• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 22 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Italian
  6. Punjabi
  7. Polish
  8. Portuguese
  9. Turkish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets will incur a 20.00 charge per night which will be applied to your bill
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Mail Box
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Bull Ring
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
National Sealife Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
National Indoor Arena
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • There is an NCP car park next to hotel which we have an agreement of 50% off std prices Approximate charge for (24hr) is £12 after validation of ticket at hotel reception desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:241
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:221
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:241
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as
View More

Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station.

Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as the ICC, Bullring Shopping Centre, NIA, Hippodrome Theatre, Alexandra Theatre, Sea life Centre and many more, certainly making us the ideal choice when you are looking for a hotel in Birmingham.

We are able to host banquets and conferences for up to 600 people in Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's 13 meeting rooms which makes for an impressive corporate event, dinner or conference .

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's Albany Restaurant serves a full English buffet breakfast each morning and our Albany restaurant makes for an impressive spot to enjoy tasty dishes throughout the evening. Our Albany Bar is a great place to watch sports on plasma TVs and enjoy drinks on the terrace.

The Hotel is a short stroll to The Arcadian complex, where you can dine on world cuisine from British to Chinese, spending an evening sipping cosmopolitans and watching hilarious stand-up comedy at the famous, Glee Club.

View Less
Features
Our hotel is situated in the heart of Birmingham City Centre and a 2-minute walk from Birmingham's Bullring Shopping Centre and Birmingham New Street Train Station. It is also ideally situated just off the Smallbrook Queensway and the M6 motorway is within 2 miles of the hotel. With adjacent car parking offering discounted rates at the NCP.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 265 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and quality Well looked after while using my reward points. Somewhere I will be happy to return to :) 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Friendly and attentive staff at reception and restaurant. Very good kitchen. Modern decorated rooms. As Platinum Member of IHG I got an upgrade to Executive Room, which was very nice and had a good size. 26 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Strange reaction to an odd service Two of us stayed for one night and paid for the car to be parked for a week. All went very well until our return when we waited as directed for the bus to pick us up from the train stop. No bus arrived and having phoned the regular number twice and back up number three times - with no reply to any of the 5 calls - we took a taxi back to the hotel. The man at reception was most unhelpful when I questioned what was going on and asked for a refund for the £7.00 taxi fair. He offered no apology at all and even suggested ' what did we expect from a courtesy service and hadn't it delivered us to the airport on day 1 etc.' !!!!!! He very reluctantly refunded the taxi fair. His whole response was very rude. An apology and a refund would have allowed me to recommend this service and the hotel to others. Now I am certainly not inclined to do this. 22 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improvements are happening As someone who had previously written a mediocre review, I thought it only fair to now write this one. Over the past few months there have been vast improvements to the rooms and service on offer at this hotel. The newly refurbished rooms are lovely with everything you could require when away from home. Wi-Fi is now being installed and a Starbucks for that morning coffee. Roll on 1st May when this all comes into effect. I would definitely recommend this hotel now and look forward to seeing the improvements as they are made over the coming months. 22 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great break Really enjoyed are stay, delighted to have an upgrade! Many thanks to kind staff. The shuttle bus service was great and took the stress out of our stay as we did not have to bother booking transport. Breakfast was very good, however the evening Buffett could have had more choice. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. 17 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average My partner and I used the hotel facilities for one night as we were visiting an exhibition at the NEC nearby. The staff were very friendly and polite so the service we received was very good. In terms of the room we were provided- there was a constant draft coming from the windows which made the room constantly cold (the air conditioning only had a 'cool' setting). The room itself was one of the smaller sizes but it was perfect for what we needed. We added the breakfast option to our booking which was nice- not a great range of options but it was satisfactory to our needs. Overall I would recommend the hotel to those that need 1 or 2 nights stay in the area, but for a longer stay I would choose a hotel closer to the centre of Birmingham with nearby facilities and amenities. 17 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room & bed, shame about the bar food I was given one of the executive rooms, which was very pleasant, spacious and clean. However, I don't have high expectations when it comes to the quality and value for money of hotel food but I do still expect decent service. Having to wait almost 2 hours for bar food is bordering on disgraceful. Excuses that you were very busy due to the number of residents / major events at the NEC don't really wash; you know about major events well in advance and how your reservations are building up, so you can plan. You get away with it because some of your hotel locations don't have any restaurant competition in the immediate vicinity, so you have a captive audience if residents are unable or unwilling to venture a few miles for better quality food and service at better prices. 14 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place! Great for NEC! Close to airport, NEC and only a short taxi ride to the centre of town. I will def be staying here again when we attend another show at the NEC 14 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Soft beds and expensive bar food Stayed here for visit to nec . Hotel is ok meals are overpriced. Breakfast was great though. Didn't sleep well as too much noise from airport and road traffic ,also beds way too soft .bathroom very small and at one point couldn't get cold water from sink it just stayed on hot.bad points charging extra for parking. Stayed at Arden last year which is by far a much better hotel . 13 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location This Holiday Inn has excellent Executive Rooms - extremely impressed. Service good, but hotel so busy staff at bar/restaurant a little pushed to give as good service as they appeared to want to. But overall if you need a night near the airport in Birmingham this is an ideal hotel. 11 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and comfortable A short drive from Birmingham International Airport railway station by courtesy bus, this is a very convenient location for a stopover at Birmingham airport. Whilst the rooms are a little tired, they are clean and comfortable and offer a great night's sleep - exactly what's required from an airport hotel. Excellent dining room and breakfast service. Friendly and efficient staff. 10 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very handy, very busy, very friendly Food was very very good for dinner and a nice NZ white wine. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and good Arrived about 10 minutes too late for breakfast, staff were so accommodating and managed to get me some breakfast - thank you Bit hard to work out where to pick up the free shuttle from the airport or the train station, so gave up and took a taxi. But did use the shuttle on the return journey back to the train station Phone reception wasn't very good, many people out in the carpark trying to get their phones to work, seems to be in a bit of a hallow All in all, a good place to stay a night to break up an onward journey 08 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 My Cousins Wedding Attended the reception of my cousins wedding at the holiday inn. Staff were pleasant, helpful and genuinely interested in making our time there the best it could be. Rooms were easy to find, rooms were clean & comfortable. The double room could have been provided with an iron, and the room I stayed in didn't have a working remote control for the telly. Apart from those little quips, I really enjoyed my stay. The breakfast the next day was fab too! Check out was really simple and would definitely recommend! 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Couldn't fault anything. Great staff, superb location and nice rooms. Swimming pool was a big plus! 31 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay. My daughter and I normally stay in this hotel when we attend an exhibition in the NEC. Once again the staff were friendly and the service and food in the Flight bar was excellent. However, one thing took the rating of "Excellent" away from "room and comfort". I have never had, while staying in a hotel or B&B, to make my bed before getting into it on the second night of a stay! The duvets had just been thrown up and tucked in at the bottom, with no attempt made to smooth out the sheet or mattress protector. 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Very warm friendly warm welcome. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was very child freindly. Pool and jacuzzi were brilliantt and the breakfast was fantastic. Thanks. For a brilliant stay. 01 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel- recommend it Well I must say after reading the reviews after I booked this hotel I wasn't looking forward to my stay.. In fact I very nearly cancelled my booking. How wrong could I have been! From arriving at the hotel.. There was plenty of parking and then on arrival in reception a quick an efficient check in I got to my executive style room which was fabulous... Very very clean, modern and had been recently refurbished by the look of it. The bed was lovely and so was the bedding. A lovely size room and mini bar. The bathroom had a lovely shower and was very clean and modern too. I went down for dinner in the hotel and the lady greeting me was very friendly and had a lovely Dinner. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast next day was lovely with plenty of choice and nice quality. On checkout the Manager was in Reception a Mr Hiley who was taking the opportunity to meet and greet guests and who explained that he has just taken over as manager of the hotel just weeks previously and is planning on upgrading the bedrooms etc. All in all a very good hotel with good service and I an only speak for the exec rooms which are fabulous and I would recommend this hotel and will stay there next time I am in Birmingham! 28 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy This hotel is ok, nothing better, in parts a little worse. For example the shower dripped all night which added to the noise off rom the airport lead to a restless nights sleep. On checking out and advising of the dripping shower, the hotel colleague said 'I'm sorry about that' - and that was it! 28 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hmm Use this hotel quite often, good links to the nec airport etc... Felt really let down this time! Room stank of stale smoke and cigarettes, floor wasn't hoovered and the shower was plastered in hairs. Either there was a mis communication with regards to the room been cleaned in time for our arrival... Or they have gone very downhill since the last time I visited before Christmas. I probably won't book here again for the above reasons, more likely to now go next door to the travel lodge. 27 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good swim Swimming Pool great and never busy. Had a problem with my Pizza, but all sorted by Connor They had a coffee machine in the Restaurant for breakfast, but took it away, this morning was really busy so the girls were run off there feet serving coffee and having to sort everything else out just make no sense to me 25 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate accommodation enhanced by fantastic staff All the best efforts of the professional, enthusiastic and fantastically helpful staff cannot disguise the fact that this hotel is overdue a refit. I am a huge fan of IHG hotels and make a point of staying in them for preference but, the gloomy decor, appalling lighting in the dining room, unnecessary canned music in the public areas, tired paintwork in the rooms and corridors do this hotel no favours. It is like stepping back in time thirty years. Where is the flair that makes Holiday Inn Express such a welcoming experience? Would I use again? Yes but, only if the nearby Holiday Inn Express is full. Come on IHG, if nothing else, your wonderful staff deserve a better working environment! 21 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired Accommodation looked worn and tired, food wasn't great. Only positive were staff friendly and accommodating. 15 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Had a lovely time was comfortable. Love the room the whole hotel was gr8 12 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Over stretched staff and hotel......... Myself and two colleagues stayed with you last week for spring fair. The hotel was fully booked and we all paid a premium for this. The increased room rates are very normal for this week but the lack of service was terrible. The poor staff were very friendly but over stretched and in meltdown most of the week. We arrived Sunday night around 6pm, there was no one around to help us with our luggage, my colleague is 5 moths pregnant and we had to struggle with our heavy bags half way round the hotel. When we got to our room we tried to order room service but our room phone was broken, so we resorted to using my mobile to phone the order through. We waited 1hr 45mins without it being delivered. I then recalled the reception staff who said they would check on the order and get back to me. I never heard anymore from any of the staff and ended up eating a bag of crisps at 10pm. We also paid £40 for two nights parking and then on the third morning reception told us not to use the ticket machine and pay them at a reduced rate of £8.50 per night. One morning we tried to get the shuttle bus into the nec but that was completely overwhelmed with fellow commuters, we ended up getting a taxi. I will say that the room we stayed in was very quiet considering being near the airport, but it was quite a small room. We also struggled to get hot water passed 9pm. I accept that at peak times we all pay a premium but at peak times you need to be able to offer a large volume of customer a better service than what was available. 09 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very, very cold and windy (also inside the room) I stayed 7 days in room 274. It was a very nice and clean room, personal is very friendly, and the food is good. But it does not at all help when there is no heating on by the end of January. The windows in the hallways have so bad (old) window swales that I could put my fingers in between. All fire doors in the Hallway where always wide open; otherwise they could have reduced the cools air a little. We had to put a blanket between the door and the floor to stop the cold air to come in. In bed I slept with all available clothe and a cap on. It did however all not help, after 4 days I had a cold. It´s a pity that a hotel which is so very keen of writing "environmental" everywhere not are able to keep doors and windows in a "environmental" shape. 09 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by BUSINESS Stayed in this hotel 1 night for business quite close to the airport 1.5 mls approx, The rooms are very well laid out and comfortable Good choice of TV channels But car parking is expensive at £8.00 per night There is nowhere close to walk near the hotel as it is close to the motor way and the old airport terminal building The breakfast is excellent self service but the restaurant was closed in the evening time there was bar food available 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would use this hotel anytime Friendly staff . Room was fab . Food was good . No complaints here 29 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Its Okay The food was okay, but te chips on the mixed grill were under cooked, and not enough prawns on the sauted chiili and ginger prawns. The Scallops were excellent and so was the burger. Just a pity I didn't get the correct cheesecake. The swimming Pool was great. I had an executive room for both of my stays, which were great very clean, beds and pillows gave a good nights sleep. I liked the complementry water and Kit Kat. On my last morning there was no hot water so no fun having a cold shower. Ludovic in the bar was great and sorted out the complaint about the chips, so a real credit to your hotel. 17 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EX SERVICE GREAT TEAM FANTASTIC NIGHT AS ALWAYS.USE HOTEL MANY TIMES A YEAR.ALWAYS EX STAFF GREAT ROOMS. 15 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value We used the stay and park facility - stayed for one night and left the car for a week for about a hundred pounds. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room was no frills but clean, functional and roomy. The bar lounge area is comfortable and functional with little atmosphere. The car park is an NCP car park about 200 yards away so pretty convenient. Not sure about the security as it seems open to the public with no obvious signs of security patrols - we shall see on our return. Ideal for the airport. 15 January 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre located on Smallbrook Queensway Hotel Entrance located on Hill Street Hotel Lobby 2 minutes from New Street Train Station Welcome to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre Our Spacious Reception ensures an easy check-in Reception welcomes you to The Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Park, Stay and Go
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading