• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 23 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 24 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn A55 Chester West

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 9.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

By prior arrangement only, we have 2 rooms in which we allow one small dog, a charge of 10.00 GBP is payable per stay. Dogs are not permitted in public areas and are not to be left unattended in the hotel room.
Pet deposit amount  10.00  GBP  per stay

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Theatre Clwyd
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Loggerhead Country Park
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Cheshire Oaks Outlet Shopping Villa
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Planet Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces181
  • Car Parking Available
  • Private car park adjacent to hotel

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2000
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:76
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy a peaceful rural location near historic Chester at the Holiday Inn A55 Chester West hotel.

Beautiful Welsh countryside surrounds Holiday Inn A55 Chester West, a contemporary 81-room hotel just off the A55 and 9 miles from central Chester. Our proximity to the A55 puts Manchester, Liverpool and the stunning Welsh coast within an hour's drive. Stay connected with complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel and watch satellite TV in your air-conditioned Guest
View More

Enjoy a peaceful rural location near historic Chester at the Holiday Inn A55 Chester West hotel.

Beautiful Welsh countryside surrounds Holiday Inn A55 Chester West, a contemporary 81-room hotel just off the A55 and 9 miles from central Chester. Our proximity to the A55 puts Manchester, Liverpool and the stunning Welsh coast within an hour's drive. Stay connected with complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel and watch satellite TV in your air-conditioned Guest room.

Our 8 stylish meeting rooms provide space for everything from product launches to wedding receptions, and all have complimentary wireless Internet. Choose our Vivaldi Suite which accommodates up to 220 people and opens onto a sunny garden area. There's ample on-site parking for your guests at Holiday Inn A55 Chester West.

Experience the beauty of the North Wales coast, just 40 minutes' drive from the hotel. The city of Chester itself boasts a history that dates back to Roman times and offers fascinating city tours taking in the medieval cathedral. You can also enjoy fun-filled days out at Chester Zoo and Chester Racecourse.

Kick-start your day with a full breakfast in Holiday Inn A55 Chester West's sunlit Conservatory Restaurant. The restaurant is also open for dinner and there's a garden area for al fresco summer dining. Feel free to order from our Room Service menu round the clock.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn A55 Chester West hotel has 22 Family rooms, and kids under 18 stay for free when accompanied by an adult. For even better value, book our Chester Zoo Package for discounted entry to this popular attraction. Free high speed wireless Internet in bedrooms and public areas. Sky Sports 1, 3 & 4 in guest bedrooms.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 350 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely relaxing stay My weekend stay with my 11 year d daughter was a complete relaxation. The staff were amazing and could not have been any nicer. Overall I would recommend the the executive suite although my last stay on the 4 th floor was a nicer room !! The staff in the restaurant are lovely however clearing plates and glasses they were a bit slow especially at breakfast. However I would definitely stay again thank you for a great stay 10 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, great staff and great location Wonderful experience all around, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel, its employes or the location. 06 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Went to Chester for a short break. Lovely hotel. No complaints at all Couple of observations... Went for breakfast at 9.40 and was made very aware that it stopped at 10. Wasn't given a menu so didn't know I could have omelette , salmon etc. was sat at an unset table and had to ask for cutlery. I feel very stupid that I didn't know the fridge was full of stuff that wasn't complementary...I know I should have realised but never mind. I wasn't charged for the 2 items we had so no probs there. I would stay at the hotel again. 05 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay stay here on 25/04/14 for one night, we were on the four floor which is the quite floor. the bedroom was big and clean and the bed was very good had a great night sleep, the bathroom walk in shower, bath-towels, shower cream, hand cream was all there. there is a free safe in room, air-con in room. we had a very nice stay here and the hotel is very close to Chester centre. we had a meal there and the food was very good nice bar with lots of drink and good price. we would come back to this hotel. 05 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An enjoyable city break The location of the hotel is great. Just a minute's walk from the hotel and you are in the main shopping area. The rooms are comfortable. Yes the bedroom we stayed in is in need of re decoration but did not spoil our experience. The staff we had contact with at reception and at breakfast were all very pleasant and helpful. We have stayed here before and plan to stay again in the future. 25 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely rooms, comfy beds We had a pleasant stay at the Crowne Plaza Chester. It's conveniently located in the city centre and 2 mins away from all the shops, cafés and restaurants. It does not provide free parking, however the parking fee is lower than any of the other parking lots. The costumer service was brilliant. They were welcoming and very helpful. The Spa facilities are very basic, but enough to enjoy a relaxing time. 25 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with Great Service Stayed in the Crowne Plaza Hotel for a shopping weekend, great location for the town centre. We booked an Executive Room, which was a good size, with an equally spacious bathroom. Clean, comfortable and all in all, very pleasant. We did use the Spa facilities, small pool but adequate for the purpose. The inclusion of the Executive Club is a nice touch. Large range of choice for breakfast, for a buffet style breakfast, this was very nice. It must be said that the staff at this hotel delivered a extremely high level of customer service. Every member of staff we encountered during our staff could not do enough to assist. We would definitely stay here again. 17 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic faultless stay. room, public areas, staff and restaurant food were fantastic. highly recommend this hotel. situated 1 minute walk from high street 12 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff and breakfast We have never before stayed at a hotel where the staff were so uniformly cheerful, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was so well cooked and presented (not the widest choice but that is not our priority). Only downside was the toilet paper - thin and small it lets down the hotel. Decor (bedrooms and public rooms) is shades of brown which I found gloomy and depressing but my wife says it is the current fashion. What on earth does the question about goals mean? 08 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay We really enjoyed our family stay, the hotel was clean, the food in the restaurant was very tasty. The staff were really helpful and lovely with our two kids. The only down point was the small hotel car park but there is an overflow car park nearby. We would definitely return 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Brilliant staff throughout the hotel from check in to the bar staff everyone was so friendly and helpful Hotel clean and a great location. Food in the bar was lovely. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Really pleased we chose the Crowne Plaza Chester, all staff very helpful, friendly nothing to much trouble, room excellent all the little touches help bath robes slippers and biscuits, breakfast brilliant spoilt for choice, everything perfect for our one night stay, would definitely would recommend to friend and family 30 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All round great value for money and excellent service My partner and I chose this hotel just to get away for a night, it is situated in the heart of the City no taxi's required, great pubs and eating places plus the obvious history of the City. The hotel itself is run very professionally, the staff cannot do enough for you, polite with a sense of humour. The double rooms have everything you need, trouser press, iron, tea/coffee/bottled water and a mini fridge/tv. Black out curtains and air conditioning. Did not hear any noise at all. Breakfast was great and worth the extra few pounds. Would recommend for an unwind. Would definitely stay at this hotel if we stay in Chester again. 29 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fab stay Great hotel, excellent location, spotlessly clean hotel, and friendly helpful staff. Club lounge great idea, on,y criticism is I booked a king size bed and we had a double. The bedside tables were fitted to accommodate a king size so there was a gap either side. 27 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely new rooms A great hotel in a perfect location. Only stayed for a Saturday night but everything was great. Only negative was queues at check in/ out & length of time check in/out took 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel and very friendly staff lovely room,all staff very friendly ,great location only downside was noisy neighbours on the Saturday night but you get them everywhere. 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Stay My husband booked our stay as a surprise for my birthday and what a lovely time we had. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - the executive room and facilities were excellent. We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was second to none. The position of the hotel is great in terms of walking distance etc to Chester centre. We were even presented with a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate !! Looking forward to arranging our next stay !! 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfy bed but room too hot The hotel is very nice, staff friendly and helpful. Lounge is okay, they could serve drinks a bit later than just til 8pm. Location is perfect as its right in the heart of Chester. Restaurants and Shops just a minute walk away. Really enjoyed my 3 weeks stay. Only downside was the room temperature. It was way too hot in the room all the time. Had to run the air conditioner 24h on 16C to reduce temp to a normal level. 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great city, nice hotel, slow check out We enjoyed a great visit to chester and they loved the City, the hotel location rooms, food and staff were very pleasant and if anything exceeded our expectations' even after making allowances for the building work obviously going on in the lobby and reception. However when we came to check out we were very surprised to see that there was only 1 person on the check out desk.At 7.20 am on a busy workday, with 2 people already ahead of us, we became concerned about our schedule. The check out lady did her best to clear the people ahead and us as quickly as possible and admirably remanded calm, We suggested someone else was called and so did other people in the ever growing queue. As a queue of several more increasingly frustrated people built I'm sure the last person in the queue had a very long wait. I have waited in posting this complaint in the hope my survey and my complaint to the customer services team would get a response, but no reply, which is very disappointing ? Nobody checks out of a hotel extra earlier than they have to and especially at 7.30 am!, and I'm sure every person in the checkout queue that day was late for their next appointment. I have checked in and out of hundreds of hotels, including huge and really busy ones and because this was totally avoidable and can only be down to bad management, I have to say that this was one of the most frustrating and awkward hotel check out experience I have experienced. Even worse I left embarrassed for my guests and to hear my important customers discussing and asking why I recommended this hotel? Lovely hotel and great location, nice staff, just recommend if you stay here that you check out 30 mins early that's all! Sorry Crown plaza Chester, but you get my worst check out experience to date award! 02 March 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by in need of refurburbishment We booked this hotel as we pass it regularly when we visit Chester,on checking in we were asked if we would like a room upgrade due to my husband being a ambassador member .we agreed thinking we would have a superior room .When we went to the room we were both so disappointed ,the room was small and poky and was nothing like we have experienced in crown plazas before , all in all a disappointing hotel 27 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Excellent Hotel in a fantastic location I highly recommend this hotel staff are first class, friendly and very helpful. The interior of the hotel is modern and tasteful the bedrooms have the largest bed I have ever slept in and the room was spotless if you want to chill out and relax the spar is the place to visit. In the morning the self service buffet breakfast was fantastic . We visit Chester a few times a year and will make the Crowne Plaza out first choice hotel . 26 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NOT GOOD ENOUGH Being a Platinum PC Member for the last few years, I always go out of my way to stay at an IHG property - the Crown Plaza Chester being the first visit, with me booking 2 rooms here. I must point out that the hotel was going through quite a significant renovation during my stay, so I accepetd that there would be noise through the day time and some disruption around the hotel. Upon Check-in, it was acknowledged that I was a Platinum member, however, no complementary room upgrade was offered (the hotel seemed far from full). I also had to 'suggest' that I was given access to the Club Lounge. I entered my room, and straight away realised why there was a renovation taking place - the room looked like my granny's living room from the 70s - not what I expect from such a standard of hotel. The bed was very comfortable, though. After unpacking and taking a shower, I had a drink in the Club Lounge, and was advised by a fellow patron not to have any of the snacks as they had been out since the lounge opened #it was now just gone 8pm#. I met with a colleague to go down for dinner. We decided to eat in the restaurant, however we were informed that the restaurant was now closed as it was gone 9.30. We both checked our watches, and it was 9.31pm, but the restaurant manager firmly informed us that there was a firm cut off time for closing, and that should we wish to eat, then we should use the bar. Time being against us, we ate in the bar area. Post the meal, the barman asked if we would like dessert, we duely said yes, and he returned a few mins later with the menu. We made our choices, but after some time, the barman had not taken our order, so we went to the bar to order, only to be informed that we would now only be able to have dessert served in our room!! I was under the impression we were staying in a high standard of hotel, not a borstal! Breakfast the follwoing morning was decent, as was the service, however the pettiness of the previous evening had made its mark on me. Big, big let down... 11 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CHILLED OUT EVENING YET AGAIN HAD A WONDERFUL STAY,STAFF ARE ALWAYS WILLING TO HELP AND TO DO THE LITTLE BIT EXTRA WHEN THE NEED REQUIRES . ALWAYS WILL RECOMMEND STAY AT THE CROWN PLAZA,CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. CHESTER ALSO A LOVELY CITY. 05 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms, sleep well. Stayed during business trip. Good comfortable rooms. Overall good and staff willing to help. One improvement could be better breakfast choice as selection was limited. 25 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Very enjoyable stay,excellent room,room service and a lovely lady on front desk,Thankyou. 21 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 11/01/2014 We stayed for one night for my wife's birthday. The hotel staff were really friendly and we were given a free bottle of wine in our room when we mentioned the reason for are stay. The hotel is just yards from the town centre shops, pubs, wine bars and restaurants. Breakfast is buffet style with loads to choose from and very good quality. 15 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room with a fantastic view over the racecourse and mountains Short break away from home life, enjoyable stay with good facilities, made use of the pool and sauna which was quiet and clean, went out for dinner but made use of the breakfast which is an excellent buffet style. Only let down was that the hotel is very warm and stuffy, the heating needs turning down in the room for a good nights sleep, the pillows need reviewing as they are too plump and can give you neck ache. I would still recommend this hotel and would return with my own pillow. 09 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping staff excellent Unfortunately, the rest of the staff didn't live up to the quality of the housekeeping staff. Terrible organisation of breakfast and reception and forget your Priority Rewards - they barely know what they even are!!!! Overpriced and inefficient! 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel This was our 7th visit to Crowne plaza Chester and overall it is still a lovely hotel with great amenities and very good location for Chester centre itself. However we felt the service was not as good as usual, we visited between xmas and new year and it was not that busy but we waited 50 minutes for 2 drinks in the bar that we had ordered......not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. 03 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Fails to live up to the standard you would expect. Without doubt, this is a hotel that does not live up to its reputation. My wife and I stop over in Chester once a month and usually book into the abode. I thought we would have a change but regret doing so. Our room was not ready on our arrival. We were offered a complimentary drink at the bar but after 25 minutes had to go back to reception to check if the room was now ready. Once entering the room I was quite shocked. I did not expect to see wall paper peeling away from the wall, as it was in a number of places. The bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. No safe for personal belongings and a TV for which the remote only worked if you gave it a tap! All in all a very poor hotel indeed, The Abode seems to have set a standard that the Plaza can only dream of. 02 January 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Main Entrance
Hotel Main Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Main Entrance Vivaldi Suite Patio Vivaldi Suite Garden Hotel Exterior Vivaldi Suite Entrance Hotel Exterior Conservatory Garden Area Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Park, Stay and Go
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 23 Nov 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 24 Nov 2014)
Check Availability
Loading