• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINIA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accept animals in the public space or guest rooms of the hotel, but our front desk will be happy to refer you to a local kennel. Certified service animals are always welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Ocean Breeze Water Park
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of free parking for hotel guests and ample spaces to accommodate tour buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:149
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0635

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia
View More

We've Set the Bar for Hotels in Virginia Beach

When you spend a day outside our hotel's facility in Virginia Beach, you'll encounter surfers and vacationing families in this summer retreat. But the area is also home to numerous thriving businesses and naval stations, making us a great hotel for corporate and government travelers.

With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, 12,000 sq ft of event space and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk is a lodging option perfect for business travelers, since we're "The Place to Meet" near Norfolk, VA. Our hotel's location is convenient if you have appointments at Northrup Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Geico or Oceana or Norfolk naval stations.

Planning an adventure is easy as there's so much to see and do in Virginia Beach. Lodging with us means you are just a half-mile from fantastic Town Center shops and restaurants, eight miles from the Boardwalk, seven miles from downtown Norfolk and the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center. You can also spend a day exploring nature areas like Back Bay National Wildlife refuge and False Cape State Park.

Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're sure you will enjoy your stay, since we have some of the best amenities near Norfolk, VA. The hotel's Fitness Center, indoor pool, Tines Restaurant, Aqua Bar and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program are sure to make your stay memorable.

View Less
Features
With a convenient location just off I-264, we're one of the best-positioned hotels in Virginia Beach for getting to and from meetings and appointments at area businesses and military installations.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay was just ok this time.... My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff was wonderful, the room was nice so we decided to come back a month later. Unfortunately, we did not know that it was college week. Virginia beach was a "mad house". They said there was a crowd between 30,000 to 40,000 and believe me, there was!! We went down on a Friday and were suppose to leave on Sunday. The college kids that were there, especially the ones staying in the rooms near us were so rude and loud. A lot of partying going on. There was also a lot of crime that weekend, My husband and I decided to head back home early, on Saturday. The hotel management took care of the situation the best way they good. Also the front desk staff, especially Trisha, tried their best to take care of the situation. Would we stay here again? ABSOLUTELY. We still like this hotel, the location and the staff. Next time we'll just make sure that it is not college week. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay .... This was a great day. And a great night. The view over the ocean - fantastic ! The Service for a gold-member - very good. Hearing the sounds of waves in your bed - beyond words. April 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay The hotel is in a good location, directly on the beach. The staff was friendly. The only thing wrong was the coffee maker in the room was covered in dust to the point I would not even consider using it or drinking from it. April 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Excellent overall staying experience at the Holiday Inn Express VA beach. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location Never visited VA Beach before and wanted to stay at a location near most anything. This hotel was perfect, clean, and had accommodating and friendly front desk, breakfast and cleaning staff. Definitely would stay at this hotel again. April 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Experience I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed here two nights and it was horrible. The staff is RUDE, RUDE, And RUDE, do not ask for anything like towels or something like that because you won't get them. The room was dirty, the bed sheets were stained, and the tub had hair in the drain and looked like it had never been cleaned. The refrigerator had sticky stuff all over the inside. After taking a shower in the shower I HAD TO CLEAN the towels were stained, I called the front desk for more towels and was told there were towels in the room for my use, I then proceeded to tell them I needed “clean” towels and I was told that I would need to come downstairs to get them that they didn’t have anyone to bring them up to us. Needless to say we changed hotels after the second night of dealing with these people. I can’t believe they can get away with this! April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An experience I'll never forget The Holiday Inn Express was amazing. I went with my girlfriend to get away from the city and we loved how clean and well kept it was, also how it had a contemporary look/ feel to it. We loved the friendly staff. We also liked the fact that it was really close to restaurants, bars gift shops, grocery stores, etc... We will go again, that's for sure. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spring break kids I had the best time at Va. Beach than I ever. The hotel was great and I can't wait to get back there again. We had plenty of room in our suite,I wouldn't do it any other way. April 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Deplorable Service!! I've been a Priority Club member for years and the experience at this Holiday Inn was the worst yet. Upon check-in; (yes, there were several guests checking in and the "two" guest service reps were busy. However, upon my turn for check-in, there was no greeting, no thank you for being a "Gold" member or acknowegement of being a PC member at all; no explanation of amenities (bkfst details); just initial the card, give me your c/c and here's your room #. I actually felt i was bothering them. PC member or not; customer service technique greatly needs improvement. When I called to request two additional wash cloths, as the room only had two; was told to pick them up at the desk. One positive note; Hskpng staff was very helpful & courteous... April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff! Every single staff member we interacted with was helpful and friendly. The mattresses were comfortable, but the pillows were too small. Our room door lock broke, but they had it fixed within 10 minutes. We ran out of toilet paper and didn't have enough towels, and there was only 1 tiny trashcan in a two room, four-person suite. Our balcony door would not lock. Other than that, the room was comfortable and clean, the location was perfect. The highlight of the trip was the ridiculous amount of dolphin sightings, all day, every day. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This hotel has it all- a great staff, a great location, a great breakfast and a fair price for the business or vacation traveler! Every room opens to the ocean with incredible sunrises in the morning. The rooms are immaculate and spacious with a dorm refrigerator and countertop to keep some snacks handy. The breakfast bar was well-stocked and the staff that ran it were very pleasant. The breakfast room has another great view of the ocean. The front desk staff were all exceptional employees. The hotel is right on the main strip of restauarnats and shops and a doorway leads right out onto the boardwalk for jogging, hiking, walking or just strolling the beautiful shoreline. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for my business trip. April 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location. Poor service. The location is great. The place is in need of repair and the food is not great. Parking is a frustrating issue. We use this hotel year after year because of the location. However, year after year, the front desk staff has been, overall, very rude and un accommodating. Ultimately, they are what sour our visit and it seems like this could be such an easy fix. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Prompt Service We found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. The first night was very cold; the heater was so noisy we had to turn it off. When we returned the next night we asked the desk clerk for an extra blanket and mentioned the noisy heater. Within 10 minutes of our request a maintenance man came to our room with two blankets and took the trouble to fix the heater. Needless to say, we had a comfortable night and were very surprised that the service was so prompt. Of course, we'd stay there again and highly recommend it to others. We assume such service is always available during the high season too. February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OK they could not keep the breakfast buffet full everytime we tried to get stuff it would be gone with only 1 guy working the buffet with so many guest , the bed was dusty on headboard the house keeper said to me very rude at 11:00 "what time u leaving" told her i was a priority club member with that was a choice as a late check out . overall i love holiday Inn chose this one because of the buffet but it was ok overall January 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good value thanks for the special pricing during the off season. January 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by pick another hotel This is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. I had to change rooms because there were bugs in both beds. The new room while more surface clean had a toilet that didn't flush, had a bed covering with huge stains on it, and had dust on every high ledge, lamp and behind the bed. There was huge bins in the hall with dirty towels the entire time I was there. The hall looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for months. Breakfast was fine. Staff was friendly. Stay elsewhere. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience My wife & I have been married 34 years & always stayed home for New Years Eve. This year we thought it would be fun to try something different. We booked a room at your Hotel & were able to walk to dinner & to a local nightclub to ring in the New Year! The room was perfect; clean, quiet, & the bed was very comfortable! The staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast exceeded our expectations! We can't wait to do it all over again next year! We will be staying at your Hotel again sooner than next New Years, I can assure you that! We have been telling our friends about our stay at your Hotel & we highly recommend that they book a vacation, or weekend getaway with you! Thanks again! Cowboys5 January 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Awesome View We chose to stay at this hotel for our New Year's Eve trip to the beach. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful and full of information. They made our stay very comfortable. Our room was a basic hotel room, but the view was perfect and the room was what we expected. The pool and hot tub were a little smaller than expected but the pool was warm and the hot tub was hot. We used them each of the four nights that we were there. Breakfast was a little hit and miss. The staff seemed to have a hard time keeping up with refilling the food and supplies when they ran out. There was always someone there and if I asked they would refill what was empty, but by the third morning I got tired of asking so we went out to eat. I'm sure this is more of an issue when the hotel is full in the summer. Overall we had a very good stay and would stay there again if we got a good rate for the room. January 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Stay We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the weekend before Christmas. We intended to see the lights on the Boardwalk, but the line was so long, we didn't want to make our 3 children wait. Hotel was really nice. Breakfast was yummy with options; our boys LOVED the pancake maker! We also made good use of the pool and hot tub. Staff was helpful in suggesting location of ATM and place to rent bicycles. King bed was super comfy! Hotel staff let us check out later b/c of being Priority Club Member. Overall a great stay! We'd come back! January 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent ocean view The view from our room was unbelievable. We asked the staff for a recommendation for dinner and they directed us to Tautogs a local restaurant that was excellent. The staff was all willing to help. The breakfast was excellent. The only downfall to this hotel is the bathrooms in the rooms need to be updated but they were clean. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Maintaining the standard; reliable Great get-a-way weekend! Quiet. Even fellow guests were friendly and courteous. We have been here a year ago, and it is likely we will return. December 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Great value, Staff was friendly, helpful, though really had no concerns as far as hotel. They were helpful in recomending places to eat and directions. Breakfast was great both mornings, great selection and great quality. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Used the pool and exercise room, both were great. Well being staying here again soon. December 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by get a way weekend we came to get away for thanksgiving we had a very nice time we stayed in a suite very nice only one thing their was stains all over the love seat both sides they need to be taken off and clean had to put a sheet on it so we can sit .but over all we enjoyed our three days yes will come back December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View The room had a good view of the oceanfront and boardwalk. We could see the holiday lights from the balcony, which was pretty neat. The room setup was convenient for allowing my son to sleep while I sat up on the couch a little longer. The elevator was a little crowded on the weekend, and the stairs were hard to find. The staff showed interest in our comfort and enjoyment of the area. The pool was crystal clear until the weekend crowds clouded it a little. December 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Thanksgiving weekend This is our second time staying at this hotel but the first time at Thanksgiving. It was really nice to be able to look out our window and see the holiday lights on the beach. Hotel was clean and the front desk workers were great. Very friendly at check in and even recommended a wonderful chinese restaurant that made deliveries to our room so we could stay in and enjoy the ocean view. Breakfast is great but was a little slow with keeping up with the demands of the hotel guest coming in and wished it had more fruit but overall really enjoyed our stay. We will certainly be back again. The express check out was great and we enjoyed the welcome letter that we received at check in as part of priority club members. November 30, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The breakfast was terrible. NO fruit and NO Sweet rolls or Nothing. This was a very sad buffet. This must change or we will never stay at this hotel again. November 28, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by third stay will be our last. We've stayed at this location 3 times in the last 3 years, each stay for at least 5 nights. All 3 were either reward nights or reward combined with a paid night or 2. We travel to VA in the fall to visit family and grand kids. I've posted a couple of good reviews for this facility on another website. Our first stay was in October 2010, and my wife described it as a perfect vacation. 10th floor, beautiful ocean view, and all the benefits from a HIE. Our second stay was in October of 2011 and my wife was thrilled that we got the same room on the 10th floor. The hotel was very busy that week, and on the weekend had 2 wedding parties staying there. During the 7 day stay our room was not cleaned twice. The first night we called down and someone came up to clean. The second night we got back late and let the front desk know in the morning, Breakfast over the weekend was overwhelmed by the number of guests. We left after 7 nights a little disappointed compared to our first stay. The most recent stay was over thanksgiving this week. We stayed 5 nights, Monday through Friday. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite on the 6th floor with 2 great views, one of the ocean, and the other of Atlantic Bld. The quality of our stay went downhill from there. The housekeeping was simply substandard this time. To be fair, trash was emptied and beds were made daily, and coffee pods were replaced only if both the decaf and regular were used. Here is why I’ve downgraded my rating of this facility: • The counters (mini-bar and bathroom) were not wiped clean once in 5 days and the mini-bar counter was sticky when we arrived. • Rug was vacuumed only on the foot traffic areas, not under the desk or table. • The floor under the bathroom sink was dirty when we arrived; it looked like it had not been swept in a very long time. • The drain in the tub was loose, and the shower had cracked tiles and holes were not sealed where a safety bar had been removed. • Towels were replaced but no washcloths for 2 days out of 5. Breakfast Bar: • No cinnamon rolls. This seems minor, but Holiday Inn Express uses the rolls as a major point in their advertising, and they are really good rolls. I was told on Tuesday morning that the hotel was out of them and they were not served Tuesday through Friday morning. By chance, the hotel appeared to be less than ½ full those days. On Saturday morning when the hotel looked to be at capacity suddenly there were cinnamon rolls again. It may be they couldn't get them till then, but it looked like a cost cutting measure for slow nights. • The bar was understaffed. Friday and Saturday mornings there were large crowds and the breakfast area was full to overflowing. The young man that was managing the food appeared to be trying hard to keep up but did not manage to. The eggs were watery, and the sausage was overcooked. The decline in service has been gradual over the 3 visits, but noticeable. Either the cleaning staff is poorly trained or poorly supervised. I travel around 150 nights per year for business, and I don’t expect to have to call the front desk and tell them how a room should be cleaned. If you’re going to stay for one night you’ll love the hotel. But staying over several nights the housekeeping staff’s efforts leave a lot to be desired. Nearly every hotel on Atlantic offers rooms with ocean views and there are a lot of them. After our experience this year, on our next visit to Virginia Beach we will give one of them the chance to earn our business. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay My wife and I spent the night here while in Virginia Beach and enjoyed the stay. We stayed in one of the king bed suites and it was really nice, great view of the ocean. Very clean and the staff was extremely nice and friendly. Good breakfast bar. The only problem we had was the chlorine smell from the indoor swimming pool was extremely strong near the elevators. We both are bothered by strong chemical smells. Other than that the stay was perfect and would recommend anyone looking for a place to stay in the area to stay here. November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We stayed three nights at the Holiday Inn Express in VA Beach, VA for the Veterans Day Weekend, 2012. The location was exceptional. We were in easy walking distance to just about everything we wanted to do. But the most impressive thing about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating when there was a problem. We had a problem with our key cards---maintenance came instantly and replaced the door lock and reprogrammed the cards. We thought the pillows seemed a little too soft and asked if there were others and within 5 minutes someone came from housekeeping with two firm pillows. The tv remote stopped working and the front desk sent someone within minutes to bring us a new remote. The two young women working the front desk were very special people. Their recommendations for places to eat were great and they were so friendly and we enjoyed talking to them each day. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the better hotels on the strip Holiday Inn Express has been pretty consistent during our various stays there. It's always fairly clean, everything works the way it should, and the staff is helpful. The nightly rates are fair (oceanfront is always overpriced everywhere). Location is very good ! The weakest area was the free breakfast. Choices were limited, and quality was so-so...but then again it was free..... We would like to see the breakfast hours extended on the weekend. There was a large crowd, and limited seating between 8:30-9:30 (when it promptly shut down, and the food was removed) Great free coffee and tea throughout the day, Word of advice to visitors during the winter season; The atlantic avenue strip shuts down in the winter. You have to look long and hard to find a decent resturant within walking distance ( try Harpoon Larry's for great seafood) November 16, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Virginia Beach Oceanfront Jet Skiing Area Attractions Parasailing Downtown Norfolk AMC Theathers Lynnhaven Mall Hotel Exterior Virginia Beach Oceanfront Downtown Norfolk Evening Virginia Beach Town Center Harbor Park Virginia Lighthouse Front Desk
Select to close.
Awards

Meeting Service Excellence

Meeting Service Excellence
Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts is dedicated to providing an excellent meeting planner experience at all of our hotels. Our hotels strive to meet highest standards of quality and meeting planner satisfaction. Some hotels in our system have surpassed even these high standards and have been given a Quality Meetings Performance designation for their efforts. When you find a "Meetings Service Excellence" Quality Performer hotel, you'll know that hotel has achieved impressive ratings based on property condition, quality of meeting services and overall satisfaction.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.