• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 26 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Colchester

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: COLCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Hotel only accept's guide dogs and hearing dogs.

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Colchester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Colchester Castle & Town Centre
Distance From Hotel:3.6MI
Attraction:
East Anglian Railway Museum
Distance From Hotel:4.2MI
Attraction:
Roller World
Distance From Hotel:4.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces110
  • Car Parking Available
  • 3 Accessible parking spaces available (Blue Badge)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:110
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:109
  • Total number of accessible rooms:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Book the Holiday Inn Colchester hotel for a rural location with easy access to the A12 and Colchester Zoo.

The attractive Holiday Inn Colchester welcomes you with landscaped lawns and a clocktower, in the village of Eight Ash Green just 4 miles from Colchester town centre. Enjoy the peaceful grounds from our restaurant patio after a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. We're less than a mile from the A12 for road links to central London and Ipswich, and 35 miles from
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Colchester hotel for a rural location with easy access to the A12 and Colchester Zoo.

The attractive Holiday Inn Colchester welcomes you with landscaped lawns and a clocktower, in the village of Eight Ash Green just 4 miles from Colchester town centre. Enjoy the peaceful grounds from our restaurant patio after a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. We're less than a mile from the A12 for road links to central London and Ipswich, and 35 miles from London-Stansted Airport. See large mammals and exotic birds at the family-friendly Colchester Zoo, 2.5 miles away.

Make your London meeting with ease by taking a Liverpool Street-bound train from Colchester Town rail station, 4 miles away. Our hotel is 1 mile from companies in Tollgate Retail Park and 4 miles from Flakt Woods' offices. Invite delegates to Holiday Inn Colchester's 7 day-lit meeting rooms, with wireless Internet.

It's 4 miles to historical Colchester town centre with its ancient Roman walls and Norman castle. Visit the beach at Clacton-on-Sea & the River Orwell waterfront in Ipswich, both 30 minutes by car. Our Helena Suite with al fresco seating is a good choice for your wedding breakfast for up to 100 guests.

Sample classic British cooking beneath the beams of Holiday Inn Colchester's rustic Trader's Bar and Grill. You can work out or enjoy a soothing facial in our inviting Spirit Health Club.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Colchester can help ensure your wedding day goes like a dream with our all-inclusive Wedding Packages. Call to find out about our Function Room, which has an outdoor seating area and is suitable for a wedding breakfast for 100 people.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We enjoyed our two nights at this hotel. The room was clean and the king-sized bed was comfortable. We especially liked the good quality, solid furniture in our room. The bathroom was also clean with everything that we needed being to hand. Breakfasts were excellent with a good variety of dishes on offer. All the staff with whom we had contact were friendly, polite and helpful. We shall certainly stay at this hotel again, and can recommend it to others. 28 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No free WIFI and no Bacon We were shocked to discover we had to pay £14/day for internet connection, the rooms had cobwebs and spiders in the corners, which if you knew my daughter is a disaster!!, I had to dispose of them all out the window, At breakfast the tables weren't cleared between courses and they ran out of bacon at the self service, the staff were unaware as they were too busy chatting. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by reception staff. Excellent staff on reception. They were most helpful when most needed. 19 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Staff were friendly and doing their best. But breakfast time was a bit of a lottery as to what was available. Food was running out faster than it was being replaced. Seems that they needed another couple of members of staff. 07 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Herd of elephants pogoing overhead I have stayed at many Holiday Inns over the years, including the Ipswich Orwell, but I'm afraid this visit didn't do them justice. The outside of the hotel is looking shabby and the rooms, which seemed so nice and clean the last time I stayed, looked worn and tired. We also found our bathroom dirty. It was also very hot and noisy. The people upstairs sounded like a herd of pogoing elephants and appeared to be having some sort of party until 3.30am which was ironic as it was the first time our daughter had slept until 3am in her own cot but we were kept awake by them instead. On the plus side the child travel cot provided was very clean and looked new and when we closed the curtains it was pitch black. 06 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short stay Good stay, stayed in mant Holiday Inns and always found them to a good standard, get what you pay for 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ipswich stay A one night stop over to break a longer journey. Can recommend this site for a stay. Reasonable location, near to A14, not too far from town centre. Food good Hospitality from staff good Would stay here again if we were in the area. Holiday Inns always appear to be good value for money 31 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than the location This was the first time we'd stayed here - in the past we've gone for the hotels with more attractive locations, but just for one night's stopover, we thought we'd give it a try. Great hotel, friendly staff. The duty manager was Wayne, a really positive, customer focused and energetic guy. We had a relaxed (and relatively healthy) evening meal served by Connor, who also helped us out with some location directions for the following day, the following morning Tony was mega friendly at breakfast time. So - it was a first time stay for us, but we'll stay here again. If you do want to use the gym - it's an arrangement with the (David Lloyd?) gym just down the road. 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly staff Hotel made a perfect base for the Antiques Fair we were attending, and was in easy reach of Ipswich town centre and Felixstowe. 25 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kath Excellent stay, food excellent, staff friendly and caring. would recommend to stay here. branded named toiletries in the bathrooms, 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location for exploring Suffolk. Easy to get to from London ideally located for exploring the wonderful Suffolk countryside especially Constable country. 20 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay here if you want to sleep This is a noisy, raucous wedding venue so if you want to sleep stay somewhere else. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Use this hotel whenever in Ipswich as convenient for our requirements and usually competitive on price. Exec rooms spacious and well equipped but mattress gave impression of being a water bed but beds are difficult/impossible to get right for everybody. very happy to stay again but shame Hilton don't invest some money in renewing outside woodwork as windowsills are rotten. I notice this every visit and as former hoteliers we believe first impression counts for a lot. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room, friendly helpful staff A clean comfortable hotel in an easy to access location providing good value for money. One minus point was the state of the paintwork on the exterior, which is in need of some 'refreshment', or maybe UPV replacement windows. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Staff very friendly and eager to assist. Location easy to find with plenty of parking, in easy reach of all main roads and nearby business park. comfortable room, good food although breakfast period could be extended a little. will certainly use the hotel again when back in the area. 08 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue very happy with service I was very satisfied with overall experience. Venue was very good, staff excellent. I attended family Wedding and it was a very good event. I would certainly recommend Holiday Inn Ipswich - Orwell and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thank you 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Effiecient and troble free stay The whole stay was handled well from arrival to check out. I'll stay here the next time I need to be in Suffolk. 25 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed dated room Mattress was not comfortable. Room was very dated and didn't feel very clean. Restaurant was a joke with overpriced food taking up to an hour to arrive. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I was very pleased with the level of service and comfort at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only thing missing was a relaxing outdoor area apart from the few seats at the front of the hotel. 24 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service The staff is very helpful. Good hotel to base yourself in if you have a car or plan on taking a lot of cabs. We were told the hotel is near the bus line but it is not THAT near. It was clean, the staff were very friendly. I suggest you select the breakfast included rate. There is nothing in walking distance for your meals. I have read some poor reviews regarding the servers. We also had that experience but I think it is just expectations. Go to the bar and place your food order vs wondering why no one has come to take your order. 19 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly check in staff, but tired rooms Staff were really friendly, but my IHG number had not been applied to the booking. Room is very tired, TV was complex to use and window was broken would not shut which meant the room was very noisey overnight (local music venue) and also not secure as ground floor. To be fair, we didn't report it as it was late, and would have been effort to change rooms etc. But I would say this was no 'executive room' compared to others in the IHG group I've stayed in Room was very clean, as was bathroom. Great location, would stay again for that reason. 19 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location, near good shops and coast. Very enjoyable stay. This time in s suite but have in the past stayed in standard rooms which have been good. 17 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. 04 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK 3 star Hotel The room was OK and I was able to sleep well. The batroom was not clean and the towels worn but over all not a bad night for the cost of the room. The service in the Bar/Restaurant was very poor. Need people who know what they are doing and are organised and customer focused. Too many mistakes, same meal delivered twice, long waits for drinks, inaccurate Bills etc... Bar/meal service is letting the rest of the hotel down. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Nice clean hotel, friendly, helpful staff, great use of leisure club and excellent breakfast. 31 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect weekend. Ransomes Europark doesn't sound like the ideal romantic get away but we took the chance and had a lovely chilled weekend. The food in the restaurant was so nice we decided to go there the second night too. We ordered our food but within minutes the waiter returned to say the chef was refusing to serve the meat as it was fatty. Can't fault him! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff were great. All of them friendly and professional. We would certainly come back. 28 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by good bed There were rats running arround in the parking lot while we were having dinner in the conservatory 24 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable hotel but dated Hotel had a good location with easy access to the A14 and ample parking. When checking in staff were pleasent and helpful. The reception area looks very dated, and definitly not contempary or fitting in with such an establishment. Was dissappointed that there was no air conditining in the rooms, as for this level of hotel expected such facility (especially in an exec room), as my room was very warm and couldn't open the window much. Most HI Express hotels even have air con these days! Access to David Lloyd gym was very welcome and it had excellent facilities. 14 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, shame about breakfast I have stayed here a few times. My room was great - clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast here is hit and miss, some days there is a hot buffet others it is cooked to order. Last week there was a hot buffet on Monday morning - great when you want ot get some breakfast quickly and get out to work, Wednesday was cooked to order..... I had fruit and apple juice - no hot drink offered no order for hot items taken, had I been paying myself I would have said something. A business hotel user wants to simply get breakfast and go, we don't have time for breakfast to be cooked to order 08 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Standard Holiday Inn - Friendly/Helpful staff The Holiday Inn Orwell is just like most other Holiday Inn hotels. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Internet is slow. The staff are friendly, responsive and helpful. The food choice is limited but evening specials brought some variety (lots of eateries nearby the hotel if you get bored of the menu). Use of David Lloyd gym next door or a fitness room in the hotel itself 16 April 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Your Nights, On Us
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 25 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 26 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading