks away because they don't have adequate parking. Our car was not secure and i was notified that the hotel was not responsible for break ins. Our bathroom door wouldn't shut. The bathroom floor was dirty and stained, the drain cover in the bathtub was not secure and the front desk would only answer the phone 1 out of 4 times. It generally just rang with no answer. I will not stay again. I expected more for the price. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Virginia Beach excellent hotel ...very clean great service the only thing I really don't like it is the big containers on the site of the elevators in each floor looks awfull August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We had a fine experience with out stay at this hotel. It was an excellent location and a nice bonus that breakfast was included! Our room was fine and tidy. Upon check out I was asked if I wanted a receipt printed or emailed. I chose emailed, but I did not receive it. I know they have my email because I got this survey. No complaints really and would stay again. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Could not get a room closer to the beach parking was avalible but strange lol August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite My family and I stayed in one of the suites overlooking the ocean and it was such a relaxing and fabulous experience. The suite was very roomy and we were able to stretch out! I love the Holiday Inn Expresses because you get a lot of Bang for your Buck! August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Everything was good! Will return someday. Friendly staff. Only downside would be parking. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Front View I enjoyed having beach front view. The hotel had easy assess to the beach and board walk. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and great service Have enjoyed staying here in the past and enjoyed the recent stay with a couple exceptions. Upon arriving, our room had a really bad odor, which housekeeping promptly corrected by masking the odor with a spray mixture around the room. Would be nice to think the Hotel occasional took time to thoroughly clean each room to disinfect and deodorize them, everything in them! Was also disturbed by the noise of the jets that passed by several times a day. Seems we were in the flight path and they were directly overhead. Aside from that, we enjoyed the beach, walking the boardwalk and local entertainment. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No( Priority Club) IHG reward club recognition Not even a thanks for being a rewards club member. No mention at all. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average First of all, if you are looking for onsite parking to be available, it most likely will not be. When we arrived on Saturday, the parking lot was full. We were told we had to park across the street. There is no security or very good lighting for the lot. We were able to park the next day in an open spot in the hotel lot but only left one time for fear of not finding a spot. People were parked everywhere in the lot which blocked the entrance walking into the hotel. It was very frustrating. Also, there is no freight elevator for the employees. You share an elevator with the employees who are working in the building such as housekeeping. It takes forever to get to your room. We used the stairs most of the time. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend! WOW, What a Great weekend. Hotel and room were clean, staff was very friendly, helpful and very quick to respond. Parking was the only issue. Will stay there again!! July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will not be returning We stayed here last week and we were suppose to stay for 5 nights but after the first night I looked for another hotel for us to stay at. I have to say first that the staff at this hotel is very friendly and I have no complaints about them and the breakfast was really good, but my complaints come from the room and the parking situation. When we arrived to our room it had been left unlocked and the carpet in the room had many stains on it and it was lifting up in a few spots. Rooms need to be updated. The dresser in the room had a broken drawer. Also, there weren't any towels in the room for me and my family to use and it took over 2 hours to get some. I didn't like that we had to walk a couple of blocks to park our car. This was really inconvenient. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years and I am sorry to say I won't be returning to this one unless the rooms get changed. The pool is very small and after 4 kids got in the pool it felt over -crowded. July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation This hotel was dirty. When we arrived at our room there were crumbs on the sink. The bathroom was dirty. The air conditioning did not work to cool the room. The sliding glass door was corroded and they were extremely hard to open. Maintenance told us the air conditioning was inadequate for the room. The front desk personnel did not greet us and never referred to the fact that we were platinum club members. The housekeeping staff were the only bright spot to this vacation. They could not do enough for us. I was very disappointed in this Holiday Inn Express. There were only two elevators for a hotel with nine floors. This was another inconvenience. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We are very pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Express in Virginia Beach. The hotel is nice. Great location. Good price. What impressed me the most is exceptionally helpful, professional, friendly, nice staff. They really do care about their customers and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. You feel welcomed there and any problem or inconvenience ( or request) that might appear is solved quickly and professionally. Excellent job! Thank you very much! I recommend this hotel to my friends and family. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved Our Stay! We stayed in a suite and the views from both sides of our room were fantastic. We could view the beachfront/ocean off our balcony on one side and the boardwalk on the other. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and would definitely stay at this property again! July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FIRST CLASS PLACE This was my third stay here and as always they take care of me! Great location, Great rates, Great staff, & if you are an IHG rewards member they give you added perks! July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Vacation Great location right on the boardwalk and beach. The free breakfast need a lot of improvement. The room was clean and the furnishings were newer. All the rooms face the ocean with a balcony which is great. The down side is, the sun in the morning beats on the widows and glass door driving the temperature in the room way up. The air conditioner can not keep up making the room extremely hot and uncomfortable. Overall this is a nice place to stay and would recommend it to others. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and plenty of room! Our family had a wonderful time. The room was clean and the convenience to the beach was fabulous. Also, breakfast was a great start to our day! Great place at a great price. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The HHI Express had a very friendly staff. The breakfast crew was efficient and friendly. I stayed in the hotel for 33 nights as I was working in Va. Beach for five weeks. I did have an issue with using a debit card for incidentals and having a large amount charged two times. The biggest complaint was housekeeping. I had issues on several occasions getting my sheets changed, and getting a broken coffee maker replaced. In the end they got the coffee maker and after having a few discussions with management sheets got changed after 10 days. July 25, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Area Attractions Downtown Norfolk Evening Virginia Beach Oceanfront Jet Skiing Virginia Beach Town Center Virginia Beach Oceanfront Harbor Park Downtown Norfolk Parasailing Virginia Lighthouse AMC Theathers Lynnhaven Mall Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading