Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 562 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

562reviews

  • 5 Stars
    367
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    12

Good value and meets expectations

By

25 July 2016

club

The hotel was located in walking distance of many popular venues. The area appeared tourist friendly. Parking was secured and well lit. The room and amenities met expectations for price and location.

Read More
Read Less

Great Place to Stay

By

21 July 2016

club

Very friendly staff at the front desk and bar / restaurant. Reasonable prices at the bar / restaurant. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location near lots of restaurants and bars.

Posted byHotelStaff
24 July 2016
Dear Anonymous, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! Our team is dedicated to providing excellent service to our guests and making your visit to Athens enjoyable. We hope to see you again next time your travels bring you to the Classic City! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

guest room

By

20 July 2016

The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. counter space in the bathroom is one of the best I have seen.
the pillows are fantastic! I prefer the soft pillows but used both when relaxing and watching TV. I really appreciate the full length mirror. the hotel is walking distance to a lot of great restaurants, stores and other amenities.

Posted byHotelStaff
25 July 2016
Dear Monachela, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! We appreciate your loyalty as a Gold Elite IHG Rewards Club member and are delighted that our team delivered excellent service during your stay. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you visit the Classic City! SIncerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Place to Stay near UGA

By

17 July 2016

I've always look forward to staying at this hotel. It is clean, staff is friendly, and in the heart of downtown Athens.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your loyalty to our property, as we know you have many options in hotels in the Athens area. We are dedicated to providing excellent guest service for each individual guest, and we are glad that we are consistent in providing this for you. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Decent place, but....

By

14 July 2016

Not a bad place, good area, nice room, but had a little frustration with the front desk staff

Posted byCustomerCare
24 July 2016
Dear GigstartPro, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel and apologize if some of our amenities and services fell below your expectations. We take comments such as these very seriously and rest assured that these will be used towards our improvement. A private message has been sent to you in an effort to resolve your concerns privately. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Great room, great location

By

14 July 2016

club

Wonderful location, walking distance to downtown restaurants and bars, very spacious room

Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time and feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. We make it our goal to ensure that each guest feels comfortable and accommodated. We hope that we are given the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Very friendly and helpful staff

By

13 July 2016

club

The staff here is very friendly, starting with a warm greeting at check-in. The location is excellent for both the university and the active downtown area.

I would certainly stay here again!

Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. We are dedicated to providing exceptional guest service for each guest and hope that we were able to do so for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

11 July 2016

The only place I stay when I visit the Athens area. Great location, you can walk to lots of restaurants. Good price/good value.

Posted byHotelStaff
19 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your continued loyalty to our property. We strive to make the experience, whether it be the first or 100th, for each guest as pleasant as possible. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and quiet

By

05 July 2016

club

Easy check in and out, good location, comfortable and quiet. The food was pretty good too.

Posted byHotelStaff
09 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area and for your feedback. We strive to make the check in and out process as easy and seamless as possible. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the wonderful Redfearn Grille. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Old hotel, attentive staff but ammentities a little lacking.

By

05 July 2016

Upon check in, the staff was very attentive and professional. The building is old and the layout very confusing. I apparently did not understand the room numbering system and I wandered for about 10 minutes before returning the front desk to ask someone to take me to my room. Once there, the room was very clean and comfortable. The T.V. controls however were a bit frustrating (the power button takes you to a blank screen and you have to know to press the channel button, not the Guide button to find something (Guide is not functional; you have to look at a laminated paper guide). Not a big deal, just frustrating - I had to call to get someone to look at the T.V. which I thought was non-operational. It was a little embarrassing.

Posted byHotelStaff
09 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, We are sincerely sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay. As we have renovated over the years, our layout has become more spread out, but we completely understand the frustration. As a result of many guests having similar issues, we have added additional signs so that the directions are more clear. Additionally, we apologize that everything in your room, including your tv, was not working as it should. We can assure you that this is not the Holiday Inn standard, and we hope that we can work to improve any future visits you have with us. Thank you for your time and feedback. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Older Hotel, Comfortable stay

By

30 June 2016

I don't typically write reviews, but I'm just disappointed how I arrive and greeted as a Spire member, then find out that my credit card wouldn't go through because the front desk clerk did not know how to use the new system. After complete embarrassment of having to call my IHG MasterCard number to confirm the card is working fine, I had to tell them they were using their own system wrong. The manager did however let me go to my room and they said they would "sort it out in the morning". They never sorted it out, but when I checked out, the front desk clerk had no problem charging my car like always and just told me that the previous clerk didn't know how to use the new system.

People make mistakes, but the embarrassment of having to stand there 30 minutes was not right.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, We are extremely disappointed that your expectations, especially as a Spire Elite member, were not exceeded. We value all guests, and we especially value and welcome those who spend so much of their time in IHG hotels. As you know, we are going through a system update, but we completely understand your frustrations and embarrassment. We can assure you that this is not the standard we hold ourselves to at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area and truly hope that we are given the opportunity to improve any future stays you might have with us. Again, we apologize and want to thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty as a Spire Eliite member. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less

Great night

By

29 June 2016

club

I came in and was accommodated with my last minute arrangements and had a wonderful stay. I would say that the bathroom was filled with plush towels and I will most certainly put Holiday Inn at the top of my recommended hotels.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as each team member makes it a priority to ensure that each guest is taken care of and that their expectations are exceeded. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kindest Regards, Sarah P. Social Media Representative
Read More
Read Less