Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 26 Nov 2014)
(e.g. 27 Nov 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 260 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great base to explore Chester and North Wales Excellent out of town location with excellent road network access within a minute of the hotel. Next to a business park so extremely convenient if visiting any business at the Business Park. Good reception on arrival and recognised as Club member. Room was through a maze of corridors but had the advantage of being well away from wedding receptions etc so room was quiet. Good bar food and pleasant friendly staff and great coffee. The one downside was the laughable free wifi. Not only was it slow (at 256kbps equivalent to dial up) but only two devices can be registered against the room number. Two things about this ridiculous state of affairs, firstly in this day an age it is likely that a couple is likely to have more than one device each. Secondly the proximity to the Business Park next door presumably attracts business people and such ludicrous restrictions is a disgrace. Reception tried to claim that the restrictions are due to the third party provider but a hotel chain has the power to set its own terms. Something clearly lost on the staff at reception. So they had to put through a technician to our room to talk us through disabling one device to allow another to be used. This took more than 2 hours to try and resolve before I gave up and paid £8.95 for a couple of hours of fast wifi. By the way the hours run from the time you register not the amount of time actually used. For these reasons I have marked my ratings down to reflect this silly state of affairs. Nothing was stated at booking or checking in that the free club wifi was at dial up speed. 3G reception at this location was very poor so is not an alternative. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff great room Staff unbelievably helpful. Room great , bit hot for us as we couldn't change air con 9/10 hotel. One of the best. Room clean, and bed comfortable. 25 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money. This is the 4th year running that we have stayed at the Holiday Inn. Good value for money. Better off booking early for best price. Easy access to Chester town for the shopping and drinking :-) 11 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Woken up by dustbin men Woken up at 6am by dustbin men. long wait for food service in bar. Small room looking a little tired. 09 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience Contractors dream. Very very noisy room. Door lock let anyone in using a key card. Staff only wanted to pass on comments not deal with them 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel close to Chester Lovely clean and spacious room, very comfy beds, excellent breakfast buffet with great service Bus stops across the road straight to Chester it's 1 Wrexham service every 12 mins, then a stop right outside hotel that drops you back when you have fin shopping. Ideal location will def stay again. 04 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by cold and unwelcoming Cold corridors and heating didnt work in room. Had to ask for heater which just about kept the room above freezing. Had to pay for wifi in room. Come on holiday inn it's the 21sr century 29 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff, lovely place this was the second time I've stayed here, with friends and will definitely be going back again. Very comfortable, clean and quiet with a good quality breakfast and plenty to choose from. Enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and sauna facilities and the staff are very friendly and accomodating. Looks lovely with the xmas decs up! 29 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well placed. Ideal location for visiting Chester with a bus service every 12 minutes to Chester so no need to pay car park fees. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location value for money Great location just off the motorway, really helpful friendly staff, room hsd every thing you needed, choose an executive room but to be honest think I prefer the normal one not keen on sliding doors as curtains as no nets so needed to close for privacy when getting ready.bed very hard but that's down to personal choice. Breakfast was fabulous, good selection really hot and eggs cooked to order just how u like. Would definitely recommend 28 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing weekend in Chester Extremely friendly staff and clean hotel, with fantastic pool and hot tub! Would benefit from more pillows in family rooms. Conveniently located to park 'n ride, and discount on Chester zoo tickets when purchased in house. 14 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Made us crawl the whole days we were there Check-in was perfect and was supplied my room key. On going into the room it smelled peculiar, but thought it may have been an ex smoking room. We went over to the window to check the view when we were faced with a swarm of flies between the windows and curtains. On closer inspection the TV desk was literally hoaching with 100s flies, and on closer inspections the room was covered in them, everywhere we stood or went was covered. On approaching reception the receptionist wass lovely couldn't believe it as it has " Just been cleaned " and gave us a new room. She went along and checked herself and knocked on the door to say she also saw them and felt bad. The rest of the stay my wife hardly slept she flt itchy and thought the room had flies in it, she was really upset. Over and above that in the evening the room we were in selled like a sewer it must have been some build up on the drainage system. We were not in most days but in thr evening just didn't want to stay there we were looking forward to check out. Never stay here again probably just a 1 off as I normally stay in Holiday inn Express they are very much better quality. 05 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very smokey foyer and a blood stained pillowcase in the sink Very smokey foyer due to smokers outside open doors most of the time. Found a blood stained pillowcase in the sink as we arrived. Otherwise very good. 01 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff great experience overall I took my partner here for his birthday and was so pleased we chose the hotel the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to help and assist us in any way they could.The room was clean tidy and comfortable i would definatly recomend to anyone and we will be staying here again without a doubt. Thankyou for a fabulous stay. 25 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff, great pool and good location We always enjoy the Holiday Inn in Chester. It is a little shabby round the edges (our washbasin was badly cracked) But the staff are so friendly and helpful, the pool is fab, the bar is a really nice place to sit and spend the evening. It is great to be a little way out of town and look out onto countryside, but at the same time be on a direct bus route into town. Will return 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay at Chester South The best Hi in the Chain and I have stayed in Hundreds all over the world. Very friendly and efficient Staff on reception and the bar staff especially Sally Anne are super 20 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Frustratingly Mediocre I stay in this hotel regularly on business and whilst the basics are fine, certain things grate quickly. Positives: Staff are great, rooms are always clean and the food is always well prepared. Negatives: The free wireless for Elite members is 256Kbit and essentially unusable. The paid-for internet is extortionate and not much better. Compared to other locations, this is beyond sub-par. The hotel décor and the rooms are rather tired and it shows with shutters not closing properly, straps on luggage racks often broken, aircon/heating temperamental, damaged doors and the like. The exterior is also far from modern and the whole package is in need of a good refurb. The fixed shower head in the bath is fine if you're 5ft tall but not any larger! The menu needs an update - it's fine for a one off but I've tried pretty much everything a couple of times now and I'm bored. Overall, it's ok but certainly not to the standard of many other Holiday Inn locations I frequently stay in. 19 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Busy hotel, but staff still attentive. Room was clean although balloons left from previous people! Hair dryer in room along with air conditioning. Shower over bath. Restaurant was full although could order food in bar which was also very busy, food very good. 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for city centre Staff friendly at check in and booked taxi with no hesitation for lift to town. Only 5 mins to town in taxi. Good bar also in hotel. 16 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and helpful staff We found the staff at the Chester Holiday Inn to be very cheerful and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable, reasonably roomy and well appointed. Would recommend to anyone needing a couple of nights stay over in Chester. 13 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A well located hotel We stayed here for two nights and we ate in the dining room on our second night. The food was indeed very good and the service was excellent. Breakfast was of a very good standard and well presented. As I have a physical disability I booked an accessible room. The bedroom was very comfortable. The bathroom unfortunalely had the shower over a low bath. I could not safely use it. The bathroom was huge and there is plenty of space for a walk in shower as well as the bath. It seems a pity that an IGH hotel has this sort of facility available for people with a disability in 2013. This factor influenced my star rating. Also the chairs in the bar area looked very comfortable. However they were designed for very tall people as the seat was so deep that many people were sitting forward as you could not rest your back on the back of the chair easily. And they were all the same unfortunalely. So that effects ability to relax and enjoy a drink and or food. The staff were very nice and provided good service. 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Long Stay Great Service I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Chester South for a long work project. I was there from the USA and stayed for 33 days. The staff is excellent, took care of all my needs and requests. The room was always clean and fresh. Anything I required was quickly provided. Staff and service was excellent. They knew me by name and took care of me with high regard and I was happy with my stay. Would recommend and will stay again if I am required to return. Thank You Mike Schampers 30 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room booked not available. On a recent business trip to Chester I booked into this hotel. The first thing I was informed at checkin was the room I had booked was not available as rooms were allocated on a first come first served basis. Why have the option to choose your room type on the website if it means nothing unless you checkin at the earliest possible time. Not the end of the world but a little disappointing. The hotel in general looks tired and run down, the hot water took 5 minutes to get through to the shower, over £10 for wifi, had to get up and ask for coffee twice at breakfast. I would not stay here again. Many of my working days are spent in hotels so I am not just using this as a one off opportunity to moan. In general this place is antiquated and below par from its competition. 29 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value accomodation Myself and several girl mates stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised with all the amenities ie swimming pool changing room, Jacuzzi sauna gymnasium etc. The rooms were well furnished and roomy. The situation of the hotel was across the road from the park and ride into Chester or it cost less than a tenner into town for a 7 seater taxi. The downside was the cost of drinks ie bottles of wine were very expensive and the breakfast could be hotter for £10.95 28 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected guest at midnight At 11:50 pm I was in bed only to be woken by two men entering my room, the one man suggested that I was in the wrong room! He had clearly been drinking!! I immediately demanded that they left and I rang reception, after a couple of minutes someone finally answered the phone, I informed of them what had happened and apparently someone had lost their key card and had the same surname as me! Absolutely ridiculous if it is that easy to get into some body's room.......not happy! Apart from that don't bother booking here if you need to use your phone. I have two phones with two providers which are vodaphone & three neither of which have a phone or 3G signal in the hotel. When I Enquired about their broadband I was informed it was £16 for 1 day! How Expensive is that....most hotels are free. I was booked in the hotel for 4 nights...I left on the 1st morning and found another hotel 4 miles away with free wi-fi. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by race day meeting Big car park. Early checkin with a warm welcome on arrival. Comfy, well equiped room that was very clean and shower was great. Bar well stocked. Breakfast excellent. A tad pricey but it was race day. Recommended to all. Ade 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DELICIOUS FOOD & COMFORTABLE ROOM I had the pleasure to stay here last weekend. Rooms very comfortable, slept well. Food was really very good and service was great as well. Staff very attentive and Manager Daniel really helpful as well. Two very minor gripes are: 1) cost of breakfast very expensive for what was available, especially considering that the cost of breakfast is included in the cost of a stay at Holiday Inn Express. 2) A flexible shower head would be most useful as they are rigid and cannot be moved to accommodate tall or very short guests. Thank you for an overall good experience and stay. 18 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Stayed here before a cycling event starting from Wrexham. Arrived early evening and a wedding reception was winding up so bar & restaurant busy but got food. All night was busy & loud as two stag parties & one hen party arrived back at all hours of the night & morning. Not a good sleep 11 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Services excellent, staff very good, a wide choice of foods all cooked very well, on the down side, the beer leaves a lot to be desired, I drink bitter and I'm afraid the choice was very poor. Swimming pool very good. 11 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfy bed but ..... room tired especially in bathroom. We had evening meal and breakfast on first morning of stay, staff were very pleasant and we were greeted on both occasions on arrival and shown to a table.The second morning was completely different, no one to greet us, we had to find our own table, had to wait for drinks order which when brought to our table was incorrect, it would appear that not enough staff were on duty, no clean glasses for juice, no plates for breakfast, cereal all over counter.To make matters worse it would appear that workmen were also staying and had arrived for breakfast after a night shift still wearing overalls.Badly parked work vehicles also made access to our vehicle difficult.We felt as though we were eating breakfast at a motorway services, not the best start to the day 06 September 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>