• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALEXANDRIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are accepted as part of the family. A charge of 50 dollars per pet per stay applies. Please register your pet upon check in. Animals must be caged when left in the room alone and leashed when outside. No exotic species. 50 pound limit.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Torpedo Factory Art Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
National Inventors Hall of Fame & Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Lee House at Arlington Cementery
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces100
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have a a lovely Parking area and covered garage
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 20.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:17
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:72
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:106
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:154
  • Total number of accessible rooms:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0503

Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking. Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions.

Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of
View More

Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking. Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions.

Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of Washington DC which are a short drive away. If you're a collector, the exclusive art galleries, antique shops and boutiques make visiting Alexandria's Old Town area a must.

Enjoy the large indoor/outdoor pool or have a great workout in the Fitness Center.

Government travelers appreciate our Alexandria, VA address, which puts you close to Capitol Hill, Department of Defense and the Pentagon. Additionally, the state-of-the-art Business Center and meeting facilities offer the perfect solutions for your corporate needs.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Alexandria this hotel is definitely the "Smart Choice". Our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected with friends and family. And, we offer free shuttles to National Airport, METRO and King Street. Remember to satisfy your hunger at Bistro On First, our delightful on-site restaurant and lounge. We look forward to being your home away from home in Alexandria.

View Less
Features
Our hotel has a great location in the historic district of Old Town close to the waterfront and just minutes from King Street Shopping, terrific dining and all major attractions including the Torpedo Factory. Relax in the large indoor/outdoor pool after a day of visiting the museums, cultural attractions and national landmarks in DC, which is only a few miles away.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything would have been perfect if... Everything would have been perfect if they had had a safe in the room. I flew in for a half marathon and really needed a safe for personal items. 14 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to the Metro We were in town for the Marine Corps Marathon and loved the proximity to a Metro station We were able to drive to a nearby Whole Foods and stock up on some food. We took the Metro to nearby Old Town and used the trolley to see the King St/waterfront area. 01 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home We would not even consider any other Hotel when we visit Northern Virginia/DC area. 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by eisenhower Great locationfor the the metro was able to walk. Breakfast available but necessarily included. Up to two kids eat free from set menu with adult. Nice size pool. Shuttle to location within 3.5 miles from hotel. Staff friendly and accommodating. Shuttle me too local walmart to puck up some forgotten items and very attentive to the kids. Coffee in the lobby in the morning and hot chocolate and marshmellows at night. Free parking, 24 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is fantastic When in DC area always stay here - staff is helpful and so upbeat and the facility is good with bonus of being right by train station. 21 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Chose this hotel for a Washington sightseeing trip but without having to pay city centre hotel prices. Within a 5 minute walk of the Metro it is perfectly located to get into Washington DC. The complimentary hotel shuttle bus will take guests anywhere within a 3 mile or so radius of the hotel, & also to & from Reagan National airport. The property is immaculately kept, the staff are professional yet friendly, & Management must know what they are doing to deliver such a high standard of service. 19 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and staff I just stayed here, and let me tell you, I thought I was at a 5-star resort. The staff at this hotel are AMAZING!!! They treated us like royalty. I'm not kidding! I will be staying there again the next time I'm down there!! 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we recommend this as a place close to the action but quiet too we liked it here and would recommend it to UK tourists / the metro is very close to walk too/ the shuttle (manny) was great to take us to old town alexandria / the hotel is a little hard to find if like us you are UK self drive seniors but not THAT much of a challenge / the pool was excellent for lengths but not open in AM when I really needed it. Staff generally were great as have most hotels in IHG on our months drive throughout Virginia etc etc. We were given restaurant vouchers for breakfast (I believe I paid for them in advance?) but some of the restauarnat staff got all pedantic when I wanted to take a very small breakfast up to the room for my wife (just a small bowl. , slice of toast and a coffee). They seemed to think that I should have had room service and thereby paid extra for it. This was the exception in "service standards" throughout our USA holiday and rather perturbed me. Especially as I was taking a small b'fast up to my wife on our 45th wedding anniversary! otherwise a great experience apart from that one incident. 16 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful front desk clerks. Good location, close to Metro terminal. Front desk personal courteous and helpful specially Raghad and John. Others need more training. They don't know what is in the area,like general tourist info. A couple of negative points. On Sept. 22nd. the day we checked in, we went to old town Alexandria, we called the hotel for a shuttle to take us back to the hotel, we ware told it will take about 30 min. to pick us up.We waited 1hr. and 20min. We called the hotel twice the answer was that he is on his way, which was not true hr was at the Airport picking up guests. We did get 1 night comt.for our troubles The second night we arrived to the hotel at 7pm. the room was not made up yet. The bath rooms are very small it is hard to rich the shower handle due to the toilette being in the way. 14 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay First and foremost, Milton (shuttle service) was fantastic. He acted in more of a concierge role than shuttle services and his suggestions/advice were phenomenal!!! Overall a very nice stay...front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, everyone was!!! It's a little confusing getting in and out of the hotel property but just follow Milton's advice and you'll be fine. Only complaint was the food. Mediocre at best and we did have a severely undercooked med-well hamburger (think it may have come out 5 degrees above raw) and child's grilled cheese that was literally dripping with grease. Looked like the entire sandwich was fried in oil. 14 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great location to your meetings in Washington I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and I like its super friendly staff and great service. One great perk is that the hotel is at five minutes walking from a yellow and blue line subway station, that will bring you downtown Washington or Georgetown in minutes. All offices around Crystal City and Tyson's Corner are easy to reach by car. 12 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel at a good location This hotel was very nice, with a clean, well appointed, comfortable room and friendly staff. The bathroom was small, but well maintained. The room had a coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator, all of which I was pleased to be able to use. Also free high speed Wifi. The service in the restaurant was friendly but a bit slow, even though there were only two of us in the entire place. Food was tasty. The hotel is in a very good location near the Metro and with a nice selection of restaurants across the street. The hotel provides a shuttle to and from National Airport, but the Metro is probably faster during rush hours because of the street traffic. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I plan to return in the future. 10 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay They need to do away with the restaurant!!! It is so messed up. We ordered 2 Denver omelets, the 1st one came with only vegetables, and the 2nd one came with only chesse. If you order cereal that is all you get, no milk, no bowl, and no spoon. And don't even think about room service because the will tell you to come down and get it! The people are very rude to you!!! And the pool needs to open earlier not at 3pm.it did not matter to them that we were IHG members! 03 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle horible Shuttle from airport was horrible. It took over 1.5 hours to get picked up from the airport. Front desk was less the honest about drivers location. They said he couldn't find us and the driver said he hadn't been to the airport during that entire time. We had to stop and pickup another couple in Old Town and they had been waiting over an hour also. They were senior citizens and very upset! Very disappointed with the front desk persons. I've been a Holiday Inn Priority Club holder for many years with at one time over 500,000 pts. Very disturbing! 30 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property Lobby is a bit dated, but I didn't sleep in it. Road access in and out onto Eisenhower road is a bit tricky if you have not stayed there since the road construction was completed. Even though I stayed across the hall from ice machine and vending, I could not hear them. 30 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place, good location. This hotel is well located right off of the outer loop of DC. The room was nice and the dining area was well kept. While there was some confusion/delay over the separate reservations (full paid and reward nights), handling that, and an unknown charge during the rewards nights according to the website (a charge for the room itself). All in all it's a good deal. 29 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience for a family We planned a family vacation to DC during the month of September. Holiday Inn was chosen due to its location to the Metro. The staff was wonderful in assisting us in using the best metro lines to and from different venues. They were able to answer all our questions. The room was clean and met our needs especially with two boys. Some reviews discussed the noise but we were right outside the vending machines and elevators and did not notice any noise. My one complaint would be the food and service at the restaurant. Breakfast was slow despite only ordering eggs and pancakes. It was difficult finding our waiter at times to get refills on drinks and even our check. Dinner was slow too but in all fairness they were short handed and a tour bus came in unexpectedly. Prices are steep but kids could eat free with a paying adult. Starbucks and other restaurants are within walking distance so that adds another option plus a shuttle will take you to Old Town if you are interested in other restaurants or a walk along the waterfront. This was very convenient. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would gladly book another stay there. 28 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Would like to say the staff was awesome in helping us navigate the metro system, checking in and out, and answering questions. The room was clean and quiet despite being across from the ice machine and drink machine. I was disappointed in the restaurant. We ate breakfast there the first morning and it took an exceptionally long time to get our meal even though it was just eggs and pancakes. Dinner was the same but to be fair they were short handed and had an unexpected tour bus arrive. Breakfast the last day was more of the same. However if you do not want to dine in the restraunt, Starbucks, California Tortillas, and other restaurants are within walking distances. If you want to venture out, they do offer a shuttle to old town. The bar does offer a limited menu and very fast service. Huge plus for us with two boys was the hotel is within a block of the Eisenhower Metro. 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Royal Treatment Last minute reservation made the same day and first time staying at this property. It was also the first time I have used my IHG Rewards Chase Visa card to make the reservation and pay for the room. I was immediately thanked for using the card and being an IHG Rewards member and then John noticed I was a new Platinum member and the Royal Treatment commenced. The room was fabulous and the location was very convenient for my business in Arlington, VA and especially for jumping on the I-495 Beltway very early the next morning to make a 6:00 am flight out of BWI the next morning. I'm sorry I couldn't stay longer. I will be back! 24 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3 nights in Alexandria We had a very comfortable stay. There was an issue with the room rates and how they varied from night to night, It was handled very professionally by the managers Marlin & Andrew. They were "down to earth" and caring....no stuffed shirt attitude at all. My son lives in the neighbor in a small house so I will definitely be back 21 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Military Parent I have been here twice and have loved each and ever time!!! I will be going back due to my son stays right around the corner. i recommand it and love the food there!!! 13 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and service and a very warm welcome I would like to thank you very much for everything your services provided we had a very nice stay 08 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very clean This hotel offered us a great location for hopping the metro to venture into DC for the sites. I had my kids with me, so I didn't want to have to walk too far to get to the metro, so the 5 minute walk was great! I found the rooms very clean and the staff were so friendly. My kids also enjoyed the pool after the long day of seeing DC. The free parking is also a plus. It was nice not to have to tack on that cost to my budget. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely refreshed This hotel is an older Holiday Inn, but has had a recent refresh that is nice. The rooms are smaller and we had a room that had a connecting door to the adjoining room. It did not keep much of the sound out and was not a really quiet room, but worked well for us. The hotel is close to old town Alexandria, which offers nice attractions and was a good value for the area. It has free parking, which is a rare thing for the old town area. 03 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location. Good location. Stay was disappointing. Significant water leak in our first room required relocation. The repairs caused more noise than normal. Hallways were full of equipment. Front desk staff was very friendly. 02 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sightseeing We, my 2 sons 14 & 11 and myself stayed there recently for 3 nights and the room was nice & clean. The staff was excellent, very courteous and helpful. I was a little disappointed with the restaurant, while conveniently located in the lobby, I felt the menu wasn't that good and the prices were high. There was other restaurants (Ruby Tuesdays) nearby that I feel gave a better meal at a better price. The hotel is a short walk away from the metro which also makes it very convenient traveling back & forth to DC. It is much less expensive if you stay just outside DC than in it. The only problem that we had was the toilet one night kept running. I shut the water off for the toilet so we could sleep. I reported it the following morning and the problem was corrected by the time we got back to the room after being out most of the day.. 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food & Pool Recommend you not charge guests for tea at breakfast. This has always been a point of contention that someone can get as many refills of coffee for one price, but the tea drinker is charged $3+ for one cup of tea. Pool - I had guests from Germany with me, and they loved your pool, but felt the area around the pool could have been cleaner. Thank you, Sandra 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming and friendly staff The service was great. The staff were very friendly, courteous, and professional. Room was spotless. Bed was VERY comfortable. A fantastic place to stay. Definitely would stay there again! 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room And Friendly Staff We reached late at night, but, Staff members John and Michelle made us feel so good with their ready smiles and warm words of welcome. Check-in was handled with graceful efficiency. No detail was forgotten. All our questions were answered fully. The room was one of best we've been into. Wide, spacious, clean, and cool. The beds, the writing table, the lounge chair, and the chest-of-drawers with the TV on it, were so appropriately arranged that my wife and I never lacked for space to move around comfortably! The next morning Steve and Michelle helped with maps and routes and directions out of Eisenhower Avenue to Washington DC. Their advice was better than the GPS! We stayed a couple of nights. The housekeeping was close to immaculate. Just a small disappointment, though: the Earl Grey breakfast tea had not been replenished. Believe me, drinking Chamomile tea for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. But, other than that, our stay was very satisfying. In one word -- an Excellent experience! Which all started with the enthusiasm of the Staff at the Reception Desk! 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff As a former world business traveler and first time tourist to the area I was most impressed! The property was kept up well and the rooms were very comfortable. The highlight for me was the front desk staff as they were extremely helpful with directing me to the DC attractions and more importantly a very informative crash course on navigating the Metro train system! I also enjoyed the fact that the nearest Metro station was only about a 5 minute walk! Another highlight is this property doesn't charge extra to park like many of the others in the area! I also felt very safe in the surrounding area and there are several restaurants within very short walking distance. I did get stuck in the center elevator on the 9th floor for a short time but that was my only complaint. 27 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business
Select to close.
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business Christ Church: More Than 235 Years Old & a Local Favorite Lyceum in Alexandia is Part Of Civil War History.....Minutes Away The Torpedo Factory Showcases Local Artists.....On The Waterfront! Spacious Lobby With Restaurant Front Desk Carlyle House in Alexandria.....Where History Comes Alive Holiday Inn Exterior: Walk To Shopping & The River Masonic Temple Memorial Hall in Alexandria.....Minutes Away
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading