• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ALEXANDRIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are accepted as part of the family. A charge of 50 dollars per pet per stay applies. Please register your pet upon check in. Animals must be caged when left in the room alone and leashed when outside. No exotic species. 50 pound limit.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Pentagon
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Torpedo Factory Art Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The G.W. Masonic Temple
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces100
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have a a lovely Parking area and covered garage
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 20.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:17
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:72
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:106
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:154
  • Total number of accessible rooms:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0503

Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking. Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions.

Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of
View More

Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel!

Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking. Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions.

Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of Washington DC which are a short drive away. If you're a collector, the exclusive art galleries, antique shops and boutiques make visiting Alexandria's Old Town area a must.

Enjoy the large indoor/outdoor pool or have a great workout in the Fitness Center.

Government travelers appreciate our Alexandria, VA address, which puts you close to Capitol Hill, Department of Defense and the Pentagon. Additionally, the state-of-the-art Business Center and meeting facilities offer the perfect solutions for your corporate needs.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Alexandria this hotel is definitely the "Smart Choice". Our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected with friends and family. And, we offer free shuttles to National Airport, METRO and King Street. Remember to satisfy your hunger at Bistro On First, our delightful on-site restaurant and lounge. We look forward to being your home away from home in Alexandria.

View Less
Features
Our hotel has a great location in the historic district of Old Town close to the waterfront and just minutes from King Street Shopping, terrific dining and all major attractions including the Torpedo Factory. Relax in the large indoor/outdoor pool after a day of visiting the museums, cultural attractions and national landmarks in DC, which is only a few miles away.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room accommodations !! This was the first time staying in Virginia!! I ordered a room for handicap accessibility due to my husband's disability!! Needless to say the room was lovely! It had 2 bathrooms one for a wheel chair and one for me!! There was room to lounge on a couch and a round table to sit and eat!! It was awesome,,, I could not have asked for anything more!! However we ate breakfast downstairs and the food was not that great and extremely over priced!! I would recommend this hotel, however eating across the street was a much better deal! 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Walking distance to metro, staff were very helpful. 04 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed and service was fair. Check in was 3pm. After driving 11 hours and being tired, room was not ready at 3pm. We were told several different times as to when room would be ready and times given were not true so we were unhappy. We had to wait and wait for our room to be cleaned. After being told room would be ready in 20 mins, and then 30 mins, etc, room was ready after over an hour of waiting. I believe the hotel staff could have handled this situation better. 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesomeness perfect hotel. great hotel. great location. nice bar in hotel 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect for subway access The positives of this hotel are access to metro-rail (one block) in a safe area; quiet, clean rooms; friendly staff; plenty of elevators; and free parking. I stayed here and used the subway to go to Nationals Park - very convenient. You can also go easily to downtown DC or to old-town Alexandria. The restaurant is OK. I took the special rate that included breakfast, and that is a very good value for two people. The hotel is in a mostly business area - very little to do and few eating options within walking distance. But I would stay here again to use the public transportation. And the free parking is rare in the DC area. Thank you! 24 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and convenient to Washington DC We had a great time here, - Staff was very nice and went overboard for a missed order so received free drinks and dessert and managers on their knees asking for forgiveness in the restaurant...When the flash floods that hit the city started raining through our room ceiling at 4 am we got an escort to a lower level room, but anticipated an apology or some communication from someone the next day but never came. Location is extremely convenient to drive or take metro to Washington DC and traffic to Reagan airport was easy to maneuver. Close to restaurants both within blocks and in historic Alexandria. Despite the first night issue would gladly stay here again. Pool could be open another hour in evening - closed at 10 but had lifeguard. We liked this hotel and most of the staff were extremely helpful! Loved the gift bag for IHG members on check in too! 23 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The location was great... the best value for the area, no complaints. 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A clean room to enjoy We stayed 3 nights and everything was fine, but something to praise is the attention to detail of the lady who cleaned our room. She made, with her excellence, a very pleasant place for us. THANK YOU!!! 19 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay. Recommended. Enjoyed the stay. Room was very nice. Hotel right by metro. 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place, needs some work The staff was awesome!! The beds were wonderful!! The location is good. Metro stop is one block away. Food at the hotel is reasonably priced for the area. It cost the same to eat at the hotel as it did at the restaurant across the street. There is a Starbucks nearby also! Only negatives were that the toilet only flushed if we held the handle down the whole time. Shower made a funny noise when first turned on but then it would quiet down. The dead-bolt for the door didn't latch properly. Everything else was fine. 13 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was very nice, but breakfast buffet needs heat Staff were very friendly and courteous. Room was clean and well furnished. Bed was comfortable. We had the king size bed. Bathroom was a little small, but served the purpose for our 3 day visit to DC. Took about an hour to ride the metro into DC to see the monuments and museums, but it went quickly, and was not bad at all. Breakfast buffet had pretty good selection, but could have been better. Some of the hot foods were actually cold. Would be nice to have real eggs on the buffet. Staff for the buffet were very courteous and attentive. 11 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all around. A very well maintained hotel with very professional staff. It was located close to some local restaurants and the Metro for easy access to Arlington and Washington. Mount Vernon was within driving distance. Hotel restaurant meals were excellent, but the waitress staff was not well trained. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. 04 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff Checked in on June 24, 2013. Got to the room only to find out that it had a connecting door. The people next door were talking very loud so I went back to the front desk and told them that this room was not acceptable. The front desk attendant moved us to another room at the end of the hall with no connecting door. We did not hear anything in that room and that was wonderful. I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone one was very personable and eager to take care of all our needs. Ate breakfast in the dining room each morning and we no sooner got seated and we had coffee and attentive service throughout the meal. The metro is just a short walk from the hotel which made it convenient to get to Old Town and downtown Washington. Parking was free in the well lighted parking lot. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. 02 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value. NIce facility. Staff is extremely helpful with any sight seeing information. Pool was very nice...clean..and even had a lifeguard! First time we've ever seen a lifeguard at a hotel pool. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Loved having the microwave and fridge in the room. Would have preferred 2 queens in the room instead of 2 doubles but the staff was clear from the beginning the bedsize was double. The rooms were very soundproof. The hotel even offered a washer and dryer for guests to use as well as a courtesy van with a friendly, helpful driver. Excellent service. We would definitely recommend the motel and would return in a heartbeat. 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location. This location was great for convenience to the Metro Rail System and easy to access from I-495. Food was good and reasonably priced. 26 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great hotel with great staff. Very priority club member friendly. Would stay here again. 26 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Its a 5+/10 Hotel is fine, staff is friendly. Morning coffee in lobby is quite poor. Room appointments were nice, linens and presentation were excellent, bed was very so,so - too soft and uneven. 25 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, reasonable amenities We had a long stay (9 days) on a business trip. Overall, we had a good time. The drivers doing the pickup and drops were all uniformly very polite and efficient. We were very impressed. The lifeguard at the pool was very good too. Some of the front desk staff were rather rude and unhelpful, some were very nice and made up for it. We would have really liked a water fountain or some sort of a drinking water dispenser nearby. The tap water is undrinkable, and constantly buying small bottles of water from the vending machine is not good for the environment and not a desirable thing, overall. 22 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE NIGHT! Room was very clean and decorated very nicely! People seems extra nice to work with! Would recommend, only problem was bath is very small. 18 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant DC visit The Holidat Inn Alexandria was a very good alternative for visiting DC. Easy access to the Metro stop and free parking were real plusses. When I asked for directions to the Metro, the concierge virtually accompanied us all the way rather than just point us. Also, very convenient short drive to Alexandria restaurants. 17 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Alexandria. Very comfortable, bathrooms a little small, but clean. 15 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room, clean and relaxing Close to the Metro, local lunch and dinner areas, exceptional Hotel Service. Staffing was always pleasant and abiding to our multiple requests. Hotel free transportation to downtown Alexandria, pick-up services provided every hour. A true fresh approach to making their guests feel comfortable . A must stay. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wise choice Staying in Alexandria at the HI while touring DC and Arlington was a smart choice. The room, staff and location were all wonderful. The location adjacent to major highways and public transit made getting to and from the area easy, and the shopping, restaurants and movie theater across the street were fantastic.Booking decision started as a financial one, but quality was there as well. Couldn't be happier. 02 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, poor service Upon check in for my two night stay, staff advised me I would have to check out the next morning, and re-check into a different room. When asked why, they said they have a group that needed to stay together. They never notified me of this before hand, by claiming they didn't have a contact phone number for me. I provided that, and they had my e-mail since I received numerous reminder e-mails about my upcoming stay from them. I also requested the price to be adjusted because I had AAA, and the discount was not taken when I made reservations online. The staff stated the stay was already charged to my card (it was not, as I had already reviewed my account records) and there was nothing that could be done to adjust the price. They only took $20.00 off my bill for the inconvenience. They next morning, we had to a lot an extra hour before starting our day to haul all of our stuff to another room two floors up. I expressed my concerns very maturely and politely, however the staff seemed to have little empathy with a carefree attitude. The bed's are comfortable and it's walking distance to the metro, so we stayed. Thank goodness I checked out in person. When I did, the desk staff stated they had me staying for an additional night. This was NEVER in my reservations or mentioned. 01 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for Money I had a comfortable stay. The hotel was conviently located to eisenhower metro. Good restaurants close by in addition to the AMC Imax cinema hall. 29 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always good Easy access from around the area, and a better deal usually from other places in the area. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff Stayed 5 days and everything was great: staff, food, room, location. We were several hundred yards from the Metro and 20 minutes or less from downtown Washington. I can't understand why more people were not dining in the hotel. The food was great and our grandkids' free meals were the same size as adults'. 25 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff made us feel like royalty We loved everything about this hotel except the beds. Our company had booked a block so it may have been their fault but we had to settle for two double beds. After 36 years of marriage we are not ready to start sleeping alone so a double bed is a bit too "cozy." Easy access to great food and a short walk to the Metro. Great staff that genuinely makes you feel welcomed and important to them. Will gladly return! 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Staff went out of their way to ensure the very best experience while I was at the hotel. The best service from a hotel in the U.S. over the last year from 2012 to now. They want to make the guest feel special and it shows. Food quality could improve. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We were very happy with this hotel. One of the very few in the DC area that do not charge for parking. We specifically chose this hotel for the indoor pool and it was not a disappointment. Even had a lifeguard in duty! If I had one complaint, I guess it would be to open the pool in the morning and not wait until 3pm. However, for our needs on this trip, evening swims were all we could fit in anyway so that was not a big deal. Subway station right across the street as well as a couple good restaurants. The shuttle driver was AMAZINGLY HELPFUL......gave us great tips/advice. I would definitely choose to stay at this holiday inn again on our next trip to DC. 17 May 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business
Select to close.
Holiday Inn & Suites: Perfect For Vacations & Business Christ Church: More Than 235 Years Old & a Local Favorite Lyceum in Alexandia is Part Of Civil War History.....Minutes Away The Torpedo Factory Showcases Local Artists.....On The Waterfront! Spacious Lobby With Restaurant Front Desk Carlyle House in Alexandria.....Where History Comes Alive Holiday Inn Exterior: Walk To Shopping & The River Masonic Temple Memorial Hall in Alexandria.....Minutes Away
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 29 Jul 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 30 Jul 2014)
Check Availability
Loading